Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Steroids, legal or illegal

• 08-01-2013 6:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭

Just like the title says. Are steroids legal to import into this country and if not would there be a big punishment for doing so. I know in the uk, they are legal to use and have on you and can import in certin numbers butwondering what its like here in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I don't know but the acne cream that you'll need is available in most chemists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭The_Gatsby

Nah, you just have to suck off a horse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Illegal here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

put it down as 'bath salts' or something, be grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

"'Roids 'bra, loike, totally, yeah."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

i was on steriods for years, never did me any harm...

(athsma inhaler, true story)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Don't steroids do weird things to a mans bits? Or was that fixed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

DB10 wrote: »
    I'm a bit of a slob but I've no respect for people who cheat with steroids to have more muscle . Many are dangerous and you can get plenty fit and healthy without them.

WTF? Cheat? Cheat at what exactly?

Don't steroids do weird things to a mans bits? Or was that fixed?

They shrink the testicles due to testosterone production being shut down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'm a bit of a slob but I've no respect for people who cheat with steroids to have more muscle . Many are dangerous and you can get plenty fit and healthy without them.
    Nobody wants to be fit and healthy. We just want to be sexy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

Steroids are old school, Creatine is where it's at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

squod wrote: »

Life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

squod wrote: »

Roid rage :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭josealdo

I've been bodybuilding the last 15 years , i never taken steriods , i have been tempted . 99% of people who take steriods are idiots , "weak in the mind" as bas rutten called them .

unless your a competitive bodybuilder don't take them , i've gotten steriods for peolpe and in ALL cases , the persons look worse that a guy who trains hard and eats clean .

There are no short cuts to the top .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

They shrink the testicles due to testosterone production being shut down

That is a yes quickly followed by a no then.
    Don't do it OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭hiho1967

Whos cheating, all im looking is to wake up with a hardon fs, havent done in years,lol.

Illegal here

Are you 100% sure about this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

figs666 wrote: »
    I've been bodybuilding the last 15 years , i never taken steriods , i have been tempted . 99% of people who take steriods are idiots , "weak in the mind" as bas rutten called them .

unless your a competitive bodybuilder don't take them , i've gotten steriods for peolpe and in ALL cases , the persons look worse that a guy who trains hard and eats clean .

There are no short cuts to the top .

Most people who've been bodybuilding for that long don't dismiss steroid users as "weak in the mind" and "idiots". Steroids don't magically turn you huge overnight. You still have to work very hard and have a great diet.

Also they don't shrink your testicles if you use them properly. Using the right post cycle therapy will minimize side effects.

Of course I don't condone steroid use but different people aim for different things and who are we to judge what they do with their bodys? There's far worse being done on a regular basis in pubs every night of the week than what a properly orchestrated steroid cycle would do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

LIGHT WEIGHT BABY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

A 'steroid' is just an organic compound. If you are referring to anabolic steroids it's a complicated game, with animal grade anabolic steroids from China becoming increasingly popular. Possession with the intent to supply is illegal, and chances are that if one was importing steroids, the amount imported would be enough to raise suspicion of dealing.

If anybody on AH still believes in all that 'roid rage' BS portrayed in mainstream media, you should watch this documentary, Bigger Faster Stronger.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CgQVHgtmFtQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Bad enough to be on them and the testicular atrophy that it brings, among other things, but I think the moobs after the roid crash would have to be the worst thing ever about them - if you're not smart and don't know how to ween yourself off with the right hormones so that doesn't happen that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I was given some steroids to clear up a chest infection last year. As well as doing the trick, they made me feel amazing. Like, getting up at 5am to work because I couldn't justify sleeping for 8 hours when there was so much else I could be doing kind of amazing. I could see how something like that could become addictive. Useful when prescribed for specific purposes, but bloody dangerous all the same.

Its just to build muscle really. Im 35 this year and my own natural test levels wouldnt be like what they used to be. Ill be defo taking them, just wanted to know is it illegal to get posted nto teh country because i wouldnt want the guards kicking my door in.

hiho1967 wrote: »

Are you 100% sure about this

Yes. Its a criminal offense.

Its actually illegal to mail order them into the UK now and you're only allowed pharma grade steroids. Pharma grade wouldn't be common in UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

hiho1967 wrote: »
    Its just to build muscle really. Im 35 this year and my own natural test levels wouldnt be like what they used to be. Ill be defo taking them, just wanted to know is it illegal to get posted nto teh country because i wouldnt want the guards kicking my door in.

just do it anyway and say you didnt know, your ****ed now cause you asked here first so have no comeback, you realise all the boards are logged and guards access to everything we write right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

You can't plead ignorance as an excuse of course though.
    Not that you likely would be if it was for personal use.
    I wouldn't recommend taking anabolic steroids unless you know what you're doing though.

Have a few eggs ;)

Ask a Garda, a solicitor, someone who actually knows the law.