Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Runners in the washing machine...

• 08-01-2013 3:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭

Just wondering if anyone has ever cleaned their runners in the washing machine at a low heat wash like 30 degrees?

Have two pairs at the moment, and the material is filthy on them. Its easy to clean around the rubber ect.. but the material is difficult to get stains out of. I tried it by hand with a bar of vanish but they don't come up great. I'm fearful if I put them in the wash, they will shrink... Anyone done this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,503 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

It's fine if you don't use them for running (e.g. fashion-wear). If you use them for running (or sports) then it's generally not recommended, as it will shorten the useful life of your running shoes (it'll weaken glues etc used to hold the shoes together).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

Don't do it. You'll likely damage the shoes and possibly the machine. The best way I've found for cleaning runners is to go for a long run in the rain, and avoid the muddy puddles. That'll do a far better job, and you'll get a training session in too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Rogue Runner

I washed mine in the dish washer over christmas. They had been fairly mucky. 30 mins did it. Came out looking like new. A couple of rolled up newspapers to dry them.

**Please be aware I did not mention what i was doing to my wife.**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭oinkely

Dishwasher - deadly. Though the temperatures in there seem to get pretty hot so maybe just as bad as the washing machine.

I throw mine in the washing machine when they are passed their useful running life and want to just wear them as slippers around the house (asics hyperspeed are very comfy slippers!)

They come up pretty well too. Most of the really manky dirt comes out alright.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Buy new ones if the muck is annoying you that much.

But if the shoes are mucky then it proves that you have actually used them in anger for running and it's not just a shiny new pair of new years resolution shoes that will only get used once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭user1842

I have washed my runners loads of times in the washing machine. It does a great job of them and I have had no issues.

Just make sure you wrap them in a towel or two when you put them in and a 40 degree wash should be the max.

I also tumble dry them with no problems but then I am a risk taker :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Rogue Runner

oinkely wrote: »
    Dishwasher - deadly. Though the temperatures in there seem to get pretty hot so maybe just as bad as the washing machine.

I throw mine in the washing machine when they are passed their useful running life and want to just wear them as slippers around the house (asics hyperspeed are very comfy slippers!)

They come up pretty well too. Most of the really manky dirt comes out alright.

eco wash on a low temp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭subscriber

Cheers lads, loads of quick replies, ill prob go with the general consensus and leave them b so. There is no major muck really just stains that I wanted to get out, not sure of the point really considering they will be on the feet again in no time splashing in puddles. I use both for running regularly so I wont risk damaging them. It would of been handy though as a quick fire way of keeping them clean on a regular basis after particularly mucky sessions. Alas, this god damm irish weather!

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

I've washed various running runners in the machine with the cold water setting. And dried them by stuffing them with newspaper. No problems.
    It's amazing how clothes can be washed weekly without damage, but running runners can't. It's almost as if the manufacturers recommend it so you will buy new ones instead. But they wouldn't do that surely :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I've washed various running runners in the machine with the cold water setting. And dried them by stuffing them with newspaper. No problems.
    It's amazing how clothes can be washed weekly without damage, but running runners can't. It's almost as if the manufacturers recommend it so you will buy new ones instead. But they wouldn't do that surely :rolleyes:
    But the fabric is not as new after you have washed clothes is it, it just doesn't smell anymore.

You wouldn't wash a waterproof jacket regularly and expect it to still perform it's main function without re waterproofing the fabric. Now shoes are not waterproof, but it is still a technical lump of rubber with specific care instructions from the manufacturer. I'd not see any reason for risking damage to the soles just to make the upper of the shoes look pretty again.

The cross country shoes get attacked with a hose/ shower and old toothbrush occasionally, but other running shoes just accumulate their muck until the next puddle.

robinph wrote: »
    But the fabric is not as new after you have washed clothes is it, it just doesn't smell anymore.

You wouldn't wash a waterproof jacket regularly and expect it to still perform it's main function without re waterproofing the fabric. Now shoes are not waterproof, but it is still a technical lump of rubber with specific care instructions from the manufacturer. I'd not see any reason for risking damage to the soles just to make the upper of the shoes look pretty again.

The cross country shoes get attacked with a hose/ shower and old toothbrush occasionally, but other running shoes just accumulate their muck until the next puddle.

No, of course they are not new any more, but they are clean. And they don't fall apart.
    I'm not sure that using a hose/shower/toothbrush on a pair of runners would be any better than putting them in a fast wash in cold water in the machine. It's not like the runners last a long time anyway, what with the recommendation to only wear them for 500 odd miles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Prey tell, what were you doing to your wife that made you put your runners in the dish washer ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,503 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Are your clothes glued together? Mine mostly are not. Besides, why would shoe manufacturers be providing guidance on how to prolong the life of your shoes? Surely it's not in their best interest. It's not as if you would replace a pair of shoes just because they're dirty, right? Right? :eek:

When my xc shoes get really manky, I stick them in a bucket and give them a quick scrub before stuffing them with newspaper. All that mud won't be very good for your washing machine filter either.

Are your clothes glued together? Mine mostly are not. Besides, why would shoe manufacturers be providing guidance on how to prolong the life of your shoes? Surely it's not in their best interest. It's not as if you would replace a pair of shoes just because they're dirty, right? Right? :eek:

When my xc shoes get really manky, I stick them in a bucket and give them a quick scrub before stuffing them with newspaper. All that mud won't be very good for your washing machine filter either.

You keep your shoes even after they get dirty ? That's taking the whole austerity thing a bit seriously, no ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Theres a quick wash setting on my washing machine that only goes to 15c does the job fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

I washed mine in the dish washer over christmas. They had been fairly mucky. 30 mins did it. Came out looking like new. A couple of rolled up newspapers to dry them.

Genius! Ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

Bucket & garden hose to get the worst dirt off, then shower & a nailbrush if its really bad.
    This is usually only needed after an offroad run.
    The dirt picked up on a regular runs just drys out & falls off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 DrPatrickBarry

user1842 wrote: »
    I have washed my runners loads of times in the washing machine. It does a great job of them and I have had no issues.
    I have been doing it for years and not a problem

Empting the washing machine this morning after my daughter helped me put the washing on yesterday evening. What's this big lump in the middle of it I was thinking. My running shoes. In fairness I had told her to throw anything I throw at her into it. I leave my wet gear in a little basket right in front of the machine so she obviously just picked them up and stuck them in. I'm expecting to come home from my next run with them with my toes flapping out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 newbygirl

I'm just after buying my first proper pair of runners and they told me in Elverys not to never ever put them in the washing machine. I am going to run in the Phoenix Park today so if I wash them with a hose is it okay to put them in the tumble dryer after that or is that wrong too?

tkx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭runsir

newbygirl wrote: »
    I'm just after buying my first proper pair of runners and they told me in Elverys not to never ever put them in the washing machine. I am going to run in the Phoenix Park today so if I wash them with a hose is it okay to put them in the tumble dryer after that or is that wrong too?

tkx

So they told you to put them in the washing machine you're saying....

You can wash them with a hose newbygirl but let them dry naturally, it's the heat that does the damage, or so I'm lead to believe.

Would be slow to put them in a washing machine, have an outside tap so after an off road run that goes on full blast.

The ones I use in the gym smell of sweat a bit alright...but they're pretty pristine! Not sure what gets rid of that really, maybe just those odour eater things.

One thing I would not do is artificially dry them, tumble drier or hot press. Sticking newspaper in is much better.

runsir wrote: »
    So they told you to put them in the washing machine you're saying....

:D I'm such a ninny sometimes

ThisRegard wrote: »
    You can wash them with a hose newbygirl but let them dry naturally, it's the heat that does the damage, or so I'm lead to believe.