Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Padraig Harrington's latest swing aid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Jaysus. If you wanted to bring him to the mad house you'd have him!

mad looking yolk ; guantanamo bay here we go.

Fixde runs out to buy one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Straightjackets coming in orange now!!!
    G'man Paddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Seves Three Iron

My favourite piece of Harrington kit was the 'Torpedo', a brass torpedo shaped weight he had attached to his putter shaft which he reckoned ensured a wider sweet spot on the clubface. Apparently the end result was that even bad putts go straight!

Saw him practicing another time with a piece of rope tied from the putter hosel to a fixed point about two metres behind him. He could make his backswing fine but when he followed through the rope would kick in and stop the motion. Nice idea in fairness to ensure a good firm stroke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭mirrorball

Fantastic. I love these fellas that cobble together something in the back garden/garage and see it through to being mass produced. Fair play to him, although I'll be trying a homemade version as per his own prototype before buying one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

That shirt looks like a "legal" way to replace the belly putter. Send a link to Keegan :-)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

He's actually used that for a years, well a homemade made version! Sewed the arms to the chest of his jumper. I met a local pro a while back who now teaches in Vegas and I asked for a tip. He said put each arm over each nipple and tie something around your arms and start hitting some balls! This just replicates what that crazy looking jumper does.

I've heard it said a couple of times that Harri may be storing up everything he knows about the golf swing for a future book, a definitive 'Hogan's 5 Lessons' type bible for golfers.

Would certainly be interesting stuff. He's currently carrying a pot belly around because he reckons the extra weight will help him hit the ball further and is helpful to his particular swing. Amazingly, he's put on 20 pounds to do this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

I've heard it said a couple of times that Harri may be storing up everything he knows about the golf swing for a future book, a definitive 'Hogan's 5 Lessons' type bible for golfers.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/101_Crazy_Swing_Gizmos/PH

Link doesnt seem to be working yet though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭TGoodall

Would certainly be interesting stuff. He's currently carrying a pot belly around because he reckons the extra weight will help him hit the ball further and is helpful to his particular swing. Amazingly, he's put on 20 pounds to do this.

If Harri writes a book on his ideas for the perfect swing it will be bigger than The Encyclopedia Brittanica, with more contradictions than the bible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Peterdalkey

It is mad looking alright but I would imagine it does a better job than the elbow bands made from physiotherapy surgial elastic that some golf instructers were suggesting to use to keep connected some years ago.

The real question is who here is going to buy one, try it and report back.... or even admit to having done so!!!

Cheers

Peter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

Harrington frustrates the life out of me with all his messing about and gadgets and what not. Just get on the tee box and hit the feckin thing!!

Gadget lovers will be all over this. I'd love one meself.

http://www.geoffshackelford.com/homepage/2013/1/8/swingtip-gets-ces-launch.html