Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where have all the High end Irish modern classics gone ?

• 08-01-2013 9:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,923 ✭✭✭

When growing up in. 80s and 90s you would remember well if you saw a top of the range merc jag BMW Bentley range rover on the road or for sale at a dealer as these. Thesr Cars are now fetching good money in the uk so expensive to Import . Where are all the Irish vehicles gone ? I can remember the md of woodchester bank always having w reg rolls / bentleys for instance. But you don't see these cars on the road / for sale anymOre ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭2cv

goochy wrote: »
    When growing up in. 80s and 90s you would remember well if you saw a top of the range merc jag BMW Bentley range rover on the road or for sale at a dealer as these. Thesr Cars are now fetching good money in the uk so expensive to Import . Where are all the Irish vehicles gone ? I can remember the md of woodchester bank always having w reg rolls / bentleys for instance. But you don't see these cars on the road / for sale anymOre ?

I'd say a lot of them are hidden away in sheds, waiting to "mature" :D high end stuff means high end tax, and people are fed up with paying nearly two grand a year for something that's used once or twice...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

With the possible exception of RR and Bentley, the vast majority will have been scrapped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

Anan1 wrote: »
    With the possible exception of RR and Bentley, the vast majority will have been scrapped.
    Or exported! Great time to come in here and cherry pick the cream of Irish classics or modern cars for knock down prices, that's ok for stuff that's been imported in the first place but a shame for the Irish stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

the usual slow demotion of once-top end cars through being taxis and so forth is what happens.Did you never watch "The Yellow Rolls Royce"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭68deville

speaking of Bentleys,an original 80s maroon example, GZV 7 was the reg i am nearly certain sat outside a house in blackwater for years and only
    recently has been moved,hope its alive and well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

corktina wrote: »
    the usual slow demotion of once-top end cars through being taxis and so forth is what happens.Did you never watch "The Yellow Rolls Royce"?
    At one stage or another most fall victim to the can buy but can't afford guys, someone was telling me recently that they had considered buying a last generation M5, superb car for silly money nowadays but some of the bills were simply eye watering! Begs the question where are you going to find good one in 10 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,923 ✭✭✭goochy

Have seen a few zv classics for sale at uk classic dealers but are cars being exported in big nos ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 698 ✭✭✭belcampprisoner

most broke down and were dumped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

most broke down and were dumped

( Lived in Belcamp when it was 'countryside' :rolleyes: )
    Met chap yesterday who had sold X-type for scrap - 'repairs' cost more than the value of the car, and the tax was OTT :eek:

Or exported! Great time to come in here and cherry pick the cream of Irish classics or modern cars for knock down prices, that's ok for stuff that's been imported in the first place but a shame for the Irish stuff

I wish someone would come with an 'export' transporter to my neck of the woods - I'd give them a few Mercs to bring to sunnier climes :cool:

Anybody on here organising 'export shipments' ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

[img][/img]http://www.carzone.ie/es-ie/images/no-image-large.gif

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Bentley/Continental/R-Mullin/32013566579244690/advert?channel=CARS

Maybe one of Craig McKinney's old cars? Think Dermot Desmond had one at one stage also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,923 ✭✭✭goochy

No that bentleys an import it's lovely car but has proved hard to sell Cafcos had it before lawfords dermots was a 95d black one and Pino Harris had 96d one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

There's no serious wealth in Ireland like there is in the UK and the car culture in the UK is far more serious than here. In England the cherish their heritage unlike here where only a handful respect the stuff the way it should and spend accordingly on restorations costs and general maintenance.
    I've been exporting cars out of Ireland for the last five years and a lot of the really good stuff is already gone including original Irish cars. Almost without exception, every trip i've made to the UK there's at least another two cars leaving on the same ferry as i'm on so that will give you some idea of the amount of stuff leaving.
    Sad to say it but I reckon in three to five years this country will be like eastern block Europe. Due to all the new taxes people are selling off their assets quietly to generate a bit of cash. It's very sad sometimes to see people selling a car they've had all their lives or even in the family a couple of generations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,953 ✭✭✭Bigus

Mc kinneys continental was 93 and green like the one in lawfords and I think denning s have it now.

Most of that stuff has gone for export and still going strong , some to lhd markets inc Ukraine,Moldova ,Albania , Georgia, Nigeria , and theres not a Hi lux or hiace pick up left here either.

What is last prize , what is last prize ?. Has it ensiti ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭68deville

I would say a fair number of classics are tucked away still,some havent been
    out for years but still in the country,and as long as they stay indoors regardless if they are driven or not is what counts as they stay intact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭sogood

I don't know if it falls into the above category, but my daily driver is a 1996 4 litre Jaguar XJ6 Sovereign. It was certainly high end when new and can still hold it's head up nowadays. Running costs aren't prohibitive at approx 28mpg average and I do pretty much all my own repairs and maintenance ( part time hobby). Fully comp insurance with lots of whistles and bells is only €315 yearly, but the road tax at €1,800 per annum is madness, but it was a choice I made. I enjoy driving and the pleasure factor,or, "smiles per gallon" is hard to beat.

My wish would be to keep it until it becomes a true classic, but that's 13 years away and who knows what might happen to classic car status/tax in the meantime, assuming of course that I last as long as the car does!

I have no doubts about the cars potential, mine is another matter!

I think a lot may have been turned into taxis, then scrapped when their mileage hit the 500k :eek:

The taxi 9/14 year rule has messed this up also, now taximen who were prepared to buy a cheap luxury barge and run/repair it are now forced to buy ex Garda Focus's because of the year rule.

Which would you rather taxi home in , a 95 S class or a 08 exGarda Focus.:mad:

No that bentleys an import it's lovely car but has proved hard to sell Cafcos had it before lawfords dermots was a 95d black one and Pino Harris had 96d one

Sounds like you're in the know. Out of curiosity, remember seeing a few Lotus Espirits around the place during the late 80s & early 90s - any idea who owned them or what happened to them?

Capri wrote: »
    Which would you rather taxi home in , a 95 S class or a 08 exGarda Focus.:mad:

I notice you forgot the 1994 Toyota Corolla :D

2cv wrote: »
    I notice you forgot the 1994 Toyota Corolla :D

There's actually an 88/89 Carina (AT170) taxiing in Dublin - I don't see it out much but I'm sure the old geezer takes care of it and knows where he's going - most customers are only in a taxi for 10-15 mins on average anyway ;)

Anyway, people have a choice, if they don't like the car/driver, just take the next one along :P

I used to refuse to get into a taxi if it was a Toyota... But i got sick of walking home so i changed my views :D

2cv wrote: »
    I used to refuse to get into a taxi if it was a Toyota... But i got sick of walking home so i changed my views :D

Be prepared for worse . About 60% of them are 06> Avensis / Octavia's now - the standard will drop further as it's not worth buying luxury cars to use as taxis any more.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,749 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Just go down to Dublin port and see all the stuff leaving: plant, trucks. We exported our crane last Thursday.

My 968's were exported too: one to N.I. One to U.K.

We'll be left with SFA eventually.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭w124man

Didnt a Mercedes 600 Pullman get shipped out recently. It was a Dublin reg - PZO something .....

w124man wrote: »
    Didnt a Mercedes 600 Pullman get shipped out recently. It was a Dublin reg - PZO something .....

I saw a rough 600 go out on the same ferry as me about 6 months ago, wasn't PZO though but was a Dublin reg. I'll see if I can find a photo I took of it. Galwaytt is right though, we'll be left with SFA. All the machinery auctions too, all the stuff is going abroad.

It's all the ex-Pat's buying Irish reg cars to go with the Denny's and Barry's that's going to the UK / OZ /NZ :p:p

As I said, if someone offers me the right money I'll let my Mercs be exported as well :rolleyes:

Quite a few people I know who have emigrated have taken their cars with them and I know three others who are taking their classics with them when they're heading off in the next few months. One as far as New Zealand. Not only won't there be any classic cars left but there won't be any classic people either!!

S'pose it's just the usual cycle we get of boom -bust -boom :rolleyes:. Thought it was a bit crass of Enda though to 'joke' that we were 'a small nation of 40 million , 4 million living ( left?) here' He and his like are the fools that have us in this mess.:mad:

It's all the ex-Pat's buying Irish reg cars to go with the Denny's and Barry's that's going to the UK / OZ /NZ :p:p

...funny you should say that: our crane was bought by an ex-pat from Cavan........building in Berlin !

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    ...funny you should say that: our crane was bought by an ex-pat from Cavan........building in Berlin !

There ye go !!!

Wonder what the scrap value of my S class would be if I seperated it - alloys in the engine/wheels, lead in the battery, leather seats, steel shell :confused::confused:

Having said that, just looked at http://www.autoscout24.eu/ListGN.aspx?vis=1&state=A&atype=C&make=47&model=15105&fuel=B&fregfrom=1999&fregto=2000&pricefrom=1000&body=6&page=1&results=20&ustate=N,U&sort=price&mmvco=1&mmvmk0=47&mmvmd0=15105&flzh=1 and the least a 99 S320 is going for in Germany is c.€3k , and old 00 E430's are going at c €2k so I'm better holding on I think

There ye go !!!

Wonder what the scrap value of my S class would be if I seperated it - alloys in the engine/wheels, lead in the battery, leather seats, steel shell :confused::confused:

Having said that, just looked at http://www.autoscout24.eu/ListGN.aspx?vis=1&state=A&atype=C&make=47&model=15105&fuel=B&fregfrom=1999&fregto=2000&pricefrom=1000&body=6&page=1&results=20&ustate=N,U&sort=price&mmvco=1&mmvmk0=47&mmvmd0=15105&flzh=1 and the least a 99 S320 is going for in Germany is c.€3k , and old 00 E430's are going at c €2k so I'm better holding on I think

Wheel on the wrong side is the issue there: I had 2 guys from Germany making me (rubbish) offers for my 968's due to rhd. They were trying it on: I know someone who just moved his rhd S8 back to the fatherland, and changed lenses and it passed TuV no problem. It's about finding the right guy.

Mind you, no shortage of used S-Class over there I'd say........

Ode To The Motorist

The guy who owns (or used to own) the Thunder Road Cafe has or used to have one of those.

galwaytt wrote: »
    Wheel on the wrong side is the issue there: I had 2 guys from Germany making me (rubbish) offers for my 968's due to rhd. They were trying it on: I know someone who just moved his rhd S8 back to the fatherland, and changed lenses and it passed TuV no problem. It's about finding the right guy.

Mind you, no shortage of used S-Class over there I'd say........

Might give the ol' Autoscout a try - now what's the German for RHD (Rechten Lenkung ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Might give the ol' Autoscout a try - now what's the German for RHD (Rechten Lenkung ;) )
    Rechtslenker.

Wonder would they call that a Right Langer in Cork :D

Rechtslenker.

Linksverkehr / Rechtsverkehr is what was on the paperwork for the 'yokes' I used to see...........

Ode To The Motorist