Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who've had a tip and block up the road.

• 07-01-2013 5:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭

Sat in a 10 km traffic jam this morning.

At the end of the jam were two a$$clowns that had tipped off each other in traffic and decided to stop in the right hand lane blocking one lane of traffic waiting there for the Polizei to turn up (Rather than drive 20 meters down the road where the hard shoulder began again)

Everyone was driving past was shouting at them.

They were just standing around on the Autobahn smoking cigarettes and shouting back at frustrated drivers going past.

Just because you've had a tip, if your car drives, get off the f*cking road !
    Theres no need to block a lane of traffic, pull into a safe place and do whatever you need to do.

Neither were German registrations either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

sounds similar to what happens at the start of the 80km/h zone northbound at kilmac every other morning. nightmare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭KTRIC

In Germany you're supposed to leave the cars where they are unless they're causing an obstruction when there's an accident. Its so when the Polizei do turn up (usually quickly) they can get a better idea of what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭pcardin

KTRIC wrote: »
    In Germany you're supposed to leave the cars where they are unless they're causing an obstruction when there's an accident. Its so when the Polizei do turn up (usually quickly) they can get a better idea of what happened.

Yes true, so it is in any other modern country. Here "polizei" doesn't give a flying fcuk unless someone ist tot. Here whoever has a louder mouth or better solicitor decides who's at fault. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

KTRIC wrote: »

Actually in Germany even if you have an accident by yourself you're supposed to report it and wait there for at least 30 minutes for the Police to turn up.

These lads were causing a hazard by essentially parking on 1 of the two usable lanes, worst thing was three lanes merged into 2 shortly before so you have a serious congestion problem.

The guy in front had a cracked bumper and the guy behind had lost a number plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Happens all the time, then the Garda arrives and shouts at them to move the cars without even looking at them first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

Had similar happen to me last year. old bint drove through a stop sign into my car. long story short she got me to move my car and then when i did she done a runner. (drove off down the road) after i reported it to AGS i had to do alot of chasing around to sort out the insurance aspect. turns out she claimed the accident happened 100 yards futher down the road which would have put me at fault. still waiting for the insurance to sort it out and this happened last march!

next time i will not move an inch till cops get there and anyone who yells at me will get twice the abuse back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭smcelhinney

Take 74 photos, no more, no less, and move the fu€k on..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

I'd take pics of everything, including the other driver, their reg plate and whatever bits of paper are in their windscreen. Only then would I even consider moving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Its all good and well the heroes coming on shouting at people to get the fluck out of the way so they can get into work and chat on boards.ie about the road being blocked...

But when your the poor unfortunate that some idiot has swiped, if you move before the garda have a note of the situation your putting yourself at a big disadvantage, potentially allowing the other party to claim less responsibility, or worse weasel out of it completely..

I've been in that position and only I held my place I'm sure he'd have pulled a fast one.. As it was his mates swept away the impact dirt, he lied about his ID, refused to engage with garda who called to his house.. If the vehicles had been moved I'm sure he would have made up some cock and bull to muddy the waters..

My advice is sit your ground and wait for the guards.. You could be seriously out of pocket otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

I have a disposable camera (with flash) in my car just in case, any tip without anyone being injured and the cars roadworthy and I would take 24 photos and move the feck on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I think what the OP was saying if there is no damage to either car or person, just move on. I came across this situation on a busy road, 2 cars in tip top condition one behind the other, not a scratch on either yet both drivers out chatting on their mobile phones blocking traffic turning right and straight. It smacked of compo culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Not according to Citizens information
    What should I do if I am involved in a motor accident?

If the accident is serious the cars should not be moved. If the accident is minor and the cars are blocking the road or are a danger to other road users, the road should be marked and the cars moved. Take care when moving damaged cars and be alert to the danger from leaking fuel.

You should try to warn oncoming traffic of the accident. You can warn them by using your hazard lights. If you have a reflective advance-warning triangle, place it on the road far enough from the scene of the accident to give enough warning to approaching traffic. If the accident happens near a bend in the road, make sure you give warning to traffic on both sides of the bend.

If you need to ask for another road user’s help to warn traffic, do so right away.

If someone is injured the Gardaí should be contacted (telephone 999 or 112) and, if necessary, ambulance services.

Further information on what to do at the scene of an accident is available in the Rules of the Road.
    What are my legal obligations?

Your legal obligations, if you are involved in a motor accident, are contained in Section 106 of the Road Traffic Act 1961 as amended by Section 45 of the Road Traffic Act 1994. You must stop your car and remain at the scene of the accident for a reasonable time.

If a Garda is present at the scene of the accident you must give, when requested:

Your name and address
    The address where your car is kept
    The name and address of the car owner
    The car's registration number
    Motor insurance details (including expiry date of the policy)

If there is no Garda present you must, when requested, give this information to:

The injured person where a person has been injured (or someone asking on the person’s behalf).
    To the owner where property has been damaged (or someone asking on the owner’s behalf).

If none of these are present the information should be given to some independent person who was present when the accident occurred.

If there is no Garda present, the accident must be reported as soon as possible to a Garda who is nearby or at a Garda station. This can be done by the persons, if any, to whom you gave the information. If they are not in a position to do so, you must report the accident.

The guards don't even have to attend an accident.