Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Superbowl Parties in Dublin

• 07-01-2013 2:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭

Right, its that time again. Where are those pole dancing, boob tube wearing hotties going to be this year?

Must say, I thought last year was great in The Capitol.

Anyone know anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Lothaar v2

That was the Dublin Rebels party last year. The venue is currently TBC, but the event will be bigger and better than last year. As always, I'll be running some sort of special deal for boardsies :) I'll be posting with details asap.

To get updates, check out the Facebook page.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

any updates on this lads?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

adrian522 wrote: »

Yep - check that thread for updates on the Rebels' SB party as things happen. The venue has been confirmed as Harry's on the Green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭baddebt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Justin10

Is that pub not really small?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Gweedling

Right, its that time again. Where are those pole dancing, boob tube wearing hotties going to be this year?

I hope you're not talking about the Rebels O-Line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

McSorley's in Ranelagh were advertising a Superbowl Party in saturday's Irish Times.

I got a ticket for the whoolshed so happy days :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Have been told we're going to the Portobello. Anyone know what it's like in terms of screens, HD, that kind of thing?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Lads, trying to decide where to watch the big game,

Anyone ever watched it anywhere other than the woolshed?

I think the Portobello, Roddy Bolands, McSorley's and Peader Kearneys all do a superbowl night, anyone have experience of any of these?

i also know the Dublin Rebels have their party in Harry's on the green this year, but just looking for opinions,

I'd say your best bet is the Rebels one. Everyone going is sound and awesome - plus I'd say there's a much better chance of the Niners winning if you're at the Rebels party.

Ok, you've convinced me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Have Roday Boland's ever done a Superbowl party before? I like the pub, but having watched American football there a few times I dunno if they are going to be a good place atmosphere wise.

Pretty sure I saw a decent crowd at McSorley's one year, but I didn't actually go there so I dunno if it would actually be good. If anyone has some good opinion of it, Id give serious consideration to it.

Portobello have a great set up in terms of the quality of the screen, the sound, and a good track record of actually caring about NFL. But they also charged us about six quid a pint after about twelve when we were in watching a late game before. That was a big enough problem for me to not want to go there. Six quid is a scandalous price.

Thinking of staying local to Rathmines myself, so any advice is welcome of course (accepting that the Rebels do a great set up, no question, have had a great time there in the past, and in the Woolshed)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Since when do you need a ticket for the Woolshed?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Unclebumble

You don't need ticket for Woolshed - it's free entry

Ye you dont but got one of the seats so decent view and no queues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Unclebumble

Rochey18 wrote: »
    Ye you dont but got one of the seats so decent view and no queues.
    Yeah you're right - wish I got a ticket for seat but all sold out. I was just saying you don't need ticket to go watch it. That's where I'm heading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 smashysmash

was in dtwo last year, they had a pretty insane night and all that with beer pong etc. I'll look for the facebook event I got earlier and lash it up but 20 screen in that smoking area could be pretty key! there seems to be loads more places on the bandwagon this week though!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

was in dtwo last year, they had a pretty insane night and all that with beer pong etc. I'll look for the facebook event I got earlier and lash it up but 20 screen in that smoking area could be pretty key! there seems to be loads more places on the bandwagon this week though!

dtwo will be VERY young and not overly superbowl focused

really you reckon? wasn't last year? I went in there for the all-ireland final and felt kind of young in the place (and i'm 26 ha!)

any suggestions mel?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

really you reckon? wasn't last year? I went in there for the all-ireland final and felt kind of young in the place (and i'm 26 ha!)

any suggestions mel?

its run by quite a young event group, college group with a young base, and will be full of em, night club will be blaring downstairs with game on upstairs. Apparently serving for duration of the game tho.

found the link ---> https://www.facebook.com/events/380168908746762/

fair enough mel, cheers for the heads up! Think I'll give it a goo anyways though, only place that actually seems american football focused (sorry not having a go but they have drinks deals which no one else seems to/they have massive screens all over the place

and i'd reckon you're right on the serving too, probably the only place out of the lot of them who have a hotel attached (pweeze correct me if I'm wrong anyone!) which means they can serve later... think that may sway me but I'm still open to suggestions :)

only place that actually seems american football focused

Would be pretty sure the Rebels party would be American football focused...obviously.
    Also anyone who's been in the Woolshed will agree that it's pretty damn football focused as well.
    Not saying anything against the D2 party, but given your posting history, are you sure you aren't actually involved with UCD's American football team who are running this thing? Would be nice if you just declared your involvement, like Lothaar did for example when promoting the Rebels one? Unless I'm totally off the mark, in which case apologies.

Ha no man, was in Ucd but unfortunately no more!

Ha I meant about previous poster saying about the nightclub aspect (which I see catering to those not watching the game/better halves who have been dragged out)

Balancing plug for the dublin dragons game in Sinnotts and the north Kildare reapers in the arc bar Liffey valley, just so ye know I'm not plugging dtwo :P (looking back at my last post I see what ya were saying, long time since I've been active on these boards, came looking for Super Bowl info!)

Hope that clears it up for ya :)

Go ravens :)

Ha no man, was in Ucd but unfortunately no more!

Ha I meant about previous poster saying about the nightclub aspect (which I see catering to those not watching the game/better halves who have been dragged out)

Balancing plug for the dublin dragons game in Sinnotts and the north Kildare reapers in the arc bar Liffey valley, just so ye know I'm not plugging dtwo :P (looking back at my last post I see what ya were saying, long time since I've been active on these boards, came looking for Super Bowl info!)

Hope that clears it up for ya :)

Go ravens :)
    Fair play lad. Didn't know anything about the one in Sinnott's, they kept that one fairly quiet all the same.

Is it ok to get to the woolshed late with the seated tickets?? Thanks

yeah, you'll probably have to throw someone out of your seats though, no problem getting in late.