Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai responce to complaint!

• 05-01-2013 6:29pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭

I was driving home this evening when I fell into convoy at 25km/h behind a truck which was quite clearly overloaded, badly lit and driving erratically. I joined the convoy as the sixth car behind the truck. The truck was travelling at 25 to 30kph and I was stuck behind it all the ways home and I was behind for 14kms.

One car overtook head first from three cars behind into oncoming traffic and narrowly escaped crashing. two cars reached their destinations and pulled off the road along the way and two more cars managed to overtake in one of the few overtaking places which were free of oncoming traffic along the way. I ended up traveling directly behind the lorry 2kms from my home so luckily got his number-plate. The same truck had refused to pull in at 4 different lorry sized laybys along the road despite some of the drivers infront of me flashing the headlights at him and sounding their horns.

Normally this sort of situation would make me very angry and I was quite frustrated but what could I do? I was unwilling to overtake dangerously and risk my life because of him.

When I got home I rang the local gardai station straight away and complained the truck for dangerous driving, the Guard told me on the phone that what I had explained was not dangerous driving and that once the lorry was taxed that he was entitled to drive at 2mph if he wished. He said he'd look into the overloading issue and lack of proper lighting, (the truck had 1 tail light and no light running up the side).

I explained the danger the truck was causing and the guard told me that if someone overtakes dangerously it is their fault and they are causing dangerous driving.

I have absolutely nothing but disgust against the Guard and his absolute lack of interest and unwillingness to do anything about this dangerous truck.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

There is no law that says you have to drive at any speed other than below the speed limit.

What do you expect the Garda to do? He said he will look into what he can in fairness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

homer_eating_popcorn.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

fletch wrote: »
    homer_eating_popcorn.jpg

Will you share some of that there fletch ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

While it is true to say anyone that chances overtaking dangerously is an idiot, that garda is a complete idiot too. Fortunately all gardai do not have this attitude towards people needlessly causing a train of cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    Will you share some of that there fletch ?

The popcorn? Or the drugs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭Arciphel

What about the recent case where a farmer was prosecuted for driving slowly in his tractor on a main road and causing about tailback? Does that not set a precedent here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

What's the Garda supposed to do? It's not like he witnessed it, or will be able to find any others (other than yourself) who witnessed it. Even if he wanted to prosecute for dangerous driving, he probably has so little to go on that he'd be wasting his time.

You didn't ring until you got home, so he couldn't even ascertain where the truck was at the time of the call, even if he wanted to jump in the car and witness it for himself.

The lighting and overloading, however, is something he'd be able to witness if he visits the truck before it's unloaded, and so he can do something about that.

Sounds like he's doing as much as he can (provided he investigates the lighting and overloading issues), and you may be expecting a little much from the whole situation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Arciphel wrote: »
    What about the recent case where a farmer was prosecuted for driving slowly in his tractor on a main road and causing about tailback? Does that not set a precedent here.

The guard said there was a case recently of a tractor causing a tail-back of 32 cars somewhere in Cork who had the case dismissed on the grounds of he paid his tax and can drive how he wants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Seanieke

I thought it was now illegal for a truck to pull over to let cars pass? Another of this county's well thought out laws. Maybe a trucker here can confirm? Though thery're probably over in D'dirty Diesel Forum.

That guard is talking through his behind, go and have a word with the superintendent or better yet write them a letter detailing your complaint and the inadequate response you received.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

How do you know the truck was overloaded?

Should the driver not be on the road because he wasn't going fast enough for you. Is there a legal minimum limit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Ring Trafficwatch, you'll get a better response from them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

MugMugs wrote: »
    How do you know the truck was overloaded?

Should the driver not be on the road because he wasn't going fast enough for you. Is there a legal minimum limit?

This was no ordinary truck, and I must credit commercial truckers they are very courteous and along the same route you will often see a truck pulling into one of the laybys or the trucker even spending the night there in his cab.

This was some motley crew outfit of farmers as the truck was hauling silage bales and hay and there was no rachet straps like you'd see on big loads of silage like that. I reckon he was driving slow deliberately incase the load would fall off as it did not seem to be tied down at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

That guard is talking through his behind, go and have a word with the superintendent or better yet write them a letter detailing your complaint and the inadequate response you received.

If the OP wants the driver of the truck prosecuted then go to the ststion and make a formal written complaint and ve prepared to follow through and give evidence in court if need be. Without a formal complaint the guard can do bugger all. But I'd say even with a written complaint it's going no where, unless the truck is weighed then there is no proof of overloading and the driver simply has to state that he was driving at a speed which he felt safe considering the vehicle and load. It is not dangerous driving and never will be, driving without due care or consideration is probably the height of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Seanieke

Quick call to Traffic Watch 1890205805. I'd be interested to see what they ask you etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

14km and not one chance to pass a slow moving vehicle, time to trade in the punto me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Seanieke wrote: »
    I thought it was now illegal for a truck to pull over to let cars pass? Another of this county's well thought out laws. Maybe a trucker here can confirm? Though thery're probably over in D'dirty Diesel Forum.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90X09r5ibcY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Stinicker wrote: »
    This was some motley crew outfit of farmers as the truck was hauling silage bales and hay and there was no rachet straps like you'd see on big loads of silage like that. I reckon he was driving slow deliberately incase the load would fall off as it did not seem to be tied down at all.

If this is the case then it wasn't overloaded as straw bales while bulky weigh very little and your talking rubbish if you honestly expect anyone to believe they weren't tied down in some manner. Even the greatest cowboy chancer wouldn't risk any length of journey without them being tied down so after all has been said and done the man was not committing any serious offence bar a few lights not working which were not the reason you started the thread. You got stuck behind a slow moving truck and because the guards didn't come out and pander to your silly complaint you came on here to bitch about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

no reference to Dangerous Driving there

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Seanieke wrote: »
    Quick call to Traffic Watch 1890205805. I'd be interested to see what they ask you etc.

They just pass the details onto the local Gardai. So same as what the OP did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

CJC999 wrote: »
    If this is the case then it wasn't overloaded as straw bales while bulky weigh very little and your talking rubbish if you honestly expect anyone to believe they weren't tied down in some manner. Even the greatest cowboy chancer wouldn't risk any length of journey without them being tied down so after all has been said and done the man was not committing any serious offence bar a few lights not working which were not the reason you started the thread. You got stuck behind a slow moving truck and because the guards didn't come out and pander to your silly complaint you came on here to bitch about it.

http://i.imgur.com/C9aUd.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

A priest visiting relatives in Ireland died on Friday after a collision involving his car and a tractor and trailer.

Fr Edward Murphy, from Cambridge, died after the crash on the M9 motorway in Kilkenny. The incident happened at 3.30pm and Fr Murphy was the driver and only occupant of the car.

This man was killed recently on the Waterford motorway , when his car crashed into the back of a tractor and trailer .

In the OP's case , lack of proper lighting is main problem . Silage round bales look dangerous , and may not have been strapped fully , but there is no law to say they must be strapped .
    If this was in law , many trucks would be summonsed every day of the week .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

MarkMc wrote: »
    Ring Trafficwatch, you'll get a better response from them

I was driving the M50 just before Xmas. Some idiot was driving without a light in their car working apart from the hazards. Drove with the hazards continuously on (he over took me, driving in lane 1 via the middle lane, no idea how he indicates to change lanes)

Rang traffic watch, 1st time I'd ever done so. The lady who answered was shocked but her response was "you'd think he'd keep to the slow lane or even drive in the hard shoulder"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

The Circut Court cannot set precedent. Only the High Court or above can for later cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

This man was killed recently on the Waterford motorway , when his car crashed into the back of a tractor and trailer .
    There's a minimum speed set for motorways.

Do trucks not have a tachometer, or is that just for the articulated variety?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

Stheno wrote: »
    There is no law that says you have to drive at any speed other than below the speed limit.

What do you expect the Garda to do? He said he will look into what he can in fairness?

did not a judge convict a guy for driving too slow last summer, on a tractor perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Jesus .... just .. Wtf

any serious offence .. well i guess he probably wasn't drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Were you there? You dont know that unless you saw it.Nothing surprises me when it comes to people doing stupid things, so not having them tied down does not surprise me. I have seen it myself, and they are heavy so they may stay on but should not chance it.

It costs nothing to be courteous on the road. IMO that driver should have kept in if/when the chance arose.If the road was a narrow country road or something, then fair enough. Didnt expect the driver to constantly keep pulling in, but now and again would be fine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 122 ✭✭Grass between the tracks

There's a minimum speed set for motorways.

Nope. Only vehicles incapable of achieving 50 km/h are prohibited. They can be still driven less than this.

I'd love to know the full circumstances of this crash, and whether it applies to this situation, I fail to see how it could happen at all tbh.

AltAccount wrote: »
    I fail to see how it could happen at all tbh.
    Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

In fairness I have rang garadi twice about a drunk driver and a car + trailer on the motorway with no lights. The first time time I called 999 for the drunk, the Garda station called me back and since I was going the same direction as the drunk they kept me on the phone until a car met us. The second time I rang Traffic watch about the car & trailer, again the Gardai called me back and tries to find the direction the car headed.

TBH the Garda could do no more, the truck, while may have been overloaded, was driving within the speed limit. Maybe they where busy with something else.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Why?

Why what? Why can I find it hard to imagine something?

I'm not sure how to answer that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭FaganJr

mickdw wrote: »
    Fortunately all gardai do not have this attitude

Sorry but the Majority of the Gardai have that attitude.

Why what? Why can I find it hard to imagine something?

I'm not sure how to answer that...

Why do you find it hard to believe a car could drive into the back of a tractor and trailer on the motorway?

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Why do you find it hard to believe a car could drive into the back of a tractor and trailer on the motorway?

I dunno, it's something to do with the sight lines, additional lanes available to escape into if you suddenly find yourself bearing down on another vehicle, no dazzle from oncoming vehicles, normally decent lighting etc. that makes it hard to picture someone driving into the back of another vehicle hard enough to kill themselves, unless there are some other extenuating circumstances.

Again, I'm not raising it to take the thread OT, as I'm not sure how it compares to the OP's situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

I'd love to know the full circumstances of this crash, and whether it applies to this situation, I fail to see how it could happen at all tbh.

Don't know the circumstances , but a truck driver who was at the scene told me that the deceased was driving a Fiat Punto , and he may have mis-judged the speed of the tractor and trailer .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭navara man

op said it was bales of silage not straw bales of silage could weight up to 800kg