Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Financial Help

Options
  • 05-01-2013 2:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭

Hey Ladies (fellas too?)

I was wondering if any of yous might be able to help me, by giving me advice or a nudge in the right direction.

I'm a first year college student. I'm 20 in a couple weeks and currently 3 1/2 months pregnant. I wish to continue my course and want to know what kind of help is available and where I'd be able to find it, online to read up on it, and where to apply?

Thanks!!
    :)

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭Nicky30

• Registered Users Posts: 9,624 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

1st of all, are you planning to have baby during the summer and get back to college in Sept? If so, the Student assistance fund may be able to help you. You apply in Sept and its paid in a lump some in Oct. Its just a helping hand as opposed to a weekly payment. You can apply again in Jan. Its usually handled by the college directly, try the student union for info.

2nd, are you living at home, single etc. This will decide how much help you get from the social welfare. If yo are in a relationship, there is no payment apart from Child benefit when the baby arrives. Unless your partner is claiming JSA etc, if you live with him, you may get the dependant rate of €135 for you and €29.80 for baby per week.

If you claim one parent family, you may be able to keep it while at college.

Unless you have worked for the year 2011, you will not get maternity pay. If you stay registered in college, you will not get JSA during the summer.