Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blinkin' Hell! never thought id need advice on this..

• 04-01-2013 8:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭

Hey All:

As I have stated above, I really did not think I would need advice on what to do but rather than do the wrong thing, I said id ask some boardsies..Oh ye of infinite knowledge.

My ex..(yeah i know) whom I have a very amicable and at times close friendship with have kept our distance from each other..romantically..for a couple of years. It was what we both wanted..no confusion on either side.

New years... she sent me a Happy New Years blah blah blah, and included in it xxx. Now, I know people send x's in messages, and she is not that type of person. Ive know those people, i dont like them. Why send an x if it doesnt mean something?

Anyhoo, like a pro i replied..Happy New Years blah blah generic greeting and i included one x.

This really is pathetic i know but after years of the status quo remaining unchanged, what gives?

I feel i should hold my ground and not contact her. If those multiple x's meant something, Im sure she isnt going to sit on it.

Holy ****balls...i may have answered my own question!!!

or did i?... help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭judgefudge

It was probably just a nice happy New Years message. If there's meaning behind it she will probably get in touch again. Otherwise you can ask her? I presume if you're reading into something so small you still have feelings for her.

When I'm drunk I sometimes include many x's at the end of texts to friends. And I'm not someone who would usually include them.

Short answer - I don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Thanks to what I've added to the predictive text choices, my phone can insert my name followed by xxxx, even when I don't specifically type it...so unless she follows it up with something, I'd not read too much into it.

If she is interested in getting back in contact, you'll know.

All the best. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭DangerMouse27

oh Judgefudge, your probably right. I did not think I still had feelings but in just finding this out, I guess I have learned something new.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Chronic Button

It means nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I hate to be the one to say it but it means you are not over her, even after this long, no matter how much you pretend you are.

You are reading way too much into it no matter how much you try to justify it by saying 'shes not that type of person' to put xxx's on the end of her texts?

You are reading way too much into that I'm afraid.

Maybe after 2 years of you being amicable she actually thought you were alright with moving on and that an x/kiss at the end of a text wouldn't get your wheels turning.

I have plenty of female friends (some exes included) who put an x at the end of some texts. It's really not a sign of anything 99.9% of the time

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,914 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

It more than likely means nothing, and if she didn't specifically name you or say something directly to you, then there's a very big chance it was a group text.

Maybe you were over her... But now it sounds like you've fallen for her again.

But who knows? Maybe she has fallen for you again, too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭thier

I wouldn't be so sure it means nothing! If I were to text my ex, I most certainly would not be using xxx unless I was trying to stir up things and maybe get him back. I wouldn't even be texting him in the first place but there you go...

And you said she's not even the type to use xxx.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭dannyc31

i would tend to disagree slightly with some of the above replies. it is true that you are reading into it because you want it to mean more than just a random text. that is, you probably still have feelings for her and would kinda like the idea of kicking it off again.

on the other hand new years is a highly emotional time of the year, people tend to start assessing in the minds where their lives are at, are they happy in their jobs? are they happy in their relationships etc etc. she may of been drunk and emotional and is still single and lonely and start to think of ex's that didnt work out, you being one of them and perhaps began to think to herself "why didnt that one work out?" and so sent the text to hint at the idea of you perhaps kicking something off again.

my advice would be not too thou if thats the case.. you broke up for a reason the first time and its just that sometimes time can be a great healer and people can sometimes forget the negative things that caused a relationship to break down and start viewing the old relationship thru rose tinted glasses.

on the other hand if you did think there was potential to get something positive out of it you could follow up with it maybe thru the chat feature on facebook when she was online with friendly banter and see how she reacts.

otherwise forget about it and keep looking & moving forward with your life not backwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭DangerMouse27

Guys, thanks for your varied views on the situation.

She is not the type of person to send x's in any messages, especially New Years ones. She hates the group message thing too.
    I have not met her yet since the message but I will soon.

I always convinced myself I would never try anything again, because I enjoyed the place where our friendship went and I would not be the one to put myself out there.
    Anyhoo...I was seeing someone about six months ago so of course I havent carried around these feelings.

We will inevitably meet in the short term and I will see from then whats what.

Feckin New Years eh?? lol