Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Travellers, recession proof

• 03-01-2013 8:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭

Between landscaping, scrap iron, general wheeling and dealing, laying tar, buying and selling cars they can turn their hand to anything.

I don't think ive seen a poor one, recent documentarys just proves the point they are the new wealth power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

this is going to be good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

I Was VB wrote: »
    I don't think ive seen a poor one, recent documentarys just proves the point they are the new wealth power.
    Nah they don't.

I can understand a person having concerns about various issues within the traveller community, but they're hardly super wealthy ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Fair play to them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭Nippledragon

The are settlers, not travellers. They don't travel. Ever met one in Thailand?
    Come to think of it, they don't settle well either......:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Mods going to hit hard in this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

Hang on.....I've to pop out for the popcorn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Between landscaping, scrap iron, general wheeling and dealing, laying tar, buying and selling cars they can turn their hand to anything.

popcorn.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭hyperborean

god bless ryanair,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Dags' n carpets boss.

Seriously though, seen my first 131 reg today, landrover discovery, owned by a traveller.

Had a good chat with the bloke, wished him luck with it, fair play to him, he was sitting in 60k more of a car than me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

0.7% of the populace on Wikipedia and all the hullabaloo about them on these boards, the Dutch have a similar fixation on Homos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

The are settlers, not travellers. They don't travel.
    True they never go anywhere
    There was a big fat lad (traveller)ahead of me in que for lifestyle last week the amount of gold on this fella was ridiculous
    Same as his wife loads of gold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Madam_X wrote: »
    Nah they don't.

I can understand a person having issues with various issues within the traveller community, but they're hardly super wealthy ffs.
    Madam take a trip to Rathkeale and you will quickly retract that statement ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

So what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

someone's been watching tv3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭jonsnow

The are settlers, not travellers. They don't travel. Ever met one in Thailand?
    Come to think of it, they don't settle well either......:confused:

Actually I did meet a member of the travelling community in thailand about 5 years ago and he seemed like a nice chap too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

You a traveller ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

I hear they work like slaves.....

( or else get slaves to do the work for them)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

Well if we all done cash work and didn't pay tax then we would all be driving fancy cars!

All they have to do is ask for a pps number when buying cars from a dealer....see then how may new jeeps they get while on the dole!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Just when China thought they were about become the new economic power house, along comes the traveling community to upset the apple cart.

Fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭Steven81

Is there a Paul Williams here in house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

They come under the same scrutiny from revenue and other governmental agencies as the rest of us........don't they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

cruiser178 wrote: »
    You a traveller ?

That is neither a statement; nor a question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

shure, they dnot have to worry about paying lads minimum wage,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

They come under the same scrutiny from revenue and other governmental agencies as the rest of us........don't they?

You can buy PPS numbers.......not saying they use them :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Their old traditional skills just aren't as valuable any more. They haven't really adapted to modern life at all.

You've seriously never seen a poor one?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

TheBody wrote: »
    Hang on.....I've to pop out for the popcorn.

Ok, I'm back. Carry on.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

You never see a baldy traveller...

Ever wonder why....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

I remember the day they tried to sell me my neighbours wheelbarrow and assorted gardening gear. Im not saying they stole them but they were selling them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

There will never be a real discusion possible, but the scope and scale of Travvelers businesses would stagger most settled people. I doubt too many know the street they bought and converted into a makeshift warehouse for antiques by knocking all the houses through, nor the scope/scale of their tarmac and painting businesses in the USA and Europe. Or their trade in antiquities(ahem), tobacco imports(ahem), the pharma business(ahem), caravan, van and tool dealing, just how lucrative scrap metal is, their market stalls, carpet businesses, new furniture trade, ah sure, the list goes on and on. Not being overly burdened with paperwork also assists profitablility. And no, I'm not a travveler basher, I think we are the mugs, not them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

That is neither a statement; nor a question.

Humour not your strong point then

The car park of the pub i drink in, over the whole Christmas holidays was littered with some the most expencive cars/jeeps i have ever seen. I dont know where they get their money but fair fuks to them, although i did hear a rumour that some travellers rent out these cars just to look the part, dont know if thats true or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

TheBody wrote: »
    Ok, I'm back. Carry on.....

Did you get salted or toffee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Easy to get rich if you dont pay any form of tax and get your life paid for by the state

The same state is afraid of them and 90% of the time turns a blind eye to their rampant criminality

only the stupidest of them are caught and end up in jail which is about 29% of their adult population

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Froyo

You never see a baldy traveller...

Ever wonder why....

There was a surge in reports to the Gardai relating to stolen wigs though a good few years ago.

Studies have shown the trend is continuing at a steady rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

Sure aren't dem gays recession proof too.

Saw a documentary on one of them he was feckin loaded, jewelry, jet plane and everything. Just coz he wrote a song about princess Diana.

Saw a black guy on a documentary too, nd he was feckin loaded, big white house.

And don't get me started on dem Jews.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

I'm not out to bash them, fair play to them.

As for not paying tax, yeah I really think the taxes I'm paying now is going to a government who uses all of it wiseley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Froyo

I'm not out to bash them, fair play to them.

No, you just started a thread and sat back waiting for everyone else to!

I'm onto you!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

The "job" that would employ the majority of them is fairly recession proof. Scouse tax didn't go up in the last budget.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Of course they are. They live life tax free, while on the dole. Theres no denying it. I served a round of pints to a group of travellers before and was given a counterfeit 500 euro note. They're a bit more clever than people give them credit for.

No doubt a swathe of anti racist post reporting will put this thread to bed soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

FFS.