Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Nice and Quiet"

• 03-01-2013 5:06pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭

How come everyone replies this to being asked "How was your Christmas?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Because the had a nice and quiet Christmas. It's not code.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Because it's fashionable to be frugal and or stuck for cash.

Translation,
    "Nothing happened and I was bored stiff!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

I wouldn't answer it like that. I'd say I had a rockin' christmas surrounded by absolutely lovely nutters :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...Because Anto and Thickie were busy off with their joyriding around 'Town'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Just small talk really. Horrible horrible forced small talk.

It's like when anybody asks you if you have 'any craic?'. You automatically reply 'No, all's quiet'. You then race through your mind desperate to find some 'craic' lest you are thought a loser. You shout at your brain: 'anything, give me anything!' before coming out with something inane like 'I bought new shoes last week'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Naughty and Loud

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

mud wrote: »
    I wouldn't answer it like that. I'd say I had a rockin' christmas surrounded by absolutely lovely nutters :)

That's nice.

With a name like yours, I'm glad you weren't lonely this Christmas :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Its a fairly normal reply to a standard question. People are working hard all year and Christmas gives them the chance to kick back, eat rubbish, watch some tv and do nothing. I mean, what are you expecting people to do at Christmas- climb a mountain, travel the world? Its a holiday to relax!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭thier

Another question you get from older people: "So how did you get over the Christmas?". Twas quite an ordeal alright...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Well there was feck all good on the TV contraption - the wife's 'Auntie' came to call and the hooker down the street was playing away - so things was quiet indeed to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

It's the easiest answer to kill the conversation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

I usually reply "Can't remember a fucking thing...well not much. Started drinking right after work on the 21st. Flashing lights....strange bed.....smell of piss....church.....smell of turkey and babyshit......screaming.....smashing glass....clinking of bottles.....another strange bed...smell of weed and vomit.....laughing....white lines on the table.....then I was watching New Year's Day premier league match. How was your's? Nice and quiet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

With 25 people including 4 children under the age of 8, a pair of 4 month old twins and 2 teenagers in the house it was anything but quiet but it was lovely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Because its a stupid question. Do you really want to know how someone's Christmas went? Is it any of your business? Would you like to hear a full rundown on how their Christmas actually was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

"Mind your own f**king business" is the reply I get.

My neighbors are a private lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,204 ✭✭✭amacca

CJC999 wrote: »
    Because its a stupid question. Do you really want to know how someone's Christmas went? Is it any of your business? Would you like to hear a full rundown on how their Christmas actually was?

Ah its just some safe bullsh1t question that is easy to answer for those asked and allows the asker to be friendly/conversational without having to come up with some amazing witty conversation starter

just an excuse to say something which amounts to nothing really

small small talkin

non-commital..safe etc

better than .....jaysus I really missed the sight of your arse over the holidays....or alternately....jaysus I had nearly forgotten how unattractive your big hole was over the holidays but there it is again like a horrible reminder that all is not right in the world btw how were the holidays for you...actually never mind I just cant stand to be around you any longer