Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Knee problems...

• 02-01-2013 8:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭

I've been playing golf almost a year now and in the last week or 2 I've been having problems with my right knee. I assume it's from the twisting when swinging the club but last night it actually kept me awake the pain got that intense.

Now I'm not looking for medical advice here just wondering does anyone else suffer from this and how they manage the problem. In general I'm in fairly good condition so any advice would be very helpful...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Peterdalkey

chin nuts wrote: »
    I've been playing golf almost a year now and in the last week or 2 I've been having problems with my right knee. I assume it's from the twisting when swinging the club but last night it actually kept me awake the pain got that intense.

Now I'm not looking for medical advice here just wondering does anyone else e from this and how they manage the problem. In general I'm in fairly good condition so any advice would be very helpful...

It depends on what age you are, to some extent. I have a crunchy right knee from old rugby abuse. Essentially I have bits of cartilage floating in my right knee, the doc said he would do keyhole when it started giving persistent trouble. It does flair up now and again from playing golf and I rest, elevate and ice it and then use a sports knee support for the next couple of rounds. I also take NSAIDS, brufex tablets... otc in chemist to take down swelling. It might happen twice a year, when a piece of cartilage gets out of its normal hiding place! I am a 1952 model!

Hope this helps.... I feel better already myself!

Cheers

Peter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭chin nuts

Thanks for the help, I'm 30 never had issues with the knees before or injuries so am abit surprised with the problems tbh. I played 3 days in a row which is when the knee got very painful but will take ur advice on board. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I'm 29 and have had a similar problem up until last summer. Fairly sporty but my knees where... Ahem, my achilles heal.

I had been having trouble with it since I started playing a few years previously.
    It generally happened whenever I overdid it at range/course.
    Thankfully, I haven't had a problem in 6 months or so. My swing has changed since then and I think it's all related. (Still have the same knees :) )

I never got it checked out, but was on the verge of doing so.
    My brother who is doing a sports fitness course at present reckons it was the over use of the muscle/ligament under my knee cap (can't remember the name).
    It never bothered me during practice or playing but the pain would wake me in the middle of the night. It'd happen a few times each night. It was like someone took a hammer to my knee cap, I'd jump out of bed and have severe pain for 5-10mins and then it'd be grand.

Touch wood it's fine, looking back on it, I should have got it checked out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

chin nuts wrote: »

Now I'm not looking for medical advice here just wondering does anyone else suffer from this and how they manage the problem. In general I'm in fairly good condition so any advice would be very helpful...

Best advice you'll get here will be to get it looked at first off. But if you are awake with intense pain I'm guessing it has to be an injury surely not just too much walking or swinging the club, it's hard to imagine nothing being injured in the knee with that kind of pain. Last thing I'd say is your specific swing whatever it looks like should never cause injury, with golf the only issues for the most part one should have to be dealing with would be repetitive strain types tennis elbow etc not what you seem to be describing. Get it looked at.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

I think the best advice would be to go see a specialist instead of taking advice from a bunch of us here which could do more harm than good in the long term

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Peterdalkey

charlieIRL wrote: »
    I think the best advice would be to go see a specialist instead of taking advice from a bunch of us here which could do more harm than good in the long term

I agree completely. A visit to a physiotherapist specialising in sports injuries/treatments is probably the best first step. They are very good on soft tissue damage and tendon/ligament strains. They will always advise if you need to go on to a doctor/hospital.

cheers

Peter

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,473 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

I'm Mr Bad Knees, 4 ops so far and more to follow.

IMHO regular golfing at our level is very unlikely to give you the symptoms described, most likely something from earlier in your life surfacing now.
    Floating cartilage can sometime be it but there's no 100% cure for this, I've had mine trimmed and pain still there from time to time, fluids can be drained but this is short term as is steriods.

Physio would be a good call, sports physio not a general physio.
    Someone who deals in the knocks and bangs associated with road running, football and rugby as that's what puts knees out most.

Did you road jog perchance???

I'm a 70's model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Duggless

You don't necessarily have to have played sports to have problems with your joints but it does help . Simple things such as walking , getting out of a car ,playing in the back garden with the kids can cause damage to the knee . I have bad knees also which are sports injuries from the days when a spray of deep heat on the field and just grin and bear it . Now I'm suffering as I've had 2 operations it's been drained of fluid 4 times ,as much fluid/steroid put back in also and now I'm looking at another op this year .The cartilage in my knee is now gone down to the bone so just go look after your knees because you will be sorry if you don't . Late 30's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

It depends on what age you are, to some extent. I have a crunchy right knee from old rugby abuse. Essentially I have bits of cartilage floating in my right knee, the doc said he would do keyhole when it started giving persistent trouble. It does flair up now and again from playing golf and I rest, elevate and ice it and then use a sports knee support for the next couple of rounds. I also take NSAIDS, brufex tablets... otc in chemist to take down swelling. It might happen twice a year, when a piece of cartilage gets out of its normal hiding place! I am a 1952 model!

Hope this helps.... I feel better already myself!

Cheers

Peter

Jaysus Peter fair play, you write like young wise man.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,473 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

If your knee does play up on you OP, RICE

Rest
    Ice
    Compression
    Elevation

I do this as a PM measure also, it does help

Thanks for the input lads. Like I said I'm not here looking for medical advice just wondering if this was a common complaint amongst other golfers, I know a few guys I play with have back trouble that flairs up every now and again.
    Anyway I haven't played since I last posted here and rested the knee up and it has improved a lot, feels much better. Reckon I'll give it another week just to be safe then get a knee strap to support it. Cant wait to get out and play again tho.
    Once again thanks for all the advice guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

Most likely a common condition called Patello-Femoral Syndrome (PFS).

Likely to recur, so mention it to your GP or see a Sports Physio.

Btw if you're twisting, rather than bending your knees during a golf swing, you also need to see a good golf teacher !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    My brother who is doing a sports fitness course at present reckons it was the over use of the muscle/ligament under my knee cap (can't remember the name).
    It never bothered me during practice or playing but the pain would wake me in the middle of the night.
    For Paws wrote: »
    Most likely a common condition called Patello-Femoral Syndrome (PFS).

That's the one!

Likely to recur, so mention it to your GP or see a Sports Physio.

Bugger!!!
    Btw if you're twisting, rather than bending your knees during a golf swing, you also need to see a good golf teacher !

Pro i had a few lessons with has mentioned I "twist" my knee. Am due another lesson at the end of this month, I'll make him aware of the injuries...... and I better get it checked out as well.

Cool let me know how u get on with the pro I reckon I'm twisting the knee aswell. Would be interested to know what advice he'd give, gonna get a lesson myself once I get a few quid together.