Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pass in one go.

• 02-01-2013 4:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭

Okay, so....
    For those who said I will fail, I am **** driver and I should fail, big dissapointment - I passed.
    So glad.
    Guess I am one of those 40% (finglas test center pass rate is 40)
    Got taken off road quite quick, in like 20 minutes, gotta love how examiners act with you, they are always serious and make you walk into test center first before telling you.
    Had some assholes on roads during my test, but I dealt well with them so I guess he considered it?
    Got 1 Grade 1 in rules and checks, and 4 grade 2's.

Recap:
    I been driving unacompannied for 6 months, have driven half way across country and I have driven 5500 miles since I bought the car by myself,
    hopefully this can show that not all L drivers who drive un-acompanied are all foolish teens who break the law all the time, I am 19 yet I passed, I took two pre-tests in both I failed, but after seeing those mistakes I just avoided them today.
    I learned quite a lot from forums here, so thanks for that.

What motivated and encouraged me to go and get license asap?
    -The N plate law and people giving me out on these forums (apparently)

Thanks guys for everything, hopefully now my threads wont end up spammed and locked :D

For preparations for test, what I did is:
    Woke up early, cleaned car from inside, put some alcohol based substance like anti fog on windows, wiped and made engine bay look clean. Refilled oil, coolant etc.. Went to car wash, washed car (the one for 8 euro on topaz, very good), made all wheels pressure same, filled up water. Took all accesories off the car.
    And there you go - is the result.

Thanks all :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Very happy to hear you passed. All the hard work prepping the car and touring the test route paid off!

Now all you have to do is park legally, and you'll be grand... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

God help the rest of us!

> Only joking, well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Wicklowandy

Well done:)

Now dont get over confident; its very easy to lull yourself into a false sense of security; a lot of people have passed and had problems in the first couple of years.

Well done again. Now maybe think about some motorway instruction, and if you really want to make yourself the best driver possible some skid pan training and advanced motoring??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

Well done:)

Now dont get over confident; its very easy to lull yourself into a false sense of security; a lot of people have passed and had problems in the first couple of years.

Well done again. Now maybe think about some motorway instruction, and if you really want to make yourself the best driver possible some skid pan training and advanced motoring??

I am planning to start applying for theory to get the motorbike license too.
    And yeah I understand as soon as I get my license I can as soon as lose if I drive like mad :)

Have a think about some motorway instruction, i read you travel to carlow from time to time, and you'll save a lot of time now. I think we all can learn at any time in our lives from some professional instruction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Fair play man, well done. Now to get mine in two weeks.

Have a think about some motorway instruction, i read you travel to carlow from time to time, and you'll save a lot of time now. I think we all can learn at any time in our lives from some professional instruction.

Aren't moroways pretty much same as National Roads but with higher speed limits?

Confab wrote: »
    Fair play man, well done. Now to get mine in two weeks.

Good luck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Well done on passing today's test.

Theres a number of subtle differences, not just speed limit, and theres additional rules too. Try a bit of a google (aa, wiki etc.)

Maybe 1-2 lessons would be a good thing to familiarise yourself?

Theres a number of subtle differences, not just speed limit, and theres additional rules too. Try a bit of a google (aa, wiki etc.)

Maybe 1-2 lessons would be a good thing to familiarise yourself?

I was thinking of that as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Congrats on passing the test.

However, you have broekn the law on several occasions by driving repeatedly unaccompanied before passing your test. Technically, until you apply for and receive your full license, you're still a permit holder. The "I choose what laws to follow" attitude is probably what other posters were referring to in the other threads you mentioned. It's not about acting the maggot on your own....it's about having a responsible driver with a full license to guide you and give you some confidence when driving a potentially and too often fatal machine on wheels.

Regarding motorways....the changes are so subtle, you won't notice. Biggest headache would be some of the exits on the M50. Spaghetti junction for an experienced driver is bad enough. Just remember that if you take the wrong exit, you can always get back onto the motorway in a few minutes. No need to risk your life with last second changes. Good luck.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Congratulations.

As others have said the junctions and exits on motorways can be a bit challenging

goz83 wrote: »
    Congrats on passing the test.

However, you have broekn the law on several occasions by driving repeatedly unaccompanied before passing your test. Technically, until you apply for and receive your full license, you're still a permit holder. The "I choose what laws to follow" attitude is probably what other posters were referring to in the other threads you mentioned. It's not about acting the maggot on your own....it's about having a responsible driver with a full license to guide you and give you some confidence when driving a potentially and too often fatal machine on wheels.

Regarding motorways....the changes are so subtle, you won't notice. Biggest headache would be some of the exits on the M50. Spaghetti junction for an experienced driver is bad enough. Just remember that if you take the wrong exit, you can always get back onto the motorway in a few minutes. No need to risk your life with last second changes. Good luck.

I said everything to those who said before that I should fail, or I will fail.

A lot of posters have voiced their opinion to you.

Do you think you would have made the extra effort to pass if they hadnt said those things to you, right or wrong?

A lot of posters have voiced their opinion to you.

Do you think you would have made the extra effort to pass if they hadnt said those things to you, right or wrong?

Right, it was sort of my goal, to prove I wont fail.

btw do I have to pay any fees to get full license at motor tax office?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

arleitiss wrote: »
    Right, it was sort of my goal, to prove I wont fail.

btw do I have to pay any fees to get full license at motor tax office?

From 1 January 2013, the cost of driving licences is as follows:

One-year driving licence costs €25
    Three-year driving licence costs €35
    Ten-year driving licence costs €55*

Stheno wrote: »

Will it be valid in other countries?

Stheno wrote: »

Robbing cnuts!

Yes

Yes. Almost all countries...if not all.

May as well get license for 10 years then. Will I get plastic card? or is it only from 19th of Jan

If you are talking about car rentals in other countries, you might find that you have to have held your full license for at least 2 years for most places. It varies from company to country. But if driving your ow car, or a borrowed car, it's grand.

May as well get license for 10 years then. Will I get plastic card? or is it only from 19th of Jan

Wait til 19th. only a couple of weeks.

goz83 wrote: »
    If you are talking about car rentals in other countries, you might find that you have to have held your full license for at least 2 years for most places. It varies from company to country. But if driving your ow car, or a borrowed car, it's grand.
    I have my grand dads car in Ukraine, small village bad roads,
    88ce1ab835609b28-main.jpg

Car is a car :D it's mad fun to drive it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

Congrats!

Boohoo to the people saying you were breaking the law. Driving unaccompanied now in Ireland has the same punishment as someone driving without a seatbelt, Speeding and driving on the phone. People are gonna chance it. Id rather learner drivers on the road any day than those f****ers who are constantly speeding and can't use indicators.

Do I need medical report? or do I just bring fee cash and old license with certificate?
    ( I dont have any medical condition)

Do I need medical report? or do I just bring fee cash and old license with certificate?

See here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Congrats on passing your test. I passed mine in July and I was delighted after. You must be a good driver as I know plenty of average to good drivers who failed in Kilkenny(35 percent pass rate) well done. About the medical cert I didn't need one in July so unless things have changed since then you don't need one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Well done. The test is overhyped in terms of its difficulty, its really short and straight forward, I too was surprised by the brevity back in the day but ~5 miles and 20 minutes behind the wheel is all it takes, maybe its that you're used to 1 hour lessons. Its beyond me why people don't all do it at the earliest possible opportunity.

You may think you'll never drive in that manner again and that may be true in a familiar car on familiar roads but its a very useful fallback position in an unfamiliar car on unfamiliar roads and particularly in other countries, that's what its really setting you up for, driving any car safely, anywhere, without supervision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Aren't moroways pretty much same as National Roads but with higher speed limits?

No, no they are not

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

You sure you haven't got ADHD or something? ;)

p.s. Congratulations.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

areyawell wrote: »
    Congrats!

Boohoo to the people saying you were breaking the law. Driving unaccompanied now in Ireland has the same punishment as someone driving without a seatbelt, Speeding and driving on the phone. People are gonna chance it. Id rather learner drivers on the road any day than those f****ers who are constantly speeding and can't use indicators.

Op was breaking the law. Attempting to justify that by reference to what others are doing is a strawman argument.

Why don't you do the test as the OP has and then you wouldn't have to "chance it".

Congrats!

Should the punishment be increased then? If people are gonna chance it, then maybe the punishment should be more points and more cash, because one thing is certain...we won't have more enforcement.

Plenty of those speeders i'm sure are learner drivers. As for the ones not using indicators, usually taxi drivers :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭magnavox

Any one else think on reading the title that it was going to be about how many cars you passed in one go? :D

Congratulations OP :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Congrats!

Why don't you learn from his example? Stop making excuses and go pass your test. At this point you're just trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Well done op, from someone who said they hoped you failed. As others said, don't get over confident. Yes you have past the test, but remember, like all fellow licence holders, you are still learning. A good driver will take advice on board and then decide if it is right or wrong. As someone else who past first time over 15 years ago, I would still learn new things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

TBH I don't have an issue with learner drivers driving unaccompanied on national roads (not motorways) once they have completed the required instruction. As a learner it's almost impossible to have a fully licensed driver with you at all times and even when you do most will be worth fvck all to you in terms of 'further' education. Gaining experience yourself, as in every day driving is the key - and remember you never stop learning. ;)

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    As a learner it's almost impossible to have a fully licensed driver with you at all times
    I still have the missus in the passenger seat most of the time. I refer to her as my early warning system.

OP, take your test sheet to your instructor and get a lesson to go over the test mistakes made. Maybe a lesson on motorways too.

Don't forget to inform your insurance company. Should allow you to keep a few quid in your pocket come renewal time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

I still have the missus in the passenger seat most of the time. I refer to her as my early warning system.

OP, take your test sheet to your instructor and get a lesson to go over the test mistakes made. Maybe a lesson on motorways too.

Don't forget to inform your insurance company. Should allow you to keep a few quid in your pocket come renewal time.

Really?

Really?
    I would and did. I made mistakes on the test, so I did a couple of lessons after.

Well... turns out you can't get license for 1 or 3 years now, only for 10 therefore you have to pay only 55 otherwise you get no license.
    So I decided to wait until 19th of Jan so that new cards kick in.