Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone know of very cheap recovery service?

• 01-01-2013 6:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭

Hi... does anyone know of a very cheap recovery service? Car is a non runner and 180kms from me in Dublin, its in Donegal!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

johnty56 wrote: »
    Hi... does anyone know of a very cheap recovery service? Car is a non runner and 180kms from me in Dublin, its in Donegal!!
    Cheapest way would be to borrow are rent if you have to and go yourself! If it were mine I'd rather go on the road trip anyway.
    Did you buy a new toy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭johnty56

I did... it'll be a bit of a project I think but such is life! I can probably get a loan of a trailer alright.. only problem is I'm worried about using a car to pull a loaded trailer

what car do you drive? what car did you buy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Join the AA quickly and get them to bring it home for you........:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

I have my own car transporter truck and get calls all the time from fella's asking to collect a call from here or there......and it always amazes me that lads think my truck runs on fresh air and my time is free......

OP, wake up and smell the diesel..!

MidlandsM wrote: »
    I have my own car transporter truck and get calls all the time from fella's asking to collect a call from here or there......and it always amazes me that lads think my truck runs on fresh air and my time is free......

OP, wake up and smell the diesel..!

Maybe i should have put reasonable instead of cheap.. that was the sentiment! I'm well aware of the price of diesel, and how much diesel a car, van or truck uses... I'm just a little sick of dealing with people that think a days wages should be the same now as it was when everyone was busy gouging each other in 2006!

no problem, what is your budget?

and then I'll tell you if its reasonable to a guy (or girl), to go up to DL from Dub and winch up a car and take it back to Dublin, and fuel a truck, tax a truck, insure a truck, doe a truck, earn a days wage after all expences incl paying tax and vat etc....

I see your point.. but just wanted to point out that I was only trying to get suggestions as to a cheap, reliable operator, rather than get into a debate about the value of a days labour!

...the value or price of a persons labour is central to what you want to get done but what you want done on the cheap?

Would you go into work for feck all today or tomorrow? Doubt it, so why do you expect the same from a recovery operator?

its double standards to be fair....

...the value or price of a persons labour is central to what you want to get done but what you want done on the cheap?

Would you go into work for feck all today or tomorrow? Doubt it, so why do you expect the same from a recovery operator?

its double standards to be fair....

Listen, I don't like getting into arguments with strangers on the internet but at this stage you are getting on my wick. Where did I say I wanted someone to do it for nothing? to be honest I'd have no problem paying someone more than I earn myself in a day, on top of diesel etc and I drive for a living so I know whats involved. I also know what tax and insurance costs. I've often worked 16 hour days, driving for part of it and doing hard manual work for the rest for a set daily rate that works out well below minimum wage, and not because I'm a mug, but because I have bills to pay and there is f##k all else work out there. Because at the end of the day I'm a practical person and I'd rather be earning something than nothing.
    You are starting to sound like Citizen Smith.

but at this stage you are getting on my wick. .

ohhh dear .......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭unfit2006

Surely theres a ballpark price per KM plus whatever price adjustments are necessary after that for size of vehicle, the time and accessibility of pick-up, waiting time, winch on/off as opposed to drive on etc.

The "value" of any persons labour is a very ambiguous notion. Its not that long ago since lads "wouldnt get out of bed" unless they were paid this amount or that amount. Lads seriously overvalued themselves.

Surely the job in question has a price that could be easily enough calculated based on the facts once they are established.

unfit2006 wrote: »
    Surely theres a ballpark price per KM plus whatever price adjustments are necessary after that for size of vehicle, the time and accessibility of pick-up, waiting time, winch on/off as opposed to drive on etc.

The "value" of any persons labour is a very ambiguous notion. Its not that long ago since lads "wouldnt get out of bed" unless they were paid this amount or that amount. Lads seriously overvalued themselves.

Surely the job in question has a price that could be easily enough calculated based on the facts once they are established.

no, all of this has gone out the window a long time ago.....with yellow packers running yokes here and there for half of nothing, for cash in the hand (tax and vat dodge)....most of these yellow packers would'nt be licenced, insured properly or feck all ......but none of this matters to those who want it done on the cheap...as per the OP's query.

I'm not personalising this, but its the case at the moment in Ireland where the blackmarket is rampent.

Well leaving the yellow packers out of the equation for the moment, what would a licensed, above board, operator such as yourself charge for a 300 km round trip and a straightforward pick up of a medium sized saloon.

unfit2006 wrote: »
    Well leaving the yellow packers out of the equation

but you can't you see, they're everywhere ......and have diluted and fragmented the trade. So much so, I don't bother quoting lots of stuff I'm asked to price, because you get the same old answer "a shure such and such with his jeep and trailer will do it for X amount some night after his work etc etc" ...
    I will certainly not price anything that wants done on the "cheap" (or whatever fancy word they want to cover up the word cheap) .... there's no point wasting my breath ....because a cheap service and a good professional service are nearly always, mututally exclusive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 kombi.noise

if ther is air in the tyres...
    i will get it back to dublin for 200 euro
    i pm my number

if ther is air in the tyres...
    i will get it back to dublin for 200 euro
    i pm my number

see.........:rolleyes: .......probably tow it down the road with an illegal A-frame.. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 kombi.noise

if a frames are so illegal...
    1...why are they allowed to be sold and
    2...why have i never been pulled over towing with one?

if a frames are so illegal...:pac:
    1...why are they allowed to be sold and
    2...why have i never been pulled over towing with one?

Ahh, so you are NOT a proper car recovery specialist, tell me, do you give reciepts? can you provide a vat reciept? Are you a registed business? Also, have you proper goods in transit insurance? and if not, what happens if you damage the clients car whilst in transit? Are you even licenced to tow?

Re; A FRAMES. they are ILLEGAL .... selling them is not illegal, using them IS .....

To be fair I think this thread has shifted a little off topic and the op didn't exactly say anything to imply that he wouldn't pay a certain figure just that he wanted a cheap price which seems to be what every one is after these days are, believe me I should know I'm in construction. Best to leave complaints about the economy and the black market to a different thread imo, there is not many in here who isn't affected by it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

MidlandsM, I've no doubt there's truth in what you say, but I'd find it very hard to do business with that attitude. We're all finding it tough, you don't need to go on and on about it ad nauseam.

dahamsta wrote: »
    MidlandsM, I've no doubt there's truth in what you say, but I'd find it very hard to do business with that attitude. We're all finding it tough, you don't need to go on and on about it ad nauseam.

Are you a mod?.....? then don't read this thread.....

I don't need your permission to read the thread. I may some day look for a recommendation from here, although I can guarantee I won't be dealing with you.

I won't be seeing your posts from this point forward either, since you have the manners of a pig. Welcome to my ignore list.

I don't need your permission to read the thread. I may some day look for a recommendation from here, although I can guarantee I won't be dealing with you.

I won't be seeing your posts from this point forward either, since you have the manners of a pig. Welcome to my ignore list.

LOL .... thanks for the thinly veiled attempted back seat modding there....:pac: .....

It was feedback, dummy.

And now I really do have to track down that ignore option. G'luck.

It was feedback, dummy.

And now I really do have to track down that ignore option. G'luck.

I thought you were ignoring me? :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,395 ✭✭✭✭unkel

kev1.3s wrote: »
    To be fair I think this thread has shifted a little off topic and the op didn't exactly say anything to imply that he wouldn't pay a certain figure just that he wanted a cheap price which seems to be what every one is after these days are, believe me I should know I'm in construction. Best to leave complaints about the economy and the black market to a different thread imo, there is not many in here who isn't affected by it.

Back on topic please, folks

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Best bet is to sit down with a yellow pages and a phone for an hour and get quotes from as many towing companies as possible. Then take your pick,you'd never know maybe MidlandsM may even quote you as he seems to spend more time typing than he does towing.

Well thanks to those who replied in the vein that the question was put in.. I got a few quotes from a couple of different registered and licensed operators, all fully insured and, to the best of my knowledge without asking for proof, tax compliant. I was a good bit out with the kms.. close to that distance in miles as it turns out, I was thinking of somewhere else.
    Out of interest the cheapest quote I got was from NVD, but it would have to be a running car. They quoted 120 euro plus vat. There is a crowd in Derry who advertise on DD who quoted a little more than that at around 150 plus vat. They were happy enough once someone was there to put car on transporter.
    Another chap in Donegal quoted 250 on the basis that it was a non runner which I think is a good price.. note I mean a good price from a consumers point of view!
    I've used NVD many times before and they would have been my first port of call if the car was a runner. You couldn't really beat that kind of price!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭MrFoxman360

Lots of people on donedeal advertising recovery service......

now whether they are all charging vat and paying tax and have correct insurance and will give you a reciept and all that :rolleyes: is up to you to decide but here are a few that maybe cheaper than the rest.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/damagedcars/3748073

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/damagedcars/4260592

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/damagedcars/4348830

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/damagedcars/4233833

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/damagedcars/3941766

Work and money is scarce, so while you mightened get a 'cheap' job you should be able to get your car transported for 'good value'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

To go up to (wherever) from (wherever) and winch up a car and take it back to (wherever).

If only it was that easy, I always find the brakes are binding, tyres are flat, steering stiff, something else has parked in the car your trying to get out and the keys can't be found to move it, the ground to soft and 20 other reasons that add another 1 hour plus onto a car retrieval mission, it's never straight forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,747 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Re; A FRAMES. they are ILLEGAL .... selling them is not illegal, using them IS .....

I'd be interested in a link to that regulation or law tbh.....

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    I'd be interested in a link to that regulation or law tbh.....

with an A frame, the towed vehicle (over 750kg's)is unbraked, therefore its illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

^ That makes sense, very few cars under 750kg.

Would it be legal to tow a car on an a-frame with somebody sitting in it to operate the brakes ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭oceanman

a friend of mine got a classic car brought from north kerry to dublin for 150euro all in, thought it was a fair price. if he still has the number of the guy i will 'pm' it on to you.

oceanman wrote: »
    a friend of mine got a classic car brought from north kerry to dublin for 150euro all in, thought it was a fair price. if he still has the number of the guy i will 'pm' it on to you.

good on him, to be fair thats a daycent price, obviously the recovery operator was going that way and was able to tie it into his run/trip/load, like I often do for clients, and more importantly, for myself! :p