Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alone on New Years Eve - sad?

• 30-12-2012 8:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭

30 y/o guy here. Its turned out that I'm gonna be on my own for NYE. My friends all are staying in and so I decided I would fly to Paris for 2 nights on my own. I'm flying tomorrow morning. I love Paris and thought I'd go and chill and get some me time. I dunno what I'll do for the actual midnight. When I booked it, it seemed like a great idea, now I'm not so sure. Is it sad to want to be alone on NYE?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Cerulean Chicken

Nope, I'll be watching tv with my mum for it, it's just another night, don't worry about it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,443 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Nope here too. I don't like NYE tv so I won't be watching, probably watching a video or on the computer. Haven't done NYE in a long number of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Daisy M

Sad?? Not a bit, lucky you, enjoy and continue to spend your time your way and don't worry if its not the norm its better!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I'm 33 and I haven't really done anything for NYE for 12 or 13 years, it's just not my thing. I'll be staying in having a few, but I'll envy you while you're away, doing it your own way. Have a great time! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Emmacash

Brave choice! I don't think you'll regret it. Too much focus is put on new years eve...as said above, its just another night. Paris is such an amazing city. Make the most of it and fair play for doing something out of the norm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

You're heading out to Paris on your own for New Year's Eve - sounds like pure bliss. Good for you. No overcrowded pubs or clubs (unless you want to go to one in Paris), no having to worry about whether or not anyone else is having a good time, no worrying about a mate ditching you for a hook-up, no queueing for publlic transport in (most likely) bad weather with drunken revellers.

As for what to do for the actual midnight moment, I suggest taking a glass of whatever you drink and raising it to yourself. Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭Stavro Mueller

For what it's worth, what you've done is far more awesome than standing in an overcrowded pub waiting for people to count from 10-1 backwards, then pour some more drink into them and continue as they were. It's over-rated in my opinion - it it really any different a night out to every other one? Apart from there being more people out, longer queues etc.
    ? Enjoy your little break and your me time. And don't mind what anyone else might say. It's great that you're prepared to step outside the norm to do something like that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Alone in paris - 30 years old and single - you lucky basta*d!!

I'll be asleep on the seat before 12 (all being well).

Tomorrow night you could meet the woman of your dreams or just have the greatest night you've ever had in your life!!

The best of luck to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

I'm the same age as you but not free and single. I'd be gone if I was in your shoes.

My last planned trip before I met my wife was for a weekend on my own in Paris. Unfortunately I didn't get there because I ended up in intensive care!

Great time of year to be in Europe's nicest city.

Enjoy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Are you crazy OP?? I think it's a GREAT idea!! NYE on the Champs Elysee - sounds lovely to me.

Raise a glass for us. Have a great time, and Happy New Year to you! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Janedoe10

I'm jealous cool idea , you will have a ball

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Well, let's see... Most people, will be spending New Years in the same exact way they always do.

You, on the other hand, will be in one of the great cities of the world. Paris, the City of Lights, the City of Romance. One of the most beautiful and vibrant cities there is. And they know how to do a good party there.

Alone... well. There will be somewhere in the region of 8 million people in the Paris-Metropolitan region that night, so I'm guessing you could latch in somewhere. And if you don't? So? Go out onto a street and join a festivity and have a glass of Chateau Petrus and sing a few stanzas of Auld Lang Syne.

Enjoy your holiday! Paris is just spectacular.

I wish I'd thought of it, tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭sitstill

Wow thanks for the responses everyone!! I was doubting my choice but you have made me feel much better. Thanks so much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

I'll be sitting in on my own watching TV and hopefully getting a little study done. Quite happy to be doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

I am so stealing the OPs idea for another year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

I've spent Christmases and NY's on my own. It's nice actually. I can do my own thing.

Similarly, I've spent Christmas and NY abroad (specifically Barbados) which was equally great. And I would do it again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

Have a great time OP, its all about your state of mind. Be open, seek out new experiences while there.. Im so jealous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,624 ✭✭✭bassy

Yep just a normal day or nite like the rest,lot of folk just use it as a excuse to piss up and wake up on new years day hungover either at home in a hospital or Garda station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Like any day, it's what you make it...

You aren't sitting in moping and complaining that you aren't doing anything for hogmanay - you've been completely pro-active, booked a trip to Paris and intend on taking in a bit of culture and the sights of a different country at that time of year...I fail to see anything remotely sad about that - quite the opposite, I'm impressed!

Well done you OP! Have a great time! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Went to Bruges on my own during the Xmas period in 2001 ( didn't behead any dwarfs in case you're wondering ), had a good time, got chatting to an auld boy probably sadly no longer with us who said he was off to Thailand in the new year to get married. Life's what you make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

Just so were clear you guys are saying that being in an overcrowded place on New Years with your friends is boring but just because he will be in a different city which will also no doubt be overcrowded its somehow better to be there alone?
    Fair play mate,go have fun.im not knocking it but I've spent New Years in a few of the most magical cities on earth and it's tough.
    People talk up the romance of a chance encounter with people whilst in a different city but in reality it's a tough to make it a reality on your own
    That being said I hope you defy the odds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I spent the Mayan apocalypse alone. If I can spend the Mayan apocalypse alone, then logically being alone for a mundane Gregorian new years eve isn't that big of a deal.

Last year I went on a kneejerk date, which resulted in a follow-up date, and then nothing. I spent $200. This year, I'll pass. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭greenteaicedtea

Do whatever you want!

I spent Christmas alone this year - there was a bit of a mixup, and I didn't book off any vacation days near Christmas. I only was off Dec. 25, my boyfriend went to see his folks and I was alone with the cats. His parents live a 6-hour drive away, doesn't sound fun to drive there and turn around and drive right back in time for me to work on the 26th.

It was a bit weird, but I did whatever I liked, I enjoyed the peace and quiet.

I am spending New Years Eve at work, then I'm going home to bed.

Enjoy Paris!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Not sad in the slightest OP

Isn't it something else that society has conditioned us to think that doing anything against the accepted norm (being bored to tears by family members/being stuck in a crowded pub) for Christmas or NYE is supposedly 'sad'.

Cracking choice OP and certainly one I'll consider for future Christmas/NYEs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Lorna123

I'll be having a meal in and will be in bed by 12.00 midnight.....my choice. I could be going to a party but chose not to. What you are doing sounds very exciting and most definitely worth a thought for other years. Happy New Year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Semele

I've just cancelled my plans to go to a party at my friends house in London (3hr train journey from where I am) and couldn't be happier! While it'd be lovely to catch up with them I'd rather do it another time when I feel less pressured to have fun for the sake of it. I'm already curled up on the sofa with a book and don't intend to emerge from under my blanket except for toilet breaks and to get myself something nice in for dinner! I'm back to work on Wednesday and given the choice between

a) 3hr train journey (costing £80+), piss-up, sleeping bag on the floor, 5hr trip home tomorrow due to bank holiday trains and going back to work with a hangover and a filthy flat

Or

b) Chilled out day of doing nothing except reading, eating and watching a film, cleaning my flat, sorting out my clothes, bit of pampering and going back to work refreshed and looking/feeling great

I know which appeals more! Maybe it's a sign of me getting old and boring, but I'm happy with it. Paris sounds great, am well jealous OP...almost worth relinquishing the blanket and sofa for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭fillefatale

I was in a similar situation Semele - I was invited to a shindig, but we'd be heading into town - I just didn't have the money or motivation to get a 3 hour train to Dublin, when there's other things I could be doing at home that didn't include waiting for a taxi with a load of drunkards in Dublin city centre this morning! I've already changed into my pjs and am relaxing, cup of tea in hand!

Report back OP such a brave and exciting decision to make for NYE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭squirrelohara

Im staying in to study for exams on the 2nd and 3rd haha. Its going to be some laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,417 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Semele wrote: »
    I've just cancelled my plans to go to a party at my friends house in London (3hr train journey from where I am) and couldn't be happier! While it'd be lovely to catch up with them I'd rather do it another time when I feel less pressured to have fun for the sake of it. I'm already curled up on the sofa with a book and don't intend to emerge from under my blanket except for toilet breaks and to get myself something nice in for dinner! I'm back to work on Wednesday and given the choice between

a) 3hr train journey (costing £80+), piss-up, sleeping bag on the floor, 5hr trip home tomorrow due to bank holiday trains and going back to work with a hangover and a filthy flat

Or

b) Chilled out day of doing nothing except reading, eating and watching a film, cleaning my flat, sorting out my clothes, bit of pampering and going back to work refreshed and looking/feeling great

I know which appeals more! Maybe it's a sign of me getting old and boring, but I'm happy with it. Paris sounds great, am well jealous OP...almost worth relinquishing the blanket and sofa for!

That sounds like a great evening - pretty much what I'm doing too! I'll be all alone at home - would be nice to have someone with me but you know what, it's not the end of the world!

Well done to you OP for doing what YOU want! Have a ball and report back and tell us how it went :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

I'll be spending New Years' in Paris with my new fiancee. Proposed to her on Saturday. We'll be planning our future together after a beautiful meal in a stunning restaurant! Happiest man in the world!

OP this place is spectacular. No matter what you do it'll be something you remember forever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Flutterby80

I'm here on my own, well apart from the dog that is! we had a little cuddle at mid night and I did feel a bit sad but only for a minute, I just didn't feel like being with anyone tonight and I think it shows strength of character to be able to sit in on your own when everyone else is out having fun so fair play to you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Lorna123 wrote: »
    I'll be having a meal in and will be in bed by 12.00 midnight.....my choice. I could be going to a party but chose not to. What you are doing sounds very exciting and most definitely worth a thought for other years. Happy New Year.
    Doing the exact same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

I'm as pissed as a fart and watching the new Bond film "Skyfall". As much as I had a good new years eve out with some craic in a pub with my mates, and as much as Skyfall is FÚCKING EPIC!!!, I'd much have preferred to have gone to Paris like the OP!

I hope you had an absolute blast, and Auld Lang Syne! Enjoy and happy new year to everyone! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭@rti-shm@rti

Was out for New Years because I felt like I should be and now I wish I'd stayed in! It's just like any other night. It's all just the fear of missing out that's getting to you......but in the end it's really what you make of it. While I'd a good night with my friends, it was no different from Saturday night really so tbh I think you made a great call! Enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭El_Drago

New years eve is my least favourite night to go out.I spent the evening/night lying on the couch in front of a tv with a takeaway.An evening well spent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭sitstill

Just to give you all some feedback -- Paris went great. Totally happy I went and just did it. Thanks for the advice everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,417 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

sitstill wrote: »
    Just to give you all some feedback -- Paris went great. Totally happy I went and just did it. Thanks for the advice everyone.

Excellent! That made me smile :) I admire you OP