Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What price should I hear?

• 28-12-2012 9:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11

Hi lads,

It's me second post today. I will be taking me Toyota to the garage first days of January. What I need fixed is:
    • Change of front wheels' braking pads and discs
    • Change of air filter (I know I can do it on my own, but if they are doing stuff anyway...)
    • Check if rear wheels drums need a change
    • Change of oil
    • Fix windscreen washers (it's not spraying at all - I have the fluid in)
    • Tighten driver's side door - right now it's not fixing itself in a position, it's loose and opening all the way up.

What would be a reasonable labor charge for these? I was screwed by fecking mechanics in Clonmel once and do not want a repeat...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

Is it a starlet or a landcruiser ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 gburus

Yeah, I knew I forgot something. It's Yaris, '99.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭nct tester

2.5 hours labour i'd say including test drive after. 35 or 40 euros an hour??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Find a local mechanic(side street garage)
    Do not go near a Toyota or main dealer you will be fleeced and honestly not worth it for a 99 what they would be charging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,267 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

where are you based OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

About 2 hours would be right, which in our place would set you back €113.50 inc VAT.

I am based in Clonmel.

As for mechanics I think I got fleeced by a side-street - for changing the shoes they charged me (labor+parts) 160EUR. Is this much considering what they did? I know next to nothing when it comes to the cars so bear with me stupid questions lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

When do they need to be done? I know a good guy in Carrick but I won't have the number until the 7th as I left it in work. He works for himself doing it as nixers now but he really is top notch at what he does.

The only REALLY urgent thing I need to do is battery - I cannot drive her now because of it.
    If the man in Carrick is quick I could go there if you can recommend him - my main issue is I would prefer the car to be lookad at / fixed while I wait (I CAN wait no bother, I have a Kindle at me all the times) - would appreciate the number when you get back to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,061 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Well, parts from dealer would be much more expensive than labour, I'm afraid.

Expect (approx.) 150 eur for brake drum (x2), 120 for brake disc (x2), 70 for brake pads (set), 55 for brake shoes (set), 20 for air filter.

I hope I'm wrong. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭nct tester

gburus wrote: »
    The only REALLY urgent thing I need to do is battery - I cannot drive her now because of it.
    If the man in Carrick is quick I could go there if you can recommend him - my main issue is I would prefer the car to be lookad at / fixed while I wait (I CAN wait no bother, I have a Kindle at me all the times) - would appreciate the number when you get back to work.

whats wrong with the battery??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

gburus wrote: »

I'll send it on when I'm back. If it needs a battery advance pit stop by Colville Hunt are a decent bunch of lads.