Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking for a bit of Info?

• 28-12-2012 8:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7

Hey guys, myself and a few of my mates were looking at trying our hands at Canoeing as a bit of a past time so I was looking for a bit of info on it here.

Since we'd be beginners we'd be mainly looking for an easy flatwater rather than a challenging river, nothing difficult say just a bit of relaxing fun I suppose. So what's the craic with the canoes themselves, could we rent them or would we have to buy and in terms of rivers is there any ye could recommend? Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

I recommend going and getting some lessons first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Arawn wrote: »
    I recommend going and getting some lessons first
    This is peretive. Even flat water is high risk. A minimum competency should be obtained before ever going out alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

How many lads and where you based? Some clubs have come and try sessions. I remember doing some for WWKC years ago for companies, work outing kinda thing. Many of these took on the basic course and are still paddling today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

I'd echo what everyone else has said, get some instruction first before venturing into the water, even the flattest of water presents hazards.

Some venues to contact:

www.totalexperience.ie (Kipper Maguire)
    www.kayaking.ie (Jenny Kilbride)
    www.pureadventure.ie (Paddy McCormick)

I've paddled with all of these on different courses and are all top class guys.

Wild Water KC won't have beginner sessions until June I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 yadayadaya

Get lessons before you go out on a lake. Definitely dont try going down a river until you are well experienced.