Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stephens Day 26th December.

• 25-12-2012 10:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭

Countrywide Flame to bolt up in the Christmas hurdle.

Like the look of Valmari at 6/1 in the second at Kempton. Also Life Long in the last at Market Rasen, ran a nice race on his reappearance. Forecast price of 5/1 looks nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

although it's a short enough price, I'll be having a big bet on River Maigue in the first at Kempton.
    ran an absolute blinder behind Dodging Bullets (who is 8/1 for the Xmas Hurdle) first time over hurdles, and should come on well for the run. only has a first timer over hurdles New Years Eve to beat, and nothing else is likely to threaten. Currently 6/5, whereas I would have priced him around the 4/6 mark, so a good value bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

although it's a short enough price, I'll be having a big bet on River Maigue in the first at Kempton.
    ran an absolute blinder behind Dodging Bullets (who is 8/1 for the Xmas Hurdle) first time over hurdles, and should come on well for the run. only has a first timer over hurdles New Years Eve to beat, and nothing else is likely to threaten. Currently 6/5, whereas I would have priced him around the 4/6 mark, so a good value bet.

Went straight into my notebook after his hurdles debut. New Years Eve showed some lovely bumper form so could make into a very nice hurdler and I'm not sure how good Dodging Bullets is. No bet race for me tomorrow but both should make up into very useful hurdlers

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

Here are my bets lads

12-50. Although the henderson runner deserves to be fav in this weak novice hurle at the prices im put off.last time out he was 2nd behind a good pn runner but its worth noting he was getting 7pounds too,but thebrating of 150 for the pn runnervlooks generous.The 2nd fav is a v smart bumper runner but has yet to jump a hurdle and was hammered in poor ground in last bumper.at 5/2his a lay all day.To me the one which of interestbis the charlie longsdon runner spirit of shankly.his a dual bumper winner who ran well in a listed event here.that form isnt bad and even though beaten in a maiden hurdle last time the winner looks v smartvand the 2nd has bolted up.8/1looks a ew bet for me

1-25.this looks a very compeitive chase.Elenika beat rajdhani express 2outins ago getting 3pounds while tomorrow gets 5.Imo a small on coole river is the bet here.he was a good hurdler and made good chase debut last time and has ran ok in similar ground

2-35 if darlan goes on this ground imo his a super bet.great jumper normally,travells like a dream and imo a potential star

3-10 maybe im mad but i dont think we have seen the best of kauto stone yet.before landing on british soil he was a v talented performer.took ages to lve up to the hype but imo he beat first lieutenant fair ast day.lets not forget that first lieutenant is a multiply g1winner.kauto stone will love the ground.can you really have long run who has been turned over 5times fav with that prick on board

I'm off to Leopardstown tomorrow so decided to go through the card. Won't be backing most of these but thought I'd throw it up anyways.

12.20 Leopardstown

Absolute horror of a race to solve and its not one that I'll be having a bet in as there are a lot of potentially very nice horses going to post in this Maiden Hurdle. Noel Meade's Ned Buntline is held in very high regard by his County Meath handler who proclaimed "he's the best we've had for a while" when he scored very impressively on his 2nd career start in a Bumper at Naas last month. The J P McManus owned son of Refuse To Bend was quick to be sent hurdling when making his debut in that sphere at the start of the month when sent off a very warm order 8/13 favourite but he was unable to live up to marker expectations when ultimately disappointing in finishing 2nd. He probably ran into a good horse from Dessie Hughes in the shape of Bright New Dawn (who was well supported all day) and should improve for the experience and probably deserves his place at the head of the market. Another of the likely market principals is Willie Mullins's French import Urano who ran a lovely race on his Irish and hurdling debut at the end of November. Unbeaten in three starts in bumpers in France, this 4 year old ran a very big race on his first start for Mullins over hurdles on the back of a 6 month absence when going down fighting to Noel Meade's Ally Cascade by 0.5L at Thurles. Ally Cascade has already shown a strong level of form in his short career and had the benefit of experience and it was hard not to be impressed by Urano. He should strip fitter for that run and improve for the hurdling experience and I'd be very surprised if he finishes out of the frame. Of the others, Dermot Weld's Notable Graduate makes his hurdling debut and looks a very interesting contender as he was a pretty decent horse on the flat. Weld is sure to have him ready for this in a race he won with a similar sort back in 2010 and although it wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if he won this I'd prefer to go with a horse that has hurdling experience in this race. Henry De Bromhead's Grey Monk was a recent €210,000 purchase after winning a Point to Point in very impressive fashion back in April and could be absolutely anything but he could easily be a longer term project for chasing.

I'd be quite surprised if the winner didn't come from one of those four but which one of the four is the key question. If I had to choose I'd probably side with Willie Mullins's Urano who impressed me greatly on his Irish and hurdling debut and there is surely a lot more to come from this 4 year old. As I said, I won't personally be having a bet in this very tricky looking contest but if your keen for an opening race bet then I'd plump for Urano. That said, I couldn't put anyone off the others either and it typifies how tough a card this is.

12.50 Leopardstown

The 2nd race on the card doesn't look any easier as some fairly promising horses contest this Maiden Hurdle. Over hurdles, Willie Mullins's The Paparazzi Kid sets the standard as he stepped up from a moderate hurdling debut to chase home a horse I like a lot in the shape of Moscow Mannon on his latest start over hurdles. He had shown good promise in his bumpers as well and he's worthy of his place at the top of the market. However, I do feel that he's vulnerable to one of the hurdling debutants. Dermot Weld's Expanding Universe was an impressive winner of a bumper from a subsequent winner at Fairyhouse in October and he is sure to have his charge very well schooled for this but the one I like is Mags Mullins Anonis. After running a fine debut in a Bumper back in March 2011, Anonis was off the track for 605 days before winning extremely impressively on his 2nd career start when sent over to Cheltenham for a Listed Bumper where he scored in style as he powered up the hill to a 5 length success and he looked a very smart horse that day. That form is, in my eyes, the clear best shown by any of the horses in the field as the 2nd The Liquidator had shown some really strong form behind the exciting Clondaw Kaempfer on his debut and to score with such authority was very impressive and he looks a very talented horse in the making. Obviously, its difficult to know how he'll take to hurdles but I'm sure he's been well schooled. There is a little fear about him bouncing on his 2nd start back after such a long absence but Mags Mullins wouldn't risk a very exciting prospect if she felt it would happen. Again, not a race to get heavily involved with at all but I'll probably have a small bet on Anonis.

1.20 Leopardstown

Although he's still priced up, I've heard Our Conor will be withdrawn as he is coughing which should leave Willie Mullins's Blood Cotil a very short priced favourite for this Grade 2 Juvenile Hurdle. Another French Import, Blood Cotil couldn't have won any easier on his Irish debut but I don't think he really beat much that day. Nevertheless, he was still very impressive and is clearly a good horse but I personally couldn't go near him at likely odds on. Although its a massive pain in the ass that Our Conor's (impending) withdrawal will leave the field at 7 and turn each way betting into only two places, I think Gordon Elliott's Fisher looks quite overpriced at 14/1 for a yard who have won this with two relatively unfancied horses in the past 3 years. Formerly an average horse with Dandy Nicholls on the flat, this 3 year old has done very little wrong in his 3 hurdling starts for his talented Irish handler winning two and he's arguably unlucky not to be undefeated over jumps. After winning on debut for the Elliott yard from a subsequent winner who had experience over hurdles back in September, he followed that victory up by scoring easily in a race where the 3rd has come out and won again since under a 6lb penalty at Gowran Park in October. Fisher's last start came at Kempton when Gordon Elliott sent him across the Irish Sea that same month where a bad final flight blunder cost him victory as he was worn down by Alan King's McVicar. Attempting to concede that rival 10lb, Fisher travelled into the race like by far the best horse but he probably didn't find as much for pressure as he looked like he would but he lost little in defeat as the front pair drew well clear of the remainder of the field. The form of that race looks very strong with the winner scoring impressively on his next start under a penalty whilst the 19L beaten 3rd has also come out and won very well on his next start too. Since that run, Fisher has had a breathing operation which I think will work extremely well and should allow him to progress to the next level. Blood Cotil is the justified favourite but you've got to take on merit that his visually impressive performance against average horses was as good as it looked and I certainly couldn't touch him at odds on although he looks the likeliest winner. I'd much rather side with Fisher who has proven form in the book and looks the sort of horse jockey Paul Carberry will excel with. With Gordon Elliott having 2 winners and a second in this race in the past 4 years, its clearly a renewal he targets with his horses and I'm having a small each way bet in the hope he improves upon his already impressive record in this contest.

1.50 Leopardstown

This field of 25 runners looks an absolute minefield and the fact that Paddy Power make Happy New Year a 7/1 favourite tells you exactly how open the race is. Only a race for a very small bet as there is bound to be something lurking in there that is a well handicapped horse. I couldn't put anybody off backing the aptly named Happy New Year who is clearly in great form having won his last 3 races and his progression doesn't look like stopping and he should definitely run a good race off an 8lb higher mark under young Shane Crimin who takes a handy 7lb off. Although I could make a case for about half the field, the one that interested me the most was the Dessie Hughes owned and trained Miss Accurate who makes her handicap debut off a mark of 111. This 16/1 shot hasn't had too much racing with only 8 career starts to date but I think she's on a workable mark and it wouldn't surprise me if she put in a big performance. A winner on her 3rd start in a Bumper from the pretty decent yardstick Glibin, Miss Accurate made a successful hurdling debut at Sligo in an average looking race before being sent off an 11/4 shot on her next race in a competitive contest where she was still going fine before sprawling on landing at the 6th last hurdle which ended her chance. She was then brought down at the final flight in a bad looking fall when comprehensively beaten at Listowel in September last year when set a fairly tough task and I'm presuming she picked up a nasty injury as she was off the track for 13 months before retuning in a flat race at Roscommon in October which was clearly just to blow away a few cobwebs. She made her long awaited hurdling comeback a few weeks later at Wexford when again set a pretty tough task and I thought she ran a really nice race finishing less that 5L behind the winner Top Madam who has come out to frank the form with a lovely 2nd in a handicap and she is now rated 130. It was also interesting that she was held up the last day (normally tries to lead) and it will be interesting to see what tactics are employed tomorrow. She's pitched into a handicap for the first time off a mark of 111 and I think the handicapper may have been slightly lenient on her and I definitely feel she can be competitive off this mark. Her full brother Themoonandsixpence is a 135 rated chaser (126 over hurdles) and it wasn't until his 2nd full season that he really got going so I think Miss Accurate certainly has the potential to improve this year. The trip should pose no problems and although I am slightly worried about the ground her brother won on soft ground so she should probably be ok. Under the excellent Bryan Cooper, I think Miss Accurate could definitely run a nice race and although I could be completely wrong in such a competitive field of 25 I think she's worth a small each way bet at the price.

2.20 Leopardstown

I normally like to look for bigger priced runners in fields like this but Carlingford Lough could prove extremely well handicapped over fences off a mark of 124 given he is 20lb higher rated over hurdles and although 4/1 isn't the best price he could take a ridiculous amount of beating off a lovely racing weight of 10-9. A horse I like a lot, he was a very good horse over hurdles winning 4 of his 6 starts in that sphere including twice at the Galway Festival (most recently in August) and although he hasn't been at his best over the larger obstacles he's a completely different proposition now sent handicapping. He was supremely impressive when sauntering to victory off a mark of 129 at the Galway Festival on his final start over hurdles but he was turned over at a very short price on his chasing debut by a horse who is extremely average at best and it was a clearly disappointing effort. However, he fared much better on his 2nd start over fences again at Galway over 2m6f when finishing less than 5L beaten back in 3rd behind the very useful pair of Lyreen Legend and Ipsos Du Berlais. He was again set a very tough task on his final start when held up off the pace in a race that favoured those who were sitting prominent as he finished a comprehensively beaten 5th last month at Gowran Park. Its no surprise that he has been quickly turned to a handicap by his very shrewd trainer John Kiely and if he gets his act together he could make his opening chasing mark of 124 look a little silly. The drop back to 2m1f isn't ideal as he's definitely a better horse over further and I'll see if rain arrives tomorrow and how the ground is before deciding whether or not to back him as, although he's fine in testing conditions, he's definitely a horse who is suited more by better ground. If translating what he has achieved over hurdles to fences, I think Carlingford Lough is by far the most likely winner although that is no guarantee.

2.55 Leopardstown

This looks a straight shoot out between Willie Mullins's Arvika Ligeonniere who is currently an odds on shot and likely to start very short and Jessica Harrington's Oscars Well and although I won't be having a bet I fancy the former to come out on top. Probably short of top class over hurdles in 2010, Arvika Ligeonniere was off the track for more than 2 years before reappearing in May of this year and he has been an extremely impressive victor in both his starts over fences to date. On each occasion he made all from the front and never saw a rival as he jumped extremely well to win in facile fashion which has earned him a 7/1 price tag for the Cheltenham Festival in March. His last run saw him demolish some very decent horses in Grade 1 Company at the start of the month as his quick and accurate jumping cut his opponents to pieces and he couldn't have won in more impressive fashion. The only live rival I see to him is Jessie Harrington's Oscars Well who himself was probably better over hurdles than his rival and who has won 2 of his 3 starts over fences, falling on the 2nd occasion. Like Arvika Ligeonniere, Oscars Well was an impressive winner of both his completed starts. However, I feel that Arvika Ligeonniere will make this a real test and I think that some jumping frailties could be exposed in Oscars Well who will undoubtedly have to jump very well if he wants to win this. It wouldn't be a big surprise if Oscars Well won but I think Willie Mullins's charge will prove a little too good for him

3.30 Leopardstown

It will take a good horse to land the finale at Leopardstown and although a lot of the powerful yards are represented in this contest I quite fancy the lesser known trainer David Harry Kelly to have a good chance with his debutant Moyle Park. Although a rookie trainer who only had his first runner in May of this year, David Harry Kelly has made quite a name for himself in Bumpers in his brief career saddling 5 winners and 5 placed horses from only 17 runners in his short but fledgling career. I've been really impressed with him so far and I'm hoping he's saved his best horse yet in the shape of Moyle Park. A son of Flemensfirth, Moyle Park is the first foal of a pretty decent Hurdle/Chase/Bumper/Point to Point winner in the shape of Lovely Present and on breeding he certainly looks to have potential. There is definitely an emphasis on stamina in his pedigree and he's sure to be suited by further over time but at this early stage of his career the uphill finish over 2m on debut in testing conditions should be fine for him. His Tipperary based trainer has already saddled a winning debutant in a bumper and I've no concerns about a lack of race sharpness on what will be trainer's first runner at Leopardstown. In addition, both his parents won on their debuts so that suggests he should be a forward type on his first racecourse start. Young 7lb claimer Pa King, who has ridden all of the trainers bumper winners, takes the ride and his allowance will certainly help in the conditions that he should have no issue with dealing with. He's forecast to be a massive 33/1 which I think looks very unlikely and hopefully be priced around the 20/1 mark.I certainly think he looks to have a decent chance and if his trainer has indeed been saving his best horse then hopefully it will round off the day with a lovely priced winner.

1.25 Kempton

Gores Island 20/1

Very surprised such a big price is available Noel Chance's 6 year old as he looked to be running a huge race on his handicap debut before clouting 4 out which knocked the stuffing out of him in a race that I think will prove to be a very hot race on what was only his 2nd start over the larger obstacles. After running a really lovely debut by splitting Knight Pass and Victor Leudorum (both rated in 130s over hurdles) at Southwell in January 2011, Gores Island stepped up on a moderate debut over hurdles to score on his 2nd start over obstacles (5th career start) at Towcester in a Novice Hurdle on Stephen's Day (Boxing day to the UK folk) last year over 2m. Under Wednesday's pilot Jeremiath McGrath, Gores Island was held up in his traditional style and at about the half way point he found himself about 15L off the lead. Between the 4th and 3rd last flights McGrath started to get after his mount (albeit not vigorously) as his young pilot never looked to give him maximum effort. He was still about 7L off the lead going over the last before he powered up the run in to just get up on the line. He looked out of the race approaching the final flight and McGrath's demeanour seemed to suggest he felt his horse would finish out of the frame but his young rider sensed blood late on and he got up on the line to steal the win. The form of that race looks pretty strong with the 2nd John's Spirit (who gave Gores Island 10lb) rated 133 both over hurdles and fences whilst the 4th Loose Chips is now a 128 rated hurdler.

Gores Island was stepped up in trip to 2m4f for his next start a couple of weeks later as he defied a penalty and gave the field 6lb as he scored at Doncaster to get 2012 off to a flyer as he scored by 0.5L although he looked a cosy enough winner in the end. Settled out the back of the field, Gores Island made good progress and got into the race nicely before going into 2nd between the final two flights where McGrath had to get pretty serious with him as he administered a fair few cracks of the whip. Gores Island responded to these urgings well as he took the lead with about 100 yards to go an repelled a late challenger who came up alongsides by pulling out a little bit more. I definitely feel that he had a fair bit more to offer if needed as he had his ears pricked going over the last but he got the job done which is all you can ask for. The form of that race doesn't look bad either with the 2nd Sixty Something now a 129 rated hurdler and it was a lovely effort under a penalty. Gores Island ran as well as could have been expected in a AW Bumper For Jumpers in February of this year when only beaten 5L in tough race whilst his last start over hurdles came in March when disappointing on his handicap debut off a mark of 120. Gores Island then had the summer off before he made his chasing debut at Stratford in a Beginners Chase on the back of an 8 month absence in testing conditions over 2m7f last month when finishing a well beaten 6th.

Held up in his traditional fashion, Gores Island made a few jumping errors in his round. With about 6f to go, a group of 5 had broken clear from the rest of the field and Noel Chance's 6 year old came home best of the remainder and 47L behind the winner. It was an average debut over fences but he came home a very tired horse and was certainly entitled to need the run. The form of that race looks ok at present but I think its going to work out a lot better given time. After his chasing debut Gores Island was allotted the same mark as he had over hurdles of 119 and I thought he was running an absolutely massive place and looked destined to fight out the finish before belting 4 out which stopped him dead in his tracks. At the start of the month at Newbury over an extended 2m6f, Gores Island was held up at the rear of the 15 runner field before making some extremely eye catching headway under Richard Johnson. Swinging into the home straight, he looked by far the most likely winner as he came there swinging on the bridle and was about 1L off the lead when he ploughed into the 4th last fence which instantly put paid to his chances and he ended up coming home a well beaten 11th. That Class 3 handicap has worked out very well from the limited runners who have reappeared but I am convinced that it will be franked a great deal more to work out an extremely decent contest. Of those who have raced again, the 2nd Merry King went down in a photo finish off a 6lb higher mark to Cannington Brook the other day whilst the 3rd Handy Andy was a good winner on his only subsequent start off the same mark. Additionally the 9th and 10th home Master Neo and Benheir filled the first two places in the same race on their next outing, with the latter winning very impressively by 8L.

I had e-mailed Noel Chance to ask him of his plans after his last run and he said that would be dictated by what the handicapper did and he would be calling him and he has done a fantastic job to convince him to drop him 4lb to a mark of 115 after that last run. Although also a Class 3, this looks a significantly easier race then his latest contest and I don't think he'll have any issue with the drop back to an extended two and a half miles. Jeremiah McGrath resumes his partnership with this 6 year old off bottom weight and his 5lb claim helps get him down to a lovely racing weight of 10-6. I have two niggling doubts which are the heavy ground and Richard Johnson getting off to ride Henry Daly's Grove Pride but McGrath has been declared for quite a while so perhaps Mr Chance wanted to further alleviated the weight he has to carry. Nevertheless the price more than factors in these issues for me and he is definitely a horse I feel can win off his current mark. A winner on the same day 12 months ago, I'm hoping that Gores Island can repeat that feat over fences and I'm quietly confident that he will do so at a really nice price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Anyone else fancy Tammy's Hill to beat Salsify today at Down Royal? Beat him last time out and I don't think he really wants heavy ground

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

rossom wrote: »
    Went straight into my notebook after his hurdles debut. New Years Eve showed some lovely bumper form so could make into a very nice hurdler and I'm not sure how good Dodging Bullets is. No bet race for me tomorrow but both should make up into very useful hurdlers

I would have been a bit concerned with the proximity of all the horses to the winner that day. 5 and a half lengths first to sixth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

1:25 Kempton

I fancy Aikideau in this at a decent price, despite his chase career so far being poor in comparison to his hurdles, if he can improve his jumping he is in here of a very tempting mark of only 120 which is at least 8lbs lower than his hurdles mark, and he has some form in the past on heavy ground. I think he has plenty of potential and looks sure to be capable of a better mark than that. Hopefully he can take advantage today.

2 Points win Betfair 14.5

2:35 Kempton

Although Get me out of Here doesn’t have much form on softer ground he is certainly not a 30/1 shot in this race. He is the highest rated here and usually gives his all in his races. The favourite looks hard to beat in these conditions but my selection is easily worth a small bet at around twice the price he should be here. He can stay further than the 2 miles here and that might just be to his advantage in what should turn out to be a bit of a slog.

1 Point win 31 Betfair

Kempton 3:45

Filbert looks to have a decent shot in this handicap at what looks a very nice price. He is one of the most unexposed in the race, and ran a very good comeback race last time out at Sandown. He is in here of a nice low weight and that can only help in the conditions today. Im surprised to find him available at 16/1 generally as I expected his to be one of the fancied horses.

2 Points win 16/1 Generally

12.55 Fontwell

Gaelic Silver 11/2

I've been waiting for Gary Moore's 6 year old to go over fences for quite a while and although very disappointing in her 4 starts in Britain over hurdles she's clearly a better chaser and I think she's clearly very well handicapped off a mark of 100 on the form she showed in France. Successful in a chase in France, I think Hugh Taylor noted that that form equated to being rated in the 130s and although she hasn't gone with much verve for Moore she did show up a lot better in first time cheekpieces for most of the race earlier this month and I'm hoping the switch back to fences can rekindle her enthusiasm. Although a fair few risks come attached, if she returns to any semblance of the form she showed in France then she should take an awful lot of beating.

1.15 Sedgefield

Along Came Rosie 6/1

Andrew Crook's 8 year old has taken to the chasing game very well and has scored on 2 of her 3 runs over fences (both over C+D) and she still looks decently handicapped off only a 5lb higher mark than her last victory and last outing in this sphere back in May. She was off for the summer before having her reappearance run over hurdles when pulled up last month in testing conditions and that was clearly a run just to blow away the cobwebs. She'll clearly strip fitter for that run and given that she is unexposed over fences, unbeaten over C+D and proven in the conditions I think she'll take a fair bit of stopping Fearghal Davis.

2.35 Kempton

Countrywide Flame 7/4

I don't normally go for something this short but I think Countrywide Flame is a much bigger price than he should be and I expect him to win impressively. Very impressive when the only race fit rival when landing the Fighting Fifth in taking fashion by 12L, last years Triumph Hurdle winner slammed the reopposing Cinders and Ashes who, although will clearly strip fitter for the reappearance, I can't see being anywhere near close enough to landing this. I don't think last years Supreme Novice form is anything to write home about at all and I think its hilarious how short Darlan is in the betting as I think he'll be made look ****e. AP McCoy has said on two occasions that they need to find out if he is a genuine Champion Hurdle horse but if he was really good enough then they should definitely know if he was or not. I expect him to be beaten out of sight and can't even see him filling the places let alone win. If I am wrong (which I will be shocked if I am) I won't be on here to apologise for getting the race so wrong as I'll be at Leopardstown but I think Countrywide Flame will walk this.

4.45 Wolverhampton

Illustrious Forest 12/1

There is no doubt in my mind that this horse is being fiddled with (look at his last and 3rd last runs) and given the eye catching booking of David Probert and falling down to his last winning mark lead me to believe that this is the race they are going to try and land a punt with him. He'll be gambled late on so keep a very close eye on the betting. A triple C+D winner, John Mackie's 4 year old was in belting form around this time last year as he won 3 of 4 races when upped to 1m4f for the first time as his handicap mark shot up from 50 to 71 in a short space of time. His last win came off this mark of 71 where he absolutely sauntered in easily over this C+D at the end of March. I think he's capable of winning off a mark in the high 70/low 80s and if they let the handbrake off him today then I think he'll bolt in. The trainer's form is a slight concern but I think Illustrious Forest is so well handicapped that it probably won't even make a difference.

rossom wrote: »
    1.25 Kempton

Gores Island 20/1

Fancied him myself too.

Non Runner now though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Anyone else fancy Tammy's Hill to beat Salsify today at Down Royal? Beat him last time out and I don't think he really wants heavy ground
    I'm on salsify Urban. Made a few euro on him in march, reckon the recent outing will have sharpened him up. Ground a concern but not going to desert him today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

I will be having some kind of a Megatron on Countrywide Flame 7/4, Long Run 9/4, Blazing Sonnet 9/1 and Liverpool who are 5/4 I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭mountai

Champion jockey goes to Limerick, this is not to be ignored. I"ve done a small yankee on his first four mounts. Fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Heard good things about Tony Martins bumper horse Blackmail in the last at Leopardstown. 2nd on debut to Champagne James. 6/1 at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

Ive heard a whisper for Madame Bovary (1255 DownRoyal)
    Source is in Harringtons yard. Im on at 13/2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

I really fancy River Maigue as a lot of people seem to do around here.

A friend of mine who used to ride out for Kim Bailey until a about a month ago said they fancy Bishophill Jack in Market Rasen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭droidman123

Johner wrote: »
    Countrywide Flame to bolt up in the Christmas hurdle.

Like the look of Valmari at 6/1 in the second at Kempton. Also Life Long in the last at Market Rasen, ran a nice race on his reappearance. Forecast price of 5/1 looks nice.
    I wouldnt write off raya star, has a huge heart and some good form behind him as well.

A bit of a Canadian for interest.

Bishophill Jack @ 10/3 (GP)

Arvika Ligeonniere @ 5/6 (GP)

Carlingford Lough @ 5/2 (GP)

Long Run @ 9/4 (GP)

Countrywide Flame @ 13/8 (GP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Father had an interest in a horse that was trained by Dean ivory a year or two back, Was told yesterday dean fancies his horse in the last at Kempton to go well, Valid reason, 14s now.

Jesu* the bookies are getting a hammering so far in Kempton anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Fuck me that was impressive.

Johner wrote: »
    Fuck me that was impressive.

Didn't beat a whole lot though did he?

probably crazy, but stuck a few quid on Dynaste at 50/1 for the Gold Cup

jeez, backed elegant muse in the 2.10 at wolv. its bad enough backing a loser, but when you dont even get a run for your money, it hurts!

Shane732 wrote: »
    I really fancy River Maigue as a lot of people seem to do around here.

A friend of mine who used to ride out for Kim Bailey until a about a month ago said they fancy Bishophill Jack in Market Rasen.

Last time a take a tip from him!

I've back Countrywide Flame big enough.

Carlingford Lough was poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Carlingford Lough was poor.

****e

did Punjabi for a place for a few quid, but not really one a race I'd bet big on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Should have got on it when McCoy did, very easy looking for Darlan there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Wow, impressive

He was weak on Betfair before but at the same time was being backed for the champion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

Darlan v impressive.i wouldnt write off countrywide flame.no pace in the race and when it came to turn of foot no contest

all that fuss over the ground being too soft for Darlan the last couple of times he was withdrawn, and then hacks up in the lashings of rain.

Wow, impressive

He was weak on Betfair before but at the same time was being backed for the champion.

He was very impressive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Insane performance in the swamp from Darlan

JP colours, 2nd in the Supreme, hacks up at Aintree, made Festival favourite after winning around Christmas. Sounds familiar

damn you mc coy : ) i had a tenner on raya star @ 10\1. darlan did look good, i,m hoping raya star is open to some improvement, although in fairness the horse owes me nothing, i won a decent few bob off him in the past. it will be interesting to see where they run him next, dont think he will quite have the class for the champion hurdle...but mayby king and choco know best.

Insane performance in the swamp from Darlan

JP colours, 2nd in the Supreme, hacks up at Aintree, made Festival favourite after winning around Christmas. Sounds familiar
    lets hope he,s not another binocular, been a great disappointment considering the things expected of him.was veru regressive after his c.h win

F*ck me he made seriously hard work out of that!

Would SWC not just hold his hands up and admit that a proper jockey on board would do much better on him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

:D Thank you rossom

Stuck my money on Moyle Park @ 20/1 earlier when you posted that up.

Happy days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Arctic89

F*ck me he made seriously hard work out of that!

Would SWC not just hold his hands up and admit that a proper jockey on board would do much better on him?

I'm his biggest critic but thought he did well today, plenty of amateurs who would have fallen off if their horse had put in similar jumps to LR today. Besides that, thought he gave him a decent ride. Hadn't him backed either fwiw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

Why are ATR showing this thruppence halfpenny nonsense from Wolverhampton instead of Limerick?

had a pig of a day with the horse,s...not a sausage. to sum it all up, my last chance of a winner is jeer in the 4.45 wolverhampton, have it backed at 12/1:o

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭mountai

iVE NEVER BEEN SO POOR IN ALL ME LIFE !!!!!!!