Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How can something so beautifull exist?

• 24-12-2012 8:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭

This is just breath taking to look at icon7.gif

grand20canyon20pano20we.th.jpg

NOTE: The site i uploaded this picture to is a FILE HOSTING website which often gets abused by ppl uploading bad files.... I want to assure you if you get any warnings about this site,I UPLOADED THIS FILE INTO MY ACCOUNT AND ITS FINE! (You can disregard any warnings with stuff I post from jabry.com)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

What do you like so much about the photo dude?

It doesnt do anything for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,026 ✭✭✭kelly1

It's a fine view no doubt but I don't like the horizon stuck bang in the middle and to me it feels like the foreground has been cropped out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Dubwat

NOTE: the site i uploaded this picture to is a FILE HOSTING website which often gets abused by ppl uploading bad files...

Is it your photo? It looks like there's a © 2007 Jack Kennedy watermark in the bottom right corner...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭Dude111

Yup there is buddy,i didnt wanna remove that because they did an excellent job on the photo and i want everyone to know who took it icon7.gif (I uploaded it there so excessive bandwidth wouldnt be used @ the site i found it at (1 of the places anyway))
    What do you like so much about the photo dude?
    I guess the vastness of it,doesnt it just make you wonder HOW IN THIS UGLY WORLD that exists?? AND NATURALLY icon7.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,717 ✭✭✭DaireQuinlan

Dude111 wrote: »
    I guess the vastness of it,doesnt it just make you wonder HOW IN THIS UGLY WORLD that exists?? AND NATURALLY icon7.gif

Erosion.

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=erosion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

indian_peaks_wildernessc07.04.2002.L4.07c-600.jpg

Now there's a very well-taken shot of a beautiful landscape. Taken with a large format camera too so you can only imagine the level of detail the full size scan of the photo would have (Not one of my photos!).

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,675 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Yup there is buddy,i didnt wanna remove that because they did an excellent job on the photo and i want everyone to know who took it icon7.gif (I uploaded it there so excessive bandwidth wouldnt be used @ the site i found it at (1 of the places anyway))
    does the photographer know you're pimping his photo around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Oh ffs, let's not start the whining contest that is copyright discussion on today of all days, eh?

He was excited by a photograph and wanted to share it with others. Sure, he's probably lost the run of himself but it's that very emotion that makes photography magical.

I dunno buddy,do you think he would mind me sharing it??

I know if I took that I wouldnt care who was showing it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

davyjose wrote: »

No, not really.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭stuar

Depends on the type of mountain....

How Mountains Are Formed

Many of the major mountain ranges are created when the Earth’s tectonic plates crash together.Because of the tremendous energies involved, the sides of the plates crumple like cars in a head-on collision.

The next way that mountains are formed is along fault lines. Blocks of Earth are uplifted and tilted over as two plates grind together.

Another way that mountains are formed is when magma from beneath the Earth’s surface is pushed up, but doesn’t actually crack through.

The final way to form a mountain is through erosion.

Read more: http://www.universetoday.com/29833/how-mountains-are-formed/#ixzz2G6Ta70ZF

No, not really.

Ah so that makes both of us.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,675 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

I dunno buddy,do you think he would mind me sharing it??
    well, i'm not the person you should be asking.
    but the very fact that he put a copyright notice on the image would lend me towards believing he would.

doesnt it just make you wonder HOW IN THIS UGLY WORLD that exists??
    actually, this bit i found odd. i'd hardly describe the world as ugly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

Its a fantastic photo and a credit to the photographer.

Thanks for sharing it.

well, i'm not the person you should be asking.
    but the very fact that he put a copyright notice on the image would lend me towards believing he would.

I think copyright notices are really for comercial use where somebody uses it to make money, if it's public it's public, if the photographer were that worried it wouldn't be on the net to begin with so I don't think he would really give a rats ass if it were simply shared, actually it would most likely please him that others found it worth spreading for non money making use, and the wider it's shared the more chance he has of actually making money from it.

EDIT:

And some just stick a copyright symbol on it to please themselve's and feel professional.............

stuar wrote: »
    I think copyright notices are really for comercial use where somebody uses it to make money, if it's public it's public, if the photographer were that worried it wouldn't be on the net to begin with so I don't think he would really give a rats ass if it were simply shared, actually it would most likely please him that others found it worth spreading for non money making use, and the wider it's shared the more chance he has of actually making money from it.

EDIT:

And some just stick a copyright symbol on it to please themselve's and feel professional.............

popcorn.gif

EDIT:

hello, and welcome to the photography forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Promac

popcorn.gif
    And potentially smiley-computer012.gif

hello, and welcome to the photography forum.

I've been here before....

whats the silly ani about?

have I offended anybody?????????????????????

Promac wrote: »
    And potentially smiley-computer012.gif

I don't come here to fight, I have CT for that, just trying to give an honest opinion, thats all.......

And by the way yall I have 21 years experience as a photographer, developed B+W in a make shift darkroom, understood the Ansel Adams zone system before many of you were out of nappies, so.....................give me a cool animated graphic to look cooool....:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Promac

I don't come here to fight, I have CT for that, just trying to give an honest opinion, thats all.......

And by the way yall I have 21 years experience as a photographer, developed B+W in a make shift darkroom, understood the Ansel Adams zone system before many of you were out of nappies, so.....................give me a cool animated graphic to look cooool....:confused:

The "Hello and welcome" part was a way of saying "welcome to a discussion we've all had about 128 times each and probably don't have anything else to add". The popcorn was a way of saying "Agreed, but it'll probably get funny anyway so I'm gonna sit back and watch". The punch from the screen was me saying "Yeah and I'm sure someone'll get a mouthful before it's over too".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

In fairness, tis not a bad photo.

Seeing the grand canyon for real is a major anti climax though. There are
    potholes in Ireland that could offer the same experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Sounds like you need to get up to speed with the technology. Black and white film doesn't work/exist anymore and it's all Canon or Nikon now. I've never seen a camera made by Ansel Adams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭artyeva

welcome to the photography forum, stuar

where snark rulez ok.

[don't mind them. they probably got coal in their stockings the other day.]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭pitkan

http://www.independent.ie/business/technology/mount-everest-captured-in-stunning-detail-with-twobillionpixel-interactive-image-3333593.html

Apologies for butting in but if this hasn't already been posted then an equally breath taking experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭Flier

Feelgood wrote: »
    In fairness, tis not a bad photo.

Seeing the grand canyon for real is a major anti climax though. There are
    potholes in Ireland that could offer the same experience.

God I hope you're joking! I've been to the north rim in the snow, the south rim in the sun. I've flown over it, and hiked down into it and stayed overnight. It is truly awesome! I always feel that a photograph can't do it justice!

No they cant but if it was taken good,it can let you kind of feel warmth for that area icon7.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

nasty looking HDR of an undoubtedly breathtaking view. I hate HDR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Squeaky the Squirrel

Hugh_C wrote: »
    nasty looking HDR of an undoubtedly breathtaking view. I hate HDR.
    Why? Honest question. Curious as to why so many feel so angry about it?

And by the way yall I have 21 years experience as a photographer, developed B+W in a make shift darkroom, understood the Ansel Adams zone system before many of you were out of nappies
    Cristiano Ronaldo's Grandad knew the rules of soccer before his grandson. Your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Effects wrote: »
    Sounds like you need to get up to speed with the technology. Black and white film doesn't work/exist anymore and it's all Canon or Nikon now. I've never seen a camera made by Ansel Adams.

It does yeah - dark room skills still practices by a few photographers.
    Anyone with a half decent digital is calling themselves a photographer without learning the skills of creating a photograph.
    I've seen lads photoshop the bejasus out of images trying to make a half decent photo - I have also seen a few extremely talented photographers take a one go exceptional shot with 35mm film camera.
    So getting up to speed with technology does not mean you are a better photographer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

Cristiano Ronaldo's Grandad knew the rules of soccer before his grandson. Your point?

I think his point is that he knows his trade . And was at it before and during the digital age.
    Surly one person must respect experience on this forum?

brokenarms wrote: »
    I think his point is that he knows his trade . And was at it before and during the digital age.
    Surly one person must respect experience on this forum?

I've always been more inclined toward the ideal of a meritocracy over a gerontocracy.

Curious as to why so many feel so angry about it?

Personally, I have yet to see an HDR image which doesn't look completely over-saturated and false. Even on reasonably prestigious hosting and library sites, you come across ghastly representations of Nature which have arrived on this planet due to the use (and overuse) of HDR techniques, and while they may have a place on some people's photographic continuum, they're entirely distasteful to me.

Here's a fine example:
    hdr.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

It's an amazing scene no doubt, there's so much natural beauty in this world and just as much ugliness. I love pictures which reflect the beauty of an ugly scene. So while i appreciate the aesthetic beauty of a good natural landscape usually it does nothing for me. I suppose it's all down to interpretation really.

This is beautiful to me..

?igcid=4XFVdM3;relPath=null;fileName=tn_xlarge.jpg

Anyway, thanks for sharing Dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Hugh_C wrote: »
    Personally, I have yet to see an HDR image which doesn't look completely over-saturated and false. Even on reasonably prestigious hosting and library sites, you come across ghastly representations of Nature which have arrived on this planet due to the use (and overuse) of HDR techniques, and while they may have a place on some people's photographic continuum, they're entirely distasteful to me.

Here's a fine example:
    Does the photographer know you are posting his copyrighted picture all over the place? :D

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

This is beautiful to me..

?igcid=4XFVdM3;relPath=null;fileName=tn_xlarge.jpg

Anyway, thanks for sharing Dude.
    I dont know how beatifull it is seeing pollution going into the air,etc..........

And your welcome smile.gif

OldGoat wrote: »
    Does the photographer know you are posting his copyrighted picture all over the place? :D

Dunno mate, I have linked back to wherever it came from so presumably I'm not infringing.

I dont know how beatifull it is seeing pollution going into the air,etc..........

Luckily it's all subjective at the end of the day. There's a strange beauty in these...

4374109912_dd61e8ccc9_z.jpg 4374144092_5051dde920_z.jpg

... even though they wouldn't be accounted conventionally 'beautiful'

Your own Blair Witch Project Daire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭jpb1974

Dunno mate, I have linked back to wherever it came from so presumably I'm not infringing.

Didn't someone on the soccer forum hotlink to some boards member's photo on a 3rd party website (who had paid for the rights to use the photo) and all hell broke loose?

Or am I getting confused?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

jpb1974 wrote: »

Didn't someone on the soccer forum hotlink to some boards member's photo on a 3rd party website (who had paid for the rights to use the photo) and all hell broke loose?

Or am I getting confused?

Sounds like boards alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

That was the PCPhoto fella that Andy Caroll gave a black/bruised eye iirc. That thread was mostly just people lampooning him for geting so uppity about someone using the photo in a thread about the subject, a young Irish soccer kid who was moving to Barcalona to join their academy.

Even if he was within his legal rights it was utterly ridiculous to humourlessly threaten suing a fellow poster as if he was some sort of organisation profiteering from his image. The reaction just reflected the surreality of the situation from what I saw. The 'hell' that broke loose was about the photographer's attitude rather than the original poster's use of the photo. We should really leave it at that or the mods will be tempted to go on lockdown after the Andy Caroll thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭dirtyghettokid

***MOD NOTE***
    in the words of that dublin lady -- ah heyor leave it ou!!

there's no point in dragging up this aul drity laundry again, so unless there's anything else to be said with regards to the OP, this thread has pretty much run it's course and may be locked.

please lets not drag up the pcphoto stuff again. doesn't really have a place in this thread.