Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

any courses open tomorrow

• 22-12-2012 5:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭

Was wondering if anybody knows of any courses which will be open in the midlands tomorrow. I think moate and ballinasloe are closed because of the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,511 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Athlone will be open tomorrow for definite.

Will be busy early in the morning, but you should be able to get out from 11 onwards.

Might not be anyone in the bar at this time if you ring, but you'll get the pro in the morning from around 8AM - 0906492073 - extension 2.

green fees 15 euros

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

New Forest, rang them earlier, tee free from 11, €25

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

looking to play somewhere tomorrow so if anyone is out today will ye let me know what the courses are like please? anywhere within 50 miles of athlone.

not athlone itself ? lol

was grand out there today despite the rain. Wasnt playing mind you, but she was in good condition and the competition all week is open. 7 for members, 5 re-rentry and a 10-er for visitors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Galway bay 20 euro open day comp. Great nick atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

scrubber72 wrote: »
    Galway bay 20 euro open day comp. Great nick atm.

FYI, it's listed as €25 on their website, hoping to play there on Sat as Fri appears to be unavailable with possibly a members competition. Poorly advertised open competition all week however with nothing listed on the GUI site or their own website, only seen it through their online booking system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Your right about poorly advertised. Got email stating the open days. Today, tomorrow, Saturday Sunday and Monday are open. Friday a pro am is on. 20 euro for green fee and comp entry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

not athlone itself ? lol

was grand out there today despite the rain. Wasnt playing mind you, but she was in good condition and the competition all week is open. 7 for members, 5 re-rentry and a 10-er for visitors

No online booking for Athlone ?

alxmorgan wrote: »
    No online booking for Athlone ?

fraid not - we're still using archaic technologies such as the telephone :)

Might not get anyone at this time but the pro shop will be open from about 8-8:30 am in the morning :)

fraid not - we're still using archaic technologies such as the telephone :)

Might not get anyone at this time but the pro shop will be open from about 8-8:30 am in the morning :)

Full course/full greens ?

the competition is run over 15 holes, but you can play all 18 if you wish.
    full greens and they are in very good condition for winter greens. were running very slick christmas eve when I played, but of course, might be a little slower after todays rain :)

So booked to play in Athlone today but the other half was late back from shopping so had to miss it. Was a pity as have never played it and would like to.

Wisely kept my mouth shut as she was shopping for the kids and I was lucky to be getting out.

Played Longford on my own. Slow as feck. 4 lads ahead of me lost a hole and a half to those in front of them even though course was slow overall. They were unreal slow. Would usually drive me mad but was happy to be out and was a lovely day. At least they left after 10.

Played really well too which always helps :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭thewobbler

Played Concra Wood today.

All open and generally good condition, if a bit heavy on the last few holes.

Glorious sunshine and Lough Muckno is a rather special combination.

Wisely kept my mouth shut as she was shopping for the kids and I was lucky to be getting out.

thought i was going to be playing today myself but my mother in law is coming down for lunch today and i was told "NO WAY!" - oh well, will get out sunday instead

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

We ended up going to mount temple as athlone was fully booked up till after 1. Had a great round and the place was dry enough.