Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you had a fine or ticket wiped out coz you know a guard

• 21-12-2012 11:02pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭

Im going to be honest and say i have.when in rome and all that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

I was told how to get it wiped out. And it did work.

It was a speeding fine from a gatso van, something like 60 in a 50 zone :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭hattoncracker

I know someone who's had a speeding ticket, a fine for no tax and one for no nct quashed.

The day it happens she just rings a garda she knows and before they go anywhere he stops them.

The same garda has also stopped her for speeding himself before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

I know of numerous people who have had it done. Its not uncommon tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

sfwcork wrote: »
    Im going to be honest and say i have.when in rome and all that

An Italian guard wiped out your ticket?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I have a brother who is a guard and it didn't help me when I got a speeding ticket a few years ago. I must go and complain to him right now:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Not a guard but a traffic warden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Who are these guards that wipe out tickets, I had a ticket wiped once but it was done by a Garda :)

• Site Banned Posts: 107 ✭✭big_joe_joyce

my fathers brother was a guard but is now retired , he got my dad off on more than one occasion for no tax displayed

the world and its mum knew about this craic for years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

I wish I knew some of these guards.

They seem like good people to know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I've had several fines and tickets whipped out to me because I got to meet a garda briefly on the side of the road. Does that count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I've never got a fine or a ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

The system works!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭green123

michellie wrote: »
    I was told how to get it wiped out. And it did work.

It was a speeding fine from a gatso van, something like 60 in a 50 zone :(

how ?

green123 wrote: »
    how ?
    Yeah, i was thinking that as well. Spill the beans and make a load of work for the Politicians re-drafting legislation:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

how ?
    Pottler wrote: »
    Yeah, i was thinking that as well. Spill the beans and make a load of work for the Politicians re-drafting legislation:)

Send it to an address in the north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

I wipe me own ticket, between the cheeks of me arse.

HondaSami wrote: »
    Send it to an address in the north.
    So, me being thick, I get the ticket, put it in an envelope and post it off to Stormont? Am I doing this right?? Or do I need to be in Rome to do it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,340 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

Once got done for doing 60mph in a 40mph through a red light. Got a summons a couple of months later. Gave it to a mate of mine who's a cop, he rang me 2 days later and told me to forget about it, there'd be no further action. Handy to know a few Gardai alright. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

I got rid of several parking tickets for guards over the years and they managed to lose all my speeding tickets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Got of one for speeding, 132kph in 120kph zone and another time I got off no tax, out by 6 weeks, and illegal RHT. Both occasions by the same Garda

Love the difference in threads.. "A judge!?? It's an outrage!!!" to "Ah yea, got it done alright, pretty handy."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Pottler wrote: »
    So, me being thick, I get the ticket, put it in an envelope and post it off to Stormont? Am I doing this right?? Or do I need to be in Rome to do it?

No, not Rome. Milano. They have one in Belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

The gardai, a grand bunch a lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Garda stopped me and said he was going to prosecute me for dangerous driving (crossed a white line to overtake a car doing 20mph for at least a mile)

I wonder whatever happened to the paperwork for that, it never quite made it to me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

how ?

Em I don't know if I should say it here, mods might shout at me, pm me if you wana know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I'm disgusted but not surprised by this. Don't blame the people that have let gardai cancel their tickets but the gardai in question should be sacked on the spot and, if it was up to me, prosecuted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

Know a gaurd who got caught driving out of a night club hammered ..... and was allowed to drive on since he was 'one of their own'.

Know another who drives the bus lane every day (Mon-Fri) and just gets them all squashed when he gets stopped. He's doing it years now.

Got a summons squashed once for "dangerous driving of a pedal cycle" , No rear light , no rear relector on my push bike.
    He gave me a full force dig in the head for it........... then didn't want it going to court ! lol

Have a few more if anyone wants to hear them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

humbert wrote: »
    I'm disgusted but not surprised by this. Don't blame the people that have let gardai cancel their tickets but the gardai in question should be sacked on the spot and, if it was up to me, prosecuted.

So we should take advantage of having a personal relationship with a gardai; but if he does us a favour we should report him?

Reallly how could you ethically stand over that!!!

Know another who drives the bus lane every day (Mon-Fri) and just gets them all squashed when he gets stopped. He's doing it years now.

He gave me a full force dig in the head for it........... then didn't want it going to court ! lol

Have a few more if anyone wants to hear them

Sure I do that myself, maybe the last 10 years or so, everyday.

Really he gave you a good dig?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

There are a lot of scumbag gards who think they are a law unto themselves and help their mates get away with breaking the law and putting peoples live at risk

Shatter is trying to cover it up as we speak by having these people investigate themselves... great system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Odysseus wrote: »
    So we should take advantage of having a personal relationship with a gardai; but if he does us a favour we should report him?

That's a rather creative, and indeed silly, interpretation of what I said. To encourage someone to commit a crime and then have them prosecuted for it is not ethical and not what I would like to see happen.

Simply put, if there are gardai willing and able to cancel tickets for friends then the system is flawed. People will always take advantage of such flaws and I blame the system, not the people.

It's obviously tolerated and unpunished within the gardai, I would like to see that changed.

Sure I do that myself, maybe the last 10 years or so, everyday.

Really he gave you a good dig?

I was a teenager at the time .... I had cycled away when he tried to stop me and pulled up 200 metres down the road

I probably deserved it at the time :) and have no problem with a cheeky teenager getting a slap or two (within reason).

I had dropped a box of ciggies from my pocket as I was cycling and had done a u-turn in to retrieve them . Hardly crime of the century if a crime at all

Anyway I'm not complaining about the dig.
    I went up to him after I got the summons and reminded him of the incident and told him I was heading away and hoping to keep a clean record.

He was fine about it and gave me the summon back with a big 'X' accross them. Told me I could take them home and frame them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

I was a teenager at the time .... I had cycled away when he tried to stop me and pulled up 200 metres down the road....

...Anyway I'm not complaining about the dig.
    I went up to him after I got the summons and reminded him of the incident and told him I was heading away and hoping to keep a clean record.

He was fine about it and gave me the summon back with a big 'X' accross them. Told me I could take them home and frame them :)

Frame him , more like ; that's what he was afraid of; the truth & the whole truth!

My dog was kicked senseless while on the lead by a freak who was in his house beating up his wife in the f*ing window - he ran out onto the street when He saw that I'd stopped & seen him and kicked my dog into the vetinary hospital. Rang 999 & they came ; and repeatedly refused to take a statement. Made a formal complaint @ was told it would never get to court. Turned out the wife beater & savage monster was a " local" gaurd. Total cover up for him ; whole station involved.
    Disgusting beyond imagining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭eyeroad yearowl one

The people aren't to blame. If they know a crooked Guard that will sort them out, for either knowing them personally or for a few bob on the side, they're going to chance their arm. The guards can't push any of the blame onto them. They have the power 100%. There are no negotiations for fines etc. I hope that the guards responsible are named and shamed and sacked. There are plenty of people on dole queues who'd be willing and able to sign up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I've honestly got plenty of things thrown out through connections.
    All alcohol related. It's wrong but I think it's always going to be a problem to an extent no matter what.

Thats why I take note of 'Big' names in the force , so I can drop the name when the wakners are giving me hassle.

Its easy to drop the line ' Look, I'll sort this out with sergeant ******** ' and watch the arrogant smirk drop off their face.

I once got a lecture from a Ban-Garda on how to appease the ego of a cop who stops you.
    I had to remind her that she was a public servant.

But it is true to say that anybody put ina a position of power will always abuse it. Thats human nature and it's not just limited to the Gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭lightspeed

So you believe and support corruption is what you stand over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭lightspeed

Frame him , more like ; that's what he was afraid of; the truth & the whole truth!

My dog was kicked senseless while on the lead by a freak who was in his house beating up his wife in the f*ing window - he ran out onto the street when He saw that I'd stopped & seen him and kicked my dog into the vetinary hospital. Rang 999 & they came ; and repeatedly refused to take a statement. Made a formal complaint @ was told it would never get to court. Turned out the wife beater & savage monster was a " local" gaurd. Total cover up for him ; whole station involved.
    Disgusting beyond imagining.

Jesus was there no other avenue to take it further?

The people aren't to blame. If they know a crooked Guard that will sort them out, for either knowing them personally or for a few bob on the side, they're going to chance their arm. The guards can't push any of the blame onto them. They have the power 100%. There are no negotiations for fines etc. I hope that the guards responsible are named and shamed and sacked. There are plenty of people on dole queues who'd be willing and able to sign up.

People need to take some personal responsibility here, "chance your arm" if you are that way inclined; but don't try play the victim. Anybody who tries this has to take their share of the blame.

If you are involved in such a transaction you are in no way totally innocent. The garda does not force you and you did not force the garda.

lightspeed wrote: »
    So you believe and support corruption is what you stand over?

Certainly not, I in no way say or implied that, however, the person who benefits for this transaction should have to take their share blame. So if they report a garda for such an action they should have to face the consequences too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭lecker Hendl

If you get pulled in for a traffic offence, do they have to give you a ticket there and then?

I was pulled in about 2 or 3 months ago for 'breaking a red light'. That's what the traffic corp said to me anyway. I told him I didn't break any red light, and that I had in fact gone through an amber light. He then told me that's illegal too. I told him it's not illegal if it's not safe to stop, which is what the law states as far as I know.

He took my details and then just wandered off and pulled another fella in at the other side of the road. I got no ticket though so have no idea if there's anything to come in the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭eyeroad yearowl one

People need to take some personal responsibility here, "chance your arm" if you are that way inclined; but don't try play the victim. Anybody who tries this has to take their share of the blame.

If you are involved in such a transaction you are in no way totally innocent. The garda does not force you and you did not force the garda.

It's a moot point. The complicity of the civilian, whether active or passive does not nullify in part or whole, the actions of the garda.

Nobody is saying the civilian is playing the victim. The guard has 100% of the power. That is non-negotiable. The civilian can accept the fine or be pis$ed off; it makes no difference. Only the guard has the power to commit the act of "making it disappear".

You cannot "force" the garda. However he can "force" you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭WestWicklow1

michellie wrote: »
    Em I don't know if I should say it here, mods might shout at me, pm me if you wana know!

Pm sent....

It's a moot point. The complicity of the civilian, whether active or passive does not nullify in part or whole, the actions of the garda.

Nobody is saying the civilian is playing the victim. The guard has 100% of the power. That is non-negotiable. The civilian can accept the fine or be pis$ed off; it makes no difference. Only the guard has the power to commit the act of "making it disappear".

You cannot "force" the garda. However he can "force" you.

I disagree, it is up to me if I accept the fine, or I act in a unethical manner and attempt to effect the natural ccourse of events. The garda is the only person who can make it go away; but I am approaching him to act in a certain way to my benefit. Both are guilty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

If you get pulled in for a traffic offence, do they have to give you a ticket there and then?

I was pulled in about 2 or 3 months ago for 'breaking a red light'. That's what the traffic corp said to me anyway. I told him I didn't break any red light, and that I had in fact gone through an amber light. He then told me that's illegal too. I told him it's not illegal if it's not safe to stop, which is what the law states as far as I know.

He took my details and then just wandered off and pulled another fella in at the other side of the road. I got no ticket though so have no idea if there's anything to come in the post.

I got a 60 Euro fine for it, When he asked me why do you think I'v stopped you ? I replied that I had gone through the Amber and he said that had I told the truth he would have only warned me but because I lied I'm getting a fine. I know I went on the Amber so its him that was lying.