Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

new car bought. tax + ins discs??

• 21-12-2012 7:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭

Just bought nice shiny 6 month old car from main dealer . V happy but it won't have tax or ins disc on it tomorrow when I collect. Just thought of this now.... will be moving insurance from old car so coverage not an issue. But no discs? And with Christmas not much chance of getting any.

What's the right procedure here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Was gonna say drive it until you get your discs with ownership documentation in the car, but i can hear hooves in the distance so feck that im outta here.

Once it's insured I'd drive it but I'd be wary of traffic wardens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭Darwin

Put your existing insurance disc in the new car. If the dealer applied for motor tax they should be able to insert a blank disc worded to the effect 'road tax applied for' with the dealer/salesperson name. Keep the details of the transaction in the car in case you are stopped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Wils110

Well with the insurance the police will check on computer so they'll know your covered but have your old policy and disc in car and then your receipt from the dealer will be ok considering no tax for a week or two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

Ok so I deffo need the old insurance disc. And best to ask dealer re tax...thanks? Just worried about delays happening due to end of year? Selling old car to brother, he's currently named driver on old car. So guess he will be stuck with no ins disc, so he's screwed bssically till new year....

Ok so I deffo need the old insurance disc..............

Wouldn't say so.
    It'd be a fair idea to have your policy and clarification (email perhaps) that your insurance has been transferred to your new car.

Your brother could do the same if he likes.

You should be returning old disc to insurer, not leaving it on your old car or putting it on the new car imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,687 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I wouldn't be putting disc for the other car on the windscreen of the new one. You are fine once you change over policy.
    Insurance is then finished on old car for your brother whether he has the disc or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Darwin wrote: »
    Put your existing insurance disc in the new car. If the dealer applied for motor tax they should be able to insert a blank disc worded to the effect 'road tax applied for' with the dealer/salesperson name. Keep the details of the transaction in the car in case you are stopped.

The existing disc is for a different car and will have it's reg number printed on it, putting it in the new car is pointless and will probably have more implications than not displaying a disc at all.

What I would do is get a receipt from the dealer with offical letter heading, the reg of the new car, date it was purchased and signed by the OP and the sales person. Carry this with you until you get the new discs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Darwin wrote: »

Friend of mine got done for that a few years ago with this very scenario, was brought to court for having a false disc in the window!
    Just bring the policy I would think?
    If your covered your covered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

If the car is a demo then it is currently in the garages name can you not just get the salesman to tax the car tomorrow most will do this no problem you pay him for the tax he gets the disc that's the tax problem sorted. We bought a demo car last year a few hours before my parents went to collect it my dad rang the dealer he went to the tax office taxed it ss it was in the garages name my dad paid him. Job done.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

I've just brought home a new VW Golf. It was fully insured prior to pickup, but still waiting on the disc in the post. Taxed it this morning so it's got 1 of 2 discs. Hope I don't have any trouble...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

Did you get the A5 in the end OP? pics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

A5? :cool:

Out with the pics :)

Nope, couldn't get the right spec in the a5.

Got a 2l multitronic A6 sline plus. In light grey. Upgraded mmi, sat nav, memory elec seats. Vrru nice 2012 model. Pics when collected. Like a spaceship inside. :D

I called into local Gardai, they said I should display my old insurance disc in new car. And just explain the lack of tax if stopped. To quote him exactly 'you'll be grand"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I called into local Gardai, they said I should display my old insurance disc in new car. And just explain the lack of tax if stopped. To quote him exactly 'you'll be grand"

The mind boggles at this advice.

well thats what the guard in the station said..so merrily driving around now with different insurance disc and no tax disc. :D:D:D Very sweet ride!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

We look forward to "my car was impounded" thread.

thats the worry!! Anyway waiting on logbook now so hopefully get sorted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

bazz26 wrote: »
    The mind boggles at this advice.
    I change car a lot, a very lot, and that's what I do, always. Have been stopped, and all was grand, have a nice day sir. Old disc ftw.:)

interesting..just spoke to tax office...they say nothing recieved to change and they are completely up to date. Audi say its sent..The guard that stopped me yesterday was borderline on how he felt about me having no tax... :( Luckily Insurance disc arrived last week, so thats good at least!

Not ideal....