Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Warning (ICE) over xmas

• 21-12-2012 12:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭

Just a quick reminder lads to stay of the bike over xmas when there is ice around a few weeks ago I went up to the gap and crashed while on the way back @ about 50kph the hole road out of nowhere was a sheet of ice and I slid for approx 30m (I was just on my old banger not my carbon) but when I stopped my left leg would not move to make a long story longer I now have 2 screws in my hip and was in traction for a week so let this be a lesson if you have to go out and I know you will please stay on low ground .

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Take it easy over Christmas. Thats what it is there for!

Dont think the forecast is that bad over the next couple of days. Might even get up to 12 degrees tomorrow (in Dublin)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭irishmotorist

If I get a bit of ice, I'll be trying out my winter tyres in semi-controlled conditions so I can have confidence commuting after Christmas.

Get well soon, btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

If I get a bit of ice, I'll be trying out my winter tyres in semi-controlled conditions so I can have confidence commuting after Christmas.

Get well soon, btw.

Fair play just be careful :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭shaka

Ouch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

Yes, a couple of minor slips and slides at slow speed - ego bruised more so than anything else.

Temps were a delight yesterday, although very dark going back to collect my car yesterday it kinda felt very balmy and warm, a sheer delight. But my lesson has been learned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

You were going 50kph when there was a possibility of ice on the roads.. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Cora Mahoney

Carpenter wrote: »
    Just a quick reminder lads to stay of the bike over xmas when there is ice around a few weeks ago I went up to the gap and crashed while on the way back @ about 50kph the hole road out of nowhere was a sheet of ice and I slid for approx 30m (I was just on my old banger not my carbon) but when I stopped my left leg would not move to make a long story longer I now have 2 screws in my hip and was in traction for a week so let this be a lesson if you have to go out and I know you will please stay on low ground .

Ouch :(

Get well soon, and hope you have a nice holiday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

Was up there this morning and twas lovely but will heed your advice. Get well soon and thanks for the reminder. I'm sure it has saved a life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭eoghan84

Just back from Sally now, I think it'll be nice this weekend but if it gets cold it is deadly.
    Sorry to hear about your crash, and hope you make a quick recovery soon

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

eoghan84 wrote: »
    Just back from Sally now, I think it'll be nice this weekend but if it gets cold it is deadly.
    Sorry to hear about your crash, and hope you make a quick recovery soon

Not so sure about nice, but shouldn't be icy. Lovely in the hills today, but due to be wet and windy tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,176 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Sorry to hear of the accident. All the best with the recovery. Your right ice can be lethal when your on the bike. Only just coming back from a pelvic fracture myself. Keep the head up and make sure to follow the advice your doctor tells you

smacl wrote: »
    Not so sure about nice, but shouldn't be icy. Lovely in the hills today, but due to be wet and windy tomorrow.

thanks! I actually fractured my collarbone at the start of November due to black ice up there so Im only just back on the bike about a week, so thats why I equate nice to being not icy!

billyhead wrote: »
    Sorry to hear of the accident. All the best with the recovery. Your right ice can be lethal when your on the bike. Only just coming back from a pelvic fracture myself. Keep the head up and make sure to follow the advice your doctor tells you
    How are you now because I know realise the pain what happened to you was it on the bike ????

Grand. I was back on the bike for 2 hours last Saturday and did not feel any pain. Mind you I was only going about 20km p/h. Going to do the same tomorrow. Have not gone back commuting yet. Its my 7th week aniversary since the accident tomorrow. The physio said because I am very fit and healthy that it may have helped with the fast recovery. Still a slight ache when I stretch the right leg (where the impact was) but its manageable. Its just a matter of having a PMA and being patient when your injured as their is light at the end of the tunnel. As they say what doesn't kill you makes you stronger. :) Oh and I was on a training spin when I cam down. The right hip took all the impact and it was 3 non displaced fractures in the pelvis area

wow thats great to hear billyhead. i crashed the same day as you and really smacked the ground, but luckily it was only a collarbone fracture.

eoghan84 wrote: »
    wow thats great to hear billyhead. i crashed the same day as you and really smacked the ground, but luckily it was only a collarbone fracture.

Cheers Eoghan. Hope your healing well. Thats one of the benefits of us cyclists. With the extra health and fitness benefits we get from cycling, it assists us in possibly healing faster then sedentary folks who would obtain a similar injury

My god you chaps are an inspiration to me it looks like you just get up dust yourself off and get on with it I never realised how many here have had bad crashes does this make us REAL cyclists or just bad cyclists .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭josealdo

REAL cyclists or just bad cyclists .

Both , get well soon and thanks for the advice :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭slavedave

Inspiring indeed. Knocked off my bike mid/late November and fractured my collarbone too. In no way could I get back on the bike yet - no stability in the shoulder area let alone strength. You guys set the recovery standard! Or is it just a liberal dosing of MTFU?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Speedy recovery to all those injuries lads.

I broke a collar bone and 2 ribs at the end of October. Was back up on a new bike in 3 weeks (but haven't had the heart to tell my doctor yet!)

Our above average fitness levels must be promoting rapid recovery. :)

slavedave wrote: »
    Inspiring indeed. Knocked off my bike mid/late November and fractured my collarbone too. In no way could I get back on the bike yet - no stability in the shoulder area let alone strength. You guys set the recovery standard! Or is it just a liberal dosing of MTFU?

hey slavedave, I had a rough fall but the collarbone was just a small enough fracture so I was ok, but hopefully another few weeks yet and you will be back, like its only been almost four weeks for you. it took a full two weeks before I could move my leg enough but as soon as I could I was on the turbo. hope you make a speedy recovery-it could turn out for you being back on the road at the end of jan/feb and there might not be any more icy spells after that!

Speedy recovery to all those injuries lads.

I broke a collar bone and 2 ribs at the end of October. Was back up on a new bike in 3 weeks (but haven't had the heart to tell my doctor yet!)

Our above average fitness levels must be promoting rapid recovery. :)

wow! 3 weeks thats brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭josealdo

turbo trainer time folks

Sound exactly like my crash did they put screws in your pelvis (because they had to in mine) mine was non displaced as well.

No. They didn't put any screws in it. The pain was terrible for nearly 3 weeks. I wasn't even hospitalised. When it happened tried to shake it off and carried on for another 40km of my spin before I had to call it a day as the pain started. I had an MRI just over a week after the fall that confirmed the 3 small fractures. the 3 they said were in the pubic ramus area. I had to go to a few physio sessions after attending the fracture clinic in the Mater but the doc said that because I was a young healthy lad that they would heal on their own and no surgery was needed. I was told just to reduce weight bearing on the leg. Its fine now though. Back from a 50km spin this morning and will build it back up to my pre accident level

Excellent keep me informed please Billy 😄😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,221 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

With the greatest of respect and Christmas cheer, cycling over a mountain pass in December is likely to end badly.

Lumen wrote: »
    With the greatest of respect and Christmas cheer, cycling over a mountain pass in December is likely to end badly.
    Why would you say that ??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Zyzz wrote: »
    Wish I could laugh but cannot there is always 1 what ?????

Its a bit of a fine art I think but it is possible to continue training during the winter, it just takes a bit of restraint about any potential icy conditions

I think its a right buzz to go to sally gap on xmas day, did it the past two years but am more weary now with any potential drop in temperature...think it might be ok, but checked on met.ie and i think thursday would be lethal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭kuro_man

Carpenter, sorry to hear about your fall. I hope you'll be fully fit again for this year's Orwell Randonee

kuro_man wrote: »
    Carpenter, sorry to hear about your fall. I hope you'll be fully fit again for this year's Orwell Randonee

Thank you I hope so are you doing it chap:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭kuro_man

Thank you I hope so are you doing it chap:D:D

Yep, hope to finish it this year!

kuro_man wrote: »
    Yep, hope to finish it this year!

Hopefully we can give it a go together :D