Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How heavy is a set of clubs?

• 21-12-2012 9:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭

Just wondering has anyone weighed a full set of clubs? Approx what would it be?

Just thinking about what the final weight of some bags that guys carry is?

Played with a junior in my club a few weeks backs, i moved his bag at one stage for him and i couldn't believe the weight of it. It was seriously packed with gear but i don't know how he manages to carry it for 18 holes, the benefits of youth i guess!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭IanPoulter

big_drive wrote: »
    Just wondering has anyone weighed a full set of clubs? Approx what would it be?

Just thinking about what the final weight of some bags that guys carry is?

Played with a junior in my club a few weeks backs, i moved his bag at one stage for him and i couldn't believe the weight of it. It was seriously packed with gear but i don't know how he manages to carry it for 18 holes, the benefits of youth i guess!!

Around 13kg in a standard bag with some balls and a pair of shoes. The allowance from the airlines (Aer Lingus and Ryanair) is 15kg. Gone are the days that you could put the kitchen sink in the golf bag going to Spain or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭thewobbler

IanPoulter wrote: »

Around 13kg in a standard bag with some balls and a pair of shoes. The allowance from the airlines (Aer Lingus and Ryanair) is 15kg. Gone are the days that you could put the kitchen sink in the golf bag going to Spain or similar.

I'd to take a few bits and pieces out of my bag to make 15kg earlier this year for Aer Lingus. I'd never think of carrying it all the same - though I did for 9 holes recently when the pro shop was closed an trolley was at home. It wasn't that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

It also really depends on the clubs, my forged clubs are way heavier than my friends cast cavities for example and my mothers graphite shafted are super light...

I cleaned out my bag last year and found over €50 in coins and a shed load of balls (19!) that all really adds up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

This young lads bag must have been about 20 kgs id say. I'd have collapsed if i'd to carry it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭IanPoulter

GreeBo wrote: »
    It also really depends on the clubs, my forged clubs are way heavier than my friends cast cavities for example and my mothers graphite shafted are super light...

I cleaned out my bag last year and found over €50 in coins and a shed load of balls (19!) that all really adds up!

No need to brag about your winnings :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

IanPoulter wrote: »
    No need to brag about your winnings :P

Ah come on, I have't played for coins in years ;) (though I don't know where the €50 came from when I cleaned out the bag last week:eek:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭scubapro

antoobrien wrote: »

Ah come on, I have't played for coins in years ;) (though I don't know where the €50 came from when I cleaned out the bag last week:eek:).
    Greebo do you have two handles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,511 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

big_drive wrote: »
    This young lads bag must have been about 20 kgs id say. I'd have collapsed if i'd to carry it!!

When you think of what kids in their midteens carry in their schoolbags, its not really that big of a deal I'd say :)

People do lift my bag and say its very heavy, one of the old style ping Hoofer bags, but I find it incredibly light. The advantage of being one of those kids who carried their 10 stone schoolbag loaded down with books ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,511 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

GreeBo wrote: »

antoobrien wrote: »

nice for ye both to get 50 quid out ;) I never find any money in my bag. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

scubapro wrote: »
    Greebo do you have two handles?

Well thats in my cart bag, I have a pencil bag that I use when carrying that weights 1.5 lbs and I only bring every second club so its grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Peterdalkey

Paper money is no use for marking your balls.