Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what have you learnt this year?

• 19-12-2012 9:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭

i have learnt how to teat spray cows... that just when you think it cant rain anymore it does:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭TEAT SQUEEZER

that 4 wd really is worth the extra few quid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

buy a boat not a tractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

That 2009 was a picnic and having survived this year myself and my moo moos say bring on 2013.

Also that a calendar is just twelve pages of lines and squiggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

That just when you think it cant get any wetter ....it did

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

That farming in partnership is a really good place to be. Missed a lot of days this year for various reasons and all wheels stayed on the wagon.
    Oh yea HexBugs are great fun got them for kids today. I know Santa is coming soon but 'I' wanted to get them something.............soft I know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

...It's all possible with the love of a good woman? :p

(long live the honeymoon period says you !! :D)

Seriously though... loads. I think the day you stop learning, you might as well burn the wellies!! I was watching a repeat of farming Sunday there 'on the sky' and a lad had been farming over forty years and every year he was still learning more and more!

Boards, google, TV, IFJ, the 'oul lad', experience..... all great sources for learning ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

fair play muckit,is she not sick of you yet? The cookings getting very laid back here.
    Learnt too much to type it here (most was sourced here anyway).

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

whelan1 wrote: »
    i have learnt how to teat spray cows... that just when you think it cant rain anymore it does:rolleyes:

I've learnt that sh1te silage lasts twice as long as good silage:p

Think if it's sunny in the last week of May in 2013 every mower will be busy.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Cut silage in the last week of May even if it is light instead of heavy not so nice stuff six weeks later :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I learnt,
    - that I havnt learnt from my mistakes and still finish animals,
    - that the best of silage can be made during a worst of years,
    - there is always someone desperate enough;).
    - dont get winter forage contract grown,
    - wheat would be €300t by the turn of the year

Tippman - the saying of "too much bad stuff, is better than half enough good stuff" rings true,

oh and Whelan is a wannabe farmer, and is in fact post princess who hangs around fancy hotels!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

delaval wrote: »
    That farming in partnership is a really good place to be. Missed a lot of days this year for various reasons and all wheels stayed on the wagon.
    Oh yea HexBugs are great fun got them for kids today. I know Santa is coming soon but 'I' wanted to get them something.............soft I know
    what is hexbugs:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

nashmach wrote: »
    Cut silage in the last week of May even if it is light instead of heavy not so nice stuff six weeks later :(

+1 to that. The importance of cutting earlier and wilting more is really becoming apparent this year.

Also, don't pay too much for stock mid-summer.

Also, pay attention to drainage and the alleviation of wet spots in fields.

Also, double-check that you've closed the gates and to have proper gates hung onto public roads instead of trying to get the last year out of a rusted one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭fastrac

Half your herd going down with TB is not the end of the world.

Hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Farfield

...I've learnt that with the weather we are getting, under stocking rather than over stocking is easier on man, land and winter fodder and more profitable!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

...that an electric fence tape reel is a very handy thing to have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

• Good cattle can be bought too dear :eek:
    • Its never finished raining, its just pausing to gather more for later :p
    • Make better silage :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

bbam wrote: »
    • Good cattle can be bought too dear :eek:
    • Its never finished raining, its just pausing to gather more for later :p
    • Make better silage :o
    I think make better silage is the most important thing that was learnt this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭kealar

That sucklers are hard work and there is such a thing as "Beginners Luck"..but learning all the time....:)

kealar wrote: »
    That sucklers are hard work and there is such a thing as "Beginners Luck"..but learning all the time....:)
    Everyday is a schoolday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

That the rest of the country wasn't coming in under quota:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Grecco

Sadly that no matter how much farming you do you cant give up the day Job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭KCTK

Grecco wrote: »
    Sadly that no matter how much farming you do you cant give up the day Job
    Hoping to try proving the opposite of that next year Grecco, handed in notice here last week for end of January, then its off to full time Dairy land, hopefully if Whelan1 asks this question again this time next year I wont have an answer of "don't give up the day job to go dairy farming!!!!

KCTK wrote: »
    Hoping to try proving the opposite of that next year Grecco, handed in notice here last week for end of January, then its off to full time Dairy land, hopefully if Whelan1 asks this question again this time next year I wont have an answer of "don't give up the day job to go dairy farming!!!!

Best of luck+ all the smileys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Best of luck. Keep away from the ones who say you are mad! Shure they are saying that about everyone!

Hope your right,dont have much of a day job anymore.

I learnt that the lifetime of stakes is not what I was told!

Tanalised post are all falling over here being replaced with creosoted octo posts hope they last longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭KCTK

Best of luck. Keep away from the ones who say you are mad! Shure they are saying that about everyone!

Sure saying that about myself also!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Keep away from the ones who say you are mad!

Ah sure all us dairy folk are mad :P, milking 24/7, we are only letting them know what they are in for! Best of luck though KCTK, stick to the rule that turnover is vanity, profit is sanity and you should be grand!

Which nicely brings me to what I learnt this year ha! I only started taking more control at the business end of the farm this year, certainly some of what drew me back into the whole farming sector was post quotas 2015, full steam ahead and ramp up to 200cows etc etc! Whereas I learnt that improving what I have now, and becoming more efficient before I gain 1 extra cow is probably 90% of the battle!

Timmaay wrote: »
    stick to the rule that turnover is vanity, profit is sanity and you should be grand!

that rule is complete tripe, turnover will keep a business afloat whereas just because you are turning a profit wont.

Tis great to be an authority on everything :rolleyes:

But when you're right you're right.

I think the thing is not to let acheiving a good turnover blind you to real cost overruns and to where you are actually making a good return.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

WHAT? Explain this one please. If you're running a business at a loss, how can you survive?

But when you're right you're right.

I think the thing is not to let acheiving a good turnover blind you to real cost overruns and to where you are actually making a good return.

No hassle with people being right. But it's painful to have to endure sweeping statements from economic experts who don't know the poster's position. The next thing he will be telling us that he advises Mick OLeary :D

Only joking bob

pakalasa wrote: »
    WHAT? Explain this one please. If you're running a business at a loss, how can you survive?

with a good turnover you can survive in business during lean periods without profits, having a good cash-flow is everything for a business . if you have a low turnover but making a profit it can be very hard to survive lean periods. a good turnover is probably more important the larger the size of any business.
    its just that phrase really winds me up. Im much happier with a decent turnover and able to pay amounts as they fall due instead of telling a supplier i cant pay you as agreed but all is okay as im making a profit. obviously a low turnover with high profits is the place to be but hey where in the farming business. IMV looking at short term profits is of little benefit, especially in farming.

well he started it:D with his sweeping statement, I just countered argued, this a forum where on after all.

Teacher,teacher, he's picking on me. :D

The next thing he will be telling us that he advises Mick OLeary :D

Twas me who got him into the Angus's, told him there was a fortune to be made at the game, and how right I was :)

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
    Oh for the love of jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭grange mac

Have learned money be wise with money as when dole comes it has a new more coveted meaning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

did you get quota after kctc??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Firstly kctc all the best with the cows its a great life.............If you are serious about profit the skill you will need as much as being a good milker is grass measuring. the sooner you master this the sooner you will be profitable.
    Profit is essential but turnover ie. sales are vital just be sure you aren't buying turnover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

I learnt I have to dose for fluke in august and not to buy diesel before the budget as it has come down since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

I learned that having a few good beasties is better than having loads of only middlin ones. Bought a red cow cuppla years ago and now have her daughters (and herself) in herd and they are oozing quality. Looking forward to seeing their calves next year. (Or is that counting your chickens or in this case calves?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

It after 11:11am and we're still here
    .... so I learnt that the Myans didn't know jack sh1t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

maxxuumman wrote: »
    It after 11:11am and we're still here
    .... so I learnt that the Myans didn't know jack sh1t

milkman comes around 4am eldest lad came tearing over to me that the world was ending

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

i learned that in order to really enjoy farming i will have to buy a farm near Stanflt....! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭stanflt

i learnt that im very very lucky to live and farm where im from:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

that 2009 was very handy for income averaging with last years accounts otherwise the tax would really have hurt.we in our bizz seem- even in 2012, to be moving to a stage where its better to make life a little easier rather than paying tax.