Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sherlock's SI will see 260 websites blocked

• 19-12-2012 9:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭

http://www.krank.ie/category/snippet/irish-record-labels-260-websites-objectionable/

There are 260 websites are what the record labels want blocked. There is currently no info about what sites they object to other than the Pirate Bay is one of them. Sherlock's SI will probably see the record companies win. They did describe the wording as "ideal".

260 sites they want blocked, excessive? If they are successful with this surely they will also seek to block more and more over time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 WeNeed Another General Election

best of luck getting UPC to comply

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

best of luck getting UPC to comply

Not great for us folk that have to go with smaller providers because our access to broadband is so limited

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Was just thinking about this. I'm sure they'll bring in laws for downloading in Ireland soon, like they have in Germany, so they'll have another way of fining/taking people's money. It's inevitable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 166 ✭✭peterk675

Load of bull****....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Is Spottyfi one of them?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I imagine within 5 minutes of the sites being blocked a workaround will be made readily available.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭N64

WindSock wrote: »
    Is Spottyfi one of them?

Were you trying to be funny in that post?

If you are referring to spotify , then nope. Its a legitimate service and the music companies do get paid (although not as much as they want though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

I've been meaning to get a VPN account to uh...use iPlayer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 WeNeed Another General Election

MagicSean wrote: »
    Not great for us folk that have to go with smaller providers because our access to broadband is so limited

true but look this will most likely still blow up in the labels faces, it may just get people calling round to each other again so they can swap music/films with their better equipped friends on UPC connections :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭DB21

I imagine within 5 minutes of the sites being blocked a workaround will be made readily available.

In fact, the workaround is already there. They can block the URL, but they can't block a site's IP address

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Great, censorship. That's fantastic. I hope Sherlock is getting an extra large brown envelope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Changing supplier if they block anything I currently (legally) use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

N64 wrote: »

not really, no.
    If you are referring to spotify , then nope. Its a legitimate service and the music companies do get paid (although not as much as they want though)

ta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

So would now be a good time to buy a container full of tape recorders from China?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

I fail to see what they hope to achieve with this. The blocking has already been circumvented elsewhere, so its not like the information on how to get around it isn't already readily available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Sherlock should apply a rhythmical vacuum to my testicular region.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I want to see this list and see what they think is a threat. Bound to be a lot of sites put in there that shouldn't.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

The precedent that this sets is the problem here.

Does this pave the way for companies with lots of money to block sites they find objectionable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Duggy747 wrote: »
    I want to see this list and see what they think is a threat. Bound to be a lot of sites put in there that shouldn't.
    With the goons in power in this country, I wouldn't be surprised if download.cnet.com or rapidshare.com is on that list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

DB21 wrote: »

In fact, the workaround is already there. They can block the URL, but they can't block a site's IP address
    I don't see any reason why the ISPs can't block the URL..?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Jericho. wrote: »
    260 sites they want blocked, excessive? If they are successful with this surely they will also seek to block more and more over time.

They're a bunch of idiots if they think the simple concept of "blacklisting" works.

It blacklisting worked, we wouldn't have any e-mail spam or phishing attempts.

In reality, it will be bypassed the very next day, by the internet savvy people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Daftness.
    With a purchased item of software I bought legally, the blocking can be by-passed in under 20 seconds.

For the record, I bought the item so that I could access the world library of Netflix media titles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Where To wrote: »
    So would now be a good time to buy a container full of tape recorders from China?

Youd be better off getting a foreign based shell account. Cheaper for a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,792 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

Biggins wrote: »
    Daftness.
    With a purchased item of software I bought legally, the blocking can be by-passed in under 20 seconds.

A modem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

If they block Piratebay my life is over. No lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

Take that evil youtube

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

I wonder will it be the same Government Techies that set up the E voting machines, that will be doing this?

Winning!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭K3lso

Sean Sherlock.

Officially one of the biggest twats in Dail Eireann. The people of Cork East must be asleep altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

K3lso wrote: »
    Sean Sherlock.

Officially one of the biggest twats in Dail Eireann. The people of Cork East must be asleep altogether.

Shur his da was a TD too, he fixshed the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I never liked him. Watson was a bollix as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭AntiRip

There's a list on reddit (evil google it) with all the ip addresses of all these awful awful sites. I'm sure you could put these into a local host file. But they wouldn't know all that jargon

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

N64 wrote: »

One of the big problems with sherlock's SI is that it might not be used to only target piracy, it may be used to take down legitimate content as well. The music industry in the US is notorious for using the DMCA to issue take down notices for legitimate content that they have no rights over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

On the other hand if they block boards.ie I could have a life.

MadsL wrote: »
    On the other hand if they block boards.ie I could have a life.

I'll get a petition goin ye poor thing :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

They can't stop us all . Ever hear of a VPN

EoghanIRL wrote: »
    They can stop us all . Ever hear of a VPN

Nope. I'm completely braindead when it comes to internet things :L

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

A modem?

I mentioned "Software" - not "Hardware".
    I think its against the board rules to say how to circumvent but if a mod says it's ok to say the service/software I legally purchased and use (to change an I.P. address but can also be used to circumvent I.P. blocking I assume), I will do so no bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

And how many of the sites on this blocklist get to contest their innocence in court I wonder? Find it hard to believe the court is going to give due process to each and every one of the 260 websites about to be blocked.

Why also, is this list not public? There are no grounds for keeping the list secret, especially if the sites do end up getting blocked.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

Ive re-routed my ip ages ago.surely im not the only person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Worth spreading around the idea of a boycott against the record labels and such this Christmas; make sure friends and family know EMI, Sony, Universal and Warner are all involved with this, and not to buy anything from them.

I'm pretty sure this covers the majority of all music/tv/film stuff, so in general, don't buy any of that this Christmas (or at all, maybe); besides, it is all generally overpriced and not worth buying, which is the whole reason these idiots have a piracy problem in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

EoghanIRL wrote: »
    They can't stop us all . Ever hear of a VPN
    visible panty notches?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Because these sites don't have backups, hard drives servers cloud computing etc.

I can't wait to see the RIAA fume out of the ears when UPC tell them to go fcuk themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

So has anyone got an actual link to this supposed list?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Only thing Sherlock has successfully done is lose a life time Labour voter when he pushed that crap through.

Cheerio ballbag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,381 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

a last ditch attempt by a bunch of irrelevant dying companies that nobody cares about in my opinion.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Jericho.

El Weirdo wrote: »
    So has anyone got an actual link to this supposed list?

The record companies have the list. I'd imagine they're not overly eager to share it. One of the journalists from the Journal.ie said he had requested the list and would publish it there when he got it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Rebelkell

sfwcork wrote: »
    Ive re-routed my ip ages ago.surely im not the only person
    How did you do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

be lucky to get the list before january when the case is up again and even then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

So, it means I need to use google first?
    Oh the hardships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

I think that there should be a system in place to veto the election of a politician to the Dail.

If the general population were unhappy with the election of some idiot, an equal number of "anti-votes" could have them fired. It'd stop all this crap of nobodys from the arse end of nowhere getting elected since their dad fixed the road or owned the pub. Sherlock hasn't got a clue what he's on about, and was just trying to make a name for himself.