Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dissidents republicans attempt to kill Limerick man in British Army.

• 19-12-2012 7:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭

Came across this news story online earlier today. Hopefully it will be more widely reported in the coming days. Disgraceful.
    Irish police have foiled a plot to kill an Irish national serving in the British army. According to The Guardian, the soldier has been warned not to travel home to Ireland for Christmas because dissident republicans have threatened to kill him.

Irish police told the press the plan was to kill him while he was visiting his family in Limerick over the holidays.

A faction of the Continuity IRA (CIRA) has reportedly been under investigation in the city. According to reports it is believed they had already successfully sourced a weapon to shoot the soldier, who is in his 20s.

The CIRA reportedly learned of his plan to return home by monitoring his Facebook page, having falsely befriended him in recent months so as to track his movements.

Irish detectives contacted the soldier and his family when they learned of the plan, leading to the soldier postponing his Christmas trip home. Whilst investigating the plot, a previous plan to kill the soldier in August was also uncovered.

Meanwhile police investigations into republican dissident organisations in the Republic over the last few months have led to 15 arrests.

The Guardian reported that the CIRA was planning to present the murder of a serving Irish member of the British army as a so-called 'spectacular,' to enhance their credibility within dissident republicanism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

If that's true it's appalling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Plumpynutt

Scum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭hyperborean

The dissident IRA is full of absolute morons, a few nasty criminal types hypnotizing brain dead young lads into doing stupid and dangerous **** in the name of a cause nobody gives a flying about except other morons...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Disgusting shower of little bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

Is it Git?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭upstairs for coffee

Deplorable scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Difference Engine

Fair play to the Gardai. The dissident groups must be 90% informants at this stage. It seems they can't do much these days without the police finding out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Bunch of *****. Glad they were caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

Pricks,

Man I cant stand these retards. These are the exact same circumstances that resulted in me only being able to meet my father for the first time a number of years ago. One day they will wake up and realise that nobody cares anymore, and the people that do care are idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

They're just scumbags who want to see the world burn. I don't know why the media buy into the whole 'dissident' thing. They would call another group of scumbags a Mafia Syndicate just because it's what they believe themselves to be.

• Administrators Posts: 54,834 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Lock them up and throw away the key. These people aren't fit to walk our streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Thugs wrapped in a Tricolour, drizzled in bitterness, served with a garnish of irrelevance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Where I agree with all the comments above,Why has no one being charged and brought before the courts on conspiracy to murder ? and if there is not enough evidence for that why leak it to a journalist in the first place ?why not monitor the monitors until enough evidence is gathered for charges to be implemented.

realies wrote: »
    Where I agree with all the comments above,Why has no one being charged and brought before the courts on conspiracy to murder ? and if there is not enough evidence for that why leak it to a journalist in the first place ?why not monitor the monitors until enough evidence is gathered for charges to be implemented.

Id imagine its better to move early rather than increase the risk of the lad being shot.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-20794895

I see they tried to kill a Catholic police officer last night. Apparently the officer in question shot back and managed to arrest both men who tried to kill him. Fair f**ks to him if that's true.

ETA: Though it all sounds a bit holywoodish tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

awec wrote: »

I see they tried to kill a Catholic police officer last night. Apparently the officer in question shot back and managed to arrest both men who tried to kill him. Fair f**ks to him if that's true.

Seems to have been someone else....

Two men aged 45 and 60 are being held in connection with the shooting of an off-duty police officer. The incident happened at about 7.30pm on Wednesday in the affluent Springhill area of Bangor, Co Down. It is understood the officer was grazed in the attack but not badly hurt.
    At this stage the attack is not believed to be terror related.
    Read more: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/two-held-after-police-officer-shot-16252608.html#ixzz2Fc216tRV

Also here's the link for the story quoted by the OP, it's worth reading to understand the bullsh1t primary motive for the failed plan...
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ira-christmas-plot-to-shoot-british-soldier-here-is-foiled-3330545.html

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Gee Bag wrote: »
    Seems to have been someone else....

Read more: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/two-held-after-police-officer-shot-16252608.html#ixzz2Fc216tRV

Also here's the link for the story quoted by the OP, it's worth reading to understand the bullsh1t primary motive for the failed plan...
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ira-christmas-plot-to-shoot-british-soldier-here-is-foiled-3330545.html

So the poor guy can't come home to visit his family due to a shower of thugs?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Border-Rat

Says who? Bangor is a Unionist town. There have been riots this week, funnily enough the rioting has been carried out by Loyalists. Don't let that stop you making things up as you go. If you'd have known what I just pointed out, you wouldn't have even mentioned it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Hurricane Carter

Lock them up and throw away the key. These people aren't fit to walk our streets.

Oh but only on the condition they get let out to their families at Christmas time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

Apparently its not the actual CIRA but an offshoot of an offshoot Limerick based faction. Apparently there are two "Real Sinn Féins" going around... I'm confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I met a guy dressed up in an RAF uniform on Halloween, he was a bit pissed and slightly off kilter. I said to him, "That's a really good costume." And he said "Thanks I put a lot of effort into it." Then it dawned on me that it wasn't a costume, it was his actual RAF uniform. I got talking to him and he was in bits about wearing it out. First off, he could theoretically get in trouble from his CO for wearing it out on the piss. What really got to him though (and me, as all this really got to me) was that he was afraid to wear any other time in Ireland, because of the abuse he would get. He said he had been given abuse in his town when people learned he had plans to join the RAF, so he was terrified of the idea of wearing it any time other than Halloween, where he could write it off as having bought it on E-Bay or something.

It was absolutely heartbreaking, that this guy was so afraid of showing off what he was doing with his life. I would have bought him a pint if he wasn't already at the point of gawking everywhere. And I'm not even a fan of the military, especially the British and American militaries, but this was something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Thugs wrapped in a Tricolour, drizzled in bitterness, served with a garnish of irrelevance.

And deep fried in hatred with the spice burger of intolerance.

"The murder of a member of the British Army in the Republican would have given them the publicity they craved," a senior garda said last night.

Was he drunk?

Border-Rat wrote: »
    Says who? Bangor is a Unionist town. There have been riots this week, funnily enough the rioting has been carried out by Loyalists. Don't let that stop you making things up as you go. If you'd have known what I just pointed out, you wouldn't have even mentioned it.
    And what Bangor is a unionist town? You think these guys care what a town is when they set out to murder someone? :pac:

We'll find out soon enough I'm sure either way!

No matter who did it, or what delusions run through their minds, it's pretty obvious this deserves condemnation and those behind it are low life filth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

The attempted murder in bangor wasn't terror related.

And what Bangor is a unionist town? You think these guys care what a town is when they set out to murder someone? :pac:

We'll find out soon enough I'm sure. :)

And when we find out that it was Loyalists who shot at a PSNI officer, in a Loyalist town over the removal of a foreign flag, there won't be a thread on it here. Because people like you only do Fenian condemnation.

Lyaiera wrote: »
    I met a guy dressed up in an RAF uniform on Halloween, he was a bit pissed and slightly off kilter. I said to him, "That's a really good costume." And he said "Thanks I put a lot of effort into it." Then it dawned on me that it wasn't a costume, it was his actual RAF uniform. I got talking to him and he was in bits about wearing it out. First off, he could theoretically get in trouble from his CO for wearing it out on the piss. What really got to him though (and me, as all this really got to me) was that he was afraid to wear any other time in Ireland, because of the abuse he would get. He said he had been given abuse in his town when people learned he had plans to join the RAF, so he was terrified of the idea of wearing it any time other than Halloween, where he could write it off as having bought it on E-Bay or something.

It was absolutely heartbreaking, that this guy was so afraid of showing off what he was doing with his life. I would have bought him a pint if he wasn't already at the point of gawking everywhere. And I'm not even a fan of the military, especially the British and American militaries, but this was something else.

Thats a pretty stupid idea to be fair and illegal here as well i think. I'd never even consider doing something like that over here. I dont even feel comfortable wearing my uniform in public in the UK yet alone over here.

I do understand how he feels though. I hate having to lie to people at home about what i do for a living but unfortunately as the news story shows there are still idiots about.

And when we find out that it was Loyalists who shot at a PSNI officer, in a Loyalist town over the removal of a foreign flag, there won't be a thread on it here. Because people like you only do Fenian condemnation.
    People like me? Elaborate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

i am sure border-rat you will start one

People like me? Elaborate.

I won't give you the satisfaction of going into your little handbag/control panel. Carry on making up nonsense as you go.

Lyaiera wrote: »

Some people don't like those who murder and blow up innocent civilians in the middle east for a living.

That said the people behind this threat are scum

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

what foreign flag?
    i know there's riots about the union jack alright, heard nothing about a foreign flag

I won't give you the satisfaction of going into your little handbag/control panel. Carry on making up nonsense as you go.
    That's convenient.

I'm not a mod in here. I'm a normal user just like you.

Elaborate. :)

what foreign flag?
    i know there's riots about the union jack alright, heard nothing about a foreign flag

It's the one Michael Collins removed in your area by murdering men such as the one seen in the OP.

GRMA wrote: »
    Some people don't like those who murder and blow up innocent civilians in the middle east for a living.

That said the people behind this threat are scum

Some people dont like those who support causes who's instigators plant car bombs and kill innocent civilians.

I think youll agree everyone should be allowed to live their lives without harassment though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Another apologist for the *insert terrorist group here* steps up to AH.

That's convenient.

I'm not a mod in here. I'm a normal user just like you.

Elaborate. :)

Since you're evading the original point - nah, I don't think I will.

Confab wrote: »
    Another apologist for the *insert terrorist group here* steps up to AH.

I don't condone dissidents. I condemn people who celebrate an organisation that shot Prods on the side of every 26 County road getting their pitchforks out about them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

It's the one Michael Collins removed in your area by murdering men such as the one seen in the OP.

well at least you admit it was murder, that's progress I suppose.

I think the point I was making just flew over your head.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

Hard to feel sympathy

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

NinjaK wrote: »
    Hard to feel sympathy

For whom?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

Stheno wrote: »
    For whom?

The so-called Irishman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

GRMA wrote: »
    Apparently its not the actual CIRA but an offshoot of an offshoot Limerick based faction. Apparently there are two "Real Sinn Féins" going around... I'm confused.
    a few weeks ago a new IRA was announced with no letters before the 'I'. they should probably call themselves iRA to appeal to the modern youth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

Stheno wrote: »
    So the poor guy can't come home to visit his family due to a shower of thugs?

It would appear not.

Don't know why your asking me TBH, I just posted a link to the story that the OP quoted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭cardwizzard

In fairness OP the title is very misleading. Somebody said somebody was going to do something is hardly attempted murder now is it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I see they tried to kill a Catholic police officer last night.

Jumping the gun there a bit aren't you? Nowhere in that article does it mention who was involved or the religion of the officer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

What evidence did plod have and why is not released,Lazy journals on a slow news day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Jumping the gun there a bit aren't you? Nowhere in that article does it mention who was involved or the religion of the officer.

I was wondering about that myself but I'd assumed the author of the post had some more info that wasn't in the BBC bulletin.

I'm fierce trusting like that though.