Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help!

• 19-12-2012 7:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭

Car was making a funny gurgling / watery noise when getting going, I ask a few people who seemed to think it was trapped air or leaves. Anyway, came to car today and there was all pink fluid under it, I thought it wasn't there before me but what the hell is it. Drove out, and car starts making a squeeking / grinding noise, never heard it before. Got home (not far) and the bonnet is smoking. Is it f**ked? I have no money :( and I only got a full service in October and he said it was grand, I wouldn't be back for ages with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Coolant I reckon, what car is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Is it oily or watery? Could be coolant or transmission fluid/oil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

Fiesta 2005.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭navara man

Sala wrote: »
    and car starts making a squeeking / grinding noise, .
    maybe the water pump

Is it oily or watery? Could be coolant or transmission fluid/oil.

To be honest I didn't pay attention:o. I came back saw all this pink fluid, went that's strange, never noticed that when I got out of the car, drove out, heard noises and realized it was probably fluid from my car.#

Just checked what I think is coolant and it appears empty. What would make it just spew out on the ground like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Sounds like a seal/gasket in the cooling system has failed. Your only option is straight to a garage....not driving it there either as if you drive with no coolant you will cause major engine damage....if you haven't already.

There is a garage 200 yards from house, I thought I'd make it there? I didn't drive far home either.,
    Don't frighten me, I am poor and I am very worried about it!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭sumo12

Fiesta's suffer from cracked cooling bottles, a €20 fix. Assuming you haven't fried the engine by driving with no water that is....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭GE90

There is a garage 200 yards from house, I thought I'd make it there? I didn't drive far home either.,
    Don't frighten me, I am poor and I am very worried about it!:(

You will be a lot more poor if you keep driving it and seize the engine (Assuming you haven't already)

Feck it, how would I know if I did?? I saw the stuff on the ground but only after I heard the funny noise did I put two and two together and assume it was from my car. I am no car expert and to be honest know very little about cars, so pink fluid on the ground looked odd but I genuinely didn't think anything pink would be from a car - and had to google it to check. It did overheat so I hope it's not ruined as I can't afford it :(

GE90 wrote: »
    You will be a lot more poor if you keep driving it and seize the engine (Assuming you haven't already)

I wan't keeping driving it, I drove 5 mins home before I looked up this stuff. The pitstop garage is about 1.5 minus walk from the house. Or should I ring my main garage and ask them to collect it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

DONT DRIVE IT, you are only going to make it worse which will cost you more €€€€€, walk to the local garage and maybe one of workers will come over to the car to have a look.

Ok ill do that. Will let ye know if there's a fiesta for sale in parts tomorrow :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭GE90

Get it towed to a garage or get a mechanic to come out and have a look. You might be lucky and just need to repair where it is leaking and a coolant refill. If you drive it any more you might end up needing a new engine.

I wouldn't be using advance pitstop for this kind of work find yourself a good local independent garage.

Will do, last garage I used will drive it, I'll ring them in the morning and ask them to collect it and bring a bottle of coolant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

At a guess, I would say Head gasket or the pump? Can you see any sludge (meaning oil mixing with coolant) in the expansion tank where you pour in coolant? Or it could just be a general leak.I would be worried about damage after driving it with these noises though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

jimmyw wrote: »
    At a guess, I would say Head gasket or the pump? Can you see any sludge (meaning oil mixing with coolant) in the expansion tank where you pour in coolant? Or it could just be a general leak.I would be worried about damage after driving it with these noises though.

A failed head gasket would be extremely unlikely to leak any coolant externally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Well yeah I was thinking that too but the gurgling sounds I was going on, unless the extra pressure was pushing out coolant through a bad seal?....dunno!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

"grinding noise" water pump fins disintegrating?

So I drove it to garage, they advised me to stick a litre of water in and drive it over. I did and they called. Two pipes (one rubber, one plastic, did't say what they were called) cracked. Fluid spewing out everywhere. One part is coming from a main dealer. €400 :(
    Was told I am a very lucky girl i didn't fry my Head gasket or whole engine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Ask them to show you the pipes.
    You might be able to do a temporary job yourself and delay paying out 400 quid.
    You never know and old bit of garden hose might do the job :P

somefeen wrote: »
    Ask them to show you the pipes.
    You might be able to do a temporary job yourself and delay paying out 400 quid.
    You never know and old bit of garden hose might do the job :P

Ah go on, I didn't even until yesterday that coolant was pink, I doubt I'm up for doing anything car related myself!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,306 ✭✭✭MrFrisp

So I drove it to garage, they advised me to stick a litre of water in and drive it over. I did and they called. Two pipes (one rubber, one plastic, did't say what they were called) cracked. Fluid spewing out everywhere. One part is coming from a main dealer. €400 :(
    Was told I am a very lucky girl i didn't fry my Head gasket or whole engine

So that's €400 all in,or just the part from the main dealer?

How much for them to fit it?

Seems very expensive to Me,,to be honest.

MrFrisp wrote: »
    So that's €400 all in,or just the part from the main dealer?

How much for them to fit it?

Seems very expensive to Me,,to be honest.

All in, I hope!!! he said you need x y and z, do you wnat new brake pads as well, I said I said how much will it cost me altogether, he said 400. I said ok.

That may not be so bad....Let's just hope you actually need the brake pads.

Best of luck getting it back on the road anyway.

Thanks. A friend who is a mechanic called me and is happy with the prices, said they are fine, and also told me again I could have wrecked my car. He told me to ring the mechanic back to say check x y and z isn't damaged, and don't fitbrake pads until I know damage is not there, but the guy doing my car said I coudld have done all this damage and I didn't so I'm happy enough!

Peace of mind over xmas to have it done..Although no doubt you could have done without the expense.

Hope you have a good xmas.