Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trailer Laws 2013

• 18-12-2012 7:52pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 407 ✭✭

Does anybody know the new rules on trailer laws coming in to bring us in line with the rest of the EU. I have read the info on the rsa.ie website and either I am thick as two short plan ks or it is not very clear or maybe a bit of both :-)
    When I lived in Italy I never saw home made trailers like I see here all the time I am not saying they dont exist I just never saw them.
    Is there going to be like an NCT for trailers in 2013 where they have to have a manufacturers plate and pass a test ?
    What will happen to all the old trailers that are well made but not branded can they be put though the test ?
    Or is it just guidelines like before ? I still see aul fellas with trailers where I live No Numberplate, No lights , One mudguard etc and not a bother to them :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭navara man

Is there going to be like an NCT for trailers in 2013 where they have to have a manufacturers plate and pass a test ?
    no

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 407 ✭✭Noel Kinsella

navara man wrote: »
    no

So what is everybody on about trailers being "Plated" and the new laws etc ? What changes can we expect in 2013 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

New trailers sold have to have a plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭sogood

AFAIK new trailers will also have to be braked, with brakes that operate in tandem with the towing vehicle.

sogood wrote: »
    AFAIK new trailers will also have to be braked, with brakes that operate in tandem with the towing vehicle.
    do new small 1 axle trailers have to be braked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,155 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Does anybody know the new rules on trailer laws coming in to bring us in line with the rest of the EU. I have read the info on the rsa.ie website and either I am thick as two short plan ks or it is not very clear or maybe a bit of both :-)
    When I lived in Italy I never saw home made trailers like I see here all the time I am not saying they dont exist I just never saw them.
    What will happen to all the old trailers that are well made but not branded can they be put though the test ?
    Or is it just guidelines like before ? I still see aul fellas with trailers where I live No Numberplate, No lights , One mudguard etc and not a bother to them :-)

Does that mean that you'll be able to do full motorway speeds with a trailer now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

Del2005 wrote: »
    Does that mean that you'll be able to do full motorway speeds with a trailer now?

I doubt it, it's tedious here alright. But, even if you have a factory built, and properly maintained trailer it may be a risk travelling over 100kph. Long double axle trailers, especially with long overhangs, like to snake when at speed. It can start off as a bit of buffeting from a crosswind, then momentum takes hold... Very dangerous. Couple that with incredibly poor driver training for trailer towing and it would be carnage. It's bad enough that lots of fellas do 120kph with horse boxes as it is.

The new plating law is there to get rid of the home-made trailers, but it's not retro-active, only for new trailers.

TrailerBob wrote: »
    The new plating law is there to get rid of the home-made trailers, but it's not retro-active, only for new trailers.

How are they going to prove that a trailer was made before or after jan 1st?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

That will be the thing. Hard to prove a negative.

I am surprised they are not bringing in registration docs for trailers like in most EU states. No more slapping the number of the car on the trailer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

How are they going to prove that a trailer was made before or after jan 1st?

It mainly applies to dealers selling trailers, as their new stock will have to be plated. It doesn't change much, as any trailer made by Ifor Williams, Indespension, Nugent, etc has been plated for the last decade or more. It's more applicable to independent manufacturers, but again, difficult to police. The only solution would be as Our Man states, a registration or chassis plate for all trailers, which could be checked at the roadside.
    I do think something needs to be done as there is some amount of crap out there being pulled around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

TrailerBob wrote: »
    It mainly applies to dealers selling trailers, as their new stock will have to be plated. It doesn't change much, as any trailer made by Ifor Williams, Indespension, Nugent, etc has been plated for the last decade or more. It's more applicable to independent manufacturers, but again, difficult to police. The only solution would be as Our Man states, a registration or chassis plate for all trailers, which could be checked at the roadside.
    I do think something needs to be done as there is some amount of crap out there being pulled around

I saw a guy retrieving a dory (boat) on lough ree recently. The trailer was a modified normal box trailer with two metal runners bolted to either side and the boat sitting on top :eek:

The boat hull was about three feet up off the ground and wobbling all over the place as they pulled up the slip. Water spilling out of the back of the box trailer. Completely mental. Off they went up the road from Coosan point.

Couldnt see the reg as we were still on the water ourselves.

Edit: 500 posts! Long time coming!

Typical of Ireland ! There is a money making opportunity for the government here but they are too ignorant to see it. I believe all trailers should be tested and plated even for insurance reasons also for safety to the general public. The lads on here all seem to be responsible like myself I check my trailer before every trip have all necessary safety equipment but not everyone is the same. The experience of tin79 is not unusual I was nearly hit a few months back by a farmer with a trooper and a home made very long twin axle with 4 bales of silage on the back and no brakes on the trailer ! He was all over the place and after nearly hitting me all he had was a big smile like "its great craic" Whilst on trips around several European countries I have NEVER seen a home made piece of dirt like you see here.

I was nearly hit a few months back by a farmer with a trooper and a home made very long twin axle with 4 bales of silage on the back and no brakes on the trailer !
    how did you knew it had no brake

navara man wrote: »
    how do you no it had no brake
    because it was an unbraked hitch I saw it clearly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Odelay

Typical of Ireland ! There is a money making opportunity for the government here but they are too ignorant to see it. I believe all trailers should be tested and plated even for insurance reasons also for safety to the general public. The lads on here all seem to be responsible like myself I check my trailer before every trip have all necessary safety equipment but not everyone is the same. The experience of tin79 is not unusual I was nearly hit a few months back by a farmer with a trooper and a home made very long twin axle with 4 bales of silage on the back and no brakes on the trailer ! He was all over the place and after nearly hitting me all he had was a big smile like "its great craic" Whilst on trips around several European countries I have NEVER seen a home made piece of dirt like you see here.

Strongly agree. Plating should have come years ago, thankfully they are doing it now. Simple plate, who made it, year it was made, designed load and breaking requirements. It's not that hard. How else is someone meant to know what it will carry? Look at it and guess??
    Congrats to the civil servant that finally got this pushed through. And no, it won't mean it will be the end of the small time makers, they just will have to get an engineer to approve their design and then stick to that fro the rest of the trailer they make. If he can't do that then he shouldn't be making road going trailers.
    Does he even need an engineer? with CE making and self certifying, is it not a simple process of a plate saying "I made this, in year xxyy, it will carry max load of xx etc"? Sometimes i think people over react to the requirements.

Anyone have a copy of the legislation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,065 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Odelay wrote: »
    Anyone have a copy of the legislation?
    Is this what you're looking for?

http://www.nsai.ie/NSAI/files/dd/dd9434ee-ac90-41b9-a446-a21ff0f412be.pdf