Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

changing Irish licence to uk help ?

• 18-12-2012 5:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭

Hi there im going to move to the uk soon and a friend of mine told me you have to resit the test over there to get your uk full licence even tho I have a full Irish one, is this true or do you just pay to change to an english one and if so how much does it cost any help on the matter is greatly appreciated :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭mackerski

superfish wrote: »
    Hi there im going to move to the uk soon and a friend of mine told me you have to resit the test over there to get your uk full licence even tho I have a full Irish one, is this true or do you just pay to change to an english one and if so how much does it cost any help on the matter is greatly appreciated :)

Not true, you can swap it with no prerequisites. But you are perfectly entitled to just drive on your Irish licence. The EU is good that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭rsole1

Pay your money and exchange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭superfish

thanks a mill guys thats a small weight off my shoulders lol although I noticed insurance so expensive over there nearly 3 times what im paying here madness :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

keep what you have, i've been in the uk for 8 of the past 10 years with my irish license all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

You will get a lot of mixed messages about exchanging your license. According to the EU, you do not have to exchange your license, but you are encouraged to do it.

The DVLA on the other hand have it on their website that you MUST exchange within one year.

I have been using my Irish license for 7 years, but then again I have never been pulled over or in a checkpoint, I drive A roads and motorways only. Saying that I pass multiple ANPR cameras daily.

For insurance, shop around, there are some of the big companies that charge an arm and a leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭nogoodnamesleft

thanks a mill guys thats a small weight off my shoulders lol although I noticed insurance so expensive over there nearly 3 times what im paying here madness :)

Dunno where you looking but Im paying less for insurance over here via a broker. I would look further than comparethemarket.com. And car tax is considerably cheaper I just changed the plates from Irish to UK. Annual car tax is £170 as opposed to the 600euro odd at home.

You can drive your Irish car for up to six months on Irish plates. You insurance policy from Ireland is also valid for its duration (depending on the insurance policy it reverts to 3rd party after 30 or 60days even if your fully comp).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

A little tip on UK insurance: enter your details on one of those price comparison sites. Take a note of the lowest quote. DO NOTHING. The following day all of the insurance companies will call you back saying that they can do better than what you were originally quoted. Tell them what the lowest quote was and see if they can better it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

BigEejit wrote: »
    You will get a lot of mixed messages about exchanging your license. According to the EU, you do not have to exchange your license, but you are encouraged to do it.

The DVLA on the other hand have it on their website that you MUST exchange within one year.

I have been using my Irish license for 7 years, but then again I have never been pulled over or in a checkpoint, I drive A roads and motorways only. Saying that I pass multiple ANPR cameras daily.

For insurance, shop around, there are some of the big companies that charge an arm and a leg.
    From the government site
    gov.uk wrote:
    You can drive in Great Britain on your full, valid driving licence until you’re 70, or for 3 years after becoming resident in Great Britain, whichever is longer.

If you got your EU licence by exchanging your non-EU licence, you can drive in Great Britain for only 12 months.

https://www.gov.uk/driving-in-great-britain-on-non-gb-licence/y/resident_of_gb
    The 12 month restriction only applies if your EU-license was obtained through exchange with a non-EU one.

If you passed your test in an EU country then you are entitled to drive for the full validity period of the license

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

All you need to do is send the licence to Swansea for exchange. You DO NOT need to take a test as you already hold an EU licence.

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    The 12 month restriction only applies if your EU-license was obtained through exchange with a non-EU one.
    Ah yes, you are right there, been a while since I looked it up.
    If you passed your test in an EU country then you are entitled to drive for the full validity period of the license

See, this is where there are different ways to read the same information .... the citizen advice bureau says:
    http://www.adviceguide.org.uk/england/consumer_e/consumer_cars_and_other_vehicles_e/consumer_driving_and_parking_e/consumer_driving_e/driving_licences.htm#driving_licences_issued_abroad
    Provided the Community licence remains valid in the issuing country, and it is a licence to drive an ordinary car you can use it to drive here until you are 70, or for three years after you become resident, whichever is the longer period.
    emphasis mine
    So if you are 68 it will last until you are 70, if you are 50 it will last until you are 53.

But as I mentioned, I have had mine in the UK for 7 years with no issues.

/edit, just noticed that it is same terminology .... the websites are after all coming into line, a few years ago they all said different things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

keep what you have, i've been in the uk for 8 of the past 10 years with my irish license all the time.

This is interesting, if you move to England you have 3 years to change over your Irish licence, if you go over the 3 years you will have to sit the test again,

I think in Scotland you have to do it within 2 years of living there, or sit the test again,

I am not to sure about Wales, I am just wondering how they have not pulled you up on this, or is it you have never been asked to produce your licence, or do you move around a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

This is interesting, if you move to England you have 3 years to change over your Irish licence, if you go over the 3 years you will have to sit the test again,

I think in Scotland you have to do it within 2 years of living there, or sit the test again,

I am not to sure about Wales, I am just wondering how they have not pulled you up on this, or is it you have never been asked to produce your licence, or do you move around a lot.
    Complete rubbish.

Which part, I live here and have got the forms required to get my licence changed over, it states in the forms if you are resident for more than 3 years and fail (or forgot) to change over you licence you will have to do the full test,

As I said, I was not sure about Scotland but I think it was two years,

if you still reside in Ireland and just pop over ever now and then, of course your Irish licence is good enough.

but thank you for the complete rubbish content.

I still stand over my comments. And they are still complete rubbish.

You can use your Irish licence until it expires in the UK, so that is up to 10 years.

Whichever is longer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Mo60

If you have a full Irish licence you are fully entitled to drive in the UK for the duration of your licence. I have a UK licence and have driven here since I moved back to Ireland.

I still stand over my comments. And they are still complete rubbish.

You can use your Irish licence until it expires in the UK, so that is up to 10 years.

I am confused, you are standing over your comments and you are saying they are complete rubbish?

you can use your licence in Ireland until it expires (, once a licence expires nobody can use it?

I was just trying to let the OP know how I found the car licence change over (from Irish to English) and how it might effect you if you were not aware.

You are posting incorrect information.

I agree, on the issue if you have a ten year licence and arrive to the UK with only 2 years used, you could use it till it expired, but if you did not change it over to a UK licence after 3 years and decide to use it until it expired you would have to sit the test to get a UK licence,

once you are resident for more than 3 years, my bad for not knowing about the fact if you still had 8 years on your Irish you could still drive in the UK with it,

but if you tried to exchange it for a UK licence after 3 years resident ( as I said above)

but it must leave it open if I renewed my Irish licence I could still drive in the UK for a further 10 years, (but then I would be lying about my address to the Irish end of things).

but if you did not change it over to a UK licence after 3 years and decide to use it until it expired you would have to sit the test to get a UK licence,

That makes no sense and cannot possibly be correct. You are free to cash in any valid EU licence against a UK one. Anything else would place the UK in breach of the reciprocal arrangement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

mackerski wrote: »
    That makes no sense and cannot possibly be correct. You are free to cash in any valid EU licence against a UK one. Anything else would place the UK in breach of the reciprocal arrangement.

Yes and no .. its a bit more complicated that that.

If you passed your driving test in an EU Member state and received your license from the same member state than you can drive for the maximum period of validity of a full driving license in the member state you have moved to, provided it is not revoked (E.g. trying to swap a lost copy of a Driving license)

If you came from, for example, The US and moved to the Netherlands and received a Dutch license under the 30% Ruling, you can drive anywhere in the EU for as long you live in the Netherlands. If you move to another EU Member state then your license becomes invalid if they do not recognise US Driving licenses then your license becomes invalid once you become resident.

But in Principal there is no requirement to swap your driving license in any other EU Member state when you move there, up to the validity of your license.

I've seen all sorts of crap written on various sites, even the Irish Embassy has incorrect information on their own page !!

http://www.irishembassy.nl/home/index.aspx?id=40464
    Irish full driving licences are valid for use in the Netherlands for one year. After that, you will need to either exchange your Irish licence for a Dutch one, or register your Irish licence with the RDW - the Dutch Road Traffic service. In both cases, you should contact your local municipality for further information. You will only be able to exchange or register your Irish licence if it is still valid, if it is a full driving licence (ie not a provisional license), and if you make your application within one year of your arrival in the Netherlands. For further information, please contact the RDW: www.rdw.nl/eng/index.html Tel: 0900.0739 (within the Netherlands - EUR0.10/minute) or +31.598.393.330 (from outside the Netherlands)

I went into the Local City Hall to exchange it, they confirmed that there was not requirement to exchange it or register it under any circumstances and I could drive for as long as I wanted upto the expiry date of my license and even exchange it up to three years after it after it had expired. (I have that in writing!)

The RDW do not register foreign driving licenses.

Basically the process takes two to three weeks and I drive across the border every day into Germany so can't do it until I go on Holidays or something.

Use this as your source:
    http://europa.eu/youreurope/citizens/vehicles/driving/validity/resident_en.htm

Basically every page I've seen with "you must swap your license within x amount of time" is confusing a non EU License exchange with a license obtained in the EU, basically a catch all for the worst case scenario.

Drive away op, you're grand.

Some sense at last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

I have both, exchanged for a UK license then sent away for a replacement Irish licence, saying I lost it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Just to confuse things slightly further.
    If you move there as a student, you don't need to change over but you still have the option.

As for insurance, I'm insured through Adrian Flux, I had a hard time getting companies to recognise my NCB earned in Ireland but they seemed to accept it fine.

I've been stopped loads of times with my Irish licence and have not had a problem.

I have both, exchanged for a UK license then sent away for a replacement Irish licence, saying I lost it.
    /me grabs popcorn and gets the stables ready for incoming guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

i have been driving here 9 yrs on a uk licence , been stopped 5/6 times on check points over the years, never been told my licence needs changing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Unclebumble

I had a Uk license here for 10 years. I was stop by the Gardai and was told I had to exchange my license if I was resident in Ireland.
    Surely if you don't change your license then your address is incorrect/false which is an offence?
    Forgot to say at checkpoints it was never an issue but when I was caught speeding it became an issue

Who is going to prosecute you?

Many licences do not even have an address on to begin with.

The DVLA can fine you £1,000 for having incorrect/out of date details on your licence.

However this does seem to be disputed as discussed before on Boards
    http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2055333137?page=1

Off topic a bit but it does seem a little crazy that you can drive in Ireland on an EU license and get no penalty points or fines from speed cameras!

You get the fines alright. It is the points that get put on hold until you get an Irish licence.

The DVLA can fine you £1,000 for having incorrect/out of date details on your licence.

It is very rare they would prosecute anyone in the UK for that. If the person is outside the UK they won't be able to do anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭bobin fudge

the guards over here are forever telling me that I cant drive in ireland with a full uk licence and to get it changed to an irish one as I have been living here longer than 6 months. I haven't

You get the fines alright. It is the points that get put on hold until you get an Irish licence.
    Can you get a fine from a Speed camera if your address in abroad?

If you live in Ireland they can fine you. The address on your licence has no bearing on that.

Sorry - being stupid! Of course the fine is sent to where car is registered to ! Doh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭krissovo

I hired a car in the UK last week and as i didnt have the photo part of a UK licence Hertz called the DVLA to confirm I am the driver and qualified. DVLA informed me my photo license was 2 years out of date and my address is 11 years out of date and that while they can not prosecute the police may pursue a case but only if I do not have valid photo id but its very rare.

Hertz then gave a Audi A5 for the week so no bother.

I had a Uk license here for 10 years. I was stop by the Gardai and was told I had to exchange my license if I was resident in Ireland.

Not true
    Surely if you don't change your license then your address is incorrect

True
    /false

Depends on your definition of "false". It's not an invented address, it's one that was correct once.
    which is an offence?

No, it's not. False as in falsified would be, I imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,627 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

This will not be the case for someone who has become non resident (and not only because it is difficult to prosecute a non resident). The requirement to keep licence details (including address) up to date is via an obligation to surrender a licence when such details are incorrect. The failure to surrender is the offence but is subject to a "reasonable cause" excuse. As the DVLA will not issue an updated photocard with a non UK address but continues to respect the right of the holder to drive, the driver has "reasonable cause" to retain the licence in order to surrender it (when necessary) to the overseas licensing authority.

The DVLA doesn't prosecute in any event; cases are taken by CPS/DPP in the name of the Secretary of State for Transport. The DVLA is really only an administrative office - in my experience a very helpful one with lovely Welsh singy-songy voices when you ring them up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,627 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

krissovo wrote: »
    I hired a car in the UK last week and as i didnt have the photo part of a UK licence Hertz called the DVLA to confirm I am the driver and qualified. DVLA informed me my photo license was 2 years out of date and my address is 11 years out of date and that while they can not prosecute the police may pursue a case but only if I do not have valid photo id but its very rare.

Hertz then gave a Audi A5 for the week so no bother.

If you were stopped and asked to "produce", you could ultimately be fined as you would not be capable of producing a valid photocard as you don't currently possess one and the DVLA will not issue you with a new one! The problem with that one is 8 points (who cares) but a fine of up to £5,000. If you're in the UK rarely, I wouldn't be bothered but if it's regular....

I used to love dealing with call centres in Wales. I had my car insurance through Elephant and they were an absolute joy, lovely helpful people with the most adorable accents chatting away instead of long uncomfortable silences and hold times.

When I moved to the UK first i got insurance with Elephant. Nice to deal with and ok quote, took my Irish no claims no problem.