Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do some buildings have a history that is just too horrific?

• 18-12-2012 10:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭

As the title say, should some buildings just be knock due to events that might have happened in them? Like with this school in Connecticut,which they are saying may nevr open again. Personally I say yes, as the will forever be linked with these horrific events but then again where do we draw the line when it comes to taking historical significance and other factors into account?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Of course, look at all the cringe-making events that have happen in the Dail over the last 80 years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Nick Cave used to live next door to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

old trafford

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

The local polling station

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

Whatever recording studio Louis Walshe pumps out the hits from should be nuked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

My college bedroom

but a serious answer for OP, i'd say there are many many houses/buildings that have had horrific pasts. The thing is would you say the same about places outdoors. Can't remember the details for example but there was a shooting spree in Oz a few years ago, and afaik they have a monument to the dead and thats about it.

You could say buildings are different as you have nothing to do but imagine what would have went on there, there is nothing to distract the brain or the eye.

People say that buildings have memories or whatever but thats bollix its us putting ourselves in the situation that those people would have been going through.

Turn the newport school into a playground people won't have the same issues as if the school was reopened but either way 20 or 30 years from now it will all be the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Loftus Hall.

/shudder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭LiamMc

It should be about primary use. In the Newtown Ct school the primary use was Education. There's no good reason it cannot return to that function.
    How much the investigation authorities, decision-makers and civic representatives decide to contaminate the area with their own superstitions is another matter.

When a structure is built and used for illegal gain and decisions are made within it towards those illegal gains than their is an argument to destroy the structure and not have a trace of it.
    The concreting over and concealment of the bunker of Adolf Hitler in Berlin during peace time is one example I'm thinking of.

I do believe that Civic Authority decision-makers are superstitious.
    I do believe that Public Representatives are superstitious.

For businesses providing service to the public, especially food, stand-alone restaurants and bars may be vulnerable to the choices the general public makes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

The building had no say in any of its horrific history so why should it be punished?

Seriously I think buildings where horrific things have happened need to be preserved to serve as a reminder of what happened, and hopefully to help ensure such things never happen again. A good example is Auschwitz concentration camp.

The Newtown School killing is terrible, but at the end of the day the building is the main school for the people of that area. It should be kept in use for all the current and future students that need it. Knocking it down will only provide more drama that the media will lap up, and potentially incite similar killings if the killer thinks their actions will gain such attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Whatever about adults feelings about the school at Newtown, do you think it is a good idea for 6 year olds to have to go back to a room where they saw their friends shot? That is a genuine question, would it be better for them to face their memories or hide from/be protected from them? I honestly don't know.

I saw some plan-pictures of the school and it seems to be built in units, maybe demolish and rebuild the affected areas in a different style/layout.

People are very superstitious though - I got a great, half empty, very cheap flight to the US on 9/11 this year, the date didn't occur to me when I booked, but obviously it occurred to a lot of other people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Places like 25 Cromwell Street need to be torn down.

Other places just get redeveloped. I know a house in Rathfarnham where two people were murders had been redeveloped in the boom even though it was an empty burnt out shell for years. Wouldn't move there myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

its not even superstition about places IMO. I couldn't be in that school and not look around and wonder about his movements, or where he did certain acts. same goes for a house like the Fred West owned.

I wouldn't be expecting ghosts or evil to effect me, but I still wouldn't be comfortable being there and constantly thinking about what happened

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

The risk is that such buildings might become a place of pilgrimage for other evil bastards.

Nuke the entire site from orbit.

It's the only way to be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Flaker

By that rational, the Colosseum should be destroyed. A lot of horrific things are said to have happened there but it's one of the most historically significant and iconic buildings in the world.

But I suppose you can't really compare it to a modern, generic school building.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

My third class teacher was a convicted paedophile and when he was finally put in jail, his house was sold and rebuilt. It must have sat unsold for about 5+ years. I'm surprised it sold at all. It's crap location on the side of the N25 was bad enough.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

LiamMc wrote: »

The concreting over and concealment of the bunker of Adolf Hitler in Berlin during peace time is one example I'm thinking of.

Isnt there an apartment bloke over that now?

aphex™ wrote: »

here's the thing though i had no idea what that address was i had to google it.

events stay in your mind but ask someone to pick the house out a lot will have problems, i'd have no issues moving in there but like i said in my earlier post i'd probably do a bit of renovation to it but a house is a house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

I think its a good idea didn't they demolished the Fred West house not
    sure bout knocking down a big school maybe turn the rooms were the
    murders happened into memorials.

There's an old building at the back of a church cant think of the name its
    close to Tesco beside the roundabout in Ballyfermot anyways a notorious paedophile abused a lot of children mostly living locally they petitioned to knock
    it down it was later turned into an old peoples home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

aphex™ wrote: »

Other places just get redeveloped. I know a house in Rathfarnham where two people were murders had been redeveloped in the boom even though it was an empty burnt out shell for years. Wouldn't move there myself.

It was in 1996.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Buildings don't kill people (usually), people kill people....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Einhard wrote: »
    Loftus Hall.

/shudder

Anyone who ever took over Loftus Hall has never made a success of it, the place has been cursed ever since, and probably even before, what with Cromwell and his bloody wars, the devil himself visited that house, I know people say it was a myth to cover over a kid out of wedlock but there was an official exorcism performed there and even that couldnt purify the house and there have been a huge number of mysterious deaths in and around the house,

It was a ballroom for wealthy visitors, a nuns school, a hotel etc none of these ventures ever lasted and after a few years something would happen to make the owners flee. I really feel sorry for the current owner who has bought it, they are trying to make some money out of the tours but no doubt in a few years something else will happen and they will flee. A horrible cursed building.

3302031540_a0765078ee.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

Anyone who ever took over Loftus Hall has never made a success of it, the place has been cursed ever since, and probably even before, what with Cromwell and his bloody wars, the devil himself visited that house, I know people say it was a myth to cover over a kid out of wedlock but there was an official exorcism performed there and even that couldnt purify the house and there have been a huge number of mysterious deaths in and around the house,

It was a ballroom for wealthy visitors, a nuns school, a hotel etc none of these ventures ever lasted and after a few years something would happen to make the owners flee. I really feel sorry for the current owner who has bought it, they are trying to make some money out of the tours but no doubt in a few years something else will happen and they will flee. A horrible cursed building.

3302031540_a0765078ee.jpg

Maybe businesses that have resided there have failed because of its location in the middle of nowhere, the state of the building, and the reputation is has that keeps being passed on by people that believe in ghost stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Maybe businesses that have resided there have failed because of its location in the middle of nowhere, the state of the building, and the reputation is has that keeps being passed on by people that believe in ghost stories.

Its only a 'state' the last few years when scumbags were breaking in and having cider parties etc, before that it was a breathtakingly beautiful building inside and out. Its location is nothing to do with it, there are plenty of hotels in the middle of nowhere that do well, if aything, its location just a mile from the lighthouse was an attraction for passing trade and ships in the 1700s and 1800s. The house is in a location of great bloodshed going back to the 12th century when it was Redmond Castle and i think a lot of that history has been absorbed into the current building.

The ghost story, if you believe in it or not, still doesnt explain a lot of things about the house. Four people were found dead on the famous Grand Staircase with no bruising or marks, its like they just dropped dead. Several people died in the beach nearby, all the religious statues were found in the attic with their heads taken off, mediums refuse to enter one particular room in the house and it has a history of nothing ever sticking to it. If it were just one or two things fair enough, but it has too much malevolence attached to it for coincidence..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Love this website.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

pmcmahon wrote: »
    Love this website.
    Class website, thank you!