Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you care about your birthday?

• 17-12-2012 2:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭

I can't remember ever really caring for my birthday. Even as a kid I never made a big deal out of it. I'll be 21 soon.

If it wasn't nestled so close to Christmas I'd probably forget it. Which actually happened one year only for my girlfriend at the time to remind me of it.

Now I cringe every time someone mentions my birthday or suggests doing anything for it. Simply couldn't give a shart and would rather the day pass without a mention.

I pretend to care about other people's and normally go along for the piss up they organise six weeks in advance.

It's not that I dislike it because I'm getting older or anything like that. I just don't like being made a fuss over or being the center of attention when I haven't actively done anything to warrant it.

Do you celebrate your birthday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Its the only day i get guaranteed sex

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SunnyDub1

Friends of mine who recently turned 21 in the past months have spent crazy
    amounts of money on parties - some have spent well over thousand euro :eek:
    I just think that's crazy amount of money for one night and
    to be fair no one really gives a sh*t about the person turning 21 and just go to drink and eat free food.

Don't see what is wrong with just going for a few drinks, don't get the whole big party thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I care about it almost as much as I care about Jesus' birthday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

Funny you should ask! My birthday is tomorrow and I couldn't give a flying f'uck!

33 if ya care!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I never tell anyone at work etc, some people make a big deal about it, one girl at work was banging on about it about 3 weeks in advance, don't know what she was expecting. Germans seem to make a big deal out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Nah Im happier if it passes off without too many people noticing tbh.
    I've had enough of them at this stage, I'm over it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

Funny you should ask! My birthday is tomorrow and I couldn't give a flying f'uck!

33 if ya care!
    Fishing for a HB are we???? :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

33 if ya care!

I dont :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

No, I dislike my birthday and would just prefer it to be a normal day like any other. I hate all the attention I get, and I especially hate how most of that attention is forced bullshít from people who probably really couldnt care any less.
    Also, on facefriend my page gets bloody spammed and I feel like I have to acknowledge them. Too bad I dont wish anybody else a happy birthday ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

The one thing I like about my birthday is that it's an excuse for a night out where I'll get to see all of my friends together, because usually on nights out there are a few who aren't able to make it due to working the next day. For birthdays, we all agree 'fúck the hangover, we'll go into work hungover just the once.' I HATE when they try to sing happy birthday to me or anything that draws attention to me, though. I just like that it's a night where no mates are missing the night out due to work.

I care so little about my birthday that I genuinely forgot how old I was one year. I thought it was my 23rd birthday coming up, was absolutely convinced it was, til my mother pointed out that I was actually about to turn 22. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

I celebrate mine at home :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Mine is soon, I was blissfully unaware of it until I saw this thread.

The good thing is that its around Christmas so I'm never in Germany for it. Because of Christmas and me not-being here everyone forgets, so it suits me fine.

The cake thing really freaks me out. Nothing more embarrassing and awkward than people singing at you (the same with Christmas carolers... ergh). The only celebration I've had since I was 9 was when I turned 21 and my mother made a cake and that was it. It was only my family thankfully, so I just went along with it because it seemed to mean so much to them.

I honestly couldn't give a cr@p. At the moment I'm so stressed out with money and other sh!t that I really just don't care about the festivities this month. I don't even want to go back to Ireland, I've got too much sh!t to sort out here. Agh, stress!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Lyaiera wrote: »
    I care about it almost as much as I care about Jesus' birthday.

33 if ya care!

You'll be the same age as Our Saviour when he went the way of all flesh.
    Enjoy the rest of your day.
    Many happy returns!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Super hoop

33 if ya care!
    Mines on Wednesday
    Also 33!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

9959 wrote: »
    Many happy returns!

As a friend jollily told me the other night on his 34th birthday, "I've lived longer than Jesus now."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The last birthday I celebrated was my 21st, it's just another day to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Facebook has devalued birthdays IMO. Every day you have some feicing eejit saying something like:

"Thanks for all the birthday wishes folks, had a great day, off now to feed the ducks"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

keith16 wrote: »
    Facebook has devalued birthdays IMO. Every day you have some feicing eejit saying something like:

"Thanks for all the birthday wishes folks, had a great day, off now to feed the ducks"

When I was a facebooker, I never had my bday there in the first place, you don't have to make it public

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    When I was a facebooker, I never had my bday there in the first place, you don't have to make it public

Very true, but amazes me the amount of people who have the full date up there, including the year.

Anyway, I don't like to make a big deal out of my birthday. Wouldn't tell them in work but wouldn't be pissed off either if no-one said it.

Out for a meal with wifey perhaps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Super hoop wrote: »
    Mines on Wednesday
    Also 33!

Careful where you tread.
    Happy Birthday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SunnyDub1

keith16 wrote: »

Then you have the friends that would walk by in the street without saying Hi, but will wish you a Happy Birthday on fb :rolleyes:

Should really do a friends clean up on FB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

Fishing for a HB are we???? :D:D

Yep!

I've no real life loved ones :(
    9959 wrote: »
    Many happy returns!

feel like we're the same year of birth too!
    Super hoop wrote: »
    Mines on Wednesday
    Also 33!

Happy Birthday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭Liam90

Same here i hate my birthday, i'm nearly 23 and the thought of people creating a fuss over me is already making me feel uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Don't care and don't want people buying gifts for me. I like buying gifts for others but I feel uncomfortable when people get me stuff, even at Xmas.

Anyways, nobody ever remembers my birthday to the point where they're not even sure how old I am :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I get embarrassed being the center of attention so I'm just as happy to leave my birthday float by with out much fuss.

My family on the other hand enjoy the whole giving of cards and a birthday cake so I join in and enjoy it as they get much pleasure having the family together with a bit of sponge cake.

By christ I like sponge cake though.

There's jam in the cake.

And some sugar on top.

Lovely jam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

BraziliaNZ wrote: »

You can do this? I never even bothered to try. Does it require much effort, because if it does then Im just going to give up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

33 Christmas day, being a Christmas child is strange, as on your birthday, you give people presents. So everyone is opening their Christmas presents and Im opening my birthday and Christmas presents with that face where everyone acknowledges how handy it is that you only get him a once a year present :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭TobyRyan

SunnyDub1 wrote: »
    Then you have the friends that would walk by in the street without saying Hi, but will wish you a Happy Birthday on fb :rolleyes:

Should really do a friends clean up on FB

Hear hear!

And people get so caught up in buying these huge presents?? Especially for the OH, I actually would rather a funny text from himself that made me smile than the latest Iphone or Ipad.

That and he would be my slave for the day/night;)

Much more preferable that a big fcuk off dinner with everyone ohhing and ahhing around you. A normal dinner is way more enjoyable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

When the happy meals dried up, birthdays weren't worth it anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Me and mine love birthdays even though the're all adults, we always celebrate them.
    We have an at home meal and a few drinks and enjoy each others company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭alph

Dean0088 wrote: »
    I can't remember ever really caring for my birthday. Even as a kid I never made a big deal out of it. I'll be 21 soon.

If it wasn't nestled so close to Christmas I'd probably forget it. Which actually happened one year only for my girlfriend at the time to remind me of it.

Now I cringe every time someone mentions my birthday or suggests doing anything for it. Simply couldn't give a shart and would rather the day pass without a mention.

I pretend to care about other people's and normally go along for the piss up they organise six weeks in advance.

It's not that I dislike it because I'm getting older or anything like that. I just don't like being made a fuss over or being the center of attention when I haven't actively done anything to warrant it.

Do you celebrate your birthday?

I'm in the exact same situation as you and feel the same way. Birthday tomorrow and couldn't care less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

Hate birthdays. Hate going out for every 23rd or 31st birthday everyone has. Really after your 18th you should only celebrate the biggies and not expect all your friends to be going to crap parties in rubbish pubs for your own narcissistic enjoyment.

Yes I hate birthdays!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I never cared much about my birthday. I like it less now that I'm on the wrong side of 30. I'll be 37 in a couple of months, which is too close to 40 for my liking.

Even when I was younger I never did anything for my birthday, apart from having one party when I was nine. I didn't enjoy the party and it made me realise I don't need to mix with a group of people just because it's my birthday.

I did like getting presents when I was younger though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

Its the only day i get guaranteed sex
    Payday whacker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Its an excuse for people to have a get together. Me and my mates dont make a big deal we just use it as an opportunity to gorge on the ribs n wings combo in Thunderroad. Hate adding another number to my age though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭MikeD22

I was never bothered about my birthday...to be honest its my mother that should be celebrated, she went through a lot more to bring me into this world than i did...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Nope. I come from a family that doesn't do parties or birthday celebrations. I didn't have a 21st, because I didn't want one.
    Some of my friends don't understand it and are shocked that I've gone to work on my birthday! (And I don't mention it at work either!)
    I was going out with a guy earlier this year whose family celebrate birthdays - a lot, and one of the reasons we parted company was because I wasn't interested in going to any of them especially his extended family - people I don't know! I join in friends' celebrations all right, but I'm not interested in having the same fuss about mine. It's just a date.

Also FCUK people up the country (several hours' drive away) who expect you to go to their parties on a weekday and get all stroppy when you don't want to go as it would mean taking two days off work. Do it at the weekend ya gimps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

My friends birthday is in April. But the month following march is not called April by her. It's called The Birthday.

"So! The Birthday. On Saturday I am having drinks for The Birthday. Weekend after that will go to Saba for The Birthday. X can't go. Are you around on Wednesday to meet with X for The Birthday"

Etc.

This starts about January every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Aglomerado wrote: »
    I was going out with a guy earlier this year whose family celebrate birthdays - a lot, and one of the reasons we parted company was because I wasn't interested in going to any of them especially his extended family - people I don't know!

****ing THIS!!!

Was a major headache with my ex. Two months in advance I'd be forewarned its was her mothers/fathers/friends birthday. That way I couldn't suddenly have to work late or get out of it.

She couldn't understand that I simply couldn't give a flying feck about peoples birthday that I seen once a year or so. Worse was the 100 euro I'd be down after each occasion and a day of my life lost forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I love it. If you have the right type of friends, it's a day where you can be guaranteed to get loads of well wishes and everything.

Why wouldn't you celebrate it? I'll be 25 at my next one and I'm looking forward to it.