Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How realistic looking is an Airsoft pistol?

• 15-12-2012 9:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭

guys, if you had one of the Airsoft pistols, would it be convincing enough to scare a scumbag burglar if you pointed it at him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭aN.Droid

Yes, and would also land you in allot of trouble.

The sport is threatened enough without this sort of nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

Would be realistic enough to make the scumbag or burglar use his real gun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

Limericks wrote: »

Since when is paintballing a sport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

why is that? not well up on these things, but surely if a burglar is in your house you can defend your family?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭Southern Dandy

Hitchens wrote: »
    why is that? not well up on these things, but surely if a burglar is in your house you can defend your family?

Because airsoft pistols, rifles, and aegs are not designed for intimidation, they are strictly recreational, be it for a collector, back yard plinker or player and thats where it ends.

If you want to protect yourself from "scumbags" learn self defense, real firearms in this country again like airsoft replicas can not be used for protection. If your worried about burglars then get an alarm/CCTV and/or guard dog for your home. The likelihood of you encountering burglar and having the time to brandish a weapon is very remote. Alarms, cctv and especially dogs are extremely good deterrents against burglars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

Then it would fall under irish law as a firearm and treated as such

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

would be realist enough that the law would treat it as a real firearm when they charge you

edit: the guys beat me to it

Because airsoft pistols, rifles, and aegs are not designed for intimidation, they are strictly recreational, be it for a collector, back yard plinker or player and thats where it ends.

If you want to protect yourself from "scumbags" learn self defense, or if your worried about burglars then get an alarm or guard dog for your home.

let's calm down a bit please. the intimidation would be all on the intruders part I'm sure you'll agree.

I'm not 'worried' at all except if the Airsoft was enough to subdue him I wouldn't have to use the 'polthóg' which I otherwise might have to use and which might mess up my gaff.

john47832 wrote: »
    Since when is paintballing a sport?
    He wasn't talking about the sport of paintball.
    let's calm down a bit please. the intimidation would be all on the intruders part I'm sure you'll agree.

I'm not 'worried' at all except if the Airsoft was enough to subdue him I wouldn't have to use the 'polthóg' which I otherwise might have to use and which might mess up my gaff.

Even pointing the airsoft gun at someone with the intent of pretending it is a real firearm will have you infront of a judge defending yourself against real firearms charges.

I'm fairly calm fella :), only giving you a bit of insight as you asked would pointing a airsoft pistol scare a burglar, you did not say nothing about subduing him, and the answer is no it will not sub due him, it will probably piss him off I'd imagine.

I'm fairly calm fella :), only giving you a bit of insight as you asked would pointing a airsoft pistol scare a burglar, you did not say nothing about subduing him, and the answer is no it will not sub due him, it will more piss him off I'd imagine.

I don't care if it pisses him off, I mean is the Airsoft so realistic looking that he will put his hands in the air and say don't shoot me?

That depends on the person.

By the way a charge of illegally brandishing a firearm is allot more serious than burglary.

Thanks for that mate, but all I really wanted to know is ... how realistic looking an Airsoft pistol is ...

...and thats all, nothing about the morals of it or laws pertaining to it.

So please guys, forget the lectures and the sermons.

I hope everybody understands this.

Ah forget it dude, your not getting the idea at all, does not make a difference whether it does or does not scare the **** outa him, it is illegal, fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭mafo

If you want to protect yourself from "scumbags" learn self defense, real firearms in this country again like airsoft replicas can not be used for protection. If your worried about burglars then get an alarm/CCTV and/or guard dog for your home. The likelihood of you encountering burglar and having the time to brandish a weapon is very remote. Alarms, cctv and especially dogs are extremely good deterrents against burglars.

If a burglar can use a nail bar (invented for pulling nails) to break into your house to rob you or hurt your loved ones, why not use our toys to defend ourself ?.
    Personally, I would use all the available items and airsoft replicas not thinking that this will have any implications for our sport.

mafo wrote: »
    If a burglar can use a nail bar (invented for pulling nails) to break into your house to rob you or hurt your loved ones, why not use our toys to defend ourself ?.
    Personally, I would use all the available items and airsoft replicas not thinking that this will have any implications for our sport.

Don't get wrong it would be great if we could and agree we should be able to, but infortunetly we cant, there is laws protecting the burglar himself if we assault him. If you decide to stab him with a fork, a utensil designed for eating he can sue you for assault, its ridiculous but what can you do.

ok to simplify this. no not realistic looking at all. plus not worth the firearms charges.

andy_g wrote: »
    ok to simplify this. no not realistic looking at all. plus not worth the firearms charges.

thanks mate, the first part of your answer is what I'm interested in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭$kilkenny

Is what u need is a handle of a pickaxe, doesnt kill and its not used for a sport, and u probly have a better chance of actually doing some damage to any intruder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,899 ✭✭✭S.E.A.L.s

Your 1st point would depend on the circumstances and is not a fact, the 2nd point is valid and I do agree we could all be a little more cautious

Yes you can: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0113/1224310196472.html

Also, RIF's (Real Imitation Firearms) can be realistic and hard to tell apart depending on the conditions

Your 2nd point is debatable, as Firearms, RIF's and just about anything else can now be used for self defense: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0113/1224310196472.html

Also, I agree there are better ways to defend yourself than using a Firearm or RIF or any other object for that matter, because training is required to use these items well and even then, your own means of defence can be taken from and used against you!

Plus, prevention is better than cure and if a burglar is within your property, the primary goal should be your own and your families safety, for some you may wish to engage and for others, you may wish to exfiltrate

The law as it stands, allows for both sets of circumstances
    Puding wrote: »
    would be realist enough that the law would treat it as a real firearm when they charge you

edit: the guys beat me to it

100% Yes
    Ah forget it dude, your not getting the idea at all, does not make a difference whether it does or does not scare the **** outa him, it is illegal, fact.

This would depend on the circumstances, so is not a fact
    mafo wrote: »

There could be more far reaching implications for shooting in general, so lets air or the side of caution here ;)
    Don't get wrong it would be great if we could and agree we should be able to, but infortunetly we cant, there is laws protecting the burglar himself if we assault him. If you decide to stab him with a fork, a utensil designed for eating he can sue you for assault, its ridiculous but what can you do.

From here: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0113/1224310196472.html

"The new law also extends these protections to the curtilage of the dwelling, and explicitly provides that a person is not under an obligation to retreat from their home when an intruder breaks in.

A person who uses reasonable force cannot be sued for damages by a burglar and will not be guilty of an offence."

I'm not saying force is required and the law as it stands, does recognise force can be used in certain circumstances

The Criminal Law (Defence and the Dwelling) Act 2011: http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2011/en/act/pub/0035/index.html

Disclaimer - This is one man's opinion and for informational purposes only

The "fact" I was referring too is if you brandish an imitation firearm the law will treat it as a firearm. This is not why we have airsoft pistols, aegs etc, we use them as a hobby not a deterrent for burglars.

Yes maybe laws have changed and I take my point back about that, but reasonable force is a very thin line, when fear and adrenalin are fuelling you, you dont really care about the law, you can take it that little bit far and pass from self defense to assault depending on the injuries inflicted. You probably will win but he still has the right to sue.

There should be zero need for you to brandish a RIF, which is the core issue of this post, not the realism, a childs plastic toy gun can lool like a firearm at first glance. Give me a bat any day of the week over a rif.

Like I said having an alarm, cctv and a guard dog will significantly reduce your risk of a burglary, there is no need for you to go "Freeze punk" with your KJW Sig 226, the idea is cringe worthy, in the same amount of time it takes to find your rif, find the burglar, point and threaten a burglar you could have rang the guards, not unless you would sleep with a airsoft pistol fully loaded with gas and bb's every night of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,440 ✭✭✭✭thermo

not unless you would sleep with a airsoft pistol fully loaded with gas and bb's every night of the week.

who doesn't............. :rolleyes:

The "fact" I was referring too is if you brandish an imitation firearm the law will treat it as a firearm. This is not why we have airsoft pistols, aegs etc, we use them as a hobby not a deterrent for burglars.

Yes maybe laws have changed and I take my point back about that, but reasonable force is a very thin line, when fear and adrenalin are fuelling you, you dont really care about the law, you can take it that little bit far and pass from self defense to assault depending on the injuries inflicted. You probably will win but he still has the right to sue.

There should be zero need for you to brandish a RIF, which is the core issue of this post, not the realism, a childs plastic toy gun can lool like a firearm at first glance. Give me a bat any day of the week over a rif.

Like I said having an alarm, cctv and a guard dog will significantly reduce your risk of a burglary, there is no need for you to go "Freeze punk" with your KJW Sig 226, the idea is cringe worthy, in the same amount of time it takes to find your rif, find the burglar, point and threaten a burglar you could have rang the guards, not unless you would sleep with a airsoft pistol fully loaded with gas and bb's every night of the week.

Agreed on purpose of use and with the correct training + experience, fear and adrenalin can be controlled. So within the bounds of "reasonable force", in a set of circumstances that allow, a person defending him or herself cannot be sued. Furthermore, this act allows you to defend others and their property, with the same legal protection and without definition, so it's to help all and not just those related to you or members of your family

Now this is one man's opinion and being honest, I'm a husband and father, so would not think twice about neutralising the threat

thermo wrote: »

You said it mate LoL

thermo wrote: »

Well to be fair I'd sleep with that inokotsu 1911 you have as well, for two reasons one it is valuable and two it is valuable. :)

Agreed on purpose of use and with the correct training + experience, fear and adrenalin can be controlled. So within the bounds of "reasonable force", in a set of circumstances that allow, a person defending him or herself cannot be sued. Furthermore, this act allows you to defend others and their property, with the same legal protection and without definition, so it's to help all and not just those related to you or members of your family

Now this is one man's opinion and being honest, I'm a husband and father, so would not think twice about neutralising the threat

Well to be fair it is vague as what "reasonable force" is. And you will only be protected by the act if they believe you. Most people will probably use reasonable force provided they pick the "fight" of the "flight or flight" trigger response when your put into a situation like that, but others will cross that boundary and will be hell bent on messing them up when little force is needed. I mean that Patrick nally man, did he use reasonable force? Sure most of us agreed that we would have done the same. Reasonable to me means beat him but don't kill the man.

I enjoy a good debate :), this is all in good humour and I'm not ridiculing your opinion as I agree with pretty much everything you say and like you would defend tooth and nail my family. Was not aware the law had been changed to that extent so apologies on that.

But we are wandering away from the OP's original question :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

So we're two pages & thirty posts in; we've even had a moderator contribute. Why wasn't this thread locked about 20 posts ago for the legal minefield & absolute Darwinism idiocy that it is?

Treating it with the contempt that such idiotic Darwinism deserves, here's my 2c:

OP, get an alarm, a dog, and a hurl if need be. If you brandish a weapon - any weapon - you have escalated the confrontation beyond the point of no return. If the other party chooses to call your bluff, you - and your family - are absolutely f*cking w@nkered. And that's disregarding the possibility of being charged for firearms offences regardless.

Brandishing an airsoft gun is a pretty big bluff because it ain't real. Do you want to play that lottery game with your family's well-being? I shouldn't think so. So get a clue, stop being a mong, and use some common f*cking sense.

Well to be fair it is vague as what "reasonable force" is. And you will only be protected by the act if they believe you. Most people will probably use reasonable force provided they pick the "fight" of the "flight or flight" trigger response when your put into a situation like that, but others will cross that boundary and will be hell bent on messing them up when little force is needed. I mean that Patrick nally man, did he use reasonable force? Sure most of us agreed that we would have done the same. Reasonable to me means beat him but don't kill the man.

I enjoy a good debate :), this is all in good humour and I'm not ridiculing your opinion as I agree with pretty much everything you say and like you would defend tooth and nail my family. Was not aware the law had been changed to that extent so apologies on that.

But we are wandering away from the OP's original question :).

Thank you and could not agree more :)
    Lemming wrote: »
    So we're two pages & thirty posts in; we've even had a moderator contribute. Why wasn't this thread locked about 20 posts ago for the legal minefield & absolute Darwinism idiocy that it is?

Treating it with the contempt that such idiotic Darwinism deserves, here's my 2c:

OP, get an alarm, a dog, and a hurl if need be. If you brandish a weapon - any weapon - you have escalated the confrontation beyond the point of no return. If the other party chooses to call your bluff, you - and your family - are absolutely f*cking w@nkered. And that's disregarding the possibility of being charged for firearms offences regardless.

Brandishing an airsoft gun is a pretty big bluff because it ain't real. Do you want to play that lottery game with your family's well-being? I shouldn't think so. So get a clue, stop being a mong, and use some common f*cking sense.

Believe that Lemming has hit the nail on the head and we've managed to stray a little off-topic :rolleyes:

Thank you and could not agree more :)

Believe that Lemming has hit the nail on the head, as we've managed to stray a little off-topic :rolleyes:

We all said what lemming had added a good few posts ago, and like him agree that it is a ridiculous question to ask for numerous reasons but sure common sense fly's out the window with some people.

3 pages now Lemming, you must be freaking out :D.

I am rocking back and forth in a corner as I type ... :pac:

We all said what lemming had added a good few posts ago, and like him agree that it is a ridiculous question to ask for numerous reasons.

3 pages now Lemming you must be freaking out :D.

Agreed and I prefer his version of poetic language to sum up the point ;)

Lemming wrote: »

Let me patiently explain it to you once again:

I don't want or need any legal advice.

I don't want or need any morality advice.

I don't want or need to hear where you stand in regard to alarms, dogs etc.

I merely would like to know how realistic looking an Airsoft pistol is.

So far, nobody has satisfactorily answered that question.

If nobody wants to, fair enough, just leave it be so. ;)

Let me patiently explain it to you once again:

I don't want or need any legal advice.

I don't want or need any morality advice.

I don't want or need to hear where you stand in regard to alarms, dogs etc.

I merely would like to know how realistic looking an Airsoft pistol is.

So far, nobody has satisfactorily answered that question.

If nobody wants to, fair enough, just leave it be so. ;)

Let me put this as simply as possible to you;

in the history of bad ideas, usually dreamt up by f*cktarded mongs, what you're contemplating is a very bad idea.

guys, if you had one of the Airsoft pistols, would it be convincing enough to scare a scumbag burglar if you pointed it at him?

In fairness there is a difference between inquiring if airsoft pistols are realistic and are they realistic enough to scare someone?

Your reason for asking is what sparked it, you could have just as easily asked are they realistic and leave it at that but you didn't. It may be a sport, hobby and people may call airsoft guns "toys" but we all treat it with the respect it deserves with regards the law etc. We are only educating you on the seriousness of presenting it as a weapon. It's our obligation to inform you as you clearly don't know much about the sport.

Or the best option is drop into a retailer that is local to you, explain what you want it for and im sure they will be very helpful with the selection for you :cool:

andy_g wrote: »
    Or the best option is drop into a retailer that is local to you, explain what you want it for and im sure they will be very helpful with the selection for you :cool:

I haven't checked back over my posts to see if you've altered or edited them, but unless you have ...point out where I ever said I wanted one ...? :)

Then I guess this thread is done.

Locked as its not exactly airsoft related :)

Happy sunday and six days to the end of the world all:D