Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fridge Police ??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

Health and Safety gone mad if you ask me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

Seems voluntary and for research and education. No harm methinks

I don't clean the fridge often enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's a survey team FFS, not "fridge police". They'll ask to look inside your fridge and if you say no, they'll smile and go away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

Having had the misfortune of seeing some fridges it's no harm IMO. Some people need educating in how to store food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

I would presume it's based on voluntary responses to their survey.

The really annoying thing is the bit about keeping a register of artisan cheeses. We should be encouraging a wide base of small independent producers, this is just creating another barrier to entry and protecting the big dairy companies. In other words: a loada me bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

What a waste of taxpayers money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

**** checks calendar ...

its not April 1st .. wtf ??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

Silly government agency......Don't they know that beer an go any shelf :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

We should all chill out and be cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭wolfeye

This is probably leading up to the introduction of a fridge licence for budget 2013.
    Look's like i'll have to hide it in the attic with the tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I've no issue with this but I'll be fecked if I am sharing my beer! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

wolfeye wrote: »
    This is probably leading up to the introduction of a fridge licence for budget 2013.

Yeah, but before you can get your licence you'll have to pass the test!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

Note to self, move grandma from fridge.

dmc17 wrote: »
    Yeah, but before you can get your licence you'll have to pass the test!

Then i'll have to take out third party insurance also incase a guest gets food poisoning.where will it all end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

FREEZE!

It's hardly the Gestapo now.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

They will have no legal right to enter your house. You would have to allow them in. A warrant issued by a court and a Garda would be required for forced entry and that just will not happen (I hope) simply to check a fridge.

As a ex Chef, I am well aware of how to organise my fridge and practise good cullinary hygine, but I am not anal about it. I believe I have a immune system for a reason. In 36 years looking after firstly my siblings and then myself, I have never poisoned anyone, so I reckon I am doing ok. Also I believe I was about 8 yrs old before my Mum got here first fridge (child of the 60s ;)). I had an older sister and 2 younger brothers at this age and I don't remember my Mum poisoning any of us.

Finally, Safefood. The folks who still push the food pyramid and eating 6-7 portions of carbs a day and who reckon all saturated fats are bad, even though every country who follows the food pyramid guidlines are suffering obesity issues in their populations :rolleyes::rolleyes: and more recent studies show that this thinking is incorrect.

IMHO these folks don't have a clue about healthy eating, so why would I listen them on food hygine :confused::confused::confused: Common sense is all that is needed here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

seamus wrote: »
    It's a survey team FFS, not "fridge police". They'll ask to look inside your fridge and if you say no, they'll smile and go away.

Yeah, but it's the independent talking bollocks again. And of course people lap up "Big Brother" and all that. I was surprised not to see someone say "PC gone mad!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

wolfeye wrote: »
    Then i'll have to take out third party insurance also incase a guest gets food poisoning.where will it all end?

Well, I believe that while you're on a provisional fridge licence you can only keep items like dairy and veg but won't be allowed to store meat products until you have proven your competence in this area :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Well, I believe that while you're on a provisional fridge licence you can only keep items like dairy and veg but won't be allowed to store meat products until you have proven your competence in this area :)

There'll probably be a huge backlog in applications so they'll just approve everyone in our generation for the fridge license. And in twenty years we'll be poisoning everyone and our kids will be moaning about us terrible fridge people.

It look's like it will be whey protein ,spuds and veg for dinner for a while then .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

They will have no legal right to enter your house. You would have to allow them in. A warrant issued by a court and a Garda would be required for forced entry and that just will not happen (I hope) simply to check a fridge.

As a ex Chef, I am well aware of how to organise my fridge and practise good cullinary hygine, but I am not anal about it. I believe I have a immune system for a reason. In 36 years looking after firstly my siblings and then myself, I have never poisoned anyone, so I reckon I am doing ok. Also I believe I was about 8 yrs old before my Mum got here first fridge (child of the 60s ;)). I had an older sister and 2 younger brothers at this age and I don't remember my Mum poisoning any of us.

Finally, Safefood. The folks who still push the food pyramid and eating 6-7 portions of carbs a day and who reckon all saturated fats are bad, even though every country who follows the food pyramid guidlines are suffering obesity issues in their populations :rolleyes::rolleyes: and more recent studies show that this thinking is incorrect.

IMHO these folks don't have a clue about healthy eating, so why would I listen them on food hygine :confused::confused::confused: Common sense is all that is needed here.

I agree with you about food hygeine. But maybe there are thousands of cases of food poisoning in homes every year, it wouldn't be surprising judging by reports of how some people live. Since you brought up the subject of the food pyramid which isn't the point of the thread I will give an opposite view.

The reason for obesity is lack of physical activity. It doesn't matter how you get your calories if you don't burn them off you put on weight. Common sense for me includes saturated fats but does not exclude bread, pasta, rice and potatoes and even peas which is the agenda being pushed by the anti food pyramid brigade. In my opinion this anti food pyramid campaign is just an excuse to make money from fad diets like Atkins and these folks don't have a clue about healthy eating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

If I let them in, will they clean the fridge for me? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

I agree with you about food hygeine. But maybe there are thousands of cases of food poisoning in homes every year, it wouldn't be surprising judging by reports of how some people live. Since you brought up the subject of the food pyramid which isn't the point of the thread I will give an opposite view.

The reason for obesity is lack of physical activity. It doesn't matter how you get your calories if you don't burn them off you put on weight. Common sense for me includes saturated fats but does not exclude bread, pasta, rice and potatoes and even peas which is the agenda being pushed by the anti food pyramid brigade. In my opinion this anti food pyramid campaign is just an excuse to make money from fad diets like Atkins and these folks don't have a clue about healthy eating.

Loosen up and get a life.
    My grandfather was 93 when he died and he did'nt believe any of that shyte about food pyramids!
    And He smoked an 0z of plug every day as well!

I'm outta here!

We're becoming a nation of kids listening to every asshole who tells us we should do this or do that instead of doing what we think is best for ourselves.

Worse still , we're believing all this shyte!

I should have posted this in the O&O forum instead. At least they have lived long enough to know this is a load of crap.
    My mistake.

red sean wrote: »
    Loosen up and get a life.
    My grandfather was 93 when he died and he did'nt believe any of that shyte about food pyramids!
    And He smoked an 0z of plug every day as well!

I'm outta here!

We're becoming a nation of kids listening to every asshole who tells us we should do this or do that instead of doing what we think is best for ourselves.

Worse still , we're believing all this shyte!

I should have posted this in the O&O forum instead. At least they have lived long enough to know this is a load of crap.
    My mistake.

Would that be the equivalent of 20 cigarettes ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Coming soon "Law and Order: Fridge Inspectors Unit"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

Would that be the equivalent of 20 cigarettes ?
    At least!
    25grms of raw tobacco per day!

Not advising it as a life extending practice, just saying how he lived and enjoyed his life.:)

PC brigade will probably look to get me banned for saying it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

As a ex Chef, I am well aware of how to organise my fridge and practise good cullinary hygine, but I am not anal about it.

As a matter of interest, how do you organise your fridge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

red sean wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/state-inspectors-to-snoop-inside-our-fridges-3326631.html

WTF next!

Jaysus the country is going down the chute and some bollix has decided we might die of food poisoning to get away fast!

Well they better not come near me.......

Where's me gun

You need to play in the Conspiracy Theories forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Sparklygirl

Ah Lads, isn't it obvious, these food people have to be seen to be doing something!....ah go wan and let them take a look inside your fridge :D make them feel worthwhile and important :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

What's next?

A survey about dustmice under the sofa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Just watch for those jokers who ask if your fridge's running and then say you better go catch it, every time, I swear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Paging Run to the Hills....

Run to the Hills to After Hours please...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

As long as I don't find Bertie in my fridge, it's okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Will the man in charge of this operation be a fridge magnate?:o

Freeze a jolly good fellow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I'm not going to let them look in my fridge there's things that bite in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Having had the misfortune of seeing some fridges it's no harm IMO. Some people need educating in how to store food.

Stupid people should be allowed to slowly die off from insanitary fridges.
    There, I said it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Arpa

Hope they will re-stock mine. If a McDonalds sachet ketchup, two Bavaria and an onion is against health & saftey then I'm screwed.

Anyway, seems to be just a survey, but I have a feeling that this is more along the lines of the tv licence inspector. Any fúcker from the government or any official body who comes to my door will be politely told where to go.

They got me through my tax, they're not gonna tell me if I can have a TV or what's in my fridge. I know they won't...but I would love to see it happen just so there could be an uprising.