Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour De France 2014

• 14-12-2012 10:13am
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭

It's just been announced that the Grand depart in 2014 will be in Yorkshire..

Eeeee by gum...

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

No better place ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

Just booked my sisters spare room :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

daragh_ wrote: »
    Any floor space? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

My home county.
    You're best reading it from the Yorkshire Post in a Yorkshire accent (drop the h sound from every word beginning with h)

http://www.yorkshirepost.co.uk/news/at-a-glance/main-section/official-tour-de-france-comes-to-yorkshire-1-5224532

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Must do the same !! Start Leeds then stage 3 finishes London (sprint finish for Cav anyone??)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

Shame its Leeds :)

Hope they get to do a stage in my beloved city of Steel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭topcat77

“To achieve this for 2014 when other high profile European tourism destinations were being considered proves that Yorkshire ranks alongside locations such as Barcelona, Paris and Berlin. This shows just how hard Welcome to Yorkshire has worked to raise the profile of the region as a tourist destination of international standard.” Little over the top!!!! Congratulations Yorkshire :D

Shame its Leeds :)

Hope they get to do a stage in my beloved city of Steel.

Yes, in Yorkshire Post article (link above) they mention Sheffield, Scarborough, York, North Yorkshire Moors and Yorkshire Dales - it will be stunning scenery wise.

Make sure you book your flights with these

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

Nan will be getting a surprise visit by the looks of things!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭letape

Fantastic news! 2007 was a great experience in London.

It's only 30 odd km from Sutton Bank to Rosedale Chimney.........just an idea for the organisers :D

Taken from Calendar news: (regional news programme)

Here Press Association Sport speculates on the route - which it says will be confirmed on January 17th:

Stage one: A 200 kilometre meandering route from Leeds to Scarbrough, via Harrogate, possibly traversing the North Yorkshire Moors, heading for Whitby then along the coast to Scarborough.

Stage two: Could start, following a short transfer, in York and head west through Otley - home of Olympic medallist Lizzie Armitstead - and Ilkley to the Yorkshire Dales.
    From there, possibly travelling South through Huddersfield - home town of Brian Robinson, Britain's first Tour stage winner in 1958 - before winding its way towards a finish in Sheffield.

Stage three: start in Cambridge and finish in London.

Source http://www.itv.com/news/calendar/story/2012-12-14/yorkshire-to-host-tour-de-france/

colm_gti wrote: »
    Any floor space? :P

I'll be operating a closed bid system..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

you're lucky to have a room! We used to have to live in t' corridor!

That's nowt..

We used to 'ave to get up out of shoebox at twelve o'clock at night and lick road bike clean wit' tongue. The we 'ad to cycle 400 miles on rims, on t'unicycle to start of Tour, suck our gels from a piece of damp cloth. and then carry bikes 'cross dales for 3 days in a snowstorm, and when we got home Pat McQuaid would slice us in two wit' bread knife.

ooooh, all these thoughts of cycling around Yorkshire.. I'm going home (near Harrogate and Otley) next Saturday for 2 weeks and am tempted to take my good road bike with me now.
    It's a ryanair flight though, so I wouldn't trust my bike's safety on the flight, yorkshire airlines would look after my bike better.

what to dooooo...

That's nowt..

We used to 'ave to get up out of shoebox at twelve o'clock at night and lick road bike clean wit' tongue. The we 'ad to cycle 400 miles on rims, on t'unicycle to start of Tour, suck our gels from a piece of damp cloth. and then carry bikes 'cross dales for 3 days in a snowstorm, and when we got home Pat McQuaid would slice us in two wit' bread knife.

Luxury....:)

we had barbed wire in our chamois and had to cycle backwards 500 miles on fixies just to get the start. Then we had to cycle each stage on square wheels and at the end we had to cycle all the way back to push the team car to the next town. We got up before we went to bed the next day for a massage which were done by a mad nun from Bradford with cleavers for hands.....and when we were finished they did a dope test by plucking out our eyeballs before dipping them in acid and putting them back in

Jawgap wrote: »

we had barbed wire in our chamois and had to cycle backwards 500 miles on fixies just to get the start. Then we had to cycle each stage on square wheels and at the end we had to cycle all the way back to push the team car to the next town. We got up before we went to bed the next day for a massage which were done by a mad nun from Bradford with cleavers for hands.....and when we were finished they did a dope test by plucking out our eyeballs before dipping them in acid and putting them back in

And you try and tell the young people of today that ..... they won't believe you.

You're right there Obediahdaragh:D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

Jawgap wrote: »

how the feck did ye afford barb wire? rich snobs...

mossym wrote: »
    how the feck did ye afford barb wire? rich snobs...

Dad nicked it from down't pit, lad

They've announced the route for the Yorkshire section of TDF:

Details from Calendar here

Details from Yorkshire Post here

I'm sure maps will be up later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭velopeloton

Stage 1
    gallery_1_85_401961.jpg

Stage 2
    gallery_1_85_225514.jpg

Stage 3
    gallery_1_85_98069.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

RobFowl wrote: »

Eeeee by gum...
    MB Lacey wrote: »
    My home county.
    You're best reading it from the Yorkshire Post in a Yorkshire accent (drop the h sound from every word beginning with h)

I can assure you that I have said "Eeeee by gum" less often that most of you say "Top of the morning to you". ;)

I do find that my frequent omission of words "the" and "a" from most sentences creates confussion and amusement to my work colleagues. i.e. this morning "I'm off to shop for coffee anybody want owt?" was met with blank looks and puzzled stares. Result - I didn't have to buy anyone a coffee! :D

Really looking forward to going home and watching this. I've signed up to volunteer already!

I can assure you that I have said "Eeeee by gum" less often that most of you say "Top of the morning to you". ;)

I do find that my frequent omission of words "the" and "a" from most sentences creates confussion and amusement to my work colleagues. i.e. this morning "I'm off to shop for coffee anybody want owt?" was met with blank looks and puzzled stares. Result - I didn't have to buy anyone a coffee! :D

Really looking forward to going home and watching this. I've signed up to volunteer already!

No sound in work but I can just imagine that that southern t*4t is putting a t' in front of every word and talking about whippets :D

he's mocking the yorkshire lack of 'the' - which is kind of true.
    I was at home over christmas and needed directions, heard myself saying 'what's best way to... instead of 'what's the best way to...'

Do you get to choose what area to volunteer in?

he's mocking the yorkshire lack of 'the' - which is kind of true.
    I was at home over christmas and needed directions, heard myself saying 'what's best way to... instead of 'what's the best way to...'

Do you get to choose what area to volunteer in?

Me too. notice it most when I'm in meetings with clients.

http://letour.yorkshire.com/le-tour-makers - no choice. 8000 people volunteered so far!

Me too. notice it most when I'm in meetings with clients.

http://letour.yorkshire.com/le-tour-makers - no choice. 8000 people volunteered so far!
    Very good, not sure I'd be able to commit to the time they'd require for volunteering, but will deffo head home for it.
    You'll have a great time, be quite something to be involved in.
    I've printed off the route maps, and am heading home for a few weeks mid feb, plan to drive the route as much as possible- it's very, very long!
    Think the first day looks toughest.

First day looks pretty tough alright. Some stunning scenery up there. From Kettlewell, up to Aysgarth and then the buttertubs pass between Hawes and Thwaite is probably my favourite road in the world (not that I have a top 10 roads in the world list) although I would have been on my motorbike in the past. I'm looking forward to the helicopter pictures of the Aygarth falls, Hardraw Force and the Buttertubs.

I will have to head over at some point in the summer and cycle the route to experience just how tough it is.

Buttertubs.JPG
    copyright: http://www.cumbriancyclist.co.uk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

parents live a few miles from huddersfield

Holme_Moss_Holmfirth_profile.gif

640px-Aa_holme_moss_142.jpg