Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grant Euroflame Jet

• 13-12-2012 5:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭

Could anybody tell me what the oil coming through the jet should look like?

Having a problem with a burner and when I run it (safely) outside the chamber the oil just comes in a jet, should it not come more in a mist? Wondering if the jet is the problem. I suspected water contamination but doesn't seem to be that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭Robbie.G

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Could anybody tell me what the oil coming through the jet should look like?

Having a problem with a burner and when I run it (safely) outside the chamber the oil just comes in a jet, should it not come more in a mist? Wondering if the jet is the problem. I suspected water contamination but doesn't seem to be that.
    Why would you do that.The oil should come out in a mist or atomised more than likely the nozzle needs replacing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Billy Bunting

Have you played with anything else on the burner ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Robbie.G wrote: »
    Why would you do that.The oil should come out in a mist or atomised more than likely the nozzle needs replacing

Why would I do what?
    Have you played with anything else on the burner ??

No, haven't touched anything else. Give it a good clean down, photocell etc and everything is firing but no flame. Think it is the jet needs replacing. Will try to get one tomorrow, are they standard for the model or would I need to take it off first?

It would depend on its output, best to remove the nozzle and take the size off it, it is stamped into the side of it. The nozzle is a small brass hexigon shaped piece in the centre of the blast tube, but really!! if you dont know what they look like you really are playing with fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭Dtp79

Why would I do what?

No, haven't touched anything else. Give it a good clean down, photocell etc and everything is firing but no flame. Think it is the jet needs replacing. Will try to get one tomorrow, are they standard for the model or would I need to take it off first?
    Was the burner working before you got your hands on it?

Dtp79 wrote: »
    Are the electrodes sparking when you have the burner out?

Yep, we had a water freeze up the other morning and it hasn't worked since.
    Are the electrodes sparking when you have the burner out?
    Yes, sparking quite well from the looks of them. The oil coming through is definately not a vapour but a steady stream. Unless it changes behaviour dramatically when it goes in the chamber I couldn't see it lighting.

It would depend on its output, best to remove the nozzle and take the size off it, it is stamped into the side of it. The nozzle is a small brass hexigon shaped piece in the centre of the blast tube, but really!! if you dont know what they look like you really are playing with fire.

:D I do know what it looks like and where it is, just never replaced one before.
    Thanks for the info.

Yes, sparking quite well from the looks of them. The oil coming through is definately not a vapour but a steady stream. Unless it changes behaviour dramatically when it goes in the chamber I couldn't see it lighting.
    If it was working before you went at it then its unlikely the nozzle stopped working. Have you had a fill of oil lately? Did you rub the surface of the existing nozzle?

Had a fill about a week ago, but all was running fine. Yes I did give it a clean, would I have clogged it?

Sorry mate but nozzles are not meant to be " cleaned" Ye you probably clogged up the minute pores on the surface. Get new nozzle. Make sure you have a 16mm and 17 mm spanner with you to take it out. Be very careful of the electrodes. You should really have your pump pressure checked and flue gases analysed too. Check oil filter too

Will get one tomorrow and let you know how I get on. I think that is maybe what I done, I didn't spare the horses, cleaning it! :o:o
    Know what you are saying about a service, will have to wait until new year though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭TPM

the water freeze shouldnt have affected the burner but I have seen water in the oil freeze. apart from the ice formed when this happens it can also dislodge dirt and scum that was stuck to the inside of the pipe.

Might be worth checking the tank filter, the pump filter and the pipe for dirt and goo before you replace the nozzle.
    If you are not happy to do this TBH I think you would need to get someone to look at it, constantly resetting it the way it is could do in the pump the control box(spark coil) and or the electrodes

TPM wrote: »

the water freeze shouldnt have affected the burner but I have seen water in the oil freeze. apart from the ice formed when this happens it can also dislodge dirt and scum that was stuck to the inside of the pipe.

Might be worth checking the tank filter, the pump filter and the pipe for dirt and goo before you replace the nozzle.
    If you are not happy to do this TBH I think you would need to get someone to look at it, constantly resetting it the way it is could do in the pump the control box(spark coil) and or the electrodes
    If yer opening the pump up make you have a new o ring to put back in

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Could anyone explain to me how to get the electrode out?

Why do you want them out ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭scudo2

newmug wrote: »
    Could anyone explain to me how to get the electrode out?

Remove blast tube, electrodes is normally just held in a clamp.
    If its a Riello with a short blast tube then electrodes is held in place by a long bolt accessible from the side of the burner, on the outside that is.

Why do you want them out ?

Just to give them a cleaning. This yoke hasn't been started in 6 months, she's running for a minute, then cutting out. Just thought it would be no harm to clean the electrodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭jimf

Just to give them a cleaning. This yoke hasn't been started in 6 months, she's running for a minute, then cutting out. Just thought it would be no harm to clean the electrodes.

if its running its not the electrodes

Get Happyman out to polish the nozzle :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭scudo2

Clean photo cell.

scudo2 wrote: »
    Clean photo cell.

How do you do that?

I came over here for a bit of peace and quiet and ur here 2 is there no where safe from you :eek:

How do you do that?

If you need to do that then the boiler needs servicing by someone with the equipment to set it up correctly.

I came over here for a bit of peace and quiet and ur here 2 is there no where safe from you

I was hidding from you ;)

If you need to do that then the boiler needs servicing by someone with the equipment to set it up correctly.

You seem to know how its done, so talk me through it anyway. I'd just like to know.

I was hidding from you ;)

your like a fart in a onsie theres no getting rid of you

:) Coming up to a year and she's still burning away, not a bother. And I saved a 50 yo yo bill.

Coming up to a year and she's still burning away, not a bother. And I saved a 50 yo yo bill.

no wonder your happy :D

You seem to know how its done, so talk me through it anyway. I'd just like to know.

I have a rule, never advise people to do things that can kill them, as i said it requires the correct equipment to do it right, others maybe willing to let you walk the plank but sorry, not me.
    she's still burning away, not a bother

And just how do you know that :confused:

I have a rule, never advise people to do things that can kill them, as i said it requires the correct equipment to do it right, others maybe willing to let you walk the plank but sorry, not me. :confused:

I'm not going to do it, I'm just curious. Guan, GUAN!!!

And just how do you know that :confused:

I'm warm.;)

I'm not going to do it, I'm just curious. Guan, GUAN!!!

jaysus you weren't on father ted wer you

jimf wrote: »
    jaysus you weren't on father ted wer you

Indeedin I wasn't! But I feel like I'm on that episode where they end up hibernating in a box for winter because of the cold! So will someone tell me how to clean the photocell? Just so I know a qualified boiler service fella isn't bullsh1tting me;)

All I have ever seen is the service guy clean it with a cloth. That was part of a service though.

if you pop over to the plumbing forum stickies and read a post started by billy bunting re oil boiler servicing

this is what an oil boiler service done properly involves approx time 90 mins