Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Reading Too Much Into It / Silly Crush" Thread

• 12-12-2012 12:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,620 ✭✭✭

We've all done it, so here's a place to post about it and reminisce about the guy or girl you fancy from a far and will probably never be with (unless you keep telling yourself otherwise!)

For me, I went to the bank on Friday, lovely looking guy served me, was very chatty and smiley, lots of eye contact and wry smiles and he looked hot in his shirt and tie. I would have loved to have said something to him but I have no idea who he is, let alone his sexual orientation. He was wearing a badge with his full name on it and I looked him up on Facebook (for clues, not stalking, honest!) but he doesn't have a profile on there. So I guess I'll just have to keep making trips to the bank and hoping I get served by him again!

So, Eoin, if you're reading this...! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭KDII

If this thread ends in lifelong union I bagsy being the officiate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭manic mailman

It's definitely the cliche but there is this guy on the bus home from work. . .

*dramatic sigh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

That friend who always flirts and makes sexual innuendos and comments about boobs.....oh, if she knew I was bi :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

... or the guy in the coffee shop, pretty sure he's gay though

I have to do some research there :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Emz93

I had a silly little crush on a girl for a short while, until I found out she was actually gay - not so silly after all! :P Started to be crazy for her for a while right until I discovered she was in a relationship. :(. Still fancy her like mad but ayy what can I do..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Ellie_Sm

This french girl i was in college with.....siiiiigggghhhh....i still dramatically sigh every time i think of her, so frikkin' beautiful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭what the hell!

There's a guy at work who I crazy flirt with and he flirts back. Our colleagues have commented on it numerous times. But he's married with kids :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭nordisk celt83

Hot library guy from last year. There were many hot library guys, but some are just more amazingly beautiful and hot than others.

Saw him on the luas today after almost a year away from college. Swoon, sigh, daydream!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭mr.anonymous

There were many hot library guys, but some are just more amazingly beautiful and hot than others.

Sounds like the DCU library! :P

I don't read too much into things, but I've basically given up on studying in the library. Too many distractions in the form of lads whose second home is the gym. They're amazing! I'm such a perv!!:(

Untitled-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭checkcheek

There was this guy who was so hot. I always taught he was gay

Found out tonight that he actually was gay

BUT I only found out cause my friend said that they kissed - my friend doesn't know I'm gay.

Kinda upsetting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Soldering_Iorn

Any guy that's well spoken with a pulse, do me grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,620 ✭✭✭Rick_

I fancied the hell out of a guy I used to go to school with and sat beside in several classes. Always had suspicions over his sexuality.

I had left school at this point and I was on the old MSN Chat site (remember that?) and got PM'd in the Gay Teens room by a guy who's screen name was "teddybear" which was this guy's nickname in school. He told me what school he went to (which was the same), and when I tried to get more information from him to see if it was actually my crush he went offline.

I am friends with this guy on Facebook although we rarely speak on it as this was all way back at the start of the 2000's and he doesn't live anywhere near me and our lives went off in different directions. But on his profile, he has lots of pictures of him out with girls and effeminate looking guys, comments on the photos never seem to hint that any of these girls are any more than friends, has himself listed as "male" and "single" but has conveniently left blank the "Interested in" bit and still looks as cute as he did way back then, if not even more so now.

I would love to say something to him, but I haven't got the balls to in case I am reading too much into it and he's straight, or even that he's gay and just rejects my advances and I'll end up feeling like crap over Christmas. Argh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 plaiboi

Emz93 wrote: »
    I had a silly little crush on a girl for a short while, until I found out she was actually gay - not so silly after all! :P Started to be crazy for her for a while right until I discovered she was in a relationship. :(. Still fancy her like mad but ayy what can I do..

Exact same for me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭FairytaleGirl

Im in a relationship but as soon as Kristen Stewart comes out..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Sounds like the DCU library! :P

I don't read too much into things, but I've basically given up on studying in the library. Too many distractions in the form of lads whose second home is the gym. They're amazing! I'm such a perv!!:(

Have to move my ass to Dublin it seems ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Davyhal

Ah, the handsome man that I always see out in town on a Saturday night, don't know him or any of his mates though so can't find out who he is. He has now started appearing everywhere I go... Dunnes Stores, jogging out the same road as me, and then this morning he was in the GUMS Clinic as i was in for my annual check-up... *Sigh*.... I know that he's straight, but a man can dream!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭TO_ARTHUR!

I live in Spain right now, and the place is full of really good looking guys that take care of themselves. But the thing is, and I don't mean to offend anybody here, they dress in the way that the most visible gay lads dress in Ireland and I do be in an awful state of confusion sometimes, wondering whether or not to start talking to them, especially in clubs...
    1ZRed wrote: »
    Have to move my ass to Dublin it seems ;)

Forget Dublin, there are loads of fit fellas in Maynooth:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Davyhal

TO_ARTHUR! wrote: »
    I live in Spain right now, and the place is full of really good looking guys that take care of themselves. But the thing is, and I don't mean to offend anybody here, they dress in the way that the most visible gay lads dress in Ireland and I do be in an awful state of confusion sometimes, wondering whether or not to start talking to them, especially in clubs...

Forget Dublin, there are loads of fit fellas in Maynooth:)

I remember the same thing when I went over to Scotland to visit my mate Maria. She told me when I landed to be careful as all her Scottish friends dressed "very gay by Irish standards" when in fact making a move on them would be a very dangerous move!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I live in Spain right now, and the place is full of really good looking guys that take care of themselves. But the thing is, and I don't mean to offend anybody here, they dress in the way that the most visible gay lads dress in Ireland and I do be in an awful state of confusion sometimes, wondering whether or not to start talking to them

Ah yes, that classic game of "gay or European?"

You're the foreigner there... that's half work done and a bonus point :D

Italians though... now that's confusing! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭TO_ARTHUR!

Ah yes, that classic game of "gay or European?"
    Yeah but over here, it's a question of whether they're gay and European ;)
    It is a good game though.
    Barna77 wrote: »
    You're the foreigner there... that's half work done and a bonus point :D

A point I've worked to my advantage a few times :pac:

+1 :D