Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A pepperoni pizza and 20 blue please...

• 11-12-2012 3:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭

I got a flyer in the door for a new pizza place they advertise the usual pizzas ect but on the front of the flyer it advertises that they sell milk, sweets and cigarettes which they will deliver with your food...

pretty handy alright but just out of curiosity is this legal to 1. advertise the sale of cigarettes 2. drop them to your door?

i know some of the more 'family' run chippers would ask the driver to pick you up smokes if you volunteered a tip but i never seen it advertised

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SunnyDub1

anyone that gets the pizza guy to deliver cigarettes and milk with their pizza is just pure lazy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I don't think it's legal to advertise the availability of tobacco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

Thought you were talking about blue cheese.

Blue cheese is terrible!

Yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

i would like to know where this place is..

...for.........reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

FatherLen wrote: »

...for.........reasons.

What reasons? Spill!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,750 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

You can buy cigarettes online for delivery with the likes of Tesco so I don't think theres a legal issue with the delivery.

Advertising probably isn't an issue for the pizzashop if they say a simple 'we sell cigarettes'. Possibly an issue if they list the brands, though I'm guessing the law differentiates between a simple pricelist and a 'lovely smooth Rothmans with that West Kentucky flavour you love' leaflet.

Obviously they need to be a licensed tobacconist to sell cigs in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If you have enough money you really don't need to ever leave your house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Its illegal to advertise cigs for sale.

You may be allowed to order them from tesco, but you have to "ask" for them, they are not allowed to advertise them. Hence, just like any shop, we are not allowed to even talk about them until the customer asks for them.

We can be prosecuted for "advertising them" !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

You may be allowed to order them from tesco, but you have to "ask" for them, they are not allowed to advertise them. Hence, just like any shop, we are not allowed to even talk about them until the customer asks for them.

so these leaflets would be breaking the law? I had a feeling it didn't sound right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Seems the takeaway is thinking outside the box to generate business. Good on them. Legal or illegal.

Sure truth be known, if they are willing to advertise cigarettes they probably sell beer too. But the way they also offer milk and sweets suggest the same bloke owns a shop beside the takeaway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

davet82 wrote: »
    I got a flyer in the door for a new pizza place they advertise the usual pizzas ect but on the front of the flyer it advertises that they sell milk, sweets and cigarettes which they will deliver with your food...

pretty handy alright but just out of curiosity is this legal to 1. advertise the sale of cigarettes 2. drop them to your door?

i know some of the more 'family' run chippers would ask the driver to pick you up smokes if you volunteered a tip but i never seen it advertised

Tell us where it is!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Hurricane Carter

I hope whoever orders smokes from a pizza place gets their delivery on time as promised......but then realises they don't have a light and the lazy fcuks have to go down to the shops! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

SunnyDub1 wrote: »
    anyone that gets the pizza guy to deliver cigarettes and milk with their pizza is just pure lazy

I knew lads that rang up taxi drivers to go and pick up a box of smokes and rizla papers and pizza for them.

needless to say what they were spending their evenings doing! That's right! COD Modern Warfare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Well if the delivery guys hand over cigarettes included in a delivery to anyone underage at the door, they'd be breaking the law.

A few months back PrimeTime set up a number of well known grocery stores who sell alcohol...
    they ordered alcohol online with the groceries and tested whether the drivers handed it over to someone underage at the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Gloriously lazy.

If they would pick up some beer as well for me they'd be on a winner for sure!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Or maybe not within a few miles of an open shop.

Or drinking and cannot drive to a shop a few miles away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

So a shop can't be called "Smith's Tobacconist"? And signs can't say "Papers, Lotto and Cigarettes"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

the chipper in edenmore used to get you cans and all if you wanted them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 388 ✭✭Truncheon Rouge

Would sir like a shellsuit with that delivery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

So a shop can't be called "Smith's Tobacconist"? And signs can't say "Papers, Lotto and Cigarettes"?

I'm pretty certain that you need a license to sell tobacco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

I don't understand why the addition of a different item is being considered lazy, or at least any more lazy than the pizza delivery in the first place.

Seems the takeaway is thinking outside the box to generate business. Good on them. Legal or illegal.

Sure truth be known, if they are willing to advertise cigarettes they probably sell beer too. But the way they also offer milk and sweets suggest the same bloke owns a shop beside the takeaway.

the guy owns the shop/off licence beside the take away that he opened, everything that is available in the shop/off licence is available for delivery too

fair play to him i suppose once he keeps it legal though and ID is shown on receipt of the delivery i dont have a problem although i'm sure some anti smoking groups would!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

the guy owns the shop/off licence beside the take away that he opened, everything that is available in the shop/off licence is available for delivery too

fair play to him i suppose once he keeps it legal though and ID is shown on receipt of the delivery i dont have a problem although i'm sure some anti smoking groups would!

Freaky :pac:
    When I was just about to reply earlier I read out your thread to my friend. Instantly He says "bet the owner of the takeaway owns the shop next store!" and I agreed with him (thats why i put it in my post, lol) Very good foresight by my mate ...Wish I could take credit :( lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Chipper in westport used to this a good few years back, would go to the shop for you and deliver with the food. I think it was €1 extra.

• Site Banned Posts: 385 ✭✭pontia

do you live on the set of shameless

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

...for.........reasons.

Its a pizza place.

Did you mean four seasons ?

• Site Banned Posts: 385 ✭✭pontia

clondalkin,tallaght,large parts of the northside ? give us a hint

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

pontia wrote: »

Town ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

99% chance they're buying the goods and delivering it to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I suppose there aren't many places that sell milk as late as pizza places are open. I know if there's no milk I panic and attack those around me.

pontia wrote: »

warmer, warmer, scalding... :D

kowloon wrote: »
    I know if there's no milk I panic and attack those around me.

i do the same with cigarettes :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Wish we had something like that. Be dead handy like, I have to order pizza, then go down the shop for a pack of smokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

20 Blue is a very odd choice of pizza topping.

they call it the big smokie :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭JayzuzHowiye

The local chipper in my area will go into the shop and pick up skins and smokes no problem. :v

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

There's a "man with a van" in Sligo that will do deliveries. Order a take away and he'll pick it up for you and his van also says he'll also collect and deliver drink and fags..

An American friend of mine home recently took a picture of the van so he could send to some of his ultra conservative friends to show how progressive Ireland had gotten regards sexuality. I did tell him 2 days afterwards that fags are cigarettes but I think the damage was done at that stage.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Wait, what, they can't say they sell cigarettes?

I thought the issues with advertising was not to display any branding. That's fúcking nuts enough as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,401 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Not sure what some people have a problem with? Someone wants to buy somethign legally available, and is willing to pay to have it delivered. Fine.

There was a lad (or more?) around Ballyfermot who set up a facebook page calling himself McDonald's deliveries and he charged €2/3 to go to mcDonalds for people who rang up.

Its not something I'd do, but fair play to him I hope he makes/made a fortune from people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

I think this is brilliant. Fair play to them for expanding their market :D
    a lot of people here saying its pure laziness to get cigarettes and milk delivered with your food,but yet its ok to sit and home and make a call To get your dinner delivered? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

...for.........reasons.

#notacop

Dodge wrote: »
    There was a lad (or more?) around Ballyfermot who set up a facebook page calling himself McDonald's deliveries and he charged €2/3 to go to mcDonalds for people who rang up.

thats not a bad idea plus have you got his number? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,869 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

I thought the issues with advertising was not to display any branding. That's fúcking nuts enough as it is.
    I'm with you on this, pretty sure it is brand advertisement that is banned. Unless the removed the law requiring a display of tabacco licence. They would also have to get older pubs to change their signs etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Retailers have been told we can only mention cigs if the customer asks for them first.

Me saying to you "we sell cigarettes" will prompt you to buy them and we can be done for it.

Thats why all advertising and instore point of sale is now banned. To not encourage people. Hell, we can not even use the phrase "lights" any more as it suggests one type is better for you than another. All cigs can kill you. Hence new names like Marlboro GOLD, s/cut SILVER, john player BRIGHT blue etc etc