Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car accident - Provisional licence - No tax

• 11-12-2012 12:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26

Hi i have a question .

Yesterday I had a small car accident on a round-about. It wasn't my fault . I didint know what to do because I have a provisional driving licence and i wasn't driving with someone with full driving licence + i had no tax . But the other person that crash into me had no insurance . We both decided that we just gonna leave it . I am wondering what would happen if i called the gards .

How much fine i would have to pay , and would i only get a fine to pay or something more .

And what would happen to the other driver and would he have to pay for the damage he had done ?

I hope you can understand me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭bobin fudge

2/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Eh if you were driving alone on a provisional and you have no tax I wouldn't bother calling the guards.... Consider yourself lucky the other guy didn't have insurance because then guards would have gotten involved and you could be in a lot of trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

Link to penalty points and fines:

http://www.rulesoftheroad.ie/accidents-gardai-and-penalties/penalty-points-fixed-charge-offences/index.html

Driving unaccompaionied and with out L plate is €1000 fine I think and no tax is €80

No insurance is €80 I think too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Bartek664

MadYaker wrote: »
    Eh if you were driving alone on a provisional and you have no tax I wouldn't bother calling the guards.... Consider yourself lucky the other guy didn't have insurance because then guards would have gotten involved and you could be in a lot of trouble.

But it wasn't my fault and i could proof that easly .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭Theanswers

I think the guards would have dealt with the other driver for no Insurance. You would have then had to claim from the uninsured drivers fund and had your car fixed.

I don't the guards would have said anything to you about driving with no driver etc etc.

At the end of the day you are the injured party and whilst you did not have a full driver, your driving was not at fault.

Tell I had a small car accident like 3 months ago . It was my fault this time . The woman called gards i told them that yes i agree its my fault and i had no one driving with me on provisional . They didint say anything about this .

So basicly i should have called the gards yesterday ?

And other question is there anything i can do it now ? or its too late ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

The gardai don't come unless someone has been hurt, your man was a chancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,458 ✭✭✭chops018

Bartek664 wrote: »
    But it wasn't my fault and i could proof that easly .

Wasn't your fault? You should not have been on the road without tax or with a full licence driver with you. If I crashed into you and you went on about ringing the Guards that's the first thing I would say, not a chance I would take liability (although the guy doesn't have insurance so he couldn't exactly be shouting what he likes, but if he did). Anyway seems like it's a case of two wrongs don't make a right. Move on, no one was hurt, and both of ye shouldn't have been on the road for the reasons you set out.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,486 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Tell I had a small car accident like 3 months ago . It was my fault this time .

So.. You're a provisional license holder , driving unaccompanied with no tax and you've had 2 accidents in the last 3 months.....and you are looking for advice?

Ok - How about this advice
    • Tax your Car
    • Stop Driving unaccompanied
    • Get some driving lessons

ANXIOUS wrote: »

Can i do anything about it now ? I know this person because I used to work with him for a short while . He didint remember me but i do remember him .
    I really dont know what i should do . Let it go or try to get some money to fix my far . There isnt much damage but still :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

ANXIOUS wrote: »

This is certainly not a true statement in Mayo anyway.

I have seen them come and indeed called them in the past. Just major damage to the vehicles and \ or questions over liability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Ok looking at it objectively

You were driving illegally - unaccompanied learner driver

You had no road tax - therefore the car should not have been on the road

The other driver was also driving illegally with no insurance

You had an accident on a roundabout which at the best of times can prove difficult to determine fault.

What do you want out of this?

You potentially face court time / prosecution on the of chance you 'might' get some money from the uninsured driver?

My advice is to walk away. Neither of you was hurt and you hopefully have learned a valuable lesson without getting caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Tell I had a small car accident like 3 months ago . It was my fault this time . The woman called gards i told them that yes i agree its my fault and i had no one driving with me on provisional . They didint say anything about this .

Forget about calling the guards, and don't go out unaccompanied until you know how to drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

chops018 wrote: »
    Wasn't your fault? You should not have been on the road without tax or with a full licence driver with you. If I crashed into you and you went on about ringing the Guards that's the first thing I would say, not a chance I would take liability (although the guy doesn't have insurance so he couldn't exactly be shouting what he likes, but if he did). Anyway seems like it's a case of two wrongs don't make a right. Move on, no one was hurt, and both of ye shouldn't have been on the road for the reasons you set out.

If you crashed into him you would be liable though. Just because someone is not fulfilling the terms of their licence doesn't mean it gives others free reign to crash into them with no consequences.

OSI wrote: »
    So you've been involved in 2 accidents, in 3 months while driving around on a provisional with no accompanying driver and no tax. Seriously, get the **** off the road. It's people like you that drive up mine and everyone elses insurance premiums because you can't be bothered to do things properly.

Haha your so funny :)

As i said above it wasnt my fault . Its always some-one elses fault . Its not my fault that most of the Irish drivers cant really drive . I am saying that because thats true and most of the people know it . Most of the people on the road in ireland dont use indicators and dont know what to do on round abouts .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

The legal stuff will be dealt with seperate from the claim. If the other driver is not insured then you would need to claim off MIBI to recover the repair costs.

You could (in theory anyway) be prosecuted for driving unaccompanied and without tax. The other driver would be done for no insurance. These are seperate issues.

By admitting fault at the scene you effectively voided your car insurance contract.

Insurance contracts state not to make any admission of liability - that is their perogerative.

As another poster said - don't drive unaccompanied.

And i only didint have had tax because my car was off the road .
    I got insurance and nct just no tax . your blaming me because only of no tax ? the other man had no insurance and i gess no tax either.

Haha your so funny :)

As i said above it wasnt my fault . Its always some-one elses fault . Its not my fault that most of the Irish drivers cant really drive . I am saying that because thats true and most of the people know it . Most of the people on the road in ireland dont use indicators and dont know what to do on round abouts .

Youre on a learners permit; in the eyes of the law you cant drive either. Come back when you have a full licenese to prove competancy and then you can pass comment on the level of other drivers.

gozunda wrote: »
    By admitting fault at the scene you effectively voided your car insurance contract.

Insurance contracts state not to make any admission of liability - that is their perogerative.

As another poster said - don't drive unaccompanied.

I cant drive with some-one else . All are busy and i need to use my car . I know how to drive it because i have already done thousands of killometers .
    And i personally think i am a safe driver .

djimi wrote: »
    Youre on a learners permit; in the eyes of the law you cant drive either. Come back when you have a full licenese to prove competancy and then you can pass comment on the level of other drivers.

In last week i was driving a lot and the amount of people not using indicators was huge . There was even people driving at night time with no lights .

I cant drive with some-one else . All are busy and i need to use my car . I know how to drive it because i have already done thousands of killometers .

That doesn't explain why you have no road tax either. - you were on the road and driving.

Grand so - if you are such an excellent driver DO YOUR DRIVING TEST!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

All i see here is 2 eejits cancelling each other out, you can both now suck it up and put it down to experience and actually cop on before you actually have an accident with someone with everything in order who will take you to the cleaners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I cant drive with some-one else . All are busy and i need to use my car .
    Tough, that rule is there to protect the rest of us.
    I know how to drive it because i have already done thousands of killometers .
    You've had two accidents in three months.
    This compounds the problem.

gozunda wrote: »
    That doesn't explain why you have no road tax either.

Grand so - if you are such an excellent driver DO YOUR DRIVING TEST!

I am doing it . I had to wait 6 months .

Two accidents in three months suggests otherwise.

Everyone thinks that they are a safe driver. If you were that safe and experienced you wouldnt still have a learners permit.

'You've had two accidents in three months.'

Because i was involwed in it doesent mean it was my fault .

BTW why do i need some one to drive with me . Do any of you think it makes a differance ? I know all the rules on the road .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭BroLo

'You've had two accidents in three months.'

Because i was involwed in it doesent mean it was my fault .

You admitted to one of them being your fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

This isn't going anywhere good. I think you're question has been answered OP