Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How were your school PE lessons?

• 10-12-2012 11:26am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Ours were rubbish. It was either cross country endless running for two hours, or being locked outside with a football. Used to get some mad injuries though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

In primary school there was no P.E. the teacher was fat and she said she didn't like exercise. :rolleyes:

Secoundary school P.E. was okay, we used to flunk class and smoke doobies and get an angry handy J..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭van_beano

cloud493 wrote: »
    Ours were rubbish. It was either cross country endless running for two hours, or being locked outside with a football. Used to get some mad injuries though.

Badminton or hockey! I mean who in their right mind plays either "sport"?

If it were raining we'd be put outside to play hockey, legs would be red from gettin smacked with the hockey sticks! I learnt, though, that hockey sticks felt harder than hurley sticks!

Oh how I miss the Secondary school PE curriculum :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

In primary school there was no P.E. the teacher was fat and she said she didn't like exercise. :rolleyes:

You had one teacher throughout primary school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

If it weren't for school PE I wouldn't be the sexy Olympic athlete I am today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭tomboylady

Primary school was usually an hour of football every few months. Secondary school was two hours per week. Sometimes it would be running, high jump, long jump, etc. Other times it would be football or basketball. Usually always indoors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Smoking FTW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

You had one teacher throughout primary school?

Two, one from junior infants to 2nd class. (them classes never done P.E.) The other teacher done P.E. once every 7 months if you're lucky..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

I often got out of PE by mentioning key words to the male teacher... "cramps" or "period" or even "fallopian tubes" usually worked a treat.

Poor fella never seemed to notice that all the girls in my class had their period at the same time... every week!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

It was a doss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭I_smell_fear

van_beano wrote: »
    Badminton or hockey! I mean who in their right mind plays either "sport"?

If it were raining we'd be put outside to play hockey, legs would be red from gettin smacked with the hockey sticks! I learnt, though, that hockey sticks felt harder than hurley sticks!

Hockey is a very underrated and under appreciated sport if you ask me. I grew up as a child being obsessed with hurling, thinking it was the best sport ever (well, I still do tbh). I then took up hockey in secondary school, once you play it you will appreciate the huge technical and physical requirements to the game. It definitely helped that I had a truly brilliant coach however. Also it really doesn't help if you have to play on those nasty grit/gravel pitches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Rubbish and biased towards the school football team....

It was pretty pathetic really.
    We had one 40 minute class of PE right in the middle of the day, twice a week. That meant we had to get into and out of our gym gear within that time. So really about 50 minutes of exercise a week.

I was really into sport so I did basketball, football, and badminton, as extra curriculur activities in school and Kenpo and Athletics outside of school so I was kept pretty fit despite the rubbish Physical Education they provided.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

in secondary school; if you played hurling then you got PE (only if you were good though), otherwise nothing.

In primary school it was hurling or swimming. Everyone went swimming at least, unlike hurling where only the players trained.
    Those of us on the swim team got propper training session, don't think that it was much PE for the rest, as it was just a mess around session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

The fellas who played on the football team were put out on the pitch to play while the rest of us were told to stay inside the basketball court and play with all the broken equipment and soft footballs that looked like somebody had been eating them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Rubbish - a total waste of time.
    Just running around a field or allowed kick a ball around while the teachers all got together, went off to a corner to smoke, drink (tea I presume) and had about an extra hour and half of sitting in their cars when the weather got cold, leaving us outside.

Today if I was Minister of Education, I would use the same time space allocated to PE, to be used to specific sport(s) with proper instruction by trained professionals - that or if the weather is bad, get them all inside and have them all learning first aid, etc!

It was a Christian Brothers School and they didn't give a crap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Had 2 hours of P.E a week from 1st to 3rd year. It got replace after a month in 5th year to a 2 hour honor maths class.
    In primary school it was once in a blue moon that we had a class that wasn't one of the main three and even when that happen P.E was rare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jogathon

I loved PE in primary and secondary. But I love sport, and maybe I was just more enthusiastic than most! But I do think that we did have a great PE teacher in secondary especially. I think that some of the girls didn't like it. We generally split up into 3 groups, one group outside playing soccer (I was usually the only girl that did that with all the lads), then another class of basketball and most of the girls used to do yoga upstairs in the balcony. So it was well organised so that everyone could choose something they liked and that they could get something out of the class.

Our male teacher was very upfront too about periods! No hope of being allowed to back out - he always said that it wasn't an injury so take part anyway. He had a great attitude, all the girls took part in every lesson because of this.

Mostly basketball in secondary, loved it, played it after school also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

Biggins wrote: »
    Rubbish - a total waste of time.
    Just running around a field or allowed kick a ball around while the teachers all got together, went off to a corner to smoke, drink (tea I presume) and had about an extra hour and half of sitting in their cars when the weather got cold, leaving us outside.

Today if I was Minister of Education, I would use the same time space allocated to PE, to be used to specific sport(s) with proper instruction by trained professionals - that or if the weather is bad, get them all inside and have them all learning first aid, etc!

It was a Christian Brothers School and they didn't give a crap!

I went to a CBS secondary school, and I was excused from PE, as I had gone to a special school beforehand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I did PE for GSCE as well, still pretty rubbish. Only thing that changed was the variety of stuff you could do. I remember part of the final grade, it was something to do with a sport, and almost the entire class chose swimming, cos sure its swimming grand.

And we went to a pool pretty far out from the school, proper professional like, deep. And both of the girls in the class came out with 'its our time of the month' and the teacher just went 'your either gonna jump in or i'm gonna throw you in :D

It was pretty dire growing up in a school in Raheny. The PE "teacher" - nah he did not even deserve that title - the PE guy either just made us run around or play football. Literally nothing else. He referred the entire games from a chair in one corner of the pitch which he only ever left to actually leave - which he did a lot and none of us knew where he went - though half the time he would come back before the end of the "game".

The only thing he was invariably always there for and never missed was walking around the dressing rooms and showers after the game while everyone got naked and showered. Though he usually was gone by the time there was very little left to - oversee - there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Thinking back, pretty good.

Always started with stretching from the top down.

Warm up jogs around the hall.

A Game of handball, Basket ball, football tennis, long jump, dodge ball etc.

Then a game of soccer for the last 20 mins.

Before doing a warm down stretch.

We were never taught the theory behind the stretches and all that, but to this day, i still stretch fully before exercise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

The only thing he was invariably always there for and never missed was walking around the dressing rooms and showers after the game while everyone got naked and showered. Though he usually was gone by the time there was very little left to - oversee - there.
    This!
    Our "teacher" would do this. Come in and stand in the doorway to the communal shower and watch a bunch of young lads showering. We weren't comfortable with it then and thinking back it was very iffy indeed. He was a creepy guy at the best of times!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Indoor football in the winter

outdoor football the rest of the time

pretty good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Indoor football in the winter

outdoor football the rest of the time

pretty good

This. A lot of the time boys and girls were split up with guys playing football and girls doing something else. Hated football so managed to get a doctors note to let me out of PE. Funny how now in college when I get a choice of clubs to join my allergies are no longer a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Indoor / outdoor soccer for two hours. Run the legs off ourselves and twas good exercise.

Swimming lessons at the local pool were a balls tho. Swimming laps of the pools for an hour and a half. If you were like me and couldn't swim more than five feet at the time it made for a terrifying session. Several lads would be plucked out of the pool with tiredness each week by the lifeguards. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Rasmus

I remember P.E. days being horrible and freezing. There was sometimes some hockey but mainly pointless rolling on mats in knicker-shorts. Square dancing or Ceili sometimes. Did my best to have a sick-note often.

PE in my school was crap. It more or less consisted of GAA/soccer for 2 hours every Wednesday. Complete joke. I would have much preferred rowing, basketball, tennis, etc. Narrow minded school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Pretty good up until 6th year. We did indoor hockey, soccer, basketball, rounders, a version of dodgeball, tennis, volleyball, badminton, high jump and a few more. We also had a swimming pool in the school so we went swimming regularly. In 6th year we had 2 or 3 teachers doing PE with us every week so we usually had a choice between soccer, basketball and a walk that usually ended up in the shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

We had a pedophile wannabe science teacher. He used to make us sit and listen to him rant on about something like "why the clouds are moving", or sometimes he used to make us figure out these rétarded riddles.
    We often used to get irritated and start roaring at him for some P.E, to which he would get angry and throw a tantrum before storming out and driving home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

State of the art gym :cool: and on nice days state of the art football field. State of the arts kiiiiiiid :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

An hour of football a week in Primary school (If we behaved ourselves) but to be fair we used to play football after school a couple of times a week under the supervision of a teacher.
    Secondary school was two classes of PE (1 hour 20 mins) once a week and we'd be doing all sorts of sports, rugby, GAA, tennis, basketball, road running :rolleyes:, gymnastics (ffs), volleyball, badminton and football. We rarely played football cos the teachers knew that's what we wanted to do more than anything.

We had an hour and a half lunch break so during those breaks there would be 5 a side leagues organised for each year on a particular day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I spent every P.E. class trying to come up with an excuse why I couldn't take part. There were only so many times I could say to the teacher "my mother didn't wash my tracksuit until this morning so it's still not dry". One day I told her I had fallen over in the changing room and hurt my leg. When she asked me to show her I told her I had hurt the area near my groin.

On the occasions when I couldn't get out of it I despised every minute of the class. I was rubbish at sport so everyone in the class would shout abuse at me, not that they needed much excuse to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,105 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

PE was rubbish in our secondary school. The weeks I did attend was either running around the city (city school. no grass for miles) where you'd slow up as soon as out of the school gates, or badminton. I remember being so desperate not to do PE one day, and having used the 'cramps' excuse enough times, that me and a friend rubbed Vicks nasal spray under our eyes hoping it would just make our eyes water. Lucky we werent blinded, it was bloody horrible!

I dont even remember PE in primary; all girls school so PE wasnt really for ladies :rolleyes: I do recall tho being made do irish dancing in 6th class twice to tick the PE curriculum box..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

Used to train 7 days a week back in Secondary School for Rowing so never bothered with P.E. Its was a choice between football or soccerball anyway. Both of which are my cures for insomnia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,772 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

We just played soccer for 40-50 mins. Was good craic. But for 5th and 6th year, I did applied maths as an optional extra, which meant no PE for me :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭movingsucks

Primary school was brilliant, always fun and games.
    Secondary was god awful. Standing on the corner of the court while the Basket Ball Bitches in the class would roar and scream at everyone.
    Didn't learn anything, didn't get any exercise, utterly pointless waste of resources.
    Got a bit better around Transition Year but then it was thankfully optional for 5th/6th years on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭Sar_Bear

I always hated P.E, until we started playing Dodgeball and I got to smash the ball off people's faces & not get in trouble :cool:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Was rubbish usually some stupid indoor hockey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭loalae

We didn't have P.E. until I was in transition year.

After 3 weeks of nobody (except me and 3 others) showing up the teacher gave up and brought us out for coffee and cake!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Football and occasional hurling outside in both pissing rain and freezing cold while the girlies got to stay inside.
    It was assumed that every young lad should love this.

Not I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Hated it, and tbh I never went, same as my mates there too, any excuse at all to get out of it and "tidy the equipment" aka talk aout random rubbish and pretend to look busy whenever anyone went by :D
    Loved PE in transition year though, no team sports which I hated and lots of proper exercise time sometimes wed do karate, hip hop, dance lessons etc, that was very awesome :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭RossyG

In secondary school there was 70mins of PE and the same amount of Games a week.

PE was track and field in the summer, gym in the winter and cross-country all year round. Wearing skimpy 1980s shorts, thin t-shirts and runners (called trainers, because this was England) and running over fields and along residential roads in January. What fun! And don't forget the obligatory jumping over the ditch both ways. Bliss!

Games was soccer (called football, obviously) in autumn, rugby in winter and cricket in summer. Cricket was the best because it was a doss. I was crap at football but didn't mind rugby. But those winter months were killers. Rugby shirts were warmer than t-shirts but not much. We'd return to the changing rooms with bright pink faces and legs, which you could could slap without feeling pain. Our hands were so cold it was sometimes difficult to do up buttons and knot ties even after a warm shower.

No paedos here; the teachers would hide around the corner rather hang out with naked jail-bait.

The words teacher, coaching and lessons seemed inappropriate, though. Nothing was taught; nothing was learnt. You were presumed to already know the rules of all the sports or how to throw a javelin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,089 ✭✭✭keelanj69

I was so earth shakingly ****e at sport in secondary school. Really didnt want to get involved. To combat this the p.e teacher made it compulsory for my team to pass it to me at least once before they could score. And if i managed to score it was worth seven goals.

Good times. Good times :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Hated, hated, HATED them.

So much so that until very recently, I was actually dead convinced I hated sport altogether.
    It's only now, some 20 years out of school, that I've started doing sport again, and to my unending surprise I kind of like it.

There's a special place in hell for PE teachers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,929 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

In primary school, we used to go down to the local GAA pitch every Thursday morning for hurling and football training. Epic football matches at big break too. Those were the days. Now the world has gone so PC and safety conscious that since my old primary school got a renovation, it looks like a prison with a massive fence surrounding it, and the pupils aren't even allowed run around the playground at lunch time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭RossyG

Now the world has gone so PC and safety conscious that since my old primary school got a renovation, it looks like a prison with a massive fence surrounding it, and the pupils aren't even allowed run around the playground at lunch time.

I think that's just safety conscious; nothing really to do with PC.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

was lucky enough to be on the basketball and handball team
    so my life in school regards to pe and missing classes was deadly :D in primary though was ****e the teacher would always **** off to play golf while we played footballl everytime , ya get fed up of it after 20 times in a row :L