Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hedge cutting? How much

• 07-12-2012 10:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭

Lads how much is the going rate per hour for Hedgecutting. My man is charging 35 euro per hour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭gerico

same rate here (east limerick)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭rs8

€40 here meath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ZETOR_IS_BETTER

€40 with me too

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

How tall are these hedges and how long it take? I cut my own with a hired extended hedgecutter for 30 quid. How could ye pay someone that price?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

€40 plus vat or €35 cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ZETOR_IS_BETTER

areyawell wrote: »
    How tall are these hedges and how long it take? I cut my own with a hired extended hedgecutter for 30 quid. How could ye pay someone that price?

Once every three years with me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

areyawell wrote: »

If you were to put that 30 through the books, allow a stamp, holiday pay, sick days, depreciation on machines, diesel, breaks and the pure torture of going round collecting money and not even counting the jobs he doesnt get paid for you will find that the hedge cutter is doing you a favour. a shelf stacker in lidl you will find earns more per hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Insp. Harry Callahan

Sounds very expensive, 20 euro paying here per hour in Donegal:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

The hourly rate is irrelevant its how much is done for that hour, i have been undercut on an hourly rate one instance of this was for a weeks work an other contractor was €5/hr cheaper but took 10days to do what i would do in 5/6days.

Lads round here charging €40 for trimmer
    €50+ for saw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

td5man wrote: »
    The hourly rate is irrelevant its how much is done for that hour, i have been undercut on an hourly rate one instance of this was for a weeks work an other contractor was €5/hr cheaper but took 10days to do what i would do in 5/6days.

Was treated to this little lesson myself last year. Had a lad in on a hedgecutter and could not be happier with the job he did.

Was faster, neater and overall cheaper than the lad the year before. Dont think people realise the variation between operators on the hedgecutter. I definitely didnt.

Was treated to this little lesson myself last year. Had a lad in on a hedgecutter and could not be happier with the job he did.

Was faster, neater and overall cheaper than the lad the year before. Dont think people realise the variation between operators on the hedgecutter. I definitely didnt.
    Talking to a smart arse plant contractor lately and one of his comments was that "you wouldnt want to be working a machine to hard or fast with the scarcity of work and the price of diesel".

Anyone getting hedges cut with a digger fitted with a sawhead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Had a good bit of digger work done this year. All prices were by the job not the hour. If you haven't time to sit on a fella paying by the hour can be wild expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 CAtocork

20 euro/hr!!!!!
    I have a hedge cutter, a mconnell p60 and a john deere 6810.
    At 20 euro/hr I figure I'd be better off just drinking beer because it would cost less than what I'd loose working.
    Diesel alone at 10 litres/hr is 9 euro/hr.
    Never mind the running costs and payments on the machine. There is an idiot in every village.
    I'm getting 40/hr for my rig and turning away work. $100 minimum for home owners. You'll cut a lot of hedge in an hour for a measly 40 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭hedgecutting eddie

CAtocork wrote: »
    20 euro/hr!!!!!
    I have a hedge cutter, a mconnell p60 and a john deere 6810.
    At 20 euro/hr I figure I'd be better off just drinking beer because it would cost less than what I'd loose working.
    Diesel alone at 10 litres/hr is 9 euro/hr.
    Never mind the running costs and payments on the machine. There is an idiot in every village.
    I'm getting 40/hr for my rig and turning away work. $100 minimum for home owners. You'll cut a lot of hedge in an hour for a measly 40 euro.

Totally agree with every thing you hav just said im €40 per hr 2

My advice to anyone hiring a hedge cutter. Hire an owner operator. An owner op will give you the best value as he wants the job again next year.

IMG_2231.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭rs8

distance no object :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Curious Geroge

Galway: €25 per hour between trimming, cutting w/ saw and pulling a couple of dead trees. Did a nice tidy job, collected the lot and pilled it for burning too.

I always wondered Galway had such high immigration. I used to know lads from Galway in SF that would not come to work for less than US$30/hr. They are either desperate for work in Galway or love to work for free

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

CAtocork wrote: »
    I always wondered Galway had such high immigration. I used to know lads from Galway in SF that would not come to work for less than US$30/hr. They are either desperate for work in Galway or love to work for free

In Sinn Fein? Jesus, the country must be ****ed if they are trading in US dollars now...

:D:D:D:D

(just kidding) ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Get that man a calculator for Jaysus sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

We're paying 40 an hour too for the flail, I think he charges a few euro more for the saw, does good tidy work and will come back with the road sweeper to clean up if you want. I reckon he should get a front linkage for it and save a load of hassle