Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2012 Awards - Poster of the Year

• 07-12-2012 1:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭

Younganne

TRR

Run_Forest_Run RunForestRun

Pageant Messiah

Krusty_Clown

Ecoli

Clearlier

Claralara

2012 Poster of the Year was 103 votes

Younganne
    0% 0 votes
    TRR
    14% 15 votes
    Run_Forest_Run
    6% 7 votes
    Pageant Messiah
    2% 3 votes
    Krusty_Clown
    6% 7 votes
    Ecoli
    38% 40 votes
    Clearlier
    28% 29 votes
    Claralara
    1% 2 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

reminder - The poll threads will be open for comments BUT I will be deleting any comments that talk down nominated posters or their performances/logs/photos. It is okay to say "I think Jessica Ennis should win the award because her victory was so convincing and she performed so well even in her weaker events". It is not okay to say, "I think Ennis should win because Farah didn't really run well and he was just lucky that the race tactics suited him". Clear? I will mod this with a hammer. Boardsies have no control over whether they are nominated or not, so if they are put in the spotlight like this they shouldn't be criticised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Among the nominees here it is not even a contest.

For his entertaining, insightful and informative race reports, general all round advice and knowledge of the sport (and eagerness to learn about aspects which he is less informed on), and his willingness to move out of his comfort zone and get out there and race different distances it is Krusty by a street here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭endswell

i learned most from clearlier and ecoli, went for clearlier in the end

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

I'm going to vote for myself because I'm awesome and the rest are a shower of gits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭Kurt Godel

Pisco Sour wrote: »
    Among the nominees here it is not even a contest.

Don't know if its quite as clear-cut as that! He might be too young to have the vote himself, but ecoli seems to be quietly providing training info to half the forum. Plus he was shamelessly robbed of this award last year by brown envelopes and an orchestrated dirty tricks campaign.

So for all that, and for being an all round nice guy, he's got my vote. (Although I was tempted to give it to TRR just to pis$ him off;))

FWIW Ray- Polls seem to be public? Don't know what sort of banana republic you're running these days, but shouldn't there be an illusion of Tabellariae Leges?;) It would be unkind to TRR to have everyone see his one solitary vote when all is said and done.

aren't they always?
    **** :o

fixed?

RayCun wrote: »
    aren't they always?
    **** :o

Back in The Good Old Days they always used by private, to protect blushes. Its fine being nominated against your will; not so fine to have it obvious that no-one voted for you. Think there's still a facility to make 'em private.

(Not that I'm back-seat modding or anything...:pac:)

*Edit- yup, seem fixed now, nice one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Kurt Godel wrote: »
    Don't know if its quite as clear-cut as that! He might be too young to have the vote himself, but ecoli seems to be quietly providing training info to half the forum. Plus he was shamelessly robbed of this award last year by brown envelopes and an orchestrated dirty tricks campaign.

Agreed.

For the 60 threads started and over 1600 posts, incluing the most useful from Jan 1st with middle distance training schedules, I vote ecoli

Besides the clown can't win every poll, every year.

dna_leri wrote: »

pathos2.jpg

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

TRR wrote: »
    I'm going to vote for myself because I'm awesome and the rest are a shower of gits

I pitied you so I was going to vote for you.

Then Ray made the polls private so I didn't care anymore. You would have been my 8th choice though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

dna_leri wrote: »
    Agreed.

For the 60 threads started and over 1600 posts, incluing the most useful from Jan 1st with middle distance training schedules, I vote ecoli

Wow when you put it like that...... I really need to get a life :D

Couldnt be giving the clown another vote he already has the ageist votes on his side :P

I pitied you so I was going to vote for you.

Then Ray made the polls private so I didn't care anymore. You would have been my 8th choice though.

I don't need your pity. I have my own vote and confidence in one's self is all I need. Anyway I'm a pretty big deal and I have a lot of time for myself so hurrah for me. Besides I'm expecting to romp home so I won't miss your vote :D

sorry guys, a bit of confusion on the Tom Hanks front, correct nomination above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Can I vote again - I thought it said poser of the year :D

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Can I vote again - I thought it said poser of the year :D

If you've voted for me than no. I'll actually accept any award. I'm like a fat auld one in the womins mini marathon, in it for the glory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Is it going to be fixed like x-factor :)

rom wrote: »
    Is it going to be fixed like x-factor :)

Yes and worryingly there is less talent here compared to the X factor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Infrequent poster but voted ecoli as he gave some great advice during the year and always enjoy his posts..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Ecoli is the man for me! For the reasons I could just copy and paste dna_leri's post!

Just realised my friend runforestrun was nominated (not be me I might add), sorry man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Don't know when the nominations were done as i haven't been on for a few days, but i have to admit alot of my posts, especially in the Novice thread were just information that i received before from other people.

My vote goes to Ecoli as his posts always are full of information and if you ask a question you get a comprehensive answer and his tips and training are excellent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

pconn062 wrote: »
    Ecoli is the man for me! For the reasons I could just copy and paste dna_leri's post!

Just realised my friend runforestrun was nominated (not be me I might add), sorry man!

To be honest, I'm shocked that I was even nominated. I wouldn't be expecting many votes so I'd say it's highly unlikely your vote will be pivotal to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭woodchopper

To many on this forum it may come as no surprise or perhaps come with great distain for others who believed in the hype of Ecoli, but the young man has been getting advice regularly by the old man himself Woodchopper. So taking this into consideration I have given my vote to Ecoli and as such a vote for myself. So for all you haters out there and there are many (all beginning with a T for some reason) a vote for Ecoli is a vote for Woodchopper as poster of the year.

Yours in Sport
    Woodchopper

To many on this forum it may come as no surprise or perhaps come with great distain for others who believed in the hype of Ecoli, but the young man has been getting advice regularly by the old man himself Woodchopper. So taking this into consideration I have given my vote to Ecoli and as such a vote for myself. So for all you haters out there and there are many (all beginning with a T for some reason) a vote for Ecoli is a vote for Woodchopper as poster of the year.

Yours in Sport
    Woodchopper

Another post to confirm that indeed there should be a troll of the year award!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭woodchopper

pconn062 wrote: »
    Another post to confirm that indeed there should be a troll of the year award!

There is no need for a poll when there is a clear winner

Yours in Sport
    Woodchopper

Boards awards remind me of those elections they would have back in secondary school, complete popularity contests.

3/10, you should really leave it to the masters like woodchopper.

Is that why you win feck all?

Yours in Sport
    Woodchopper

Ha ha. Post of the year right there. You're a gas fecker woodie

Is that why you win feck all?

Unquestionably. But to quote my former nemesis Village Runner "all I am is being honest".

Having said that, I'd be embarrassed to pick up an e-ward with a 57/58. There's about 40 lads every week in my region alone who run faster than that. Knock 13 seconds off my 400m time and then we'll start considering awards. I was at the Zatopek 10km race last night and it was a real eye opener. The guy who finished last snuck under 32 minutes by the skin of his teeth. He was lapped 3 times by the winner. Not once. Not twice. But three times. And not far from a fourth. Why on earth are we dishing out awards for stuff like that? He would move past him as if he was standing still. The difference in form between the two was astonishing. Certainly not knocking a 32 minute run but is it really as deserving of the flattery that you see here?

Being honest the only award here which has any credibility is the Race Report of the Year award, because that has got more to do with command of the English language rather than athletic performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

..... Being honest the only award here which has any credibility is the Race Report of the Year award, because that has got more to do with command of the English language rather than athletic performance.

These are awards organised by an online community of runners to recognise the performances, reports, contributions and experiences of that community. I don't think the organisers are expecting international recognition for their awards.

I'm pretty sure David Rudisha will understand if he misses out this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Why on earth are we dishing out awards for stuff like that?

Because not everyone has it in him/her to be a world class runner, but plenty of other folk are still putting in a decent amount of effort and training, and there's nothing wrong with a bit of acknowledgement.

Unquestionably. But to quote my former nemesis Village Runner "all I am is being honest".

Having said that, I'd be embarrassed to pick up an e-ward with a 57/58. There's about 40 lads every week in my region alone who run faster than that. Knock 13 seconds off my 400m time and then we'll start considering awards. I was at the Zatopek 10km race last night and it was a real eye opener. The guy who finished last snuck under 32 minutes by the skin of his teeth. He was lapped 3 times by the winner. Not once. Not twice. But three times. And not far from a fourth. Why on earth are we dishing out awards for stuff like that? He would move past him as if he was standing still. The difference in form between the two was astonishing. Certainly not knocking a 32 minute run but is it really as deserving of the flattery that you see here?

Being honest the only award here which has any credibility is the Race Report of the Year award, because that has got more to do with command of the English language rather than athletic performance.

Are you for real? You do realise we are not the IAAF don't you. If those guys who you mentioned in your region posted here they would be congratulated on their performances and maybe put up for the awards but they don't post here. And I'd like to point out that a good performance does not necessarily mean a lightening quick time or a top 3 finish. A Boards.ie AR Performance is relative to one's self, so if you start out as a 16 stone rugby player, shed 4 stone and run 11 seconds for 100 metres that's a great performance and in our little boards would that could get one of our meaningless little awards.

You are forever bitching about this forum, we are forever bitching back at you. Maybe it's time for you to find a forum that better suits your idiosyncrasies! You aren't going to change the opinions of the masses and we couldn't be bothered changing yours. As I said before your posts are like a broken record. I 'm off to find that ignore poster button!

Are you for real? You do realise we are not the IAAF don't you. If those guys who you mentioned in your region posted here they would be congratulated on their performances and maybe put up for the awards but they don't post here. And I'd like to point out that a good performance does not necessarily mean a lightening quick time or a top 3 finish. A Boards.ie AR Performance is relative to one's self, so if you start out as a 16 stone rugby player, shed 4 stone and run 11 seconds for 100 metres that's a great performance and in our little boards would that could get one of our meaningless little awards.

You are forever bitching about this forum, we are forever bitching back at you. Maybe it's time for you to find a forum that better suits your idiosyncrasies! You aren't going to change the opinions of the masses and we couldn't be bothered changing yours. As I said before your posts are like a broken record. I 'm off to find that ignore poster button!

Relax! Seriously. A bit of disagreement is ok, although I'm not sure there was any need to get personal about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Yours in Sport
    Woodchopper

Thought you were ecoli or his old man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

It's actually embarrassing to be nominated alongside such experienced and respected posters here. :o

All I did was turn up fat and unfit - and end the year leaner (still a bit fat) and reasonably fit if you don't include a banjaxed leg in the equation.

I'm happy to concede the election and transfer my I'm sure quite limited votes to the highest bidder ;)

In all seriousness though. Thans to anyone who nominated or votes for me on this. It's put a great smile on my face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

What are you talking about? Is 'Photo of the year' about athletic performance? Thread of the year? Poster of the year?

The only one about athletic achievement in any way is 'Performance of the year' and that seems to be about people performing to their own standards on the day.

I've never nominated or voted in them any year but I am really struggling to see why you are taking an issue with them.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

If that were true, I would win all the awards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Vote for Pedro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Relax! Seriously. A bit of disagreement is ok, although I'm not sure there was any need to get personal about it.

Theres a bit of disagreement......then theres what you do. Honestly I think you're oblivous and you dont even see it, which isnt such a good thing for you.
    rom wrote: »
    Vote for Pedro.

Do the chickens have large Talons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭notsofast

Season of good will, mmmmm