Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An empty Dail , Unprofessional Deputies and a hopeless Ceann Comhairle

• 07-12-2012 12:22PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭

Honestly a day after the budget , the Dáil is mostly empty aside from the childish morons who're just attending to disrupt the other side

Ming was right , it is a farce that he is not allowed to make his point and receive even a modicum of respect from the other TDs ! Regardless of what the opposition felt of his point they should act with dignity and respect towards other members and to citizens .

Personally I feel his point was trivial and doesn't matter and shouldn't really be discussed but the reactions of the other members and that Ceann Comhairle with his hopelessly high pitched voice and how he then suspends the sitting , hopeless man with a sever lack of authority , is just shameful .

Why do people vote these muppets into government , it's like a secondary school debate ! Out of turn comments , shoddy clothes , breaking voices and meaningless discussions !

My main point was to show how unprofessional and childish our TDs act in the Dail . Not whether Mings point was valid for discussion in the Dail !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Can't hear what's being said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Personally I feel his point was trivial and doesn't matter

You know those teenagers who have been committing suicide due to bullying and teasing.......
    Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Can't hear what's being said.

Better vid here.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭LostCorkGuy

mikom wrote: »
    You know those teenagers who have been committing suicide due to bullying.......

Better vid here.........

The children are being bullied because of the fathers appearance ? That is an issue for the School , parents and possibly the gardai . If he was so concerned about his children's welfare he could easily sharpen up his image a bit , but it is not an issue to be discussed in the Dail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Why do people vote these muppets into government , it's like a secondary school debate ! Out of turn comments , shoddy clothes , breaking voices and meaningless discussions !
    I think that he did have a valid point. If a woman got that abuse or was wolf whistled at for wearing a short skirt it would not be allowed.
    I think the ceann comhairle behaved disgracefully and should have ejected the hecklers rather than the deputy making a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Peanut2011

It goes to show you that if you are not one of the "boys" you will not receive any respect in there. I don't particularly have to agree with what he is saying or if he should or should not be there but if he was elected he should have the right to his Dáil speaking time.

I also believe unless he is breaking a house rule by not wearing the suite and shirt no one in there has any right to criticize him on that especially in the media.

The children are being bullied because of the fathers appearance ?

And what happened in the Dail when Ming got to his feet?
    How did our leaders react?
    Are you seeing the problem yet?

A new kid moves to a school wearing addidas while the settled in kids wear Nike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Dicky Pride

I'd imagine it costs quite a lot to suit up on a daily basis. Mind you there is a line: if he wants to dress like a fisherman, he should go fishing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

The children are being bullied because of the fathers appearance ? That is an issue for the School , parents and possibly the gardai . If he was so concerned about his children's welfare he could easily sharpen up his image a bit , but it is not an issue to be discussed in the Dail
    I think the wider point is that he is being bullied. Usually workplace bullying is a cop-out but here he was taking them on and showing the effect it has had on himself and his family.

And what happened in the Dail when Ming got to his feet?
    How did our leaders react?
    Are you seeing the problem yet?

My entire point was about the lack of respect and order in the dail , not just ming's comments , you're only focusing on one point in my post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

do TD's claim their suits back as expenses? bet they do.

My entire point was about the lack of respect and order in the dail , not just ming's comments , you're only focusing on one point in my post

Well it is the shittest point to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The Bundestag makes the big decisions now

this Dublin Zoo monkey house style pantomime has no real power anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

krudler wrote: »
    do TD's claim their suits back as expenses? bet they do.

Not sure if there is a specific one but they get plenty, I think Ming may even get the party leaders allowance through some anomaly in the system.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Well it is the shittest point to be fair.

I'm sorry but the link to him getting heckled in the dail has the most tenuous link to his children getting bullied , how many kids do you think pay attention to politics !
    he should be bringing that point up in his school meetings not in the dail , it achieves nothing there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭Zab

From what he was saying the implication is that TDs are making comments in the press about his clothing, and that's why it's making the press and subsequently his children's classmates. It's not the press on their own, which wouldn't be an issue for the Dail. I'd tend to agree with him, they should stfu about the clothing in the Dail. Wallace is always pretty scruffy looking but that's how he was elected.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Honestly a day after the budget , the Dáil is mostly empty aside from the childish morons who're just attending to disrupt the other side

Ming was right , it is a farce that he is not allowed to make his point and receive even a modicum of respect from the other TDs ! Regardless of what the opposition felt of his point they should act with dignity and respect towards other members and to citizens .

Personally I feel his point was trivial and doesn't matter and shouldn't really be discussed but the reactions of the other members and that Ceann Comhairle with his hopelessly high pitched voice and how he then suspends the sitting , hopeless man with a sever lack of authority , is just shameful .

Its not so much that Mings point was trivial but that he was objecting to such lengths being gone to on a trivial matter (dress code) the day after the budget

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

I'd imagine it costs quite a lot to suit up on a daily basis. Mind you there is a line: if he wants to dress like a fisherman, he should go fishing.

well that line is a load of balls. if he wants to dress like a fisherman then he should dress like a fisherman. there doesnt need to be another reason. the way he dresses wont affect his work in the dail or wherever he is so its nonsense.

by the way im not attacking you just that line.

I'm sorry but the link to him getting heckled in the dail has the most tenuous link to his children getting bullied , how many kids do you think pay attention to politics !

How many kids have mouthy older siblings, parents, etc.
    Also, i would not underestimate childrens capacity to absorb everything going on around them.
    They manage youtube quite well I hear.

he should be bringing that point up in his school meetings not in the dail , it achieves nothing there

We are discussing it on Irelands largest message board, are we not?
    It may make some people stop and think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

does anyone really give a sh1t about how TD's dress? wearing a suit doesn't make you any more competent.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

His very point..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

When they all started shouting over him, Ming should have just sat down and given them a stern look before saying:

"You know, I can wait just as long as ye can... And if I don't make my point, no one's going up the town at lunch time!"

Pack of children the lot of them. Being paid 100k a year to sit there and act with less respect than bloody children in baby infants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭loveisdivine

I completely agree with Ming. I couldnt give a flying f*ck what they wear, all I care about is them doing their job properly.
    If you're doing a terrible job, it doesnt matter how smart you look.

Ming's whole point is that how people dress shouldnt be an issue in politics! Thats why he is asking them to stop talking about it. Gossiping to the media about what someone is wearing is childish in the extreme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

If he thinks that's bad heckling you should see what MPs in the House of Commons have to endure.

All I heard was pathetic whining, from the CC and TDs - including Ming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

Peanut2011 wrote: »
    It goes to show you that if you are not one of the "boys" you will not receive any respect in there. I don't particularly have to agree with what he is saying or if he should or should not be there but if he was elected he should have the right to his Dáil speaking time.
    No, they were having a vote on a Bill (the kind of thing TDs are supposed to do) but Ming interrupted everything to bring up a personal issue (which had nothing to do with the current business being discussed) and have a petty spat with the Ceann Comhairle. And the interruption was not directly relating to a Dail dress code (or any Dail business), it was relating to Mings interpretation of an interview with Sean Barrett which appeared in a newspaper, which is not an issue for the Dail

Then Ming bitches that he isnt allowed to speak and isnt being respected - bit rich when Ming interrupted a vote on an ammendment to a Bill first. In fairness to Barrett, he allowed Ming to talk, there is no excuse for the actions of the TDs who then heckled Ming but it was Ming who caused the first disruption. If Ming has a personal issue with another TD, he should bring that up with that TD outside of the Dail, instead of airing dirty laundry in the national parliament.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Whatever about the importance of the point, I can understand his side of it and I can understand that it's trivial to bring up in the Dail in the wake of the budget. However, he could have made his point in around a quarter of the time it took without all the childish roaring and shouting. One of the worst culprits of this I had noticed from budget day is Paul Kehoe, who funnily enough is also the Government Chief Whip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

F*ck Sean Barrett. I'm ashamed to say that he got my number 4 at the last election. He certainly won't be getting it ever again, he's been an absolute disgrace of a Ceann Comhairle.

The CC should come from the opposition. Never have I been more certain of this, Barrett is hopelessly biased and offers absolutely no possibility of a fair debate in the chamber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Goldenjohn

F*ck Sean Barrett. I'm ashamed to say that he got my number 4 at the last election. He certainly won't be getting it ever again, he's been an absolute disgrace of a Ceann Comhairle.

The CC should come from the opposition. Never have I been more certain of this, Barrett is hopelessly biased and offers absolutely no possibility of a fair debate in the chamber.

Don't think he'll be too worried he automatically gets into the next dail as he was cc in this dail. Looks old enough to retire on his big fat pension after that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

It's the same bullying behaviour we've seen though-out the years in the Dail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Peanut2011

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    No, they were having a vote on a Bill (the kind of thing TDs are supposed to do) but Ming interrupted everything to bring up a personal issue (which had nothing to do with the current business being discussed) and have a petty spat with the Ceann Comhairle. And the interruption was not directly relating to a Dail dress code (or any Dail business), it was relating to Mings interpretation of an interview with Sean Barrett which appeared in a newspaper, which is not an issue for the Dail

Then Ming bitches that he isnt allowed to speak and isnt being respected - bit rich when Ming interrupted a vote on an ammendment to a Bill first. In fairness to Barrett, he allowed Ming to talk, there is no excuse for the actions of the TDs who then heckled Ming but it was Ming who caused the first disruption. If Ming has a personal issue with another TD, he should bring that up with that TD outside of the Dail, instead of airing dirty laundry in the national parliament.

I agree partially with what you are saying as I said weather Ming had a good point or not regardless. However, when Ceann Comhairle who should be at the top of the queue when it comes to the behaving in the Dáil starts singling out TD's and badmouthing them in the press he needs to be brought to question on the same and answer to all of them there. I think Ming was right to bring that up with him, not sure if it was the right time or if he would have been given time to do so some other occasion. After all, when Ming previously went to talk to him off the Dáil floor he complained of bullying and harassment....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 809 ✭✭✭frankosw

"Were ya in yer pajamas?"

*laughter*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

Peanut2011 wrote: »
    I agree partially with what you are saying as I said weather Ming had a good point or not regardless. However, when Ceann Comhairle who should be at the top of the queue when it comes to the behaving in the Dáil starts singling out TD's and badmouthing them in the press he needs to be brought to question on the same and answer to all of them there. I think Ming was right to bring that up with him, not sure if it was the right time or if he would have been given time to do so some other occasion. After all, when Ming previously went to talk to him off the Dáil floor he complained of bullying and harassment....
    Read the article which Ming took offence to; http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ceann-comhairle-tells-ming-and-mick-dress-to-impress-in-the-dail-3317480.html
    "What we were saying in our recommendations was a jacket and a tailored shirt, in other words a collar, and there would be no denims," he said. Mr Barrett said he would like a free vote on a Dail dress code instead of TDs being whipped into line. "There doesn't need to be any whip on it. Everybody goes up and votes whatever way they feel. Some members disagree about whether you should wear a jacket," he said. The only current rule is that members should dress "respecting the dignity" of Leinster House, but there are no specifics. However, a source on the Dail's cross-party Committee on Procedure and Privileges confirmed there are no plans to bring in a dress code due to the belief that it would be impossible to enforce.
    No "badmouthing" other TDs there, Barrett simply expressed his opinion, but there are no plans to introduce a dress code.

Then Ming goes off on one because his children are being bullied because of his appearance (which has nothing to do with Barrett) and insinuates that the bullying is as a result of that article, as if primary school children use interviews with politicians in the Irish Independent as the basis for bullying others. It has nothing to do with Barrett and certainly should not be used as an excuse to interrupt a sitting of the national parliament. Ming is just looking for attention and trying to appear downtrodden by the government.

Barrett, in fairness to him, actually gave Ming the chance to voice his concerns. I agree that the behaviour of some other TDs when Ming tried to talk was disgraceful and would not be acceptable from a 10 year old never mind a national politician, but it all started with Ming hijacking the Dail so I have no sympathy for him. I do have sympathy for Mings children if they are being bullied but that is a matter for the Flanagans, the bullies and their parents and the school, not Sean Barrett or the Dail.