Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cube Agree Gtc Sl or Cube Litening Super HPC Pro

• 07-12-2012 11:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14

Hi! I am purchasing a new bike and stuck between two options. Both are Cube bikes. I have around three grand to spend, or maybe a little more at a stretch. My first choice is a Cube Agree GTC SL, which is the option up from the Cube Agree GTC Race. I was going to upgrade the wheels to fulcrum racing zeros, but they are not available until next year. I then started thinking about the Cube litening Super HPC Pro, which is much lighter, but I will not have much left to upgrade the wheels.
    All bikes share the same DT Swiss CSW RA 1.0 wheels. I don't really know how good they are and cannot find reviews about their pro's and con's. I would really appreciate some feedback, as I am going mainly on what I have read. I understand that the Fulcrums are brilliant wheels, but the Cube Litening is brilliant also, not to say that the Cube Agree Gtc Sl isn't.
    My understanding is that it comes down to the lesser bike with better wheel upgrade, or the better bike with stock wheels, as I cannot afford a decent wheel upgrade on the Cube Litening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Nice dilemma! Are you looking at 2013 models? Cos you'll get some good deals on 2012 models on the German sites currently

Have GTC Race myself with Fulcrum Racing 3s. How about the GTC Race with Ultegra DI2 and you'd still be able to upgrade the wheels, saw them for about 2,400 on one of the German sites, think that's what I'd do in your spot

http://www.mhw-bike.com/sale/racing-bike/654/?c=199

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Cond0r

I have the Agree GTC Pro (2012), which also has those wheels. They seem fine, but certainly are not high-end. What I discovered the other day though, was that they have a maximum pressure rating of (IIRC) 9.0 bar listed on the side. I'm not sure if this is usual, but it's lower than the 10.0 bar that the Schwalbe Ultremo ZX tyres are rated for.

Something also worth considering is that the Litening is actually a different and probably much better frame. If you can afford the Litening, I'd be going for that and upgrade the wheels later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Fenton l

Is it Eric? Thanks for your response. I am going for a 2013 and will need to buy local because of the cycle to work scheme. It is set up and ready to go, I just have to make up my mind. How do you find the fulcrum 3's. I was going to go for a 2012 Gtc Race a few months ago, but could not get one as they were sold out. They were very popular and highly regarded. found out afterwards that there were problems with the Easton Ea 30 wheels, so you picked a worthy upgrade. Easton have been dropped by Cube on all models this bar the Peloton. I don't really know anything about the DI2 gearing either, although their reviews have been favourable. I would go for the Litening hands down if i knew something about the Dt Swiss wheels. It only weighs 7.2 kgs I could also opt for that option and the Fulcrum racing 3's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Don't know much about the bikes but in general you're usually best investing in the best frame you can afford. Worry about wheels some time in the future.

I have racing zeroes and they are lovely wheels but they're probably not for everyday. You will always have a use for the stock wheels. For future reference, German sites usually have good deals on the Fulcrums, particularly if you don't mind buying models from previous years.

Thanks for your post. You are right, the frame on the Litening is a few hundred grams lighter and apparently stiffer. I also hear what you are saying about the wheels. I could probably stretch to the fulcrum racing 3's right now, but would they be much better than the stock DT Swiss wheels. My knowledge on wheels is poor enough, and if I upgrade now, the guy in the shop said that I could trade the Dt Swiss wheels against an upgrade. The problem is that we don't know how much the Dt Swiss wheels are worth.

Googling yields this discussion about the wheels, with a guesstimate on value:
    http://www.bikeradar.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=12854008&p=17616600

Thanks for the post. The decision is made then. I will go for the Litening and upgrade the wheels at a later date. I thought that the racing Zero's could be used for all occasions. They are a sexy wheel. I read one report somewhere that a guy in London had over 10,000 miles done on a pair of zero's. He commutes daily by bike in london and thought that they were an outstanding wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Fenton l wrote: »
    Is it Eric? Thanks for your response. I am going for a 2013 and will need to buy local because of the cycle to work scheme. It is set up and ready to go, I just have to make up my mind. How do you find the fulcrum 3's. I was going to go for a 2012 Gtc Race a few months ago, but could not get one as they were sold out. They were very popular and highly regarded. found out afterwards that there were problems with the Easton Ea 30 wheels, so you picked a worthy upgrade. Easton have been dropped by Cube on all models this bar the Peloton. I don't really know anything about the DI2 gearing either, although their reviews have been favourable. I would go for the Litening hands down if i knew something about the Dt Swiss wheels. It only weighs 7.2 kgs I could also opt for that option and the Fulcrum racing 3's.

Hey Fenton, yep I find the Fulcrum 3s a nice wheel, no problems, touch wood... I never had a problem with the EA30's other than getting Michelin tyres on and off them and they provided me with a nice little upgrade for my Giant Defy winter bike. I got my 2011 Cube from Germany early this year, they have got very popular and seem to sell out of shops here quickly and can't be got. I got mine from the site provided above and I think also Bike-discount.de do them but as you say, you have to buy local....best of luck with your new ride

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

I thought that the racing Zero's could be used for all occasions. They are a sexy wheel. I read one report somewhere that a guy in London had over 10,000 miles done on a pair of zero's. He commutes daily by bike in london and thought that they were an outstanding wheel.

They are an 'all round' (pardon the pun) wheel alright but they are a bit too nice for 12 month use in my view. I think you can always do with a spare set of wheels.

I have not seen the fulcrums in the flesh, just through reviews online and on youtube. They would probably look much better in the flesh. One more question is ye don't mind. Do ye think that the Fulcrum racing 3's would be a decent upgrade to the DT Swiss that come standard on the Cube bikes. I think I could stretch to them.

Hey guys! Just a quick note to say I Picked up my new bike today.. Thanks for the assistance with making the right choice. Beautiful bike and extremely light..I am delighted with the purchase...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭burger1979

Fenton,

i am thinking of buying a GTC SLT. Can i ask why you went for the Cube? I am torn between that, a Giant Defy, and a Lapierre Xelius 200. Also have you priced the wheel upgrade?

thanks,

burger

Hey Burger!,
    I wanted to upgrade my bike last summer, so sold my bike and visited a few shops. The guy in my local shop raved about cube bikes, so I started to read some reviews. I was considering a second hand giant carbon at one stage, but kept coming back to the cubes. The guy in the bike shop actually purchased a cube for himself at the time of my purchase, which said a lot. I hear that Giant are a really good bike also, but the Lapierre Xelius 200 is reviewed to be a little heavy on the component side of things.

The Fulcrum racing Zero's limited comp could not be got at the suppliers when I was ordering my bike, although they could be found on some of the American sites. I didn't go this route because of the risk of being caught for import tax which would make them really expensive. Having seen the DT Swiss wheels, I am really happy with them. They look really nice and spin up well. I have not seen the GTC SLT in the flesh, but a guy did purchase a GTC SL at the same time as me i.e. yesterday, and it really is a beautiful bike. Lovely colour and graphics which looks really expensive. It has many similar components to my bike, just with a slightly heavier frame, and some slighly lesser components.

I was going to go for that bike initially and upgrade to the Fulcrum Zeros. For what its worth, I would go for the GTC SL bike and upgrade a few bits with excess cash and end up with a bike that weighs the same. The reason I am saying this is that I have seen the bike in the flesh and it looks really well. My bike actually came with a Fizik Antares saddle which is 100 gms lighter that the Selle Italia X1. I also opted for the Shimano Ultegra Carbon pedals which are really light. I dont know where you live, but I arranged the upgrades with the bike shop before I purchased the bike, which was really handy. Hope this was of use to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭burger1979

Hey Fenton,

Many thanks for the reply. I was looking at the comparison between the SL and the SLT, there are few differences, seat post, handlebars, stem and some on the group set. But in saying that the quote that i got for the 2 there is about €250 in the difference. If I was to go for the more expensive option the SLT would i spend €250 doing up the different bits on the SL to upgrade it to the SLT spec (leaving out the wheels). That would be the difference for me and for that reason I am leaning towards the SLT. In my mind although upgrades are going to happen I would like to buy the better equipped/fitted out bike so that upgrades are lessened hopefully in the future.

I had read reviews of the Lapierre being a little heavy on the components side of things alright and that was steering me away from it. The Giant is still a contender as i have read good reviews of it, but I would say that the groupset in my eyes they seem not to match to the Cube when comparing like with like, which again could lead to an expensive upgrade in the future.

Can I ask where you bought the bike? You can Pm me if you dont like to give the info out in public, and were they helpful to you in buying the bike?

Burger

Hey guys! Just a quick note to say I Picked up my new bike today.. Thanks for the assistance with making the right choice. Beautiful bike and extremely light..I am delighted with the purchase...

Looks the business, congrats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Delboyjoe

Hey Fenton,

Im in a similar position to yourself, can't choose between the Cube Agree GTC SL, and the Cube litening Super HPC Pro. Has your outlook on the HPC changed at all, after you have a few more miles done on it now? Would you still recommed going for the GTC SL and upgrading a few parts, the difference in cost would buy a decent set of wheels?

Joe

Hi Joe!
    Good to hear from you. I responded last night, but sent it to the wrong place. I am glad that I went for the Litening in the end. I have a good few miles up at this stage and have no regrets, especially after adding bottle holders, computer, saddle bag etc. The bike still feels light and I have enjoyed every minute of it.

There was an Agree GTC SL in the shop which arrived on the day that I collected mine. It looked lovely and I would have been happy with it, but I could feel the weight difference to be fair and although biased, I preferred the look of my bike. Saying this, there was very little between them looks wise. The Litening uses twin mould carbon which is 300gms lighter than the equivalent , lighter handlebars, lighter saddle post, full Ultegra components and a better saddle. They were the difference if I remember correctly.

There is a problem with the hub on the rear wheel which is to be replaced over the next week. This is for free of course, and courtesy of Cube. They did make things a little difficult for the guys in the shop, but they have persisted and the wheel is on its way.

The bike itself is awesome. It is definitely race oriented which I like. For such a light bike, it feels really solid, planted and comfortable to cycle. I would say that this has a lot to do with being sized properly before the purchase of the bike, and after its delivery. I would have purchased a bigger frame and would have been wrong in doing so. Darragh moved handlebars and saddle to get the correct fit and it worked. I didn't even get saddle sores which is a first and, I had not cycled for a while prior to getting this bike.

It came with a Fizik saddle instead of the Selle Italia which was advertised. I did not complain as the Fizik was a more expensive saddle. It looked like it was going to be uncomfortable, but is very comfortable in after considerable use. The wheels are solid, apart from the shaky rear hub.

It is impossible to keep clean, but I now wash it down after every couple of uses. The trick is to wash it with washing up liquid and warm water while it is still wet and it is clean in two minutes. The brakes and gears are brilliant and it is fast on the flats. It is fast overall and looks sexy, if you can say that about a bike.

I would highly recommend. I am still yearning for Fulcrum racing zero limited editions, but hey... I would be happy enough if I never got them either. I think the low weight of the frame and components make up for it. The wheels are not that bad actually. They are on all Cube bikes in that price bracket anyway(DT Swiss 1.0) I look forward to hearing about the choice that you make.

HI Fenton,

Thanks for the feedback on the Cube, i have arranged to take a look at one in my local bike shop shortly so that might help me make up my mind, but its really tough to decide without taking them for a test run, i'm sure.

At the minute i have a 2005 Felt F75 with rodi race wheels which i bought 2nd hand for £550 last year, and im pretty happy with it. From looking online i seems to weight just under 9kg as opposed to the cubes 7.2kg, i wonder how much of a difference this could make, or if there are other benefits to making the upgrade, handling, comfort, etc...

Over £2000 is alot of money for a bike, but if i thought i could get a few years out of it and it still hold half its value id be happy enough, with racing though id be so worried about crashing on it!

I'm still waiting on the tax rebate to come in, so ive a while yet to make up my mind!

My felt is size 54 so im not sure if i should be going for the size 53 or the 56. I'm 5'8-5'9, about 75kg, so maybe either of those sizes could work, but im sure my bike shop will advise!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!!!

Well its not for another few days but I couldnt wait....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Iwernia

very nice, good luck with it.