Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda escorts

• 05-12-2012 7:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭

Just spent an even longer stretch than usual getting home this evening! Traffic already slow with diversions for the osce conference. Then to confound it all, traffic coming onto the quays is forced (rather aggressively) to pull over by a Garda escort to make way for a shower of overpaid dicks, whose only collective claim to fame is screwing up the world economy!

So folks, should a Garda escort really be provided in anything other than emergencies ( by which I mean pregnant woman about to give birth rather than Hillary Clinton took 10 minutes too long in the shower)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

You survived OK though? Got to the interweb just in time to tell us?

;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭07734

Somewhat disappointed after reading thread title

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

Get the bus if you dont like the traffic .
    I like looking at police escorts . Its like an action film .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Is that why the city was a friggin parking lot yesterday? (I skipped work today, so I didn't notice).

If so - my god, it sucks. When is this thing over?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭LostCorkGuy

I thought this was going to be some thread about a new pimping deal set up to help our poverty stricken state :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

That's why I always take my private jet to the office....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

Might have had something to do with pitchfork weilding mob chasing after them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Pregnant women giving birth?? They managed without a Garda escort this long I'm sure they'll be grand.
    I think the politicians were right to have a Garda escort today considering it's budget day. There's a lot of idiots out there who would have done something to an unattended politician today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

do they not favour Mondeos more these days ?

Oi! You're supposed to be practising your guitar, JD! Not messing about on boards!

:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

I think the politicians were right to have a Garda escort today considering it's budget day. There's a lot of idiots out there who would have done something to an unattended politician today.

I resent being called an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Pipmae

Two sides of Merrion Square were closed to traffic. The side with Govt buildings and the one with the FAI headquarters (sorry don't know my north, souths, etc :o). The traffic was manic and that was around 4.50pm. I can only imagine what it was like later. I heard Molesworth Street was closed as well but I didn't see it myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I resent being called an idiot.

What would punching a politician solve? It'd only get you put in jail :p

Do the guards even still drive escorts? I thought it was all mondeos these days? With the odd avensis thrown in just to mix it up a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

07734 wrote: »

I thought it had something to do with this: http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/men-caught-in-prostitution-sting-by-undercover-gardai-enter-guilty-pleas-2956079.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

Punching? What kind of a keyboard warrior do you take me for?

Jail terms end. Punching a politician? Well, that's forever....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

I thought this was going to be some thread about a new pimping deal set up to help our poverty stricken state :(

Not a bad idea, offer 'extras' if berlusconi, Strauss-Kahn or the Clinton family are in town.....

Sorry, but rush hour bus doesn't work for creche pick ups

Must be nice being you...,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Who's in town? Are the boys back in town?

isn't that a reason not to give them an escort..... :)

Besides, no reason they can't just drive their own cars in rush hour like the rest of us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭narwhalthe

Yeah I was also expecting something about ban gardai offering something other than a hefty fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

In terms of delays,police escorts cause very little because they pass quickly. Safety is another story.Anyone driving an emergency vehicle does so on their own licence. You are not permitted to break the lights.If you injure someone or god forbid kill someone,driving on blues and end up in court,you will be asked what the nature of the call you were on was.If you can answer that it was an armed robbery or similar life or death situation,any judge will cut you some slack.If you are making sure some VIP or GAA team or whatever gets from A to B quickly,you are fecked. The "I was told to do it " defense will not work.

narwhalthe wrote: »
    Yeah I was also expecting something about ban gardai offering something other than a hefty fine.
    Fine hefty ban gardai? Now we're getting somewhere...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

repsol wrote: »
    In terms of delays,police escorts cause very little because they pass quickly. Safety is another story.Anyone driving an emergency vehicle does so on their own licence. You are not permitted to break the lights.If you injure someone or god forbid kill someone,driving on blues and end up in court,you will be asked what the nature of the call you were on was.If you can answer that it was an armed robbery or similar life or death situation,any judge will cut you some slack.If you are making sure some VIP or GAA team or whatever gets from A to B quickly,you are fecked. The "I was told to do it " defense will not work.

None of that is correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭loobylou

UCDVet wrote: »
    Is that why the city was a friggin parking lot yesterday? (I skipped work today, so I didn't notice).

If so - my god, it sucks. When is this thing over?

You aint seen nothing yet.
    Just wait until the new year and we hold the EU presidency, there'll be convoys like that every day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Hazys wrote: »

Could you imagine he gardai actualy getting STUCK IN though????:pac::pac:

Wasnt there a garda recently convicted of running a brothel from an apartment he had bought/rented out???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

Free food and accommodation at the taxpayers expense ? Sure it would just be like being on... ah, nevermind.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Duiske wrote: »
    Free food and accommodation at the taxpayers expense ? Sure it would just be like being on... ah, nevermind.

Ah now theres a great plan for the students of Ireland to get a FREE Education and a degree.;):pac::D

Then they could really fcuk Ruairi Quinn and his education fees over,BIG STYLE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

07734 wrote: »

As am I, thought this instead

12-11-2009210856.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

MagicSean wrote: »
    None of that is correct.

Why don't you enlighten us then genius?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

dgt wrote: »
    As am I, thought this instead

12-11-2009210856.jpg

Oh they were a massive yoke. A right hoor to go. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I'm just glad it is all good for pregnant women giving birth. Any un-pregnant ones dropping a sprog in a hurry could get a bit weird.

Any red-blooded male who doesn't have a weeeny, teeny little pang of "jammy gits" as the cops fly past lights blazing, stopping traffic at will, either has a really cool job, or no balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭Zab

Like these two?

343277a0ca0cd86b8774b734e36d483b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭DonLimon

UCDVet wrote: »
    Is that why the city was a friggin parking lot yesterday?

What the fcuk is a parking lot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭cup of tea

Last time i took the bus, the bus didn't have magic powers to make traffic disappear. Damn ye Dublin folk with your new technology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

A lot of garda now stuck in the cars as all the stations closing up so they are kinda homless and are just driving about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Garda Escorts? do they do massages too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Myself and a few friends were walking across town one day, to the pub from a small parade that had closed off a couple of not-important roads. We came to a set of traffic lights and were waiting for the little green man, to cross. A guard on a motorbike pulled up next to us and asked, "Are ye waiting to cross?" We of course said yes, then he pulled out into the middle of the road with his lights on, stopped traffic, left everyone waiting cross, and took off. I was dying to get to the pub at that point so I could tell everyone we had a Garda escort to get us there. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

A major security operation is being mounted in Dublin as a two-day gathering of foreign ministers from 50 countries gets under way.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/1206/osce-foreign-ministers-dublin.html

This is what its all about and don't forget in 2013 we host the EU presidency, lots of escorts doing the rounds then :-)