Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

West coast wheelers open race

• 05-12-2012 3:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭

Hey all
    Just wondering if anybody knows if this race is handicapped this year? I'm thinking of making it my first race proper. I read here somewhere that the A3's and A4's were let off together last year and it tends to blow apart after about 20km for the hill. If it's separate this year I'd be more encouraged to go...
    Slo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

Slo_Rida wrote: »
    Hey all
    Just wondering if anybody knows if this race is handicapped this year? I'm thinking of making it my first race proper. I read here somewhere that the A3's and A4's were let off together last year and it tends to blow apart after about 20km for the hill. If it's separate this year I'd be more encouraged to go...
    Slo

Easy their cowboy its a bit early to be worrying about this sort of thing ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Slo_Rida

I'm trying to sort out the visa from home so I want to see what races might be possible. And I don't intend getting whipped by A3's my first day out...only A4's are allowed do that!
    So in conclusion...I categorically disagree with your assesment that it's too early for this!!! Unless you mean it's too early for me to be racing at all in which case you are probably perfectly correct ;-)

Slo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 WLPD

I would say it depends on the number of A4s. If less than 10 I would say your lumped together. Happened a few times here in the west this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭XtotheZ

Last year it was A1, A2, and A3 together and A4 was seperate. All over the same route as there was an car crash (i think) so the route had to be shortened. The year before that A3 and A4 were together but the A3 failed to catch the A4.

Brilliant race if i dont say so myself. Just make sure your near the front before the turn off ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭fago

Yes last year there wasn't enough A1/A2s so a combined 1/2/3 race was run. Handicap worked out well as there was a mix of 1-3 in the podium spots.

Unfortunately its hard to justify separate races when the numbers simply don't stack up.

Details on what is planned will be available early Jan.

fago wrote: »
    Yes last year there wasn't enough A1/A2s so a combined 1/2/3 race was run. Handicap worked out well as there was a mix of 1-3 in the podium spots.

Unfortunately its hard to justify separate races when the numbers simply don't stack up.

Details on what is planned will be available early Jan.

Fair enough re numbers.
    I'll more than likely sign up if it's separate. Sounds like a decent opener for the season...

Hey is this still the route:
    http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/24839052
    Slo

Race details posted on the site http://www.westcoastwheelers.com/race

Prereg also available to get an idea of numbers and speed up sign on.

Usual A4 route, A3+ 85k route has been adapted after talking to the cops to make junction management easier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Might do this for the craic, girlfriend wants to visit her mate in Galway, gives me an excuse to head west for the weekend :D

Race details posted on the site http://www.westcoastwheelers.com/race

Prereg also available to get an idea of numbers and speed up sign on.

Usual A4 route, A3+ 85k route has been adapted after talking to the cops to make junction management easier.

Already pre-registered BOOM! Got my CI licence and numbers las week so really looking forward to Loughrea now....

colm_gti wrote: »
    Might do this for the craic, girlfriend wants to visit her mate in Galway, gives me an excuse to head west for the weekend :D

Might see you there so Colm...I'll PM you my RACE number just for the jazz! You can give me a pull up the hill :-)

Might see you there so Colm...I'll PM you my number just for the jazz! You can give me a pull up the hill :-)

I'd say you'd be up and over the hill before I get to it ;)

Ah hopefully we'll both go well, it's my first day out so I shouldn't get my hopes up. There are a good few of us heading up from here so I'd say it'll be a good day out. Now wouldn't nice weather for it be a treat!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

What date is it on?

CramCycle wrote: »
    What date is it on?

24th of Feb, dooooo it!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

24th of Feb, dooooo it!

Alas I am doing the KM200 that day, would love too but I must spend my pass cards wisely, looks good though, wish I could make it.

CramCycle wrote: »
    Alas I am doing the KM200 that day, would love too but I must spend my pass cards wisely, looks good though, wish I could make it.

KM200??? Never heard of it and IMHO open racing is a far wiser way to spend ones pass cards!!

Hey all how'd ye get on today?
    I made it my first race proper and was well impressed. The surface was excellent for 80% ish and the 20% wasn't the worst. Hard luck to the lads in the crashes, hope ye got away without any serious injuries.
    Thanks to West coast wheelers and their volunteers for a very well run and well marshalled race. The junctions were spot on and all gravel and dirt was well cleared. Also the food after was powerful, especially the carrot cake!
    Slo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Idunnowho

. ....Also the food after was powerful, especially the carrot cake!
    Slo

Nuts!!! There was carrot cake!!! Got there in time for the chocolate bars -another nice touch! Yes fair play to all organisers and marshals - very well run race, safe and all oncoming cars (which was very few) were nicely pulled in...
    Blue sky like we were in the south of France (apart from the fact it was 3 degrees).

Race report here http://www.westcoastwheelers.com/race/race-results

177 signed on which is 70 up on last year.

If you've anything to add from the A4 race PM me and I'll use it, not much info on how it played out.

Photos will go up later.

Its good to see all the prep work came together on the day, in particular the marshals who give up a good portion of their Sunday to make sure its as safe as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭harringtonp

Race report here http://www.westcoastwheelers.com/race/race-results

177 signed on which is 70 up on last year.

If you've anything to add from the A4 race PM me and I'll use it, not much info on how it played out.

Photos will go up later.

Its good to see all the prep work came together on the day, in particular the marshals who give up a good portion of their Sunday to make sure its as safe as possible.

Yes great organisation. And you seemed to manage to get the road at Drim closed (at least there was zero traffic on the loops) which made life easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Huff n Puff

Congratulations on a well organised race.

The decisive break went on the down hill section of the loop with one more lap to go. Dermot Radford broke by himself and over the next 3 miles or so 5 other riders made it up to him and stayed away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Lazairus

what about the crash from the A4 race??

he hit my rear wheel, apparently he split his bike and headed out over the wall .

was there three crashes or more, i know one lad hit the deck in vodafone ireland shorts...... round the last corner. .