Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there a difference

• 03-12-2012 10:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭

Was reading a post there and they were saying there gay and scarred and all that stuff and im sitting here thinking what makes them different.

Im Bi and will not accept anyone who says it doesn't exist cause i have proved all my friends wrong with 3 girlfriends and 1 boyfriend. Im not camp, Just your ordinary teen with mood swings and invincibility :p i go around like im no different from the guy standing next to me.

I've told a handful of friends, all of my girlfriends i told because i couldnt keep such a thing like that as a secret just came out like word vomit :pac: (may have crossed the line once or twice on a drunk night but luckily they were warned) But just reading and i dunno if its the way i was reading it but the line just says "im gay ....." But they find it hard. some do some dont i get that. but im thinking back on my life and im like fair enough im not gay but im not straight either, but it was easy to say to my friends(girlfriends ATT) that im Bi

Im like is there really a (could you say big) difference in Bi & Gay or is that just me. Fair nough for myself i get a wider option of lads and girls to meet. straight down to it sex is sex. if the person loves you and you love them its really all that matters? If there making you happy doesnt really matter what sexuality you are at the end of the day. Like this whole post is pretty much me telling ye bout my sexuality and i havent a clue who ye are :P. I dont hide it im sure there are lot more people outside my inner circle of friends who know, or have heard from word of mouth. But i dont show it. not that im shy or anything but its not part of a conversation "Nice weather, where you from, any brothers, sisters, whats your sexuality..." If it comes up grand but all your going to see is a lad who flirts with anything that moves has good outing with the lads and enjoys cars(ok maybe when im drinking its like is he? i like my flavoured drink) Is it a phycological thing where people have[want] to tell. Can we not all just go out flirt like every human and yes if by chance meet a lad so be it. deal with the actions of others opinions later its not like you set fire to a building or carried out a theft.

I dunno, but is there any bi people here that find it easier or harder in relation to do you think there is a difference. (Think im gone off point of topic on my own thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I read that and I don't know what question you are asking?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

I read that and I don't know what question you are asking?

I think the question I'm trying to ask is, do some treat bi's and gays different or is it once u say to someone ur bi they just class u as gay.

I just get this thought in my head that its like to tell someone ur gay there its much more serious or something like that unlike saying ur bi and alls forgotten which is whats happened in my case thank god.

I dunno don't think I can even wrap my head around my own question I'm.trying to ask.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

I think some people give bi's a hard time alright. My girlfriend is bi but because she's with me (a girl) people insist she's a lesbian, even though she's been with guys in the past and still finds them attractive. They tell her she's "finally picked a side" and stuff like that, but for her, like yourself, there's no side to pick.

There's another thread going at the minute about sexuality being a continuum and not just about three choices (gay, straight, bi) that's quite interesting and it shows that for a lot of people they're not 100% gay or straight.

Perhaps it's because a few people (myself included) initially tell people they're bi because they haven't full accepted their own sexuality, and saying you're bi is like a safety stepping stone. So when people like that (and me) eventually accept that they are in fact gay and not bi, other people take that to mean that bi's just haven't accepted themselves or "made their decision".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

I think the OP is asking about bi-erasure, which most defenitely exists and is possibly more prevelant amongst LGBT people, than with heterosexuals. Although its hard to tell as bi people are generally more open about their sexuality around gay people, than straight people.

OP no one can define your sexuality except you, being bi causes certain people discomfort, because they can't fit you in a nice neet little box. It's easier for them to say your gay if your with a guy, or straight when with a girl. Your sexuality makes them doubt their own, which causes fear. Just be who you are, that's hard enough to accept when your young.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Vojera wrote: »
    I think some people give bi's a hard time alright. My girlfriend is bi but because she's with me (a girl) people insist she's a lesbian, even though she's been with guys in the past and still finds them attractive. They tell her she's "finally picked a side" and stuff like that, but for her, like yourself, there's no side to pick.

There's another thread going at the minute about sexuality being a continuum and not just about three choices (gay, straight, bi) that's quite interesting and it shows that for a lot of people they're not 100% gay or straight.

Perhaps it's because a few people (myself included) initially tell people they're bi because they haven't full accepted their own sexuality, and saying you're bi is like a safety stepping stone. So when people like that (and me) eventually accept that they are in fact gay and not bi, other people take that to mean that bi's just haven't accepted themselves or "made their decision".

I think you summed that up perfectly!

I'm often told that I'm greedy. A friend of mine told me that he doesn't believe that bi-sexuality exists and that people just get drunk and have sex with whoever is on offer, regardless of gender. This made me very angry. I'm going out with a girl and I'm perfectly happy, and plenty of people believe that I will eventually accept that I am a lesbian but I know that I'm not, I'm still attracted to men as well. I'm not ''on the fence'' or indecisive as people assume.