Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smoking & Hypnotherapy

• 03-12-2012 4:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36

Hi

I really want to to quit smoking, The smell in my car and house is rotten and the price of fags is killin me!!!

I suffer with very bad anxiety, I am very irritable so I know I will be a nightmare to everyone without a smoke to hand

Just wondering has anyone been hypnotized for quitting and what effects did it have on your moods..

Ive failed a million and one times on my own so hypnosis seems the only way right now

Also, Contacts of Clinics that are successful would be great

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

hypnotherapy is nonsense, don't waste your money. Buy an e-cigarette or vaping kit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Hypnotherapy works,paticularly for people who find it difficult to quit.They may be able to give you relaxation techniques to help with your anxiety also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Seaneh wrote: »
    hypnotherapy is nonsense, don't waste your money. Buy an e-cigarette or vaping kit.
    kneemos wrote: »
    Hypnotherapy works,paticularly for people who find it difficult to quit.They may be able to give you relaxation techniques to help with your anxiety also

Your both wrong, hypnotism works up to a point. The only way to find out if it works for you is to try getting hypnotised. There may be ways of doing this without paying some guy for sessions. There's a magic forum around here somewhere where people practice hypnotism and NLP. They might know a way to test your ability to be hypnotised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

There's a giving up smoking forum OP :)

ScumLord wrote: »
    Your both wrong, hypnotism works up to a point. The only way to find out if it works for you is to try getting hypnotised. There may be ways of doing this without paying some guy for sessions. There's a magic forum around here somewhere where people practice hypnotism and NLP. They might know a way to test your ability to be hypnotised.

Everyone can be hypnotised.The op may need to tackle the anxiety problem by some method as well.The smoking forum is the place to look op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Personally, Champix is amazing (see your doctor) I'm a lifelong smoker (25 years plus) and now three years off them and have been in numerous situations where I should have fallen off the wagon and haven't. I have simple no desire to smoke.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I imagine you have to believe it will work in order to get any results. But if you can get to that stage you might as well just believe you can stop smoking and then don't smoke any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

There's a giving up smoking forum where they will answer you quite well.

For what it's worth, if you're a complete basket case (as I was), and have tried absolutely everything without success, and you are at your wits end with despair that you will never escape the trap, then give Champix a try.

Expensive but it does work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

There is NO method of giving up smoking that dosen't require the addition of willpower.
    Willpower alone requires no third party aids.

If you want to stop smoking then just stop. Everything else is bollix.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

ScumLord wrote: »

Hypnosis is just a daydream state. Everyone daydreams, hence everyone can be hypnotised. The trick is to install the required behaviour while the client is in the daydream state. Easy when I know how, but demanding to get it right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

Hi

I really want to to quit smoking, The smell in my car and house is rotten and the price of fags is killin me!!!

I suffer with very bad anxiety, I am very irritable so I know I will be a nightmare to everyone without a smoke to hand

Just wondering has anyone been hypnotized for quitting and what effects did it have on your moods..

Ive failed a million and one times on my own so hypnosis seems the only way right now

Also, Contacts of Clinics that are successful would be great

Buy your self some Swedish Snus, you will still have the nicotine addiction, but your lungs will be safe and no smells. It takes a bit to get used to but they will get you off the cigarettes. Swedish men have the lowest rate of lung cancer in Europe, supposedly because Snus is so popular with Swedish males.

You can thne slowly ween yourself off the snus. Worked for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

Seaneh wrote: »
    hypnotherapy is nonsense

Care to explain why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Everyone can be hypnotised..

Untrue. You can only be hypnotised if you want to be. Plenty of sceptics cannot be hypnotised because they resist it. Not everyone can be hypnotised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

My grandfather used to smoke 80 a day. When his brother died of cancer he threw the pack of fags in the fire and quit.

Never smoked again.

Then again he was a real man, not one of the namby-pamby smokers that you get these days that need patches and gum and the like to quit and whine about 'cravings'.

The only cravings my grandfather got was for a decent steak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

I've been to three different hypnotherapists over the years and none of them were successful in helping me give up cigarettes. They all said that you have to want to give them up and that money isn't a good enough reason for your subconscious. Tried Champix twice and that didn't work and and nicotine patches and inhalers - meh! Also tried the old accupunture in the ear - didn't work. The Alan Carr book bored me to death but not enough to give up the fags. The best I ever did was 21 days with will power.

I'm going to try vaping next if I can work out how it all works. Looked in the vaping forum but it's like double dutch.

Kirby wrote: »
    Untrue. You can only be hypnotised if you want to be. Plenty of sceptics cannot be hypnotised because they resist it. Not everyone can be hypnotised.

That's a myth,a good hypnotist can hypnotise anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

That's a myth,a good hypnotist can hypnotise anyone.
    That's funny because I'm sure I read in Derren Browns book that hypnotism doesn't work on everyone. That's why they put so much effort into choosing their participants.

I'm pretty sure I can confidently say it doesn't work everybody, life is to random for that to happen but I'd go onto say it wouldn't even work on the majority of people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Wurly wrote: »
    Care to explain why?

Have a watch of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Personally I've found Champix to be a complete waste of time but was on anti-depressants and anxiety medication at the time tho so was probably the worst time to put new stuff in my body. I've tried giving up using different things at different times since and still nothing worked......even tried using the Smoking Cessation services that the HSE provide. In the end, really wanting to give up is the first step. Even hypnotists will tell you that.

Best of luck OP - maybe you'll be one of the lucky ones that do manage to kick it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭Danonino.

I've been to three different hypnotherapists over the years and none of them were successful in helping me give up cigarettes. They all said that you have to want to give them up and that money isn't a good enough reason for your subconscious. Tried Champix twice and that didn't work and and nicotine patches and inhalers - meh! Also tried the old accupunture in the ear - didn't work. The Alan Carr book bored me to death but not enough to give up the fags. The best I ever did was 21 days with will power.

I'm going to try vaping next if I can work out how it all works. Looked in the vaping forum but it's like double dutch.

I don't want to offend but it reads like you're looking for someone else to do the work for you. Quitting smoking isn't hard believe me, but you must want to quit and you really don't sound like you do. Nothing worse than trying to quit when you have no such intention. I've done it a few times myself. Just smoke ffs, stop annoying yourself. When you really want to quit you will. What the feck is a needle in your ear going to do for a chemical addiction anyway???

A good friend of the family had smoked since he was 13 and his wife since they met was a heavy smoker too. Both tried to quit countless times, patches, willpower, hypno, never could go more than a few days. He suffered a heart attack last year and himself and the wife both quit within a week and haven't smoked since. They wanted to quit, so they did. It honestly isn't any harder than willpower.

OldGoat wrote: »
    There is NO method of giving up smoking that dosen't require the addition of willpower.
    Willpower alone requires no third party aids.

If you want to stop smoking then just stop. Everything else is bollix.

This
    . I quit just under 2 years ago, from 20/30+ a day to nothing and the unexpected part was it was fecking easy.
    Just my opinion but using patches and inhalers to me is like giving a junkie who is trying to break a heroin addiction more heroin... it makes no sense.

Its Nicotine addiction, its not a disease or some unbreakable curse. The only way to kill it is to not feed your body Nicotine. Cravings are over hyped nonsense. You are a smoker... you're craving nicotine right now. You're not shaking out in sweats or grumpy are you? but I bet if I took your box of smokes and hid them on you you'd start to panic like a wild animal and start craving a smoke like you had been lit on fire.. Its mind over matter.

The only aid I personally could recommend is this:
    Alan Carrs book which I had read about 6 years ago and thought it was rubbish. (funny how the same book was both rubbish and great... you really do just need a real want to quit and nothing else) Once I actually wanted to quit it was really worth the read, and honestly the man just states things plain and simple without harping on about what you already know. Smoking causes lung cancer :eek: No fecking way... gwan outta tha. I honestly cannot recommend it enough.

Sorry for the long rant, and reading over it I hope I don't sound like one of those preachy ex-smokers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Everyone's different and different things work for some but not for others. But the key is you have to want to quit. For me I went to hypnosis as a last throw of the dice after trying everything else and it worked - I'm nearly a year off the smokes and found it easy from hypnosis despite being very sceptical of the whole thing. That of course doesn't mean it will work for everyone..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Hi

I really want to to quit smoking

I extracted the important parts of your post. From these snippets, it looks like you don't really want to quit smoking.

There are two types of people who try to quit smoking - people who really want to quit and do and then there are people who like the idea of being a non-smoker, try all the gimmicks and then fail.

Hypnotism won't make you quit. You'll make yourself quit but only if you want to.

I extracted the important parts of your post. From these snippets, it looks like you don't really want to quit smoking.

There are two types of people who try to quit smoking - people who really want to quit and do and then there are people who like the idea of being a non-smoker, try all the gimmicks and then fail.

Hypnotism won't make you quit. You'll make yourself quit but only if you want to.

How do you figure out the op doesn't want to quit,it's the exact opposite of what's written.

I honestly do think the same now. After trying and failing to quit so many times then just quitting and finding it so easy you really do just want to quit. Best advice I can give is tell nobody you've quit. You'd be amazed how easier it is without people constantly asking how you are doing. Also don't draw attention to yourself because unfortunately some people love to see others fail. I lived with a housemate who would randomly go without cigarettes for a day or two at a time and seriously congratulate himself every hour or so that he was 'still off' the fags.... nothing more annoying. He had no intention to quit, he just wanted to make himself feel better as a smoker. If you smoke, smoke ffs. Enjoy it or kick it, don't be wrecking your head.

If Hypnosis worked for you thats great :) No sarcasm at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Rantandrave

Thanks for comments, I think im just gonna try the good ol fashioned will power no gimmicks, especially not patches they make me dizzy lol!!

If I fail, I fail
    It wont kill me to try

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Smoking 99% habit 1% addiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Thanks for comments, I think im just gonna try the good ol fashioned will power no gimmicks, especially not patches they make me dizzy lol!!

If I fail, I fail
    It wont kill me to try

It's not as satisfying (a drag doesn't have that satisfying feeling of substance) but herbal 'tobacco' can be alright as an emergency (assuming you can roll).

If I fail, I fail
    It wont kill me to try

Just remember there is no such thing as "one cigarette" ;)

Best of luck dude, and honestly enjoy it... I know that sounds ridiculous and I would have laughed if someone said it to me.
    There is a day after you quit (mine was around a month later) where you wake thinking 'thank feck I don't smoke anymore :D' you forget about 'wanting' a fag and instead start being thankful you're not a slave to them anymore. It's an awesome feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

MadsL wrote: »
    Personally, Champix is amazing (see your doctor)
    Yes, I hear it's amazing ... but the side effects can be scary. It's sold as Chantix and Zyban in the USA, where the FDA slapped on a "black box" requirement, requiring mandatory warnings on the pack:
    Although Chantix and Zyban are effective aids in helping people stop smoking, they have been associated with serious adverse effects. Some people who have taken Chantix or Zyban to help them quit smoking have reported experiencing unusual behavior changes, have become depressed or have had their depression worsen, or have had thoughts about suicide or dying; some have attempted suicide either while using one of these drugs or after they stopped taking them.
    Here's an article written by someone who used it, describing the experience. :eek:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭lounakin

As far as I know those who have been hypnotised said it helped but it's not enough. And all the studies show that 40% of people who use aids (patches, gum etc...) go back to smoking quite quickly.
    The best method is quitting cold turkey and having something to do when you have cravings. My partner would go for a run when that happened.

bnt wrote: »
    Yes, I hear it's amazing ... but the side effects can be scary. It's sold as Chantix and Zyban in the USA, where the FDA slapped on a "black box" requirement, requiring mandatory warnings on the pack:

Here's an article written by someone who used it, describing the experience. :eek:

This is terrifying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Slightly off topic but do people on here think that hypnosis can work for other things ie gastric band etc(just saw an ad for that online:D)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Champix and Zyban are not the same drug.

Regardless, neither worked for me, nor any other method.

Changed my nicotine delivery device from a cigarette with 4000 nasty chemicals to an e-cig with none and have saved 2000 euro in just shy of 4 months. (I was smoking 40 a day) My doctor is happy, my bank manager is happy.....and I'm happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

If I fail, I fail
    It wont kill me to try

Best of luck to you. Like you I get very anxious at times and was terrified at the thoughts of giving up, I find that deep slow breathing helps with this and it also helps with the cravings. I hope you will find a relaxation technique that helps you.