Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Courtesy Again grrr

• 02-12-2012 10:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

M1 the other day. An L-plate in a red Golf stops - stops! - in the left lane of the motorway to let a bus that was stopped on the hard shoulder out into the lane in front of her.
    Moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Marcin_diy

born2bwild wrote: »
    M1 the other day. An L-plate in a red Golf stops - stops! - in the left lane of the motorway to let a bus that was stopped on the hard shoulder out into the lane in front of her.
    Moron.
    Are you surprised? "L" system in Ireland is bad and needs to be changed quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

Marcin_diy wrote: »
    Are you surprised? "L" system in Ireland is bad and needs to be changed quickly.

Maybe you're right - but surely the will to live alone should stop someone from stopping on a motorway to let someone out?

world without freaks would be boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Moron.
    Are L plates allowed on motorways?

• Site Banned Posts: 957 ✭✭✭leeomurchu

It's not just L plate drivers. Driving wife to hospital, waters broken little to no one on the road cruising along making good time ( not a lot to spare) some gee bag in a vw passat on the n7 (3 feckin lanes to play with) refuses to budge out of the overtaking lane and insists on rolling down her window to point out the 100KPH signs each time we passed one. She was doin feckin 95. Anyway I can only hope this gee bag comes to an unfortunate end with one of those signs she loved pointing out. Baby born 6 mins after arriving at hospital.

Sorry to jump on your thread just venting a lil..

For all the other gee bags out there, Use the left most alne available to you. Leave traffic enforcement to the Gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭jenniferalan

No 'L' plated drivers are not allowed drive on motorways

MugMugs wrote: »

thats interesting one

I drive with L plates for the last few months including motorways and m50. ( my wife learn to drive), and I never remove them.

Garda passed me multiple times on both m50 and city roads ( L driver can't drive on his own anywhere).

I was never stopped, and Garda never even looked at me when they were near my car.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

No, but when did that ever stop anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Courtesy seems to override common sense too often when driving. The other day I was driving to work, approaching a car waiting to turn from a side road on my side of the road (Im about 10 feet away from side road at the time), car on the other side of the road stops and waves the car waiting to pull out does so directly into my path. It would be annoying if it was the first time that it has happened to me but this has happened numerous times before.

Yes L plates are allowed on Motorways.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

leeomurchu wrote: »
    Yes L plates are allowed on Motorways.

Since when?

Since they've existed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭colm_c

Since they've existed.

Apart from the big sign that says otherwise:

m2.gif

Since they've existed.
    Fearsome that you're being a pedant and going to say something like "learner drivers aren't allowed on" can you show me a link to support this claim?

Since they've existed.

Are you saying that provisional driving licence holders, or driving permit holders as they are now called, are allowed to drive on motorways?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭shar01

L plates vs L drivers....

A full license driver could be teaching a learner and just not bother to take the L plates down when they're (the full license driver) out on the m-way.

shar01 wrote: »
    L plates vs L drivers....

A full license driver could be teaching a learner and just not bother to take the L plates down when they're (the full license driver) out on the m-way.

Well spotted Shar :D

Sorry to waste you time copy and pasting that lovely pic Colm. It is a lovely pic by the way :) I see you've one admirer Corktina :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Did I say that? If you care to read back on my post.

"Yes L plates are allowed on Motorways."

I'm just proving a point to myslef that boards has become full of people to quick to jump on anothers post.

Considering closing my account as I'm fed up of this type of individual.

To be honest, what you did was more-so trolling by saying that and hoping for a reaction than it was about proving a point.

Boards.ie is fed up of this type of individual ;)

haha it wasn't trolling just clearly proving a point if it was trolling I would've carried on the posts. Just nipped it in the bud so as to avoid the trolling comments.

just aswell I'm not a troll then eh MetzgerMeister ;)

haha it wasn't trolling just clearly proving a point if it was trolling I would've carried on the posts. Just nipped it in the bud so as to avoid the trolling comments.

just aswell I'm not a troll then eh MetzgerMeister ;)
    I think it was blatantly obvious what you were attempting to achieve here. Let us know if you need any help find that close account button :)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Jesus Christ. Talk about childish pedantisms. Myself, and I'm sure many others, don't differentiate between L drivers and L plates. Similarly, I'm sure granny drivers should be called older drivers until proven they do indeed have grand children.
    Similarly again, I'm sure you didn't mean there was an actual bag of gee's driving the car, rather someone who you referred to as one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭shar01

Maybe we need an "I can haz rant" thread in Motors...

I think it was blatantly obvious what you were attempting to achieve here. Let us know if you need any help find that close account button :)

Don't be a mug. haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

I'm just proving a point to myslef that boards has become full of people to quick to jump on anothers post.

Actually no, L plates are not allowed on motorways. You're supposed to remove them when the learner is not driving the vehicle.

Chimaera wrote: »
    Actually no, L plates are not allowed on motorways. You're supposed to remove them when the learner is not driving the vehicle.

Where does it say that?

Any links.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

antodeco wrote: »
    Similarly again, I'm sure you didn't mean there was an actual bag of gee's driving the car, rather someone who you referred to as one.

Ah ye can't beat a bag of gee's :) I was only using a play on words some folks just took it for more than I intended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

Hypothetically...

If someone were to make a post in the hope of catching someone else out, and then when another poster fell for the bait, they used the opportunity to give a little dig to other posters in general and vaguely threaten to leave forever in a huff, I'd say "That's pure muppetry, we won't miss you, don't let the door hit you on the way out".

Of course I'm not referring to anyone specifically on this thread, so please nobody get their knickers in a twist getting offended.

Hypothetically...

If someone were to post a thinly veiled comment aimed at another poster albeit retarded.

Would that make them a retard?

Of course I'm not referring to anyone specifically on this thread, so please nobody get their knickers in a twist getting offended.

Hypothetically...

If someone were to post a thinly veiled comment aimed at another poster albeit retarded.

Your post is so confusing it's impossible to get offended anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

Hypothetically...

I dunno tbh, I don't think it reflects well on either of our hypothetical posters. I'm happy to leave the hypothesising there and get back to posting normally again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,657 ✭✭✭✭road_high

It's not just L plate drivers. Driving wife to hospital, waters broken little to no one on the road cruising along making good time ( not a lot to spare) some gee bag in a vw passat on the n7 (3 feckin lanes to play with) refuses to budge out of the overtaking lane and insists on rolling down her window to point out the 100KPH signs each time we passed one. She was doin feckin 95. Anyway I can only hope this gee bag comes to an unfortunate end with one of those signs she loved pointing out. Baby born 6 mins after arriving at hospital.

For all the other gee bags out there, Use the left most alne available to you. Leave traffic enforcement to the Gardaí.

Christ I feel my blood pressure rise ever so little reading about that "driver".

It's the Irish syndrome...I'm at the speed limit so how dare anyhow try and pass me. If youre in the UK or Germany you'd be ploughed off the road for being such an ignornant idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

I wonder what the legality would be to have a green strobe light on the dash for such situation ?

the green flashy lights are for private ambulances and medics in personal cars but would this be classed as a medical emergency and be legal ?

or would the garda say shouldve got an ambulance etc.

He has been banned. Don't hang out for an answer Robbie. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

He has been banned. Don't hang out for an answer Robbie. :)

ai ai caption ! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Jack breen

mfitzy wrote: »
    Christ I feel my blood pressure rise ever so little reading about that "driver".

It's the Irish syndrome...I'm at the speed limit so how dare anyhow try and pass me. If youre in the UK or Germany you'd be ploughed off the road for being such an ignornant idiot.

Do you think thats true? It hardly is in fairness, any man bringing his missus to hospital in a labour situation is not going to sit behind some clown in the overtaking lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,657 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Jack breen wrote: »
    Do you think thats true? It hardly is in fairness, any man bringing his missus to hospital in a labour situation is not going to sit behind some clown in the overtaking lane.

Well havin driven extensively on Irish motorways the answer is a definite YES!!
    Just last week I had a twat in a Honda in front of me brake deliberately at 120kmh for no apparent reason.

As for this story, I'd well believe it, but the OP prob undertook the muppet a km or two down the road forcing him to break the rules. The N7 especially seems to be loaded with the 100kmh vigilanty brigade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Jack breen

mfitzy wrote: »
    Well havin driven extensively on Irish motorways the answer is a definite YES!!
    Just last week I had a twat in a Honda in front of me brake deliberately at 120kmh for no apparent reason.

As for this story, I'd well believe it, but the OP prob undertook the muppet a km or two down the road forcing him to break the rules. The N7 especially seems to be loaded with the 100kmh vigilanty brigade

Dont get me wrong here but the best thing to do is ignore clowns like that and carry on about your business. The road is like the Internet, full of fools.