Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday 1st December Megatron Day

• 30-11-2012 5:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭

In addition to the antepost bets on Diamond Harry and Trifolium 3 for tomorrow so far, write ups on the way.

12.15 Newbury Hunters Lodge 9/2
    1.25 Newbury Gores Island 33/1
    3.40 Newbury Ulck Du Lin 5/1

I e-mailed Noel Chance about Gores Island and he said that, although he would be trying to win, he may have a little too much weight and will probably feel the pinch at the end of the race. I got the impression that they don't really know how good he is over fences and he could be up to defying this mark. I won't be doing a write up for him now although I wouldn't discourage anyone from having a small bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Two for me. Handy Andy at 25/1 in the 2 and 3/4 mile chase at Newbury and Keys of Cyprus last at Wolv 12/1 (yes again).

Wish I didn't leave an essay to the last minute. Have done 300 words and due at midnight and I want to go to the pub

Edit: Handy Andy

One of the most competitive races of the day, but think that Colin Tizzard's six year old could be potentially well treated off his mark of 115. A winning pointer in January of last year, Handy Andy exchanged hands for the cool sum of £115,000, a huge sum to pay for a pointer. However, he looked like he could well earn a return on that investment first start under rules when keeping on really well in a 2 and a half mile novice hurdle at Newcastle in March of last year, beating the very smart Our Father by 3 and a half lengths. He would have gone into plenty of notebooks that day and is disappointing to see him race off this kind of mark tomorrow, given Our Father rounded off his hurdling career last year off a mark of 148, and is already near the top of the RSA betting for Cheltenham after slamming a really good novice chase field first time out over fences this season at Cheltenham. Anyway, he was quickly stepped up in class, with his next run being in the Grade 1 3 mile Novice hurdle at the Grand National Meeting. Despite the rise in class, he was well supported in the betting, going off at 11/1 but pulled 3 out having been found out in that class. Connections then wasted no time with him switching him to fences, assuming chasing is clearly his game. However, disappointed yet again at Wincanton in a Grade 2 Novice Chase, pulling up behind Silviniaco Conti, again short at 8/1. Returned hurdling after that, competing in some really competitive handicap hurdles. However, he disappointed yet again behind Thehillofuisneach, well beaten off a mark of 127, with the same scenario next time out at Wincanton off 125. Was quite surprised to see him run over 2 miles at Chepstow in February, and unsurprisingly was well beaten again, though was dropping in the handicap, this time off a mark of 120. Horse was again well supported though, being 14/1 in the morning return an SP of 9/2. He did finally land a few bets however next time out at Newbury over an extended 2 and a half miles off this mark of 115, again being supported from 9/1 in to 6/1, staying on strongly from Tickatack on good to soft ground. Form of that race isn't anything particularly outstanding, but the forth has since won over fences off a 4 pound higher mark, the seventh won twice since, eighth placed in a strong race off a two pound higher mark.

It looked like the horse may have finally turned a corner and may go on to prove his worth, but he returned for his seasonal reappearance at Chepstow over 2 and a half miles in October and was well beaten into eighth that day off a mark of 122. That run wasn't totally devoid of promise though, he did travel well until four out, weakening rapidly, looking like he'd improve for his comeback. No such promise came, however, though his next run over hurdles was in a very competitive 23 runner Cheltenham handicap hurdle. It was no real surprise to see him well beaten on his last run, which was in a very strong beginners' chase at Ascot over a shortened 2 and a half miles. That trip is probably too short for him on quick enough ground, and the winner was travelling well in a Grade 2 the other day before falling 4 out. He reopposes Rolling Aces tomorrow, who ran a very good race that day to finish third, but this is a competitive race and a mark of 130 may well be harsh on his other form, though he is a dual point winner and should improve. However, Handy Andy is back to his last winning mark, and the step up in trip should do him the world of good tomorrow. Suspicions are that he could be much better than what he's shown so far, particularly going back to his novice win over Our Father. He comes in here tomorrow right at the foot of the handicap with Joe Tizzard aboard, carrying only 10-11. Though a wide open race, 25/1 is a big price with the first 4 being paid at 1/4 the odds. It's pointless going through the dangers in this race, as there are so many of them.

Keys of Cyprus

Was hoping for a bigger price than this, but Bet365 are the only firm priced up at the minute. A talented but frustrating ten year old gelding, he was once bordering on smart but his current mark of 52 indicates what kind of form he's been in of late. Thoroughly exposed, he'll be having his 52nd run of his career tomorrow and hopefully can land his 9th win. The first of those wins came all the way back in August 2005 over 6 furlongs at Catterick, winning a very weak maiden by 5 lengths. He then entered handicaps off a mark of 65, before dropping to a mark of 55 when registering his next win, again at Catterick, over seven furlongs. He then showed some smart form for a couple of runs, following up in two of his next three runs, off of marks of 63 and 69, both on the turf over seven furlongs. Put in a couple of decent efforts after that off higher marks, including a second off a mark of 75 before wining a heavy ground mile handicap at Ripon in the summer of 09 off 76, before repeating that feat at again at Ayr in October of that year off a mark of 74. He wasn't seen again until May of 2010, landing a seven furlong handicap up at Thirsk off his revised mark of 77, before showing some smart form next time out in a hotter race, finishing third off his highest mark of 83. It took him another while to past the post in first after that, though he did finish second next time out, again off 83, before being placed at Ripon in August of that year off of 82.

He seemed to go backward after that, however, and showed little until over a year later following some assistance from the handicapper. Dropping to his lowest mark in 3 years, he won a seven furlong handicap again up at Ayr off a mark of 69. Unsurprisingly, he subsequently raced lazy since, not showing anywhere near his best, though he did hint at promise over the summer, including at Chepstow in a decent handicap off a mark of 66,beaten over five lengths by Cyflymder (who he gave a pound two) who has since won, with the second being placed twice, third has won twice and being runner up, fifth also went in subsequently, as well as the ninth thrice, albeit in claimers. Typically for his profile, he went off the boil for a couple of runs subsequently, though he did run better on his belated all weather debut three runs ago off a mark of 56, beaten around 3 lengths. Form of that race isn't strong at all, with only the winner going on to win again, but the race didn't quite run to suit with him having to make the running. All of his wins have come held up, so I was able to forgive him that run. Without a doubt his best run of late was the race after that, again over this course and distance off the same mark of 56. He was an eye catcher that day, out the back for most of the race and was well off the pace coming into the straight and had to travel five wide, but finished very well to be beaten only two and a half lengths. Again the form of that race is poor, with the best placing being the third finishing third again next run out. Keys of Cyprus ran a terrible race last time out, this time over a mile at Woverhampton. Slowly away and never even looking like landing a blow. However, that was a much more competitive race, and he is very well handicapped dropped to a rating of 52,17 pounds below his last win mark. Clearly not one to put too much faith in, but wouldn't be surprised to see him land a blow here in what looks an awful race with the whole field looking like they have something to prove. I've been following this fella for a while, and tomorrow's the last chance for him. Hopefully he can reward my faith, I'll take 12/1 each way.

Edit: Thread title changed to include le magic word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

Unoriginally I just lumped onto bobs worth for tomorrow...and added to my diamond Harry each way stake. Was considering FL but decided not to as Davey chose to stay in fairyhouse. That's enough for me to steer clear...not going to back anything else except in fairyhouse and Alan kings only runner in towchester

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

2.30 Fairyhouse

Joxer 11/1

I think Bill Harney's Joxer is a fascinating contender on his handicap debut and I think 11/1 about this 5 year old is definitely overpriced as he is a horse I have always rated quite highly. After showing a lot of talent in bumpers by winning on debut and finishing an excellent 2nd to the talented Moscow Mannon, Joxer made his hurdling debut at the Leopardstown Christmas Festival when finishing an excellent 0.5L beaten 2nd behind Willie Mullins highly thought of Midnight Game (who had hurdling experience) in the mud last year. He improved on that effort to win on his next start by 1L to subsequent Supreme Novices 5th Allure of Illusion (although that rival was badly hampered and may have won otherwise) with the pair pulling 20L clear of the remainder with the talented Rory O'Moore back in 6th. I actually backed him for the Supreme Novices after this victory as I was pretty impressed with him and although he'll probably never reach that level he won't need to in this contest. For his 3 start over hurdles he was stepped up into Grade 2 company for the first time when sent off a 4/1 shot and although ultimately a well beaten 4th that doesn't tell the whole story. Joxer was travelling well within himself coming up to 3 out before making a shuddering error which put paid to his chances and although I don't think he would have gotten near Trifolium he certainly would have finished closer. He had 2 more starts last season again in Grade 2s and he ran flat in both for some reason or another and at the time he looked regressive.

Joxer had a 7 month break at the end of his first season and he came back with a bang with a hugely impressive 2nd behind the extremely talented Monksland in the Grade 2 WKD Hurdle at Down Royal at the start of the month and it most definitely seemed as if Joxer was back to his best. Held up in the rear of the 6 runner field, they definitely went a very decent clip and Joxer followed through the eventual victor through travelling pretty well within himself and was pretty much up alongside Monksland at the last before Noel Meade's charge pulled out a little bit more to win in fine fashion. Although Monksland always had Joxer covered, he certainly was made to work for the win and it was a really, really impressive performance from Joxer on seasonal debut (same as Monksland) as he pulled nearly 10L clear of the remainder. Joxer beat some very nice horses that day easily (all race fit bar last to finish Edeymi) including Miley Shah and Shadow Eile and it certainly signaled his early first season exploits were no fluke. He makes his handicap debut in this very competitive Grade B handicap hurdle off a mark of 135 under top weight and I think he could prove to be better than this. In my opinion he's the only horse in the field who has the potential to compete in the upper echelons over hurdles and he could prove too classy for this field. With regular pilot Bryan Cooper over riding First Lieutenant in England, Michael Butler takes over in the saddle and I think his 5lb claim could prove crucial as it drops him to an official racing weight of 11-2. Trainer Bill Harney has got his small string in good order at present with 2 wins from 11 runners this month and although its going to be a tough task to concede weight all around to this field I'm hopeful of a big run from Joxer to land this valuable contest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Fruity O'Rooney to win and Teaforthree to place would do it for me in the Hennessy.

12.15 Newbury

Hunters Lodge 9/2

I'm not one to normally suggest backing a horse e/w at such a short price but I really cannot see Hunters Lodge out of the first 3 and he looks to have a fantastic chance to win this. Nigel Twiston-Davies 6 year old was a pretty average hurdler but this former Point winner looks a completely transformed horse over the bigger obstacles and he has registered 2 wins from his 3 starts since sent chasing. Hunters Lodge made his chasing debut at the end of September on his seasonal reappearance off a mark of 107 at Market Rasen over 2m6.5f when scoring in fine fashion under Richard Johnson. Settled just off the pace, Hunters Lodge got a little outpaced at the business end of things but he stayed on nicely when asked as he forged to the lead two out and he stayed on resolutely up the run in to win going away by 4L. It was a fine debut over fences and he improved again to score again on his next start in a better race at Cheltenham. In an competitive 17 runner Amateur Handicap under todays rider Ryan Hatch over an extended 3m, Hunters Lodge sat in behind the pace and he looked a little outpaced after 3 out but under good riding he was sent to the front before the final two flights. He may have been a little fortuitous to win that day as Gordon Elliott's Romanesco had probably just headed him coming to the last but he fell at the final flight which allowed Hunters Lodge to win under strong driving (he hung and idled a bit) to score by 3L. The form of that Class 3 handicap looks strong with the 16L beaten 5th Time For Spring winning on his only subsequent start off a 2lb lower mark whilst the unfortunate Romanesco sauntered to a very easy success on his next start off the same mark before starting favourite in the Troytown where he travelled smoothly into contention but he was unable to quicken up in the testing conditions.

Upped 7lb for that success, Hunters Lodge's final start came a couple of weeks ago at Cheltenham in another Amateur Riders handicap over the same C+D where he ran an excellent 3rd in a hot contest 2 weeks ago in what was probably his best effort to date. Off a mark of 122 and again under Ryan Hatch, Hunters Lodge again settled just off the pace but he seemed flat footed when the pace quickened and he dropped back to 6th or 7th and about 15L off the pace in the long run in before the final two flights but he stayed on resolutely up the hill where he was finishing better than anything to go down by 4.5L. The form of that contest looks very strong given that the winner Swing Bill was clearly well handicapped as he landed the race for the 2nd year in a row off the same mark whilst the 2nd Sizing Santiago (the only horse that finished the race) won on his only subsequent start off a 3lb higher mark and it looks like being a very hot contest. I think the 1lb he has been raised to a mark of 123 looks very fair and he is definitely unexposed and progressive over fences.

He again competes in a Amateur Riders handicap and I think its a huge bonus that Ryan Hatch and Hunters Lodge have built up a partnership which cannot be said for most of the field. He steps up to 3m2.5f for the first time today and I think this is a massive bonus given has been outpaced at times during the races and the way he powered to the line on his last start leads me to believe he will improve for the extra distance. Although he has to shoulder the burden of top weight, Ryan Hatch takes off an extremely valuable 7lb and I think he is one of the best riders in the race. I definitely see Rey Nacardo as a big danger as Charlie Longsdon believes that rival is a stone better at Newbury but his last win at the track came off only a 2lb lower mark so I don't think Longsdon means he can perform to a mark of 136 around here. Moreover, he has a very inexperienced pilot on board and Ryan Hatch is definitely a more accomplished and better jockey. With Nigel Twiston-Davies in great form and with this trainer/jockey pairing landing this race last year, I am very confident that Hunters Lodge can improve again to take this Class 3 handicap and I think 9/2 is an excellent price.

Nulty wrote: »
    Fruity O'Rooney to win and Teaforthree to place would do it for me in the Hennessy.
    You love fruity o Rooney!

3.40 Newbury

Ulck Du Lin 5/1

Should probably start with the big hint about Paul Nicholls 4 year old's chances which is Ruby Walsh gets down to 10-1 to take the ride which clearly implies he is strongly fancied. Putting that to one side as it wasn't what initially attracted me to Ulck Du Lin, he rates an extremely fascinating contender on what is just his 2nd start over fences in the UK and what is his handicap debut in this sphere. Previously trained in France, he was a winner of two hurdle races and a chase in 5 starts before arriving at Nicholls yard and he's clearly an unexposed horse. He landed a 5 runner chase in fine fashion in France by 5L from a horse who subsequently was a Grade 3 winning hurdler and beaten 0.75L in a Grade 1 hurdle whilst the 20L beaten 3rd Farlow Des Mottes has gone on to land a Grade 3 upped in distance so it reads as pretty strong form. According to the Racing Post, Ulck Du Lin arrived in England in late February and he became somewhat of a big talking point prior to the Cheltenham Festival as many people thought he was a plot horse as Nicholls decided to have his stable debut at the Cheltenham Festival in the Grade 3 handicap Fred Winter off a mark of 130. Nicholls denied this and it proved very much the case as he could only finish midfield. Ulck Du Lin didn't really live up to the hype in his final 2 hurdle starts last year either as he was beaten in a Novices event before finishing an ok 3rd in a handicap off a mark of 128. That was his final start of last season in April and I think he is going to prove to be a completely different animal this season as he will have a full summer under his belt and Nicholls will be have been able to get essential pre-season training done with him.

Ulck Du Lin made a very eye catching debut over fences for Nicholls at the end of last month at Stratford over an extended 2m5f on soft ground at the end of September. That day he put on an excellent display of jumping barring one small mistake and he went clear with the leading 3 still travelling extremely well before turning into the home straight. However, when Harry Skelton asked him for more Ulck Du Lin found absolutely nothing as he came home a 14L beaten 3rd. Although a lot of negatives can easily be taken from this, I definitely view it as a positive for a number of reasons. Firstly, it was his first run for 6 months and I think he got very tired and 2ndly I don't think he stayed the 2m5.5f trip on soft ground as he certainly hasn't looked a bridle horse on his other starts. He makes his handicap debut off a mark of 126 today and I think this could prove to be a very lenient mark and I, and I am sure connections, will be desperately disappointed if he is unable to score of this mark. He's dropped back to 2m1f today which certainly looks like it will benefit him greatly and he also gets a 4lb weight for age allowance which is very handy given he is only 1 month away from turning 5. This looks a very tough field but he gets in at a lovely racing weight of 10-1 and there is no way in hell Ruby is getting down to this weight to ride a horse that connections feel doesn't have a seriously good chance. Unexposed and I think on a very lenient mark, Ulck Du Lin has often promised a lot and I definitely think today will be the day that he delivers and in doing so landing this race for Paul Nicholls for the 4th time since 2004.

7.50 Wolves

Compton Bell 16/1

I think Hans Adielsson's lightly raced 3 year old is a fascinating contender on what is only his 5th start and he very much caught my eye on his last start on the back of 422 day absence when a staying on 6.5L beaten 5th over a mile at Lingfield 10 days ago in a first time tongue tie on what was his handicap debut off a mark of 55. I've looked back at his 3 races as a 2 year old and he didn't look completely devoid of ability and handicapping was always going to be his level. A 34,000 GNS purchase back in October 2010, Compton Bell is certainly bred to do better being a half brother to the Listed winning fillies Brisk Breeze and the German trained Belle Syrienne. In addition, his half brother Beau Chapeau also won over in Germany so he should definitely have more to offer than he currently has. Moreover, his siblings all seemed to come into their own when 3 years old so I think Compton Bell will certainly be a better animal now past his Juvenile year. He made a very pleasing reintroduction at Wolves last week when I thought he was an eye catching staying on 5th under what was very tender handling by George Baker on his handicap debut on the back of a long break. Held up in mid division, Compton Bell travelled nicely into the race before getting outpaced 3f. Under hands and heels riding and not under strong urging, Compton Bell made some rather nice headway under Baker up the home straight and he was never nearer then at the finish under what was understandably a very sympathetic ride. Given that he was off the track for so long, I don't think you could expect much more than what he did and given that Lingfield has been a track that has suited those closer to the pace since the track has been resurfaced I think you can upgrade that effort even more. The form of that race looks strong with the 3rd Silly Billy getting beaten a head on his only subsequent start and it was a very nice effort. He's been dropped 1lb in the ratings to a mark of 54 which I feel should definitely not be beyond him. The winner of his last race Percythepinto reopposes on 7lb worse terms and he was priced up as favourite before the big gamble on Frank Sheridan's Tyrur Ted and given the more favourable terms I think Compton Bell is clearly the value call as he will clearly strip fitter for that run. In addition, I think Compton Bell will definitely appreciate the extra 1.5 furlongs as he is stepped up 9.5f as he was outpaced and stayed on well on his last start and the tongue tie is again retained. Richard Kingscote takes the ride on what will only be his 2nd start for the stable and with a good draw in stall 6 I think Compton Bell is a very intriguing runner who I think will run a big race if put into the race.

rossom wrote: »
    3.40 Newbury

Ulck Du Lin 5/1

This looks a very tough field but he gets in at a lovely racing weight of 10-1 and there is no way in hell Ruby is getting down to this weight to ride a horse that connections feel doesn't have a seriously good chance.
    Thanks Rossom..I can't believe I missed this yesterday when looking at the card.. I can't recall ruby EVER getting down to this weight..10-3 I think was the lowest I've seen. I usually would back anything he is on 10-5 and below

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

UrbanSea do you write for a certain website?

I know the lads who created it if you do. back-post.com?

That I do colonel. Handsome devil aren't I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Just have a gut feeling the weight is just gonna defeat bobs worth will probably finish in the top 3 still though. Going for Teaforthree ew.

UrbanSea wrote: »
    That I do colonel. Handsome devil aren't I

Just noticed your tips on here are the same!!

Nice one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Midnight Game looks too big a price at 11/4 for the 12:45 if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Hope you go on in the end, he won that very easily

Bet offer for Hennessy using Racing post app

MONEY-BACK APP OFFER FOR THE HENESSY
    Bet through our app and if your horse finishes second to Bobs Worth in the Hennessy Gold Cup your stake will be refunded as a free bet

ste2010 wrote: »
    You love fruity o Rooney!

Not particularly. I like him today cause I have money on him. I think the handicaps at Cheltenham are very competitive and I'm taking the LTJ Specialty at face value. I also think Alfie Sherrin can go on to be very competitive in the Grand National.

The Package was back in fourth in that Cheltenham race and is 4lbs worse off with Fruity. He's just plainly over priced.

Mujamead is a total ****, Truckers was travelling very well.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

No bets today, im doing the 12 Pubs of Christmas :D

Im wearing an elf jumper and hat if any of ye are around Baggot Street today lol

Hunters Lodge may be a horse who finds a flat spot as opposed to needing a step up in trip (certainly wouldn't have harmed him though). I'd be very keen on him NTO if he sports some headgear.

Slattsy wrote: »
    No bets today, im doing the 12 Pubs of Christmas :D

Im wearing an elf jumper and hat if any of ye are around Baggot Street today lol

NO excuses for not betting on Saturday, won't be in town myself, enjoy the scoops. I am dying with a hangover and have to paint the sitting room before Mrs Buck comes back tomorrow.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭Luap

Missed rolling aces! Was too tired to back him last night and I forgot to today! :mad:

**** me just got around to seeing Gores Island and he was a monstrous eye catcher. Made sublime progress on the bridle from the back of the field to sit 2nd before clouting 3 out which absolutely ruined his chance!

Holy **** that was impressive! Knew Cinders wasn't going to win but Trifolium looks a shade of himself from last yeara

Jesus Trifolium was too bad to be true I'd have thought. Thought Bothy was going to go at the last and ye would have gotten your big priced place.

Handy Andy stayed on well to take third. I'll take a 25/1 place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Holy **** that was impressive! Knew Cinders wasn't going to win but Trifolium looks a shade of himself from last yeara

Cinders And Ashes will improve a lot from that run, I reckon.

I'm happy for John Quinn. He seems like a good guy and always underspoken when interviewed

Cinders And Ashes will improve a lot from that run, I reckon.

He will but he's not top class

Don't think Timeform liked last years supreme

They do like Darlan however, but that's based on his runs at Aintree & in the Tote Gold Trophy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

He will but he's not top class

Agreed, but I doubt Countrywide Flame is top class either. He was fit from the Flat, probably made to look a lot better today than he really is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭sonnky

Duke Of Lucca in the Hennesy e/w! Doubts about him staying but a big chance i reckon!

3.00 at Fairyhouse, Brian Who been backed from 20/1 to 7/1 now!

Hold On Julio, First Lieutenent, Harry the Viking, Teaforthree, Carruthers and Diamond harry all have claims e/w as well. Ridiculous I know but I've only backed Duke Of Lucca!

7/2 Bobs Worth is pathetic. 5.7 on Betfair

Diamond Harry being backed but he always seems to be. First Lieutenant is quite weak

Diamond Harry a bit of a springer now

17 to back on Betfair

3.40 Newbury

Ulck Du Lin 5/1

Should probably start with the big hint about Paul Nicholls 4 year old's chances which is Ruby Walsh gets down to 10-1 to take the ride which clearly implies he is strongly fancied. Putting that to one side as it wasn't what initially attracted me to Ulck Du Lin, he rates an extremely fascinating contender on what is just his 2nd start over fences in the UK and what is his handicap debut in this sphere. Previously trained in France, he was a winner of two hurdle races and a chase in 5 starts before arriving at Nicholls yard and he's clearly an unexposed horse. He landed a 5 runner chase in fine fashion in France by 5L from a horse who subsequently was a Grade 3 winning hurdler and beaten 0.75L in a Grade 1 hurdle whilst the 20L beaten 3rd Farlow Des Mottes has gone on to land a Grade 3 upped in distance so it reads as pretty strong form. According to the Racing Post, Ulck Du Lin arrived in England in late February and he became somewhat of a big talking point prior to the Cheltenham Festival as many people thought he was a plot horse as Nicholls decided to have his stable debut at the Cheltenham Festival in the Grade 3 handicap Fred Winter off a mark of 130. Nicholls denied this and it proved very much the case as he could only finish midfield. Ulck Du Lin didn't really live up to the hype in his final 2 hurdle starts last year either as he was beaten in a Novices event before finishing an ok 3rd in a handicap off a mark of 128. That was his final start of last season in April and I think he is going to prove to be a completely different animal this season as he will have a full summer under his belt and Nicholls will be have been able to get essential pre-season training done with him.

Ulck Du Lin made a very eye catching debut over fences for Nicholls at the end of last month at Stratford over an extended 2m5f on soft ground at the end of September. That day he put on an excellent display of jumping barring one small mistake and he went clear with the leading 3 still travelling extremely well before turning into the home straight. However, when Harry Skelton asked him for more Ulck Du Lin found absolutely nothing as he came home a 14L beaten 3rd. Although a lot of negatives can easily be taken from this, I definitely view it as a positive for a number of reasons. Firstly, it was his first run for 6 months and I think he got very tired and 2ndly I don't think he stayed the 2m5.5f trip on soft ground as he certainly hasn't looked a bridle horse on his other starts. He makes his handicap debut off a mark of 126 today and I think this could prove to be a very lenient mark and I, and I am sure connections, will be desperately disappointed if he is unable to score of this mark. He's dropped back to 2m1f today which certainly looks like it will benefit him greatly and he also gets a 4lb weight for age allowance which is very handy given he is only 1 month away from turning 5. This looks a very tough field but he gets in at a lovely racing weight of 10-1 and there is no way in hell Ruby is getting down to this weight to ride a horse that connections feel doesn't have a seriously good chance. Unexposed and I think on a very lenient mark, Ulck Du Lin has often promised a lot and I definitely think today will be the day that he delivers and in doing so landing this race for Paul Nicholls for the 4th time since 2004.

An upturn to what has been a frustrating day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭mountai

Thanks rossom
    got on at 4s . The feckin eggs failed to cross the road!!!!

Halford/Foley combination in first at Wolvs ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Backed Keys Of Cyprus on the nose to fund tonights drink and today's losses. I want to log on here in the early hours of the morning to good news Urban!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Wolverhampton abandoned. I'll have to fund it all myself.